Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 03/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 5-6 and 21-23 are withdrawn. Claims 1-4 and 7-20 are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-4, 11, 14, 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “…the anchor hole is partially removed…” and its unclear. An anchor hole itself is not removed; rather, material may be removed to form the anchor hole. Therefore, it is unclear whether the claim requires the metal bank layer to be partially removed to form a recess, or whether the anchor hole extends only partially through the metal bank layer. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpreted as the metal bank layer to be partially removed to form a recess/anchor.
Claim 19 has the same issue as in claim 3 explained above.
Claim 4 recites “…the anchor hole exposes an upper surface of the first metal layer that is partially removed…”. It is unclear whether the upper surface is partially removed or whether the first metal layer is partially removed. The phrase is grammatically unclear. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpreted as meaning that the first metal layer is partially removed in the region of the anchor hole such that an upper surface of the remaining first metal layer is exposed through the anchor hole.
Claim 20 has the same issue as in claim 4 explained above.
Claim 11 recites “…a capping layer disposed between a region between…”. It is unclear whether the capping layer is disposed between two regions, or whether the capping layer is disposed in each of the recited regions between the opposite electrode/dummy opposite electrode and the inorganic encapsulation layer. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpreted as meaning that the capping layer is disposed between the first opposite electrode and the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer, and also between the first dummy opposite electrode and the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer.
Claim 14 recites “…the second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer continuously extends to surround an inner surface of the second opening…”. It is unclear how an encapsulation layer “surrounds” an inner surface or the recited upper and lateral surfaces. The claim does not clearly define whether the encapsulation layer overlaps, covers, contacts, or encloses the recited surfaces. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpreted as meaning that the second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer continuously extends to overlap or cover the recited inner surface, upper surface, and lateral surface.
Further, claims 17-20 inherit the indefiniteness of claim 14. Hence, claim 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for their dependency on claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choung’252 (US 20220077252 A1).
Re: Independent Claim 13, Choung’252 discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a first sub-pixel electrode (Choung’252, Fig. 1A, metal layer 104 of sub-pixel 108a);
a metal bank layer (Choung’252, Fig. 1A, inorganic hanging structures 110) including:
a first opening overlapping the first sub-pixel electrode (pixel openings 124A/124B overlapping 104 of first sub-pixel 108a),
a first metal layer (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7B and ¶ [0030], 110A is conductive inorganic material, and in ¶ [0031], conductive inorganic material includes a metal-containing material), and a second metal layer disposed on the first metal layer (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7B and ¶ [0030], 110B is conductive inorganic material, and in ¶ [0031], conductive inorganic material includes a metal-containing material; and 110B is disposed on 110A);
a first intermediate layer overlapping the first sub-pixel electrode through the first opening of the metal bank layer (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7B and ¶ [0029], OLED material 112 of sub-pixel 108a is the first intermediate layer overlapping the first sub-pixel electrode 104 of sub-pixel 108a);
a first opposite electrode disposed on the first intermediate layer through the first opening of the metal bank layer (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7B and ¶ [0032], cathode 114 disposed on the first intermediate layer 112 of sub-pixel 108a);
a first dummy intermediate layer disposed on the metal bank layer (Choung’252 teaches, in ¶¶ [0032] – [0033] OLED material 112 disposed on anode/metal layer 104 in the sub-pixel opening. Choung’252 also teaches that OLED material 112 is disposed over sidewall 113 and top surface 115 of upper portion 110B of inorganic overhang structure 110. Overhang structure 110, including lower portion 110A and upper portion 110B, corresponds to the claimed metal bank layer. Therefore, the portion of OLED material 112 disposed on the overhang/bank structure 110 corresponds to the claimed first dummy intermediate layer disposed on the metal bank layer), the first dummy intermediate layer and the first intermediate layer including a same material (Choung’252 teaches that the OLED material 112 in the active sub-pixel region and the OLED material 112 on the overhang/bank structure are deposited as the same OLED material. Thus, the first dummy intermediate layer and the first intermediate layer include the same material);
a first dummy opposite electrode on the first dummy intermediate layer, the first dummy opposite electrode and the first opposite electrode including a same material (Choung’252 teaches cathode 114 disposed over OLED material 112. Choung’252 further teaches that cathode 114, together with OLED material 112, is disposed over sidewall 113 and top surface 115 of upper portion 110B of the overhang structure 110. Therefore, the portion of cathode 114 disposed on the dummy OLED material 112 on the overhang/bank structure corresponds to the claimed first dummy opposite electrode disposed on the first dummy intermediate layer. Because this dummy cathode portion is formed from the same cathode 114 as cathode 114 disposed over the OLED material 112 in the first opening, the first dummy opposite electrode and the first opposite electrode include the same material); and
a first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer disposed on the first opposite electrode (Choung’252 teaches, in ¶ [0034], each sub-pixel 106 includes an encapsulation layer 116, which may correspond to a local passivation layer. Choung’252 teaches that encapsulation layer 116 is disposed over cathode 114 and OLED material 112. Choung’252 further teaches that encapsulation layer 116 includes a non-conductive inorganic material, such as silicon-containing material including Si3N4. Thus, encapsulation layer 116 of first sub-pixel 108a corresponds to the claimed first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer disposed on the first opposite electrode),
wherein the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer continuously extends to overlap an inner surface of the first opening, an upper surface and two opposite lateral surfaces of the first dummy opposite electrode, and two opposite lateral surfaces of the first dummy intermediate layer (Choung’252 teaches, in ¶ [0034] and also Figs. 4J-4K, that encapsulation layer 116 is disposed over the cathode 114 and OLED material 112, extends under the upper portion 110B, extends along sidewall 111 of lower portion 110A, is disposed over sidewall 113 of upper portion 110B, and may also be disposed over top surface 115 of upper portion 110B. Because Choung’252 teaches the dummy OLED material 112 and dummy cathode 114 on sidewall 113 and top surface 115 of upper portion 110B, and further teaches inorganic encapsulation layer 116 deposited over cathode 114 and OLED material 112 across the same overhang/bank topography, Choung’252 teaches the encapsulation layer 116 continuously extending to overlap the upper surface and lateral surfaces of the dummy cathode 114, and the lateral surfaces of the dummy OLED material 112. The recited “two opposite lateral surfaces” are met by the continuous conformal/local passivation coverage of the dummy OLED/cathode stack on the overhang/bank structure, including coverage along opposing side surfaces/edges of the deposited dummy stack).
Re: Claim 14, Choung’252 disclose all the limitations of claim 13 on which this claim depends.
Choung’252 further teaches
further comprising: a second sub-pixel electrode (Choung’252, Fig. 1A, metal layer 104 of sub-pixel 108b);
a second intermediate layer overlapping the second sub-pixel electrode through a second opening of the metal bank layer (pixel openings 124A/124B overlapping 104 of second sub-pixel 108b is the second opening. Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7B and ¶ [0029], OLED material 112 of sub-pixel 108b is the second intermediate layer overlapping the second sub-pixel electrode 104 of sub-pixel 108b);
a second opposite electrode disposed on the second intermediate layer through the second opening of the metal bank layer (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7B and ¶ [0032], cathode 114 disposed on the second intermediate layer 112 of sub-pixel 108b);
a second dummy intermediate layer disposed on the metal bank layer to contact the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer, the second dummy intermediate layer and the second intermediate layer including a same material (Choung’252 teaches, in ¶ [0033], second sub-pixel 108b including OLED material 112 disposed on anode 104 through the second opening 124A/124B, and further teaches OLED material 112 disposed on the overhang/bank structure 110, including sidewall 113 and top surface 115 of upper portion 110B. The OLED material 112 deposited on the bank/overhang structure corresponds to the second dummy intermediate layer, and the OLED material 112 in the second opening corresponds to the second intermediate layer. Because both are OLED material 112, they include the same material. Choung’252 further teaches sequential formation of sub-pixels and encapsulation layer 116 over the bank/overhang topography, making it obvious that the second dummy intermediate layer contacts the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer 116);
a second dummy opposite electrode disposed on the second dummy intermediate layer, the second dummy opposite electrode and the second opposite electrode including a same material (Choung’252 teaches cathode 114 disposed on OLED material 112 of the second sub-pixel 108b, and further teaches cathode 114 deposited on OLED material 112 located on the overhang/bank structure 110. The cathode 114 on the second dummy OLED material corresponds to the second dummy opposite electrode, and the cathode 114 in the second opening corresponds to the second opposite electrode. Because both are cathode 114, they include the same material;
and
a second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer disposed on the second opposite electrode (Choung’252 teaches, in ¶ [0034], encapsulation layer 116 disposed over cathode 114 and OLED material 112 of each sub-pixel, including second sub-pixel 108b. Choung’252 further teaches that encapsulation layer 116 includes inorganic material, such as silicon-containing/Si3N4 material, and extends under and along the sidewalls of the overhang/bank structure 110. Thus, encapsulation layer 116 of second sub-pixel 108b corresponds to the second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer disposed over the second opposite electrode/cathode 114)
wherein the second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer continuously extends to surround an inner surface of the second opening, an upper surface and two opposite lateral surfaces of the second dummy opposite electrode, two opposite lateral surfaces of the second dummy intermediate layer, two opposite lateral surfaces of the first dummy opposite electrode, and two opposite lateral surfaces of the first dummy intermediate layer (Choung’252 teaches, in ¶ [0034], encapsulation layer 116 disposed over cathode 114 and OLED material 112, including the dummy OLED material 112 and dummy cathode 114 deposited on the shared overhang/bank structure 110. Because encapsulation layer 116 is deposited over the bank/overhang topography and extends along sidewalls of the overhang structure, Choung’252 teaches or at least renders obvious continuous coverage over the upper and lateral surfaces of the second dummy cathode 114 and lateral surfaces of the second dummy OLED material 112. Choung’252 further teaches sequential formation of first and second sub-pixel structures on the shared overhang/bank structure 110; therefore, the second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer 116 also overlap exposed lateral surfaces of the previously formed first dummy cathode 114 and first dummy OLED material 112, thus passivate exposed OLED/cathode material, cover the shared bank/overhang sidewall topography, and protect the sub-pixel regions from degradation).
Re: Claim 15, Choung’252 disclose all the limitations of claim 13 on which this claim depends.
Choung’252 further teaches
wherein an outer portion of the first opposite electrode contacts a lateral surface of the first metal layer facing the first opening of the metal bank layer (Choung’252, in ¶ [0032], teaches that the inorganic overhang structure 110 includes lower portion 110A and upper portion 110B. As discussed in claim 1, lower portion 110A corresponds to the claimed first metal layer, and upper portion 110B corresponds to the claimed second metal layer. Choung’252 further teaches that cathode 114 contacts lower portion 110A of the inorganic overhang structure 110. Choung’252 also teaches that cathode 114 may be disposed on sidewall 111 of lower portion 110A. Sidewall 111 corresponds to the claimed lateral surface of the first metal layer facing the opening. Thus, for the first sub-pixel 108a, the outer portion of cathode 114 contacts sidewall 111 of lower portion 110A facing the first pixel opening 124A/124B, corresponding to an outer portion of the first opposite electrode contacts a lateral surface of the first metal layer facing the first opening).
Re: Claim 16, Choung’252 disclose all the limitations of claim 13 on which this claim depends.
Choung’252 further teaches
wherein a portion of the second metal layer facing the first opening of the metal bank layer includes a tip extending to the first opening from a portion at which a lower surface of the second metal layer contacts a lateral surface of the first metal layer (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7A and ¶ [0062], forming a pixel opening 124A/124B of a first sub-pixel 108a, and removing portions of upper portion layer 402B and lower portion layer 402A exposed by the pixel opening to form inorganic overhang structure 110. Choung’525 further teaches, in Figs. 1A-1B, ¶ [0047], that etch selectivity between the upper portion layer 402B and lower portion layer 402A provides the bottom surface 107 of upper portion 110B wider than the top surface 105 of lower portion 110A, thereby forming overhang 109. Thus, the portion 110B disposed around the pixel opening 124A/124B of the first sub-pixel 108a includes an overhanging tip/edge extending toward the first opening. The overhanging tip extends from the supported/contact region of upper portion 110B adjacent the sidewall/top edge of lower portion 110A toward the first pixel opening 124A/124B, corresponding to the claimed tip extending to the first opening from a portion where the lower surface of the second metal layer contacts the lateral surface of the first metal layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung’252 (US 20220077252 A1) and Choung’143 (US 11552143 B1).
Re: Independent Claim 1, Choung’252 discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a first sub-pixel electrode (Choung’252, Fig. 1A, metal layer 104 of sub-pixel 108a);
a second sub-pixel electrode adjacent to the first sub-pixel electrode (Choung’252, Fig. 1A, metal layer 104 of sub-pixel 108b);
a metal bank layer (Choung’252, Fig. 1A, inorganic hanging structures 110) including:
a first opening overlapping the first sub-pixel electrode (pixel openings 124A/124B overlapping 104 of first sub-pixel 108a),
a second opening overlapping the second sub-pixel electrode (pixel openings 124A/124B overlapping 104 of second sub-pixel 108b),
a first metal layer (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7B and ¶ [0030], 110A is conductive inorganic material, and in ¶ [0031], conductive inorganic material includes a metal-containing material), and
a second metal layer disposed on the first metal layer (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7B and ¶ [0030], 110B is conductive inorganic material, and in ¶ [0031], conductive inorganic material includes a metal-containing material; and 110B is disposed on 110A);
a first intermediate layer overlapping the first sub-pixel electrode through the first opening of the metal bank layer (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7B and ¶ [0029], OLED material 112 of sub-pixel 108a is the first intermediate layer overlapping the first sub-pixel electrode 104 of sub-pixel 108a);
a second intermediate layer overlapping the second sub-pixel electrode through the second opening of the metal bank layer (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7B and ¶ [0029], OLED material 112 of sub-pixel 108b is the second intermediate layer overlapping the second sub-pixel electrode 104 of sub-pixel 108b);
a first opposite electrode disposed on the first intermediate layer through the first opening of the metal bank layer (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7B and ¶ [0032], cathode 114 disposed on the first intermediate layer 112 of sub-pixel 108a); and
a second opposite electrode disposed on the second intermediate layer through the second opening of the metal bank layer (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7B and ¶ [0032], cathode 114 disposed on the second intermediate layer 112 of sub-pixel 108b).
Choung’252 is silent regarding
wherein the metal bank layer further includes an anchor hole disposed between the first opening and the second opening.
However, Choung’143 teaches
wherein the metal bank layer further includes an anchor hole disposed between the first opening and the second opening (Choung’143 teaches, in Fig. 4A, a trench 410B formed in the bank/PDL structure 410 between adjacent sub-pixel regions 418a and 418b. Choung’143 further teaches, in Fig. 4B metal layer 420 forming metal overhang 412, including overhang extension 415 that extends over the trench 410B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’252’s metal-containing overhang/bank structure 110, which defines pixel openings 124A/124B over adjacent sun-pixel electrodes/anodes 104, to include Choung’143’s trench 410B in the bank/PDL region between adjacent pixel openings, corresponding to the claimed anchor hole, in order to define the overhang using a trench formed in the bank/PDL structure, reduce the need for additional layers, reduce process costs, and increase throughput as taught by Choung’143 in Column 63-66.
Re: Claim 2, Choung’252 and Choung’143 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Regarding further comprising: an organic encapsulation layer filling at least a portion of each of the first opening, the second opening, Choung’252 teaches, in ¶ [0034], encapsulation layer 116 over cathode 114 and OLED material 112, wherein encapsulation layer 16 include a non-conductive inorganic material. Choung’252 is silent regarding an organic encapsulation layer filling at least a portion of each of the first opening, the second opening, and anchor hole.
However, Choung’143 teaches, in column 14 lines 50-65, an OLED trench-overhang structure including encapsulation layer 414, global encapsulation layer 416, and an inkjet layer disposed between the encapsulation layer 414 and global encapsulation layer 416, wherein the inkjet layer may include acrylic material. Choung’143’s acrylic inkjet layer corresponds to the claimed organic encapsulation layer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Choung’143’s inkjet layer in the encapsulation stack of Choung’252, as modified with Choung’143’s trench 410B, in order to fill and planarize the uneven pixel-opening/trench topography and provide a known organic/inorganic encapsulation stack for protecting OLED sub-pixels.
Re: Claim 3, Choung’252 and Choung’143 disclose all the limitations of claim 2 on which this claim depends.
Choung’143 further teaches wherein the anchor hole is partially removed in a thickness direction of the metal bank layer (Choung’143 teaches, in Fig. 4A-4B and column 13 lines 36-67, trench 410B disposed in inorganic PDL/Bank structure 410, and metal layer 420 forming metal overhang 412 having overhang extension 415 extending laterally over trench 410B. Choung’143 teaches that the overhang extension 415 hangs over trench 410B, such that trench 410B is a recessed feature used to define the overhang, rather than a through -hole removing the entire overhang/bank structure).
Regarding “a depth of the anchor hole is less than a sum of a thickness of the metal bank layer and a thickness of a dummy material on the metal bank layer”, Choung’143 further teaches, in Figs. 4A-4B, OLED material 406 deposited on top of metal layer 420, wherein the OLED material 406 on top of metal layer 420 is disconnected from the OLED material 406 deposited on anode 404. The disconnected OLED material 406 on metal layer 420 corresponds to the claimed dummy material on the metal bank. Thus, Choung’143 teaches or al least renders obvious an anchor hole/trench that is partially removed in the thickness direction because trench 410B is formed in the bank/PDL region with metal layer 420 and overhang extension 415 remain over the trench region. Since the trench 410B does not remove the full stack including the metal overhang and the disconnected OLED material 406 on metal layer 420, a depth of the trench/anchor hole is less than a sum of the thickness of the metal bank/overhang structure and the thickness of the dummy OLED material on the metal bank/overhang structure. Furthermore, “a depth of the anchor hole” as currently written in the claim reads “on a portion of depth of the anchor hole is less than a sum of a thickness of the metal bank layer and a thickness of a dummy material on the metal bank layer”, and does not require the total depth of the anchor hole to be less than a sum of a thickness of the metal bank layer and a thickness of a dummy material on the metal bank layer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’252’s metal-containing overhang/bank structure 110 to include Choung’143’s partial-depth trench 410B and overhang extension 415, such that the resulting anchor-hole type feature is partially removed in a thickness direction of the metal bank/overhang structure and has a depth less than the combined thickness of the metal bank/overhang structure and the disconnected dummy OLED material disposed thereon, in order to define the overhang using a trench/recess while reducing the need for additional overhang-defining layers, reducing process cost, and increasing throughput, as taught by Choung’143’.
Re: Claim 4, Choung’252 and Choung’143 disclose all the limitations of claim 3 on which this claim depends.
Choung’143 further teaches
wherein the anchor hole exposes an upper surface of the first metal layer that is partially removed (Choung’143 teaches trench 410B in the bank/PDL region associated with metal layer 420 and metal overhang 412, wherein overhang extension 415 extends laterally over the trench 410B. Choung’143 teaches that the overhang extension 415 of metal layer 420 hangs over the trench area and is used to define the overhang structure. It would have been obvious to modify Choung’252’s two-layer metal-containing bank/overhang structure 110 to include Choung’143’s trench/anchor-hole feature by partially removing upper portion 110B and partially removing lower portion 110A, thereby exposing an upper surface of lower portion 110A through the trench/anchor hole. This modification is a predictable application of Choung’252’s selective etching of stacked upper and lower portions 110B/110A to form an overhang, in view of Choung’143 teaching using a trench 410B and overhang extension 415 to define the overhang structure),
the upper surface of the first metal layer exposed through the anchor hole contacts the organic encapsulation layer (Choung’143 further teaches, in figs. 4A-4B and column 14 lines 33-67, an encapsulation stack including encapsulation layer 414, global encapsulation layer 416, and an inkjet layer disposed between the encapsulation layer 414 and global encapsulation layer 416, wherein the inkjet layer may include acrylic material. As discussed for claim 2, the acrylic layer corresponds to the claimed organic encapsulation layer. Choung’143 also teaches that the encapsulation layers are deposited using isotropic deposition process, which deposit material along the uneven trench/overhang topology. Thus, in the modified Choung’252 structure, it would have been obvious for the organic/acrylic encapsulation material to fill the trench/anchor-hole region and contact the exposed upper surface of lower portion 110A, because the organic/acrylic layer is applied over the trench/overhang topography to fill and planarize recessed regions as part of the encapsulation stack).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the above modification on order to define the overhang using a trench/recess, reduce the need for additional overhang-defining layers, reduce process cost, increase throughput, and fill/planarize the resulting recessed trench topology with an organic/acrylic encapsulation material, as suggested by Choung’143.
Re: Claim 7, Choung’252 and Choung’143 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Choung’252 further teaches
wherein a portion of the second metal layer disposed around the first opening includes a tip extending from a portion, at which a lower surface of the second metal layer contacts a lateral surface of the first metal layer, to the first opening (Choung’252 teaches, in Fig. 7A and ¶ [0062], forming a pixel opening 124A/124B of a first sub-pixel 108a, and removing portions of upper portion layer 402B and lower portion layer 402A exposed by the pixel opening to form inorganic overhang structure 110. Choung’525 further teaches, in Figs. 1A-1B, ¶ [0047], that etch selectivity between the upper portion layer 402B and lower portion layer 402A provides the bottom surface 107 of upper portion 110B wider than the top surface 105 of lower portion 110A, thereby forming overhang 109. Thus, the portion 110B disposed around the pixel opening 124A/124B of the first sub-pixel 108a includes an overhanging tip/edge extending toward the first opening. The overhanging tip extends from the supported/contact region of upper portion 110B adjacent the sidewall/top edge of lower portion 110A toward the first pixel opening 124A/124B, corresponding to the claimed tip extending from a portion where the lower surface of the second metal layer contacts the lateral surface of the first metal layer to the first opening),
a portion of the second metal layer disposed around the second opening includes a tip extending from a portion, at which the lower surface of the second metal layer contacts the lateral surface of the first metal layer, to the second opening (Choung’252 similarly teaches forming the inorganic overhang structures 110 for additional sub-pixels, including second subpixel 108b, using the same lower portion 110A, upper portion 110B, and pixel opening 124A/124B structure. Choung’252 teaches that the plurality of sub-pixels 106 include first and second sub-pixels 108a, 108b, each having a corresponding pixel opening and overhang structure. Accordingly, the portion of upper portion 110B disposed around the pixel opening 124A/124B of second sub-pixel 108b includes the same overhanging tip/edge extending toward the second opening. Thus Choung’252 teaches or renders obvious a portion of the second metal layer around the second opening including a tip extending toward the second opening).
Regarding the limitation “a portion of the second metal layer disposed around the anchor hole includes a tip extending from a portion, at which the lower surface of the second metal layer contacts the lateral surface of the first metal layer, to the anchor hole”, Choung’143 teaches, in Figs. 4A-4B and Column 13 lines 50-67, trench 410B in a bank/PDL region and metal layer 420 forming metal overhang 412 having extension 415. Choung’143 teaches that overhang extension 415 extends laterally past peripheral portions 410A and hangs over trench 410B, and that the trench 410B and overhang extension 415 are used to define the overhang. Choung’143 also teaches that using the trench to define the overhang reduces the need for additional layers, reduces process costs, and increases throughput.
As discussed in claim 1, Choung’143’s trench 410B corresponds to the claimed anchor hole. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’252’s two-layer metal containing overhang structure 110 to include Choung’143’s trench/anchor-hole feature and to form the upper portion 110B with an overhanging tip/edge extending toward the trench/anchor hole, because Choung’252 already teaches that upper portion 110B overhangs lower portion 110A at pixel openings, and Choung’143 teaches that an overhang extension 415 extends over a trench 410B to define the overhang. Therefore, in the modified Choung’252 structure, the portion of upper portion 110B disposed around the trench/anchor hole would include a tip extending from the supported contact/region adjacent the lateral side of lower portion 110A toward the anchor hole, corresponding to the claimed tip around the anchor hole. It would have been obvious to make this modification in order to use a trench/recess to define the overhang, reduce the need for additional overhang-defining layers, recue process cost, and increase throughput, as taught by Choung’143.
Re: Claim 8, Choung’252 and Choung’143 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Choung’252 further teaches
wherein an outer portion of the first opposite electrode contacts a lateral surface of the first metal layer facing the first opening of the metal bank layer, and an outer portion of the second opposite electrode contacts a lateral surface of the first metal layer facing the second opening of the metal bank layer (Choung’252, in ¶ [0032], teaches that the inorganic overhang structure 110 includes lower portion 110A and upper portion 110B. As discussed in claim 1, lower portion 110A corresponds to the claimed first metal layer, and upper portion 110B corresponds to the claimed second metal layer. Choung’252 further teaches that cathode 114 contacts lower portion 110A of the inorganic overhang structure 110. Choung’252 also teaches that cathode 114 may be disposed on sidewall 111 of lower portion 110A. Sidewall 111 corresponds to the claimed lateral surface of the first metal layer facing the opening. Thus, for the first sub-pixel 108a, the outer portion of cathode 114 contacts sidewall 111 of lower portion 110A facing the first pixel opening 124A/124B, corresponding to an outer portion of the first opposite electrode contacts a lateral surface of the first metal layer facing the first opening.
Similarly for the second sub-pixel 108b, the outer portion of cathode 114 contacts sidewall 111 of lower portion 110A facing the second pixel opening 124A/124B, corresponding to an outer portion of the second opposite electrode contacts a lateral surface of the first metal layer facing the second opening).
Re: Claim 9, Choung’252 and Choung’143 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Choung’252 further teaches
further comprising: a first dummy intermediate layer disposed on the metal bank layer (Choung’252 teaches, in ¶¶ [0032] – [0033] OLED material 112 disposed on anode/metal layer 104 in the sub-pixel opening. Choung’252 also teaches that OLED material 112 is disposed over sidewall 113 and top surface 115 of upper portion 110B of inorganic overhang structure 110. As discussed for claim 1, overhang structure 110, including lower portion 110A and upper portion 110B, corresponds to the claimed metal bank layer. Therefore, the portion of OLED material 112 disposed on the overhang/bank structure 110 corresponds to the claimed first dummy intermediate layer disposed on the metal bank layer), the first dummy intermediate layer and the first intermediate layer including a same material (Choung’252 teaches that the OLED material 112 in the active sub-pixel region and the OLED material 112 on the overhang/bank structure are deposited as the same OLED material. Thus, the first dummy intermediate layer and the first intermediate layer include the same material); a first dummy opposite electrode disposed on the first dummy intermediate layer, the first dummy opposite electrode and the first opposite electrode including a same material (Choung’252 teaches cathode 114 disposed over OLED material 112. Choung’252 further teaches that cathode 114, together with OLED material 112, is disposed over sidewall 113 and top surface 115 of upper portion 110B of the overhang structure 110. Therefore, the portion of cathode 114 disposed on the dummy OLED material 112 on the overhang/bank structure corresponds to the claimed first dummy opposite electrode disposed on the first dummy intermediate layer. Because this dummy cathode portion is formed from the same cathode 114 as cathode 114 disposed over the OLED material 112 in the first opening, the first dummy opposite electrode and the first opposite electrode include the same material); and a first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer covering an inner surface of the first opening (Choung’252 teaches, in ¶ [0034], each sub-pixel 106 includes an encapsulation layer 116, which may correspond to a local passivation layer. Choung’252 teaches that encapsulation layer 116 is disposed over cathode 114 and OLED material 112, extends under at least a portion of each inorganic overhang structure 110, and extends along a sidewall of each inorganic overhang structure 110. Choung’252 further teaches that encapsulation layer 116 includes a non-conductive inorganic material, such as silicon-containing material including Si3N4. Thus, encapsulation layer 116 of first sub-pixel 108a corresponds to the claimed first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer, and because it extends under the overhang and along sidewalls of the overhang structure adjacent the pixel opening 124A/124B, it covers an inner surface of the first opening), wherein the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer continuously extends to overlap an upper surface and two opposite lateral surfaces of the first dummy opposite electrode, and two opposite lateral surfaces of the first dummy intermediate layer (Choung’252 teaches, in ¶ [0034] that encapsulation layer 116 is disposed over the cathode 114 and OLED material 112, extends under the upper portion 110B, extends along sidewall 111 of lower portion 110A, is disposed over sidewall 113 of upper portion 110B, and may also be disposed over top surface 115 of upper portion 110B. Because Choung’252 teaches the dummy OLED material 112 and dummy cathode 114 on sidewall 113 and top surface 115 of upper portion 110B, and further teaches inorganic encapsulation layer 116 deposited over cathode 114 and OLED material 112 across the same overhang/bank topography, Choung’252 teaches or renders obvious the encapsulation layer 116 continuously extending to overlap the upper surface and lateral surfaces of the dummy cathode 114, and the lateral surfaces of the dummy OLED material 112. The recited “two opposite lateral surfaces” are met, or at least rendered obvious, by the continuous conformal/local passivation coverage of the dummy OLED/cathode stack on the overhang/bank structure, including coverage along opposing side surfaces/edges of the deposited dummy stack).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide such continuous inorganic encapsulation coverage over the dummy OLED material 112 and dummy cathode 114 on the metal bank/overhang structure 110 in order to locally passivate the OLED/cathode material, cover the exposed sidewall and topography of the overhang structure, and protect the sub-pixel from degradation, consistent with houng’252’s teaching that encapsulation layer 116 is a local passivation layer disposed over cathode 114 and OLED material 112 and extending along the overhang sidewalls.
Re: Claim 10, Choung’252 and Choung’143 disclose all the limitations of claim 9 on which this claim depends.
Regarding the limitation “wherein an end portion of the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer contacts a lateral surface of the metal bank layer facing the anchor hole”, as discussed for claim 1, Choung’143 teaches trench 410B corresponding to the claimed anchor hole. Choung’143 also teaches, in Figs. 4A-4B, metal overhang 412 with overhang extension 415 extending over trench 410B, and teaches, in column 14 lines 33-67, that inorganic encapsulation layer 414 is deposited by an isotropic deposition process such that encapsulation layer 414 contacts the underside surface 428 of overhang extension 415 in the trench/overhang region. Choung’143 further teaches that encapsulation layer 414 is in contact with exterior sidewall 426 of cathode 408, OLED material 406, and metal layers 420.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’252’s metal-containing bank/overhang structure 110 to include Choung’143 trench/anchor structure 410B, and to have the end portion of Choung’252’s inorganic encapsulation layer 116 contact the lateral surface of the metal bank/overhang structure facing the trench/anchor hole, in order to conformally passivate exposed trench-facing surfaces and protect the OLED/cathode edge regions in the trench/overhang topology.
Re: Claim 11, Choung’252 and Choung’143 disclose all the limitations of claim 9 on which this claim depends.
Choung’252 further teaches
further comprising: a capping layer disposed between a region between the first opposite electrode and the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer, and a region between the first dummy opposite electrode and the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer (As discussed for claim 9, Choung’252 teaches the first opposite electrode as cathode 114, the first dummy opposite electrode as the portion of cathode 114 deposited on the overhang/bank structure 110, and the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer as encapsulation layer 116. Choung’252 further teaches, in Fig. 1A and ¶ [0035], one more capping layer, including first capping layer 121 and second capping layer 123, disposed between cathode 114 and encapsulation layer 116. Therefore, Choung’252 teaches a capping layer disposed between the first opposite electrode 114 and first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer 116. Because the dummy opposite electrode is also formed from cathode 114 on the overhang/bank structure 110, and encapsulation layer 116 is disposed over the cathode 114 and dummy cathode portions, the capping layer 121/123 is also disposed between the first dummy opposite electrode and the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer 116).
Re: Claim 12, Choung’252 and Choung’143 disclose all the limitations of claim 9 on which this claim depends.
further comprising: a second dummy intermediate layer disposed on the metal bank layer to contact the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer, the second dummy intermediate layer and the second intermediate layer including a same material (Choung’252 teaches, in ¶ [0033], second sub-pixel 108b including OLED material 112 disposed on anode 104 through the second opening 124A/124B, and further teaches OLED material 112 disposed on the overhang/bank structure 110, including sidewall 113 and top surface 115 of upper portion 110B. The OLED material 112 deposited on the bank/overhang structure corresponds to the second dummy intermediate layer, and the OLED material 112 in the second opening corresponds to the second intermediate layer. Because both are OLED material 112, they include the same material. Choung’252 further teaches sequential formation of sub-pixels and encapsulation layer 116 over the bank/overhang topography, making it obvious that the second dummy intermediate layer contacts the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer 116);
a second dummy opposite electrode disposed on the second dummy intermediate layer, the second dummy opposite electrode and the second opposite electrode including a same material (Choung’252 teaches cathode 114 disposed on OLED material 112 of the second sub-pixel 108b, and further teaches cathode 114 deposited on OLED material 112 located on the overhang/bank structure 110. The cathode 114 on the second dummy OLED material corresponds to the second dummy opposite electrode, and the cathode 114 in the second opening corresponds to the second opposite electrode. Because both are cathode 114, they include the same material); and
a second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer covering an inner surface of the second opening (Choung’252 teaches, in ¶ [0034], encapsulation layer 116 disposed over cathode 114 and OLED material 112 of each sub-pixel, including second sub-pixel 108b. Choung’252 further teaches that encapsulation layer 116 includes inorganic material, such as silicon-containing/Si3N4 material, and extends under and along the sidewalls of the overhang/bank structure 110. Thus, encapsulation layer 116 of second sub-pixel 108b corresponds to the second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer covering an inner surface of the second opening 124A/124B),
wherein the second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer continuously extends to overlap an upper surface and two opposite lateral surfaces of the second dummy opposite electrode, two opposite lateral surfaces of the second dummy intermediate layer, two opposite lateral surfaces of the first dummy opposite electrode, and two opposite lateral surfaces of the first dummy intermediate layer (Choung’252 teaches, in ¶ [0034], encapsulation layer 116 disposed over cathode 114 and OLED material 112, including the dummy OLED material 112 and dummy cathode 114 deposited on the shared overhang/bank structure 110. Because encapsulation layer 116 is deposited over the bank/overhang topography and extends along sidewalls of the overhang structure, Choung’252 teaches or at least renders obvious continuous coverage over the upper and lateral surfaces of the second dummy cathode 114 and lateral surfaces of the second dummy OLED material 112. Choung’252 further teaches sequential formation of first and second sub-pixel structures on the shared overhang/bank structure 110; therefore it would have been obvious for the second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer 116 to also overlap exposed lateral surfaces of the previously formed first dummy cathode 114 and first dummy OLED material 112 in order to passivate exposed OLED/cathode material, cover the shared bank/overhang sidewall topography, and protect the sub-pixel regions from degradation).
Re: Claim 17, Choung’252 disclose all the limitations of claim 14 on which this claim depends.
Choung’252 is silent regarding
wherein the metal bank layer further includes an anchor hole disposed in a non- sub-pixel area in which the first sub-pixel electrode and the second sub-pixel electrode are not disposed, and the anchor hole is disposed between the first opening and the second opening.
However, Choung’143 teaches wherein the metal bank layer further includes an anchor hole disposed in a non- sub-pixel area in which the first sub-pixel electrode and the second sub-pixel electrode are not disposed, and the anchor hole is disposed between the first opening and the second opening (Choung’143 teaches, in Fig. 4A, a trench 410B formed in the bank/PDL structure 410 (a non-sub-pixel area) between adjacent sub-pixel regions 418a and 418b. Choung’143 further teaches, in Fig. 4B metal layer 420 forming metal overhang 412, including overhang extension 415 that extends over the trench 410B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’252’s metal-containing overhang/bank structure 110, which defines pixel openings 124A/124B over adjacent sun-pixel electrodes/anodes 104, to include Choung’143’s trench 410B in the bank/PDL region between adjacent pixel openings, corresponding to the claimed anchor hole, in order to define the overhang using a trench formed in the bank/PDL structure, reduce the need for additional layers, reduce process costs, and increase throughput as taught by Choung’143 in Column 63-66.
Re: Claim 18, Choung’252 and Choung’143 disclose all the limitations of claim 17 on which this claim depends.
Regarding the limitation “further comprising: an organic encapsulation layer filling at least a portion of each of the first opening, the second opening, and the anchor hole,” Choung’252 teaches, in ¶ [0034], encapsulation layer 116 over cathode 114 and OLED material 112, wherein encapsulation layer 16 include a non-conductive inorganic material. Choung’252 is silent regarding an organic encapsulation layer filling at least a portion of each of the first opening, the second opening, and anchor hole.
However, Choung’143 teaches, in column 14 lines 50-65, an OLED trench-overhang structure including encapsulation layer 414, global encapsulation layer 416, and an inkjet layer disposed between the encapsulation layer 414 and global encapsulation layer 416, wherein the inkjet layer may include acrylic material. Choung’143’s acrylic inkjet layer corresponds to the claimed organic encapsulation layer.
Regarding the limitation wherein the organic encapsulation layer is disposed on the first sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer and the second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layer, Choung’252 teaches first and second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layers 116 disposed over cathode 114 and OLED material 112 of the first and second sub-pixels. Choung’143 teaches the acrylic inkjet layer disposed over the encapsulation layer 414 and below the global encapsulation layer 416. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the acrylic organic/inkjet layer to be disposed on the first and second sub-pixel inorganic encapsulation layers 116 of Choung’252 as part of the encapsulation stack.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Choung’143’s inkjet layer in the encapsulation stack of Choung’252, as modified with Choung’143’s trench 410B, in order to fill and planarize the uneven pixel-opening/trench topography and provide a known organic/inorganic encapsulation stack for protecting OLED sub-pixels.
Re: Claim 19, Choung’252 and Choung’143 disclose all the limitations of claim 18 on which this claim depends.
Choung’143 further teaches
wherein the anchor hole is partially removed in a thickness direction of the metal bank layer (Choung’143 teaches, in Fig. 4A-4B and column 13 lines 36-67, trench 410B disposed in inorganic PDL/Bank structure 410, and metal layer 420 forming metal overhang 412 having overhang extension 415 extending laterally over trench 410B. Choung’143 teaches that the overhang extension 415 hangs over trench 410B, such that trench 410B is a recessed feature used to define the overhang, rather than a through -hole removing the entire overhang/bank structure), and
Regarding “a depth of the anchor hole is less than a sum of a thickness of the metal bank layer and a thickness of a dummy material on the metal bank layer”, Choung’143 further teaches, in Figs. 4A-4B, OLED material 406 deposited on top of metal layer 420, wherein the OLED material 406 on top of metal layer 420 is disconnected from the OLED material 406 deposited on anode 404. The disconnected OLED material 406 on metal layer 420 corresponds to the claimed dummy material on the metal bank. Thus, Choung’143 teaches or al least renders obvious an anchor hole/trench that is partially removed in the thickness direction because trench 410B is formed in the bank/PDL region with metal layer 420 and overhang extension 415 remain over the trench region. Since the trench 410B does not remove the full stack including the metal overhang and the disconnected OLED material 406 on metal layer 420, a depth of the trench/anchor hole is less than a sum of the thickness of the metal bank/overhang structure and the thickness of the dummy OLED material on the metal bank/overhang structure. Furthermore, “a depth of the anchor hole” as currently written in the claim reads “on a portion of depth of the anchor hole is less than a sum of a thickness of the metal bank layer and a thickness of a dummy material on the metal bank layer”, and does not require the total depth of the anchor hole to be less than a sum of a thickness of the metal bank layer and a thickness of a dummy material on the metal bank layer.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choung’252’s metal-containing overhang/bank structure 110 to include Choung’143’s partial-depth trench 410B and overhang extension 415, such that the resulting anchor-hole type feature is partially removed in a thickness direction of the metal bank/overhang structure and has a depth less than the combined thickness of the metal bank/overhang structure and the disconnected dummy OLED material disposed thereon, in order to define the overhang using a trench/recess while reducing the need for additional overhang-defining layers, reducing process cost, and increasing throughput, as taught by Choung’143’.
Re: Claim 20, Choung’252 and Choung’143 disclose all the limitations of claim 19 on which this claim depends.
wherein the anchor hole exposes an upper surface of the first metal layer that is partially removed (Choung’143 teaches trench 410B in the bank/PDL region associated with metal layer 420 and metal overhang 412, wherein overhang extension 415 extends laterally over the trench 410B. Choung’143 teaches that the overhang extension 415 of metal layer 420 hangs over the trench area and is used to define the overhang structure. It would have been obvious to modify Choung’252’s two-layer metal-containing bank/overhang structure 110 to include Choung’143’s trench/anchor-hole feature by partially removing upper portion 110B and partially removing lower portion 110A, thereby exposing an upper surface of lower portion 110A through the trench/anchor hole. This modification is a predictable application of Choung’252’s selective etching of stacked upper and lower portions 110B/110A to form an overhang, in view of Choung’143 teaching using a trench 410B and overhang extension 415 to define the overhang structure),
and the upper surface of the first metal layer exposed through the anchor hole contacts the organic encapsulation layer (Choung’143 further teaches, in figs. 4A-4B and column 14 lines 33-67, an encapsulation stack including encapsulation layer 414, global encapsulation layer 416, and an inkjet layer disposed between the encapsulation layer 414 and global encapsulation layer 416, wherein the inkjet layer may include acrylic material. As discussed for claim 2, the acrylic layer corresponds to the claimed organic encapsulation layer. Choung’143 also teaches that the encapsulation layers are deposited using isotropic deposition process, which deposit material along the uneven trench/overhang topology. Thus, in the modified Choung’252 structure, it would have been obvious for the organic/acrylic encapsulation material to fill the trench/anchor-hole region and contact the exposed upper surface of lower portion 110A, because the organic/acrylic layer is applied over the trench/overhang topography to fill and planarize recessed regions as part of the encapsulation stack).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the above modification on order to define the overhang using a trench/recess, reduce the need for additional overhang-defining layers, reduce process cost, increase throughput, and fill/planarize the resulting recessed trench topology with an organic/acrylic encapsulation material, as suggested by Choung’143.
Prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to current application disclosure.
Kang (US 20200083475 A1) and Xin (US 20190393440 A1) disclose display device with grove on the metal stack in non-pixel area.
Conclusion
/BIPANA ADHIKARI DAWADI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898