DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/7/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka et al (US 2016/0248033 and Uesaka hereinafter) in view of Toyoda et al (US 2008/0252223 and Toyoda hereinafter).
As to claims 1-5: Uesaka discloses [claim 1] a display device (Fig. 5A) comprising: a first pixel electrode (right 101; [0194]) over a first transistor (transistor not shown; [0269]); a first light-emitting layer (120; [0194]) configured to emit blue light (in 222B, blue light is emitted by layer 120; [0204]), over the first pixel electrode (right 101); a second pixel electrode (left 101; [0194]) over a second transistor (transistor not shown; [0269]); a second light-emitting layer (150 comprising 120 and 130; [0194]) configured to emit green light (in 222G, green light is emitted by a combination of layers 120 and 130; [0204]), over the second pixel electrode (left 101); a third pixel electrode (103; [0194]) over a third transistor (transistor not shown; [0269]); a third light-emitting layer (150 comprising 120 and 130; [0194]) configured to emit red light (in 222R, red light is emitted by a combination of layers 120 and 130; [0204]), over the third pixel electrode (103); and a common electrode (102; [0194]) over the first light-emitting layer (120), the second light-emitting layer (150 comprising 120 and 130), and the third light-emitting layer (150 comprising 120 and 130); [claim 2] further comprising a first common layer (112; [0278]) between the first to third pixel (left and right 101 and 103) electrodes and the first to third light-emitting (150 comprising 120 and 130) layers; [claim 3] wherein the first common layer (112) includes at least one of a hole-injection layer and a hole-transport layer (hole-transport layer; [0279]); [claim 4] further comprising a second common layer (118; [0282]) between the first to third light-emitting (150 comprising 120 and 130) layers and the common electrode (102); [claim 5] wherein the second common layer (118) includes at least one of an electron-injection layer and an electron-transport layer (electron transport layer; [0282]).
Uesaka fails to expressly disclose [claim 1] an active layer of a light-receiving element over the third pixel electrode; where the third light-emitting layer is formed over the active layer of the light-receiving element.
Toyoda discloses a display device that includes [claim 1] an active layer (Fig. 20; organic layer of the light receiving portion; [0076]) of a light-receiving element (308; [0075]) over the third pixel electrode (AD; [0075]); where the third light-emitting layer is formed over the active layer of the light-receiving element (the stacked structure is that of the organic layer for the active layer and then the organic layer for the light-emitting layer; [0075]-[0077]).
Given the teachings of Toyoda, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Uesaka by employing the well-known or conventional features of display fabrication, such as displayed by Toyoda, by employing an active layer in the pixel structures that can receive light and are formed under the light-emitting layer in order to provide a display that high detection accuracy ([0022]).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka in view of Toyoda in view of Sawaki (US 2016/0013248 and Sawaki hereinafter).
As to claims 6-10: Uesaka discloses [claim 6] a display device (Fig. 5A) comprising: a first pixel electrode (right 101; [0194]) over a first transistor (transistor not shown; [0269]); a first light-emitting layer (120; [0194]) configured to emit blue light (in 222B, blue light is emitted by layer 120; [0204]), over the first pixel electrode (right 101); a second pixel electrode (left 101; [0194]) over a second transistor (transistor not shown; [0269]); a second light-emitting layer (150 comprising 120 and 130; [0194]) configured to emit green light (in 222G, green light is emitted by a combination of layers 120 and 130; [0204]), over the second pixel electrode (left 101); a third pixel electrode (103; [0194]) over a third transistor (transistor not shown; [0269]); a third light-emitting layer (150 comprising 120 and 130; [0194]) configured to emit red light (in 222R, red light is emitted by a combination of layers 120 and 130; [0204]), over the third pixel electrode (103); and a common electrode (102; [0194]) over the first light-emitting layer (120), the second light-emitting layer (150 comprising 120 and 130), and the third light-emitting layer (150 comprising 120 and 130); [claim 7] further comprising a first common layer (112; [0278]) between the first to third pixel (left and right 101 and 103) electrodes and the first to third light-emitting (150 comprising 120 and 130) layers; [claim 8] wherein the first common layer (112) includes at least one of a hole-injection layer and a hole-transport layer (hole-transport layer; [0279]); [claim 9] further comprising a second common layer (118; [0282]) between the first to third light-emitting (150 comprising 120 and 130) layers and the common electrode (102); [claim 10] wherein the second common layer (118) includes at least one of an electron-injection layer and an electron-transport layer (electron transport layer; [0282]).
Uesaka fails to expressly disclose [claim 6] an active layer of a light-receiving element over the third pixel electrode; where the third light-emitting layer is formed over the active layer of the light-receiving element.
Toyoda discloses a display device that includes [claim 6] an active layer (Fig. 20; organic layer of the light receiving portion; [0076]) of a light-receiving element (308; [0075]) over the third pixel electrode (AD; [0075]); where the third light-emitting layer is formed over the active layer of the light-receiving element (the stacked structure is that of the organic layer for the active layer and then the organic layer for the light-emitting layer; [0075]-[0077]).
Given the teachings of Toyoda, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Uesaka by employing the well-known or conventional features of display fabrication, such as displayed by Toyoda, by employing an active layer in the pixel structures that can receive light and are formed under the light-emitting layer in order to provide a display that high detection accuracy ([0022]).
Uesaka in view of Toyoda fail to expressly disclose [claim 6] wherein the active layer of the light-receiving elements includes a p-type semiconductor and an n-type semiconductor.
Sawaki discloses in Fig. 1 that layers 32a and 32b that form an organic light-receiving layer comprise n-type and p-type semiconductor components, see [0011].
Given the teachings of Sawaki, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Uesaka in view of Toyoda by employing the well-known or conventional features of photoelectric conversion material layer fabrication, such as displayed by Sawaki, by employing the organic light-receiving layer that comprises p-type and n-type semiconductors in order to provide a light receiving layer that is excellent in response speed, sensitivity, and heat resistance ([0008]).
Conclusion
JOSEPH C. NICELY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/JOSEPH C. NICELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813
3/30/2026