DETAILED ACTION
This Office action responds to the patent application no. 18/534,736 filed on December 11, 2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in KR on February 27, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR 10-2023-0026185 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Priority Document Exchange Failure Status Report has been recorded in the file wrapping on July 27, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on December 11, 2025 lists the U.S. patent Application Publications 20220254862 twice. Hence, the second citing, Cite No. 3 is lined through.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “the display panel 10 may be disposed on one surface of the cover window CW” as described in the paragraph (¶) [0067] and “the first inorganic encapsulation layer 310, the second inorganic encapsulation layer 330, and the inorganic layer PVX are in contact with each other on the lateral surface of the third dam DAM3” in ¶ [0104] of the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a display panel disposed on one surface of the cover window” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim 11. No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: (I) Both FIGs. 2 and 4 show the cover window CW is disposed on the display panel 10 or on the FDA/CDA/PA of the display panel 10. It is unclear how “the display panel 10 may be disposed on one surface of the cover window CW” as described in ¶ [0067] since no back display area is even mentioned in the specification. (II) There are no light-emitting elements in the peripheral area PA in FIG. 7. The protrusion tips PTs are in the PA and are NOT in the FDA and CDA1 and CDA2 in FIG. 7. It is NOT understood how “an organic layer or an opposite electrode included in the light-emitting element is disconnected by the protrusion tip PT, a tolerance margin required when depositing the organic layer or the opposite electrode may be reduced” in ¶ [0102] for FIG. 7. (III) This statement, “the first inorganic encapsulation layer 310, the second inorganic encapsulation layer 330, and the inorganic layer PVX are in contact with each other on the lateral surface of the third dam DAM3” in ¶ [0104] as shown in FIG. 7, is incorrect. The second inorganic encapsulation layer 330 is NOT in contact with the inorganic layer PVX in FIG. 7. The Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (Bang hereinafter) (US 2023/0337487) in view of Hwang et al. (Hwang hereinafter) (US 2022/0158130).
Regarding Claims 1-7 and 10:
Bang (see FIGs. 1, 5, 9, 10, and 13) teaches
{1} a display panel comprising: a substrate 100 including a display area DA and a peripheral area PA around the display area; an organic insulating layer 201/206/207/208 disposed on the substrate; a light-emitting element OLED disposed on the substrate in the display area; a first bank layer 209 disposed on the organic insulating layer, and including a first alignment opening (between DAM1 and DAM2) in the peripheral area; and a common voltage line ML1 disposed between the substrate and the organic insulating layer in the peripheral area, and overlapping the first alignment opening in a plan view, wherein the first alignment opening forms an alignment pattern;
{2} the first bank layer includes a first pixel opening in the display area and the light-emitting element is disposed in the first pixel opening;
{3} the first bank layer is in contact with the organic insulating layer 208 in the peripheral area;
{4} a peripheral connection electrode ML2/ML3 disposed on the common voltage line to be in contact with the common voltage line, wherein the peripheral connection electrode overlaps the first alignment opening;
{5} the organic insulating layer includes: a first organic insulating layer; and a second organic insulating layer disposed on the first organic insulating layer, and wherein at least a portion of the peripheral connection electrode ML2/ML3 is disposed between the first organic insulating layer (206 or 207) and the second organic insulating layer (207 or 208);
{6} an inorganic protective layer 310 disposed on the peripheral connection electrode ML3 to be in contact with the peripheral connection electrode, wherein the inorganic protective layer overlaps the first alignment opening;
{7} the organic insulating layer includes: a third organic insulating layer disposed on a second organic insulating layer; and
{10} a second bank layer 209 disposed on the organic insulating layer and including a second pixel opening in the display area, wherein the light-emitting element OLED is disposed in the second pixel opening
Bang (see ¶ [0059]-[0060], [0103], [0114], [0117], [0126], [0138], and [0171]) teaches “pixels PX may be arranged in the display area DA”; “Each of the pixels PX may include a display element such as an organic light emitting diode (OLED)”; “The buffer layer 201 may include … an organic/inorganic composite and may include a single-layer or multiple-layer structure of an inorganic material and an organic material”; “The buffer layer 201 … described above may be collectively referred to as an inorganic insulating layer IIL”; “The first planarization insulating layer 206, the second planarization insulating layer 207, and the third planarization insulating layer 208 may include an organic material”; “The pixel definition layer 209 may be formed in black … may include a light blocking material and may be provided in black … may include a resin or paste including carbon black, carbon nanotube, or black dye, metal particles”; “first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 310 and 330”; “the (1-4)th organic layer 1104 and the pixel definition layer 209 may include a same material”;
However, Bang does not explicitly teach {1} a first bank layer 209 including a light absorbing-material; {7} a fourth organic insulating layer disposed on the third organic insulating layer, and wherein the first bank layer covers the fourth organic insulating layer in the peripheral area; and {10} the second bank layer is disposed between the organic insulating layer and the first bank layer in the peripheral area.
Hwang (see ¶ [0173] and [0185]) teaches “The bank 14 … may be an opaque material including a light absorbing material or black pigment such as carbon black, for example, polyamide-based resin, … may be a black bank”; and “the second dam pattern 17b may include the same material as the bank 14 and may be formed together with the bank 14”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teaching of Bang to include the teaching of Hwang to anticipate the black pixel definition layer 209 being capable to absorb light to enhance the pixel quality of adjacent OLEDs; to anticipate the organic insulating layers to be formed across the display and non-display areas to decrease the manufacturing steps for cost saving; to add additional organic insulating layers between the TFTs and OLEDs or defining the OLEDs and across both the display and non-display areas to meet the multi-layered wiring design requirements; and to form a second bank layer at different OLED and stacking the second bank layer between the first bank layer and the organic insulating layer in the peripheral area to meet the manufacturing design requirements.
Regarding Claims 7 and 10:
The differences in the relative position and the number of bank layers in the peripheral area will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such the relative position and the number of bank layers in the peripheral area are critical. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Accordingly, since the applicant has not established the criticality (see next paragraph below) of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the second bank layer between the organic insulating layer and the first bank layer in the peripheral area and the first bank layer covering the fourth organic insulating layer in the peripheral area to meet the design requirements.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed invention or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936s (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (Bang hereinafter) (US 2023/0337487) in view of Hwang et al. (Hwang hereinafter) (US 2022/0158130) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Park et al. (Park hereinafter) (US 2022/0149324).
Regarding Claims 8 and 9:
Bang in the device of Hwang does not explicitly teach {8} an inorganic layer disposed between the second organic insulating layer and the third organic insulating layer in the peripheral area; and {9} the first bank layer is in contact with the inorganic layer.
Park (see FIGs. 6A-7 and ¶ [0129], [0130], [0131], [0179], [0188], [0191], [0192], [0203]; [0206]; [0217]; [0222]; [0223] ) teaches “ inorganic pattern layer PVX may entirely surround the front display FDA and the side display area SDA”; “the inorganic pattern layer PVX may extend between the front display area FDA and the corner display area CDA”; “the inorganic pattern layer PVX … may prevent or reduce the infiltration of moisture and/or oxygen from the peripheral area PA outside the inorganic pattern layer PVX to the front display area FDA”; “the inorganic pattern layer PVX may include a lower inorganic pattern layer LPVX and an upper inorganic pattern layer UPVX”; “the lower inorganic pattern layer LPVX may be on the peripheral area PA … may be between the substrate 100 and the insulating layer 116 … may extend between the lower insulating layer 115 and the insulating layer 116”; “the first lower inorganic pattern layer LPVX1 and the second lower in organic pattern layer LPVX2 may be apart from each other … may be integrally formed with each other as a single unitary unit”; “the insulating layer 116 may cover an edge of the lower inorganic pattern layer LPVX”; “The upper inorganic pattern layer UPVX may be on the peripheral area PA … on the insulating layer 116 … between the insulating layer 116 and the organic pattern layer 118P”; “the upper inorganic pattern layer UPVX may include a protruding tip producing toward the center of the outer through hole OH”; “The upper inorganic pattern layer UPVX as described above may be an element for improving the reliability of the display panel 10”; “The first inorganic encapsulation layer 130 may be in contact with the protruding tip of the first upper inorganic pattern layer UPVX”; and “the first inorganic encapsulation layer 310 may be in contact with the lower inorganic layer LPVX”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the combined teaching of Bang in the device of Hwang to further include the teaching of Park to add an inorganic layer between two organic insulating layers to reduce the infiltration of moisture and/or oxygen from the peripheral area PA to the display area DA and to form the bank layer contacting/covering the inorganic layer to meet design requirement.
Regarding Claim 9:
The differences in the relative position of the bank layer in the peripheral area will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such the relative position of bank layers in the peripheral area are critical. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Accordingly, since the applicant has not established the criticality (see paragraph on page 8) of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the first bank layer contacting the inorganic layer in the peripheral area to meet the design requirements.
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parker et al. (Parker hereinafter) (US 2022/0149324) in view of Bang et al. (Bang hereinafter) (US 2023/0337487).
Regarding Claims 11-20:
Examiner assumed the cover window is on the display panel not the other way around.
Parker (see FIGs. 1, 5, 6A-7) teaches {11} a display apparatus comprising: a cover window CW including a plane portion and a curved portion bent in a corner of the plane portion; and a display panel 10 100 including a display area DA and a peripheral area PA surrounding the display area, wherein the display area overlaps the plane portion; an organic insulating layer 115/116 disposed on the substrate; a light-emitting element OLED disposed on the substrate in the display area; a first bank layer 118 including a light-absorbing material, disposed on the organic insulating layer, and including a first alignment opening in the peripheral area; and a common voltage line WL1 disposed between the substrate and the organic insulating layer in the peripheral area, and overlapping the first alignment opening in a plan view, wherein the first alignment opening forms an alignment pattern; {12} the first bank layer includes a first pixel opening in the display area and the light-emitting element is disposed in the first pixel opening; {13} the first bank layer is in contact with the organic insulating layer in the peripheral area; {14} a peripheral connection electrode WL2 disposed on the common voltage line to be in contact with the common voltage line, wherein the peripheral connection electrode overlaps the first alignment opening; {15} the organic insulating layer includes: a first organic insulating layer 115; and a second organic insulating layer 116 disposed on the first organic insulating layer, and wherein at least a portion of the peripheral connection electrode is disposed between the first organic insulating layer and the second organic insulating layer; and {16} an inorganic protective layer LPVX disposed on the peripheral connection electrode to be in contact with the peripheral connection electrode, wherein the inorganic protective layer overlaps the first alignment opening.
Parker (see ¶ [0018], [0037], [0086], [0087], [0088], [0181], [0188]) teaches “a cover window on the display panel”; “a cover window on the corner display area”; “The cover window CW may be flexible or include a flexible material … may protect the display panel 10 while being easily bent according to the external force without generating cracks or the like”; “The display panel 10 may be below the cover window CS … bonded to the cover window CW”; “a peripheral area PA surrounding the display area DA. A plurality of pixels PX may be arranged in the display area DA … Each of the pixels PX may include subpixels”; “The first line WL1 may transmit a power supply voltage and/or a signal to the front organic light-emitting diode FOLED”; “The lower inorganic pattern layer LPVX may be on the peripheral area PA … between the substrate 100 and the insulating layer 116 … may extend between the lower insulating layer 115 and the insulating layer 116”.
However, Parker does not explicitly teach {17} the organic insulating layer includes: a third organic insulating layer disposed on a second organic insulating layer; and a fourth organic insulating layer disposed on the third organic insulating layer, and wherein the first bank layer covers the fourth organic insulating layer in the peripheral area; {18} an inorganic layer disposed between the second organic insulating layer and the third organic insulating layer in the peripheral area; {19} the first bank layer is in contact with the inorganic layer; and {20} a second bank layer disposed on the organic insulating layer in the display area and including a second pixel opening, wherein the light-emitting element is disposed in the second pixel opening and the second bank layer is disposed between the organic insulating layer and the first bank layer in the peripheral area.
Bang (see FIGs. 1, 5, 9, 10, and 13 and ¶ [0166], [0170]-[0171]) teaches a common voltage supply line 13 including a first conductive line ML1, a second conductive line ML2, and a third conductive line ML3 between the substrate 100 and four organic insulating layers (206/1101, 207/1102, 208/1103, 209/1104) in the peripheral area PA;
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teaching of Park to include the teaching of Bang to designate the power supply voltage line WL2 as the common voltage line to meet the circuit design requirements; to add additional organic insulating layers between the pixel defining layer 118 and the organic insulating layer 116 in both the display and peripheral areas to meet the multi-layered wiring design requirements; to include the upper inorganic patter layer UPVX between the additional organic insulating layers in the peripheral area PA to further reduce the infiltration of the moisture and/or oxygen from the peripheral area to the display area; and to form a second bank layer at different OLED and stacking the second bank layer between the first bank layer and the organic insulating layer in the peripheral area to meet the manufacturing design requirements.
Regarding Claim 20:
The differences in the relative position of the bank layer in the peripheral area will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such the relative position of bank layers in the peripheral area are critical. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Accordingly, since the applicant has not established the criticality (see paragraph on page 8) of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the first bank layer contacting the inorganic layer in the peripheral area to meet the design requirements.
Correspondence
/ALICE W TANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814