Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 2/25/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first side". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The first side will be treated as a part of the sidewall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yeh (20220278015).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device (please see the device in fig. 1B and 3A) comprising:
a first surface (the surface of 104/304 that surrounds 100 and is directly connected to 106) having a first perimeter (the perimeter of this surface has a width W2, as seen in fig. 3A, which is greater than W1);
a second surface (the surface of 104/304 that surrounds 100 and is directly connected to 106) opposite the first surface, the second surface having a second perimeter (the perimeter of this surface has a width W1, as seen in fig. 3A, which is smaller than W3), the first perimeter being greater than the second perimeter (W2 > W1 and thus the perimeter of surface W2 greater than the perimeter of surface W1);
a sidewall (fig. 3A: 303a) extending between the first surface and the second surface, the sidewall defining an overhang (303a has a overhang, 307, and can be seen to have this feature in fig. 3A), a width of the overhang extending between the first perimeter and the second perimeter (please see fig. 3A above),
a thickness of the overhang being less than a thickness of the semiconductor device (as can be seen in fig. 3A, 110 is thicker than 307), the overhang configured to keep epoxy away from the first side (par. 37 teaches that 102 can be an epoxy and a first side, 305a, is distanced from 102 by overhang, 307; further, please see par. 106).
Regarding claim 2, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall is curved or rounded (as seen in fig. 3A, 303a is seen to have an angle theta).
Regarding claim 3, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall is angular (as seen in fig. 3A, 303a is seen to have an angle theta).
Regarding claim 4, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall includes a bevel (please see 303a).
Regarding claim 5, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach the method of manufacturing wherein the sidewall is mechanically cut or laser cut. However, since this limitation is directed towards the process of forming the device structure. It is well settled that “product by process” limitations in claims drawn to structure are directed to the product, per se, no matter how actually made. Case law makes clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a “product by process” claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in “product by process” claims or otherwise. The above case law further makes clear that applicant has the burden of showing that the method language necessarily produces a structural difference. As such, the language only requires the device structure, which does not distinguish the invention from prior art, who teaches the structure as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Yeh teaches an semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the semiconductor device is between 50 microns to 150 microns (par. 58 teaches that SH1 is less than 400 um and SH1, as seen in the figures above, is the as thick as 110).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818