Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Please see rejection below for explanation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 21-26 and 28-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yeh (20220278015).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device (please see the device in fig. 1B and 3A) comprising:
a first surface (the topmost surface of 104/304 that surrounds 100 and is directly connected to 106) having a first perimeter (with a width of W1, the perimeter can be seen in fig.1B);
a second surface (SL1) opposite the first surface, the second surface having a second perimeter (perimeter of SL1 would be smaller than perimeter of topmost surface of 104/304, since SL1 is more inward), the first perimeter being greater than the second perimeter (since SL1 is more inward that W1, W1 would have a greater perimeter);
a sidewall (303a) extending between the first surface and the second surface, the sidewall defining an overhang (307), a width of the overhang extending between the first perimeter and the second perimeter (307 is between SL1 and W1),
a thickness of the overhang being less than a thickness of the semiconductor device (as can be seen in fig. 3A, 110 is thicker than 307), the overhang configured to keep epoxy away from the first surface (par. 37 teaches that 102 can be an epoxy; as can be seen in fig. 3A, 307 is between 102 and the topmost surface of 104/304, with width W1, and thus keep 102 away from the topmost surface of 104/304, with width W1).
Regarding claim 2, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall is curved or rounded (as seen in fig. 3A, 303a is seen to have an angle theta).
Regarding claim 3, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall is angular (as seen in fig. 3A, 303a is seen to have an angle theta).
Regarding claim 4, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall includes a bevel (please see 303a).
Regarding claim 5, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach the method of manufacturing wherein the sidewall is mechanically cut or laser cut. However, since this limitation is directed towards the process of forming the device structure. It is well settled that “product by process” limitations in claims drawn to structure are directed to the product, per se, no matter how actually made. Case law makes clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a “product by process” claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in “product by process” claims or otherwise. The above case law further makes clear that applicant has the burden of showing that the method language necessarily produces a structural difference. As such, the language only requires the device structure, which does not distinguish the invention from prior art, who teaches the structure as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the semiconductor device is between 50 microns to 150 microns (par. 58 teaches that SH1 is less than 400 um and SH1, as seen in the figures above, is the as thick as 110).
Regarding claim 21, Yeh teaches an semiconductor die comprising:
a first surface (the topmost surface of 104/304 that surrounds 100 and is directly connected to 106) having a first perimeter (with a width of W1, the perimeter can be seen in fig.1B);
a second surface (SL1) opposite the first surface, the second surface having a second perimeter (perimeter of SL1 would be smaller than perimeter of topmost surface of 104/304, since SL1 is more inward), the first perimeter being greater than the second perimeter (since SL1 is more inward that W1, W1 would have a greater perimeter);
a sidewall (303a) extending between the first surface and the second surface, the sidewall defining an overhang (307), a width of the overhang extending between the first perimeter and the second perimeter (307 is between SL1 and W1),
a thickness of the overhang being less than a thickness of the semiconductor device (as can be seen in fig. 3A, 110 is thicker than 307), the overhang configured to keep epoxy away from the first surface (par. 37 teaches that 102 can be an epoxy; as can be seen in fig. 3A, 307 is between 102 and the topmost surface of 104/304, with width W1, and thus keep 102 away from the topmost surface of 104/304, with width W1)
Regarding claim 22, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 21, wherein the sidewall is curved or rounded (as seen in fig. 3A, 303a is seen to have an angle theta).
Regarding claim 23, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 21, wherein the sidewall is angular (as seen in fig. 3A, 303a is seen to have an angle theta).
Regarding claim 24, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 21, wherein the sidewall includes a bevel (please see 303a).
Regarding claim 25, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 21, but does not explicitly teach the method of manufacturing wherein the sidewall is mechanically cut or laser cut. However, since this limitation is directed towards the process of forming the device structure. It is well settled that “product by process” limitations in claims drawn to structure are directed to the product, per se, no matter how actually made. Case law makes clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a “product by process” claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in “product by process” claims or otherwise. The above case law further makes clear that applicant has the burden of showing that the method language necessarily produces a structural difference. As such, the language only requires the device structure, which does not distinguish the invention from prior art, who teaches the structure as claimed.
Regarding claim 26, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 21, wherein a thickness of the semiconductor device is between 50 microns to 150 microns (par. 58 teaches that SH1 is less than 400 um and SH1, as seen in the figures above, is the as thick as 110).
Regarding claim 28, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device comprising:
a first surface (the topmost surface of 104/304 that surrounds 100 and is directly connected to 106) having a first outer perimeter (with a width of W1, the perimeter can be seen in fig.1B);
a second surface (SL1) opposite the first surface, the second surface having a second outer perimeter (perimeter of SL1 would be smaller than perimeter of topmost surface of 104/304, since SL1 is more inward), the first outer perimeter being greater than the second outer perimeter (since SL1 is more inward that W1, W1 would have a greater perimeter);
a sidewall (303a) extending between the first surface and the second surface, the sidewall defining an overhang (307), a width of the overhang extending between the first outer perimeter and the second outer perimeter (307 is between SL1 and W1),
a thickness of the overhang being less than a thickness of the semiconductor device (as can be seen in fig. 3A, 110 is thicker than 307), the overhang configured to keep epoxy away from the first surface (par. 37 teaches that 102 can be an epoxy; as can be seen in fig. 3A, 307 is between 102 and the topmost surface of 104/304, with width W1, and thus keep 102 away from the topmost surface of 104/304, with width W1).
Regarding claim 29, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 28, wherein the sidewall is curved or rounded (as seen in fig. 3A, 303a is seen to have an angle theta).
Regarding claim 30, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 28, wherein the sidewall is angular (as seen in fig. 3A, 303a is seen to have an angle theta).
Regarding claim 31, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 28, wherein the sidewall includes a bevel (please see 303a).
Regarding claim 32, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 28, but does not explicitly teach the method of manufacturing wherein the sidewall is mechanically cut or laser cut. However, since this limitation is directed towards the process of forming the device structure. It is well settled that “product by process” limitations in claims drawn to structure are directed to the product, per se, no matter how actually made. Case law makes clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a “product by process” claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in “product by process” claims or otherwise. The above case law further makes clear that applicant has the burden of showing that the method language necessarily produces a structural difference. As such, the language only requires the device structure, which does not distinguish the invention from prior art, who teaches the structure as claimed.
Regarding claim 33, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 28, wherein a thickness of the semiconductor device is between 50 microns to 150 microns (par. 58 teaches that SH1 is less than 400 um and SH1, as seen in the figures above, is the as thick as 110).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 27 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818