DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
Applicant’s elections without traverse of Species B, G, J and L (Claims 1-4, 9-14, 16, 19-21 and 23-26) in the reply filed on 04/21/2026 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, 14, 16 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over US5306668A; Byungseong et al.; (hereinafter “Byungseong”).
Regarding Claim 1, Byungseong teaches a method of forming an electrode with multi-dielectric layers (Figures 3A-B), comprising:
forming a metal pattern (Figures 2A-B) on a substrate (#10), wherein the metal pattern comprises a first metal film (#11) on the substrate and a second metal film (#12) on a top surface of the first metal film (#11), and a metal composition of the first metal film and a metal composition of the second metal film are different (col. 2, ln. 64 - col. 3, ln. 15); and
anodizing the metal pattern in a liquid electrolyte (col. 3, ln. 17-25) to form a covering anodized portion (#15, Figures 2C-D) which covers an unanodized portion (#11-12), wherein the covering anodized portion comprises a sidewall oxide dielectric structure (#SD, Figure 3B of Byungseong annotated) and a top oxide dielectric structure (#TD), the sidewall oxide dielectric structure (#SD) is in contact with a side surface of the unanodized portion (side surface of #11-12), the top oxide dielectric structure (#TD) is in contact with a top surface of the unanodized portion (top surface of #12) and a top surface of the sidewall oxide dielectric structure (top surface of #SD), and the sidewall oxide dielectric structure and the top oxide dielectric structure have different effective permittivities (anodization of metal layers #11 and #12 of different metal compositions results in different metal oxide layers of dielectric portion #SD and #TD which inherently have different effective permittivities).
Regarding Claim 2, Byungseong teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein Byungseong further teaches the forming the metal pattern comprises:
depositing the first metal film (#30, Figure 5A-C) on the substrate (#10);
depositing the second metal film (#31) on the first metal film (#30); and
performing an etching process to the first metal film and the second metal film to form the metal pattern, wherein the etching process is a photo engraving process (Figure 5A-C, col. 2, ln. 33-37).
Regarding Claim 3, Byungseong teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein Byungseong further teaches the first metal film is a multilayer structure (Figure 4C, metal film can comprise metal layers #20 and #21).
Regarding Claim 9, Byungseong teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein Byungseong further teaches a material of the second metal film comprises at least one of hafnium, tantalum, zirconium, titanium, and tungsten (col. 5, ln. 66-68, second metal layer comprises tungsten).
Regarding Claim 14, Byungseong teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein Byungseong further teaches the metal pattern further comprises at least one additional metal film on a top surface of the second metal film (Figure 4C, a third metal layer #22 disposes on second metal layer #21).
Regarding Claim 16, Byungseong teaches the method for manufacturing a semiconductor device as described in claim 14, wherein Byungseong further teaches the at least one additional metal film contains at least one of hafnium, tantalum, zirconium, titanium, and tungsten (col. 4, ln. 43-60, metal layer #22 comprises a same material as layer #20 such as tantalum Ta).
Regarding Claim 23, Byungseong teaches the method for manufacturing a semiconductor device as described in claim 1, wherein Byungseong further teaches the second metal film is partially anodized after the anodizing (Figures 2B-D, metal layer #12 is partially anodized).
Regarding Claim 24, Byungseong teaches the method for manufacturing a semiconductor device as described in claim 1, wherein Byungseong further teaches the unanodized portion has an atomic ratio of aluminum greater than 50% (Figure 5C, col. 5, ln. 64, metal layer 30 comprises entirely of Al).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11, 13, 19-21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byungseong in view of WO2014102881A1; Tadahiro Ohmi; (hereinafter “Ohmi”); see attached machine patent translation.
Regarding Claim 4, Byungseong teaches the method as described in claim 3.
Byungseong does not explicitly teach a bottommost layer of the first metal film contains molybdenum or titanium and rest of the first metal film has an atomic ratio of aluminum greater than 50%.
However, Ohmi teaches a method for forming insulating films by anodic oxidation in semiconductor device (par. 1, pg. 4), comprising a bottommost layer of the first metal film contains molybdenum or titanium (pg. 20-21, gate electrode can comprise a composite structure such as sequentially stack metal/Al (Zr) alloy, wherein the metal can comprise Ti or Mo, see pg. 19) and rest of the first metal film has an atomic ratio of aluminum greater than 50% (pg. 12, Al (Zr) alloy of the gate electrode contains mostly Al since the added amount of Zr is only 0.01-0.15%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Byungseong with the teaching of Ohmi, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (gate electrode material of Byungseong) for another (gate electrode material of Ohmi) in comparable structures to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding Claim 11, Byungseong teaches the method as described in claim 1.
Byungseong does not explicitly teach the anodizing is performed to reach a termination voltage under 500 Volt.
However, Ohmi teaches the anodizing is performed to reach a termination voltage under 500 Volt (pg. 16, the anodic oxidation is performed at 200V).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Ohmi because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 13, Byungseong teaches the method as described in claim 1.
Byungseong does not explicitly teach the liquid electrolyte containing a content of water less than 20 wt %.
However, Ohmi teaches the liquid electrolyte containing a content of water less than 20 wt % (pg. 15, the electrolyte for anodization contains about 20% of water).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Ohmi because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 19, Byungseong teaches the method as described in claim 1.
Byungseong does not explicitly teach forming a conductive pattern across the unanodized portion through the top oxide dielectric structure.
However, Ohmi teaches forming a conductive pattern (#104-106, Figure 1, pg. 25, electrical contacts) across the unanodized portion through the top oxide dielectric structure (#104-106 form across gate electrode #102 and insulating film #103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Byungseong with the teaching of Ohmi by known methods to yield predictable results (implementation of source/drain electrode on TFT structure). See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding Claim 20, Byungseong in view of Ohmi teaches the method as described in claim 19.
Byungseong does not explicitly teach the conductive pattern comprises a bottom layer and a top layer, the bottom layer is an oxide semiconductor layer, and the top layer is a metal layer.
However, Ohmi teaches the conductive pattern (Figure 1) comprises a bottom layer (#104) and a top layer (#105-106), the bottom layer is an oxide semiconductor layer (pg. 22-23, oxide semiconductor layer #104), and the top layer is a metal layer (pg. 25, source/drain electrode #105-106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Byungseong with the teaching of Ohmi for reason set forth in rejection of claim 19.
Regarding Claim 21, Byungseong teaches the method as described in claim 1.
Byungseong does not explicitly teach a thickness of the metal pattern is less than 10 μm before the anodizing.
However, Ohmi teaches a thickness of the metal pattern is less than 10 μm before the anodizing (pg. 20, gate electrode preferably has small thickness, such as 100nm or less).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Ohmi because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 25, Byungseong teaches the method as described in claim 1.
Byungseong does not explicitly teach the effective permittivity of the top oxide dielectric structure is smaller than the effective permittivity of the sidewall oxide dielectric structure.
However, Ohmi teaches the effective permittivity of the top oxide dielectric structure is smaller than the effective permittivity of the sidewall oxide dielectric structure (material of gate electrode #102 can comprise composite structure such as a sequentially stack Ti/Al (Zr) alloy, see rejection of claim 4, which is similar to the material of the metal pattern of the instant application. Hence, anodization of the metal layers would inherently result in the top metal oxide of gate insulating layer #103 having smaller effective permittivity than that of the sidewall metal oxide of layer #103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Byungseong with the teaching of Ohmi, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (gate electrode material of Byungseong) for another (gate electrode material of Ohmi) in comparable structures to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byungseong in view of US20100025676A1; Yamazaki et al.; (hereinafter “Yamazaki”).
Regarding Claim 10, Byungseong teaches the method as described in claim 1, wherein Byungseong further teaches:
forming a mask pattern (#13, Figure 2B) on a portion of a top surface of the metal pattern (#12) before the anodizing; and
removing the mask pattern after the anodizing (Figures 2C-D), such that the top surface of the unanodized portion has a covered section covered by the top oxide dielectric structure (Figure 2D or Figure 3B of Byungseong annotated) OR at least one uncovered section exposed by the top oxide dielectric structure (Figures 2C-C’).
Byungseong does not explicitly teach the top surface of the unanodized portion has at least one uncovered section exposed by the top oxide dielectric structure.
However, Yamazaki teaches a semiconductor device with a thin film transistor TFT ([0010]), wherein the top surface of the unanodized portion has at least one uncovered section exposed by the top oxide dielectric structure (Figures 1A-B, insulating film #102 exposes at least a portion of the top surface of electrode #101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Byungseong with the teaching of Yamazaki, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (covered gate electrode of Byungseong) for another (covered gate electrode of Yamazaki) in comparable structures to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byungseong in view of US20050142705A1; Konuma et al.; (hereinafter “Konuma”).
Regarding Claim 12, Byungseong teaches the method as described in claim 1.
Byungseong does not explicitly teach the anodizing is performed at a temperature under 15° C.
However, Konuma teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device ([0001]), wherein the anodizing is performed at a temperature under 15° C ([0056], the anodic oxidation is performed in electrolyte at 10° C or lower to improve quality of the oxide film).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by Konuma because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.05.I.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byungseong in view of Ohmi, and further in view of Yamazaki.
Regarding Claim 26, Byungseong in view of Ohmi teaches the method as described in claim 25.
Byungseong in view of Ohmi does not explicitly teach the top oxide dielectric structure contains silicon oxide.
However, Yamazaki teaches the top oxide dielectric structure contains silicon oxide ([0096], gate insulating layer comprise silicon oxide).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Byungseong in view of Ohmi with the teaching of Yamazaki, as it would be a simple substitution of one known element (gate insulating material of Byungseong) for another (gate insulating material of Yamazaki) in comparable structures to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Additionally, Ohmi also teaches Al alloy film containing unavoidable impurity such as silicon (pg. 13 of machine patent translation), which can result in silicon oxide after anodization.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US5352907A – Figures 3A-F and 4
US5334544A – Figures 1(a)-(c)
US20120119216A1 – Figures 2-5
/TIEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812