CTNF 18/535,053 CTNF 86433 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Election/Restriction In response to election restriction applicant elected claims 1-9 without traverse. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the 20claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2020/0176451, hereinafter Kang) . With respect to claim 1 , Kang discloses a semiconductor structure (Fig. 7), comprising: a plurality of word line structures (structure comprising of 112/115/116 - there are multiple structures) in a substrate (102), wherein each one of the word line structures comprises: a first work function layer (112); a second work function layer (116) on the first work function layer (Fig. 7); and a metal layer (115) in direct contact with the first work function layer (115 is indirect contact with 112). Kang does not explicitly disclose that metal layer comprising a first portion surrounded by the second work function layer. However, it’s evident from Figs. 7-9, that the top portion of 115 is surrounded by 116, wherein top portion can be equivalent to first portion. ). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang’s device by having the metal layer comprising a first portion surrounded by the second work function layer in order to miniaturize the semiconductor device. With respect to claim 2 , Kang discloses wherein a work function of the first work function layer is larger than a work function of the second work function layer (Para 0037 and 0044). With respect to claim 3 , Kang discloses wherein the second work function layer and the metal layer jointly have a T-shaped cross-section (Fig. 7). With respect to claim 4 , Kang discloses wherein a bottom surface of the metal layer is lower than a top surface of the first work function layer (Fig. 5 -7). With respect to claim 5 , Kang discloses wherein a second portion of the metal layer is surrounded by the first work function layer (Fig. 7 – lower portion of 115 is surrounded by 112). With respect to claim 7 , Kang discloses wherein a thickness of the second work function layer surrounding the metal layer is from 1.5 nm to 10 nm (Para 0048 – 10nm). With respect to claim 8 , Kang discloses wherein each one of the word line structures further comprises an oxide layer (120 of Fig. 9) on the second work function layer and the metal layer (Para 0050 and Fig. 9). With respect to claim 9 , Kang discloses a patterned hard mask layer on a portion of the substrate that is between the word line structures (Para 0027 – hard mask layer), wherein a top surface of the patterned hard mask layer is curved (it’s obvious because the structures are curved the mask can be curved) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Ananthan et al. (US 2012/0032257, hereinafter Annanthan) . With respect to claim 6 , Kang does not explicitly disclose wherein each one of the word line structures further comprises an oxide layer between the first work function layer and the second work function layer. In an analogous art, Ananthan discloses wherein each one of the word line structures further comprises an oxide layer between the first work function layer and the second work function layer (para 0010; 0026-0028). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kang’s device by having Ananthan’s disclosure in order to isolate different components of a semiconductor device. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY whose telephone number is (571)270-5716. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fairbanks Brent can be reached at 408-918-7532. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/535,053 Page 2 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/535,053 Page 3 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/535,053 Page 4 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/535,053 Page 5 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/535,053 Page 6 Art Unit: 2899