DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot in light of new grounds of rejection made below.
For above mentioned reasons, the rejection is deemed proper and considered final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-6, 8-12, 14-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al (US 2015/0061020; hereinafter Yokoyama) in view of Walker (US 2017/0025437; hereinafter Walker).
Regarding claim 1, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses a semiconductor structure comprising:
a silicon-on-insulator (SOI) substrate comprising a device layer (25D/25S/23; Fig 10; ¶ [0060]) and a buried oxide layer (BOX/10S2; Fig 10; ¶ [0097]) being contiguous with the device layer (25D/25S/23; Fig 10; ¶ [0060]);
at least one transistor (21; Fig 10; ¶ [0058]) disposed on the device layer (25D/25S/23; Fig 10; ¶ [0060]);
a dielectric layer (26; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) surrounding the at least one transistor (21; Fig 10; ¶ [0058]);
an interconnect structure (28A/28C/25B; Fig 10; ¶ [0061]) disposed on the dielectric layer (26; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) and being electrically connected to a gate (21; Fig 10; ¶ [0058]) of the at least one transistor;
a dielectric layer (61; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) comprising silicon nitride (¶ [0064]) being contiguous (Fig 10) with the buried oxide layer (BOX/10S2; Fig 10; ¶ [0097]);
a capping layer (62; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) being contiguous with the dielectric layer comprising silicon nitride (61; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]); and
a conductive via (124/122; Fig 2H; ¶ [0051]) penetrating through the capping layer (102; Fig 2H; ¶ [0034]), the dielectric layer comprising silicon nitride (106; Fig 2H; ¶ [0036]), the buried oxide layer (114; Fig 2H; ¶ [0044]), the device layer (104; Fig 2H; ¶ [0035]) and the dielectric layer (116; Fig 2H; ¶ [0045]), wherein the conductive via (Contact plug (P); Fig 10; ¶ [0061]) is electrically connected to the interconnect structure (28A/28C/25B; Fig 10; ¶ [0061]) and is further electrically connected (Fig 10) to the at least one transistor through the interconnect structure (28A/28C/25B; Fig 10; ¶ [0061]).
However Li does not disclose a dielectric layer comprising silicon nitride is a charge trapping layer.
In the same field of endeavor, a charge trapping layer comprises a dielectric material such as silicon nitride (¶ [0056]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a dielectric layer comprising silicon nitride will function as charge trapping layer as it is well known and suitable material known in the art for forming charge trapping layer (¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses the at least one transistor is a fully-depleted silicon-on-insulator metal-oxide semiconductor transistor (Fig 10).
Regarding claim 4, Yokoyama does not expressly disclose the charge trapping layer has a thickness of about 80-120 angstroms.
In the same field of endeavor, Walker discloses a charge trapping layer comprising silicon nitride can have thickness from 5 angstroms and 500 angstroms which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore it is obvious that a person in the ordinary skill in the art can vary the thickness of silicon nitride within the claimed range. (¶ [0056])
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the thickness of charge trapping layer comprising silicon nitride is within the claimed range in order to form the charge trapping layer with desired thickness and that thickness of silicon nitride very well known in the art (¶ [0056])
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the material chosen, temperature and pressure at which charge trapping layer is grown to be a result effective variable affecting the thickness of the charge trapping layer. Thus, it would have been obvious to vary the growth parameters in order to achieve the thickness within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
Regarding claim 5, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses the capping layer (62; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) comprises a silicon oxide layer (¶ [0064]).
However Yokoyama does not expressly disclose the capping layer comprises silicon nitride layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Walker discloses a dielectric layer can comprise silicon oxide or silicon nitride layer (¶ [0057]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the capping layer can comprise silicon oxide or silicon nitride layer for the purpose of substituting art recognized equivalents known to be used for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding claim 6, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses the conductive via (Contact plug (P); Fig 10; ¶ [0061]) comprises copper (¶ [0057]).
Regarding claim 8, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses an insulating layer (63/64; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) being contiguous with the capping layer (62; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]);
a passivation layer (71; Fig 10; ¶ [0066]) being contiguous with the insulating layer (63/64; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]); and
a metal wiring layer (32/33/31/37; Fig 10; ¶ [0065]) disposed in the insulating layer (63/64; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) and the passivation layer (71; Fig 10; ¶ [0066]).
Regarding claim 9, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses the insulating layer (63/64; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) comprises a silicon oxide layer (¶ [0064]) and a passivation layer (71; Fig 10; ¶ [0066]) comprises a silicon oxide layer (¶ [0066]).
However Yokoyama does not expressly disclose the passivation comprises a silicon nitride layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Walker discloses a dielectric layer can comprise silicon oxide or silicon nitride layer (¶ [0057]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the capping layer can comprise silicon oxide or silicon nitride layer for the purpose of substituting art recognized equivalents known to be used for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding claim 10, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses the metal wiring layer (32/33/31/37; Fig 10; ¶ [0065]) is an aluminum wiring layer (¶ [0068]).
Regarding claim 11, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses a method for forming a semiconductor structure comprising:
providing a silicon-on-insulator (SOI) substrate comprising a device layer (25D/25S/23; Fig 10; ¶ [0060]) and a buried oxide layer (BOX/10S2; Fig 10; ¶ [0097]) being contiguous with the device layer (25D/25S/23; Fig 10; ¶ [0060]);
forming at least one transistor (21; Fig 10; ¶ [0058]) disposed on the device layer (25D/25S/23; Fig 10; ¶ [0060]);
forming a dielectric layer (26; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) surrounding the at least one transistor (21; Fig 10; ¶ [0058]);
forming an interconnect structure (28A/28C/25B; Fig 10; ¶ [0061]) disposed on the dielectric layer (26; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) and being electrically connected to a gate (21; Fig 10; ¶ [0058]) of the at least one transistor;
forming a dielectric layer (61; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) comprising silicon nitride (¶ [0064]) being contiguous (Fig 10) with the buried oxide layer (BOX/10S2; Fig 10; ¶ [0097]);
forming a capping layer (62; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) being contiguous with the dielectric layer comprising silicon nitride (61; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]); and
forming a conductive via (124/122; Fig 2H; ¶ [0051]) penetrating through the capping layer (102; Fig 2H; ¶ [0034]), the dielectric layer comprising silicon nitride (106; Fig 2H; ¶ [0036]), the buried oxide layer (114; Fig 2H; ¶ [0044]), the device layer (104; Fig 2H; ¶ [0035]) and the dielectric layer (116; Fig 2H; ¶ [0045]), wherein the conductive via (Contact plug (P); Fig 10; ¶ [0061]) is electrically connected to the interconnect structure (28A/28C/25B; Fig 10; ¶ [0061]) and is further electrically connected (Fig 10) to the at least one transistor through the interconnect structure (28A/28C/25B; Fig 10; ¶ [0061]).
However Li does not disclose a dielectric layer comprising silicon nitride is a charge trapping layer.
In the same field of endeavor, a charge trapping layer comprises a dielectric material such as silicon nitride (¶ [0056]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a dielectric layer comprising silicon nitride will function as charge trapping layer as it is well known and suitable material known in the art for forming charge trapping layer (¶ [0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses the at least one transistor is a fully-depleted silicon-on-insulator metal-oxide semiconductor transistor (Fig 10).
Regarding claim 14, Yokoyama does not expressly disclose the charge trapping layer has a thickness of about 80-120 angstroms.
In the same field of endeavor, Walker discloses a charge trapping layer comprising silicon nitride can have thickness from 5 angstroms and 500 angstroms which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore it is obvious that a person in the ordinary skill in the art can vary the thickness of silicon nitride within the claimed range. (¶ [0056])
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the thickness of charge trapping layer comprising silicon nitride is within the claimed range in order to form the charge trapping layer with desired thickness and that thickness of silicon nitride very well known in the art (¶ [0056])
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the material chosen, temperature and pressure at which charge trapping layer is grown to be a result effective variable affecting the thickness of the charge trapping layer. Thus, it would have been obvious to vary the growth parameters in order to achieve the thickness within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
Regarding claim 15, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses the capping layer (62; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) comprises a silicon oxide layer (¶ [0064]).
However Yokoyama does not expressly disclose the capping layer comprises silicon nitride layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Walker discloses a dielectric layer can comprise silicon oxide or silicon nitride layer (¶ [0057]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the capping layer can comprise silicon oxide or silicon nitride layer for the purpose of substituting art recognized equivalents known to be used for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding claim 16, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses the conductive via (Contact plug (P); Fig 10; ¶ [0061]) comprises copper (¶ [0057]).
Regarding claim 18, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses an insulating layer (63/64; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) being contiguous with the capping layer (62; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]);
a passivation layer (71; Fig 10; ¶ [0066]) being contiguous with the insulating layer (63/64; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]); and
a metal wiring layer (32/33/31/37; Fig 10; ¶ [0065]) disposed in the insulating layer (63/64; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) and the passivation layer (71; Fig 10; ¶ [0066]).
Regarding claim 19, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses the insulating layer (63/64; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) comprises a silicon oxide layer (¶ [0064]) and a passivation layer (71; Fig 10; ¶ [0066]) comprises a silicon oxide layer (¶ [0066]).
However Yokoyama does not expressly disclose the passivation comprises a silicon nitride layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Walker discloses a dielectric layer can comprise silicon oxide or silicon nitride layer (¶ [0057]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that the capping layer can comprise silicon oxide or silicon nitride layer for the purpose of substituting art recognized equivalents known to be used for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding claim 20, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses the metal wiring layer (32/33/31/37; Fig 10; ¶ [0065]) is an aluminum wiring layer (¶ [0068]).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al (US 2015/0061020; hereinafter Yokoyama) in view of Walker (US 2017/0025437; hereinafter Walker) and further in view of Lin et al (US 2014/0286105; hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 3, Yokoyama in view of Walker discloses the charge trapping layer comprises a dielectric material (61; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) comprising silicon nitride (¶ [0064]).
However Yokoyama does not expressly disclose the charge trapping layer comprises a phosphosilicate glass (PSG) layer or a borosilicate glass (BSG) layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses charge trapping layer may be composed of a dielectric material such as silicon nitride or phosphosilicate glass (PSG) (¶ [0035]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a charge trapping layer comprises a silicon nitride or phosphosilicate glass for the purpose of substituting art recognized equivalents known to be used for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding claim 13, Yokoyama in view of Walker discloses the charge trapping layer comprises a dielectric material (61; Fig 10; ¶ [0064]) comprising silicon nitride (¶ [0064]).
However Yokoyama does not expressly disclose the charge trapping layer comprises a phosphosilicate glass (PSG) layer or a borosilicate glass (BSG) layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Lin discloses charge trapping layer may be composed of a dielectric material such as silicon nitride or phosphosilicate glass (PSG) (¶ [0035]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that a charge trapping layer comprises a silicon nitride or phosphosilicate glass for the purpose of substituting art recognized equivalents known to be used for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al (US 2015/0061020; hereinafter Yokoyama) in view of Walker (US 2017/0025437; hereinafter Walker) and further in view of Hsieh (US 2022/0336390; hereinafter Hsieh).
Regarding claim 7, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses the dielectric layer (26; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) is comprises a dielectric material.
However Yokoyama does not expressly disclose the dielectric layer comprises an undoped silicate glass (USG) layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Hsieh discloses a dielectric layer can comprise silicon oxide or undoped silicate glass (¶ [0046]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that an interlayer dielectric layer comprises a silicon nitride or undoped silicate glass for the purpose of substituting art recognized equivalents known to be used for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
Regarding claim 17, Fig 10 of Yokoyama discloses the dielectric layer (26; Fig 10; ¶ [0053]) is comprises a dielectric material.
However Yokoyama does not expressly disclose the dielectric layer comprises an undoped silicate glass (USG) layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Hsieh discloses a dielectric layer can comprise silicon oxide or undoped silicate glass (¶ [0046]).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to the person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that an interlayer dielectric layer comprises a silicon nitride or undoped silicate glass for the purpose of substituting art recognized equivalents known to be used for the same purpose (MPEP 2144.06).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RATISHA MEHTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817