Attorney’s Docket Number: 242418/411598-07498
Filing Date: 12/06/2023
Claimed Foreign Priority Date: 06/01/2023 (KR10-2023-0071012)
03/24/2023 (KR10-2023-0039233)
Applicants: Shim et al.
Examiner: Younes Boulghassoul
DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the Election filed on 06/20/2026.
Remarks
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group Invention I (drawn to a semiconductor structure), in the reply filed on 06/20/2026, is acknowledged. Applicant indicated that claims 1-10 read on the elected Species. The examiner agrees. Accordingly, pending in this application are claims 1-20, with claims 11-20 standing withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the arrangement of display elements such that “a fifth display element configured to emit light of the second color and including a fifth pixel electrode; and a second connection line connecting the second pixel electrode and the fifth pixel electrode to each other, wherein the first display element and the third display element are arranged in a first direction, and the second display element and the fifth display element are arranged in a second direction crossing the first direction” (as recited in claim 9), must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
- Par. [00174], L. 5-7: amend to -- According to some embodiments, the first to third connection lines CWL1, CWL2, and CWL3 may each include poly indium tin oxide (poly-ITO)--, in accordance with applicant’s prior disclosure at L. 3-4 of “conductive oxide such as indium tin oxide (ITO)”, and for ITO being commonly known in the semiconductor art as an acronym for indium tin oxide. .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 recites “a fifth display element configured to emit light of the second color and including a fifth pixel electrode; and a second connection line connecting the second pixel electrode and the fifth pixel electrode to each other, wherein the first display element and the third display element are arranged in a first direction, and the second display element and the fifth display element are arranged in a second direction crossing the first direction”. However, the disclosure as originally filed discloses instead that: “as shown in FIG. 6, the first display element DE1 and the fourth display element DE4 may be arranged in a first direction DR1. The second display element DE2 and the fifth display element DE5 may be sequentially arranged in a second direction DR2 crossing the first direction DR1.” (see, e.g., Fig. 6 and Par. [00157]). Accordingly, the arrangement recited in claim 9 lacks written description.
The applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim, or demonstrate explicit support for the claimed subject matter in the original disclosure (e.g., by citing specific excerpts from Specification or features in Drawings related to the claimed embodiment, as originally filed). A broad statement alleging support for the claimed subject matter will be considered non-persuasive.
Claim 10 depends from claim 9 thus inherits the deficiencies discussed supra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by An et al. (US2022/0336564).
Regarding Claim 1, An (see, e.g., Figs. 6-9 and Par. [0138]-[0197]), in a first interpretation of the disclosure, shows all aspects of the instant invention, including a display apparatus comprising:
- a first display element configured to emit light of a first color (e.g., one of display elements OLED2 emitting Green light in AR2) and including a first pixel electrode (e.g., pixel electrode 211 of OLED2)
- a second display element configured to emit light of a second color different from the first color (e.g., one of display elements OLED1 emitting Red light in AR2), and including a second pixel electrode (e.g., 211 of OLED1)
- a third display element configured to emit light of a third color different from the first color and the second color (e.g., one of display elements OLED3 emitting Blue light in AR2), and including a third pixel electrode (e.g., 211 of OLED3)
- a fourth display element configured to emit light of the first color (e.g., another one of display elements OLED2 emitting Green light in AR2) and including a fourth pixel electrode (e.g., 211 of OLED2)
- a first connection line (e.g., upper line UWL) connecting the first pixel electrode and the fourth pixel electrode to each other, the first connection line directly contacting the first pixel electrode and the fourth pixel electrode (see, e.g., Figs. 6 and 8: UWL directly contacts respective 211s of adjacent OLED2s in AR2).
Regarding Claim 3, An (see, e.g., Fig. 8) shows that the first pixel electrode and the fourth pixel electrode are on the first connection line (e.g., 211s of OLED2s are on UWL).
Regarding Claim 5, An (see, e.g., Fig. 8) shows that the first connection line covers the first pixel electrode and the fourth pixel electrode (e.g., UWL covers at least bottom end surfaces of 211s of adjacent OLED2s).
Regarding Claim 6, An (see, e.g., Figs. 7-9 and Par. [0134],[0177]) shows a pixel-defining layer including an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first to fourth display elements (e.g., pixel-defining layer 215 including openings 215OP), directly contacting the first connection line partially, and including an inorganic material (e.g., inorganic insulating material).
Regarding Claim 9, An (see, e.g., Figs. 6-9) shows:
- a fifth display element configured to emit light of the second color (e.g., another one of display elements OLED1 emitting Red light in AR2) and including a fifth pixel electrode (e.g., 211 of OLED1)
- a second connection line (e.g.: lower line LWL) connecting the second pixel electrode and the fifth pixel electrode to each other (see, e.g., Figs. 6 and 7: LWL connects respective 211s of adjacent OLED1s to each other)
- wherein the first display element and the third display element are arranged in a first direction (e.g., +45o), and the second display element and the fifth display element are arranged in a second direction (e.g., -45o) crossing the first direction (see, e.g., Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 10, An (see, e.g., Figs. 6-9) shows:
- a sixth display element configured to emit light of the third color (e.g., another one of display elements OLED3 emitting Blue light in AR2) and including a sixth pixel electrode (e.g., 211 of OLED3)
- a third connection line connecting the third pixel electrode and the sixth pixel electrode to each other (see, e.g., Fig. 6: UWL3 connects respective 211s of adjacent OLED3s to each other)
- wherein the third display element and the sixth display element are arranged in the first direction (e.g., +45o).
Regarding Claim 1, An (see, e.g., Figs. 6-9 and Par. [0138]-[0197]), in a second interpretation of the disclosure, shows all aspects of the instant invention, including a display apparatus comprising:
- a first display element configured to emit light of a first color (e.g., one of display elements OLED1 emitting Red light in AR1) and including a first pixel electrode (e.g., pixel electrode 211 of OLED1)
- a second display element configured to emit light of a second color different from the first color (e.g., one of display elements OLED3 emitting Blue light in AR1), and including a second pixel electrode (e.g., 211 of OLED3)
- a third display element configured to emit light of a third color different from the first color and the second color (e.g., one of display elements OLED2 emitting Green light in AR1), and including a third pixel electrode (e.g., 211 of OLED2)
- a fourth display element configured to emit light of the first color (e.g., another one of display elements OLED1 emitting Red light in AR1) and including a fourth pixel electrode (e.g., 211 of OLED1)
- a first connection line (e.g., upper line UWL) connecting the first pixel electrode and the fourth pixel electrode to each other, the first connection line directly contacting the first pixel electrode and the fourth pixel electrode (see, e.g., Figs. 6 and 9: UWL directly contacts respective 211s of adjacent OLED1s).
Regarding Claim 3, An (see, e.g., Fig. 9) shows that the first pixel electrode and the fourth pixel electrode are on the first connection line (e.g., 211s of OLED1s are on UWL).
Regarding Claim 5, An (see, e.g., Fig. 9) shows that the first connection line covers the first pixel electrode and the fourth pixel electrode (e.g., UWL covers at least bottom end surfaces of 211s of adjacent OLED1s).
Regarding Claim 6, An (see, e.g., Figs. 7-9 and Par. [0134],[0177]) shows a pixel-defining layer including an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first to fourth display elements (e.g., pixel-defining layer 215 including openings 215OP), directly contacting the first connection line partially, and including an inorganic material (e.g., inorganic insulating material).
Regarding Claim 7, An (see, e.g., Fig. 9) shows:
- a substrate (e.g., substrate 100) including a first region (e.g., area AR1) and a second region (e.g., area AR2) adjacent to each other
- a pixel circuit in the second region (e.g., pixel circuit PC2) and configured to drive the first display element and the fourth display element (see, e.g., Par. [0122]: TFT1 is a driving thin-film transistor)
- a circuit connection line (e.g., connection line CWL) electrically connected to the pixel circuit and extending from the second region to the first region
- an inorganic insulating layer (e.g., inorganic insulating layer 117) covering the circuit connection line and extending from the second region to the first region
- wherein the first connection line is on the inorganic insulating layer, and the first connection line, the first pixel electrode, and the fourth pixel electrode are in the first region (see, e.g., Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 8, An (see, e.g., Par. [0156]) discloses that LCL and UCL include a transparent conductive material (TCO) such as ITO and IZO. Therefore, An (see, e.g., Fig. 9 and Par. [0156]) shows that the circuit connection line (e.g., CWL) and the first connection line (e.g., UWL) each include a transparent conductive material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. (US2022/0336564) in view of Jeon et al. (US2022/0140027).
Regarding Claim 4, An (see, e.g., Par. [0156]) discloses that the first connection line (e.g., UCL/CWL) includes a transparent conductive material (TCO) such as ITO or IZO. However, An is silent about the TCO material being poly-ITO.
Jeon (see, e.g., Par. [0083]), on the other hand and in the same field of endeavor, teaches that indium tin oxide (ITO), poly-ITO, and indium zinc oxide (IZO) are known suitable materials for implementing a transparent conductive oxide layer in a display device.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to have the first connection line including poly indium tin oxide (poly-ITO ) in the structure of An, because ITO, poly-ITO, and IZO are known suitable materials for implementing a transparent conductive oxide layer in a display device, as suggested by Jeon, and selecting a known material based on its suitability for its intended use would have been obvious to the skilled artisan. See, Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited disclose display devices with RGB display elements, wherein display elements of a similar color have electrically connected pixel electrodes, similar to the instant invention.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Younes Boulghassoul at (571) 270-5514. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9am-6pm EST (Eastern Standard Time), or by e-mail via younes.boulghassoul@uspto.gov. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wael Fahmy can be reached at (571) 272-1705. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/YOUNES BOULGHASSOUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814