DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 8 – 15, 17, and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2021/0082742).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches (FIG. 1J):
A structure, comprising:
a barrier-free metal via (116) over a substrate and in a dielectric layer; and
a barrier-free metal wire (122) in the dielectric layer and over the barrier-free metal via and coupled to at least an exposed portion of the barrier-free metal via, wherein the barrier-free metal via and the barrier-free metal wire each include a non-copper conductor (ruthenium, [0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches:
The structure of claim 1, wherein the non-copper conductor includes a transition metal (ruthenium).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches:
The structure of claim 1, wherein the non-copper conductor includes one of ruthenium, cobalt, and molybdenum ([0041]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches:
The structure of claim 1, wherein the barrier-free metal via and the barrier-free metal wire have a same material composition ([0025]).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches:
The structure of claim 1, wherein the barrier-free metal via is chamferless (FIG. 1J).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches:
The structure of claim 1, wherein the barrier-free metal wire has a substantially rectangular cross-sectional area, and wherein the barrier-free metal via has a substantially circular cross-sectional area (FIG. 3A – 3C).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches:
The structure of claim 1, wherein the barrier-free metal wire surrounds the exposed portion of the barrier-free metal via (FIG. 3A – 3C).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches:
The structure of claim 1, wherein the barrier-free metal via includes a sidewall substantially vertically aligned with a sidewall of the barrier-free metal wire (FIG. 3A – 3C).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches (FIG. 1J):
A structure, comprising:
a low-resistivity interconnect layer over a substrate, the low-resistivity interconnect layer including a barrier-free metal via (116) in a dielectric layer; and
a barrier-free metal wire (122) in the dielectric layer and coupled to at least an exposed portion of the barrier-free metal via, wherein the barrier-free metal via and the barrier-free metal wire each include a non-copper conductor (ruthenium, [0041]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches:
The structure of claim 12, wherein the barrier-free metal via includes a plurality of barrier-free metal vias ([0022] discusses adjacent vias).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches:
The structure of claim 12, wherein the barrier-free metal via is chamferless (FIG. 1J).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches:
The structure of claim 12, wherein the barrier-free metal via and the barrier-free metal wire have a same material composition ([0041]).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches (FIG. 1D – 1J):
A method of forming a structure, comprising:
forming a barrier-free metal via (114) over a substrate and in a dielectric layer; and
forming a barrier-free metal wire (122) in the dielectric layer and over the barrier-free metal via and coupled to at least an exposed portion of the barrier-free metal via, wherein the barrier-free metal via and the barrier-free metal wire each include a non-copper conductor (ruthenium, [0041]).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches:
The method of claim 17, wherein the barrier-free metal via is chamferless (FIG. 1J).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches:
The method of claim 17, wherein the barrier-free metal wire has a substantially rectangular cross-sectional area, and wherein the barrier-free metal via has a substantially circular cross-sectional area (FIG. 3A – 3C).
Claims 1, 4, 7, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2023/0402385).
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches (FIG. 9):
A structure, comprising:
a barrier-free metal via (Vx) over a substrate and in a dielectric layer; and
a barrier-free metal wire (Mx+1) in the dielectric layer and over the barrier-free metal via and coupled to at least an exposed portion of the barrier-free metal via, wherein the barrier-free metal via and the barrier-free metal wire each include a non-copper conductor (barrier may be omitted [0045], [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Lin teaches:
The structure of claim 1, wherein the non-copper conductor includes graphene (112).
Regarding claim 7, Lin teaches (FIG. 9):
The structure of claim 1, further comprising an interface between the barrier-free metal wire and the barrier-free metal via (Lin teaches both single and dual damascene processes, with FIG. 9 illustrating a graphene interface between Vx and Mx, as would exist when single damascene via/trench methods are applied).
Regarding claim 17, Lin teaches (FIG. 9):
A method of forming a structure, comprising:
forming a barrier-free metal via (Vx) over a substrate and in a dielectric layer; and
forming a barrier-free metal wire (Mx+1) in the dielectric layer and over the barrier-free metal via and coupled to at least an exposed portion of the barrier-free metal via, wherein the barrier-free metal via and the barrier-free metal wire each include a non-copper conductor (barrier may be omitted [0045], [0055]).
Regarding claim 18, Lin teaches (FIG. 9):
The method of claim 17, further comprising an interface between the barrier-free metal wire and the barrier-free metal via (Lin teaches both single and dual damascene processes, with FIG. 9 illustrating a graphene interface between Vx and Mx, as would exist when single damascene via/trench methods are applied).
Claims 1, 6, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang et al. (US 2021/0376103).
Regarding claim 1, Liang teaches (FIG. 1):
A structure, comprising:
a barrier-free metal via (105) over a substrate and in a dielectric layer; and
a barrier-free metal wire (110) in the dielectric layer and over the barrier-free metal via and coupled to at least an exposed portion of the barrier-free metal via, wherein the barrier-free metal via and the barrier-free metal wire each include a non-copper conductor ([0023] – [0025]).
Regarding claim 6, Liang teaches:
The structure of claim 1, wherein the barrier-free metal via and the barrier-free metal wire have a different material composition ([0023] – [0025]).
Regarding claim 12, Liang teaches (FIG. 1):
A structure, comprising:
a low-resistivity interconnect layer over a substrate, the low-resistivity interconnect layer including a barrier-free metal via (105) in a dielectric layer; and
a barrier-free metal wire (110) in the dielectric layer and coupled to at least an exposed portion of the barrier-free metal via, wherein the barrier-free metal via and the barrier-free metal wire each include a non-copper conductor ([0023] – [0025]).
Regarding claim 16, Liang teaches:
The structure of claim 12, wherein the barrier-free metal via and the barrier-free metal wire have a different material composition ([0023] – [0025]).
Conclusion
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624