DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/11/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 2019/0207150) in view of Bae (US 2021/0313400).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses, in at least figures 1-2, 5, and related text, a display panel (100, [31]) comprising a display area (DA, [31]) and a peripheral area (NDA, [31]) adjacent to the display area (DA, [31]), the display panel comprising:
a base layer (110, [35]);
first (left DT, [37], figures) and second (right DT, [37], figures) transistors on the base layer (110, [35]);
an upper insulation layer (114/120, [65]) on the first (left DT, [37], figures) and second (right DT, [37], figures) transistors;
a pixel definition layer (130, [69]) disposed on the upper insulation layer (114/120, [65]) and comprising an emission opening (opening for EA, [69], figures);
first (left AE/EL/CE, [76], figures) and second (right AE/EL/CE, [76], figures) light emitting elements disposed on the upper insulation layer (114/120, [65]), each of the first (left AE/EL/CE, [76], figures) and second (right AE/EL/CE, [76], figures) light emitting elements comprising:
a first electrode (CE, [76], figures) disposed in the emission opening (opening for EA, [69], figures),
a second electrode (AE, [76], figures) disposed on the first electrode (CE, [76], figures), and
a light emitting layer (EL, [76], figures) disposed between the first electrode (CE, [76], figures) and the second (AE, [76], figures) electrode; and
a separator (140, [75]) disposed between the second electrode (AE, [76], figures) of the first light emitting element (left AE/EL/CE, [76], figures) and the second electrode (AE, [76], figures) of the second light emitting element (right AE/EL/CE, [76], figures), disposed on the pixel definition layer (130, [69]), and comprising a first surface (lower surface of 140, figures) adjacent to the pixel definition layer (130, [69]) and a second surface (upper surface of 140, figures) facing the first surface (lower surface of 140, figures), the separator (140, [75]) having a width increasing as being closer to the second surface (upper surface of 140, figures) from the first surface (lower surface of 140, figures), wherein
the second electrode (AE, [76], figures) of the first light emitting element (left AE/EL/CE, [76], figures) is electrically connected to the first transistor (left DT, [37], figures),
the second electrode (AE, [76], figures) of the second light emitting element (right AE/EL/CE, [76], figures) is electrically connected to the second transistor (right DT, [37], figures).
Kwon does not explicitly disclose the separator comprises a base resin and a scattering agent.
Bae teaches, in at least figure 2B and related text, the device comprising the separator (IW-B, [108], [109]) comprises a base resin and a scattering agent, for the purpose of providing a display panel with improved optical conversion efficiency ([4]).
Kwon and Bae are analogous art because they both are directed to display device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kwon with the specified features of Bae because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Kwon to have the separator comprising a base resin and a scattering agent, as taught by Bae, for the purpose of providing a display panel with improved optical conversion efficiency ([4], Bae).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon in view of Bae discloses the display panel of claim 1 as described above.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose the scattering agent comprises at least one of TiO2, ZnO, Al2O3, SiO2, and hollow silica.
Bae teaches, in at least figure 2B and related text, the device comprising the scattering ([109]) agent comprises at least one of TiO2 ([109]), ZnO, Al2O3, SiO2, and hollow silica, for the purpose of providing red light-conversion pattern and green light-conversion pattern ([109]).
Kwon and Bae are analogous art because they both are directed to display device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kwon with the specified features of Bae because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Kwon to have the separator comprising a base resin and a scattering agent, as taught by Bae, for the purpose of providing red light-conversion pattern and green light-conversion pattern ([109], Bae).
Regarding claim 7, Kwon in view of Bae discloses the display panel of claim 1 as described above.
Kwon further discloses, in at least figures 1-2, 5, and related text, a power line (SCPL, [98]) receiving a constant voltage and overlapping the peripheral area ([98]),
wherein the first electrode (CE, [76], figures) is electrically connected to the power line (SCPL, [98]) ([100]).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon discloses, in at least figures 1-2, 5, and related text, a display panel (100, [31]) comprising:
a base layer (110, [35]);
a pixel definition layer (130, [69]) disposed on the base layer (110, [35]) and comprising an emission opening (opening for EA, [69], figures);
first (left AE/EL/CE, [76], figures) and second (right AE/EL/CE, [76], figures) light emitting elements disposed on an upper insulation layer (114/120, [65]), each of the first (left AE/EL/CE, [76], figures) and second (right AE/EL/CE, [76], figures) light emitting elements comprising:
a first electrode (CE, [76], figures) disposed in the emission opening (opening for EA, [69], figures),
a second electrode (AE, [76], figures) disposed on the first electrode (CE, [76], figures), and
a light emitting layer (EL, [76], figures) disposed between the first electrode (CE, [76], figures) and the second (AE, [76], figures) electrode;
a separator (140, [75]) disposed between the second electrode (AE, [76], figures) of the first light emitting element (left AE/EL/CE, [76], figures) and the second electrode (AE, [76], figures) of the second light emitting element (right AE/EL/CE, [76], figures), disposed on the pixel definition layer (130, [69]), and comprising a first surface (lower surface of 140, figures) adjacent to the pixel definition layer (130, [69]) and a second surface (upper surface of 140, figures) facing the first surface (lower surface of 140, figures), the separator (140, [75]) having a width increasing as being closer to the second surface (upper surface of 140, figures) from the first surface (lower surface of 140, figures); and
an encapsulation layer (150, [79]) covering the separator (140, [75]).
Kwon does not explicitly disclose the separator comprises a base resin and a scattering agent.
Bae teaches, in at least figure 2B and related text, the device comprising the separator (IW-B, [108], [109]) comprises a base resin and a scattering agent, for the purpose of providing a display panel with improved optical conversion efficiency ([4]).
Kwon and Bae are analogous art because they both are directed to display device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kwon with the specified features of Bae because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Kwon to have the separator comprising a base resin and a scattering agent, as taught by Bae, for the purpose of providing a display panel with improved optical conversion efficiency ([4], Bae).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon in view of Bae discloses the display panel of claim 8 as described above.
Kwon does not explicitly disclose the scattering agent comprises at least one of TiO2, ZnO, Al2O3, SiO2, and hollow silica.
Bae teaches, in at least figure 2B and related text, the device comprising the scattering ([109]) agent comprises at least one of TiO2 ([109]), ZnO, Al2O3, SiO2, and hollow silica, for the purpose of providing red light-conversion pattern and green light-conversion pattern ([109]).
Kwon and Bae are analogous art because they both are directed to display device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kwon with the specified features of Bae because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Kwon to have the separator comprising a base resin and a scattering agent, as taught by Bae, for the purpose of providing red light-conversion pattern and green light-conversion pattern ([109], Bae).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon in view of Bae discloses the display panel of claim 8 as described above.
Kwon further discloses, in at least figures 1-2, 5, and related text, the separator (140, [75]) comprises:
a first sub-separator (left 140, figures) adjacent to the first light emitting element (left AE/EL/CE, [76], figures); and
a second sub-separator (right 140, figures) spaced apart from the first sub-separator (left 140, figures) and adjacent to the second light emitting element (right AE/EL/CE, [76], figures), and
the encapsulation layer (150, [79]) covers each of the first sub-separator (left 140, figures) and the second sub-separator (right 140, figures).
Claim(s) 4-6 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 2019/0207150) in view of Bae (US 2021/0313400), and further in view of Ko (US 2024/0138202).
Regarding claim 4, Kwon in view of Bae discloses the display panel of claim 1 as described above.
Kwon in view of Bae does not explicitly disclose a connection line disposed under the upper insulation layer and electrically connecting the first transistor and the second electrode of the first light emitting element.
Ko teaches, in at least figures 5-6 and related text, the device comprising a connection line (CN, [172]) disposed under the upper insulation layer (60, [164]) and electrically connecting the first transistor (TR, [172]) and the second electrode (EL2, [198]) of the first light emitting element (LD, [172]), for the purpose of providing a display panel including an separator with improved isolation ability ([5]).
Kwon, Bae, Ko are analogous art because they all are directed to display device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kwon in view of Bae with the specified features of Ko because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Kwon in view of Bae to have the connection line disposed under the upper insulation layer and electrically connecting the first transistor and the second electrode of the first light emitting element, as taught by Ko, for the purpose of providing a display panel including an separator with improved isolation ability ([5], Ko).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon in view of Bae and Ko discloses the display panel of claim 4 as described above.
Kwon in view of Bae does not explicitly disclose a lower insulation layer between the first transistor and the connection line, wherein the first transistor and the connection line are connected through a contact hole passing through the lower insulation layer.
Ko teaches, in at least figures 5-6 and related text, a lower insulation layer (50, [167]) between the first transistor (TR, [172]) and the connection line (CN, [172]), wherein the first transistor (TR, [172]) and the connection line (CN, [172]) are connected through a contact hole (CD, [213]) passing through the lower insulation layer (50, [167]), for the purpose of providing connection through isolated contact.
Kwon, Bae, Ko are analogous art because they all are directed to display device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kwon in view of Bae with the specified features of Ko because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Kwon in view of Bae to have the connection line disposed under the upper insulation layer and electrically connecting the first transistor and the second electrode of the first light emitting element, as taught by Ko, for the purpose of providing connection through isolated contact.
Regarding claim 6, Kwon in view of Bae and Ko discloses the display panel of claim 4 as described above.
Kwon in view of Bae does not explicitly disclose a first layer; a second layer disposed on the first layer; a third layer disposed on the second layer, the third layer and the first layer comprising a same material, an edge portion of each of the first and third layers protrudes from an edge portion of the second layer, and the second electrode of the first light emitting element contacts a side surface of the second layer of the connection line.
Ko teaches, in at least figures 5-6 and related text, the connection line (CN, [172]) comprises: a first layer (L1, [217]); a second layer (L2, [217]) disposed on the first layer (L1, [217]); a third layer (L3, [218]) disposed on the second layer (L2, [217]), the third layer (L3, [218]) and the first layer (L1, [217]) comprising a same material, an edge portion of each of the first (L1, [217]) and third (L3, [218]) layers protrudes from an edge portion of the second layer (L2, [217]), and the second electrode (EL2, [198]) of the first light emitting element (LD, [172]) contacts a side surface of the second layer (L2, [217]) of the connection line (CN, [172]), for the purpose of providing connection having reduced contact resistance.
Kwon, Bae, Ko are analogous art because they all are directed to display device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kwon in view of Bae with the specified features of Ko because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Kwon in view of Bae to have the first layer; the second layer disposed on the first layer; the third layer disposed on the second layer, the third layer and the first layer comprising a same material, the edge portion of each of the first and third layers protruding from an edge portion of the second layer, and the second electrode of the first light emitting element contacting a side surface of the second layer of the connection line, as taught by Ko, for the purpose of providing connection having reduced contact resistance.
Regarding claim 11, Kwon in view of Bae discloses the display panel of claim 10 as described above.
Kwon in view of Bae does not explicitly disclose a first inorganic layer adjacent to the second electrode; a second inorganic layer disposed on the first inorganic layer; an organic layer disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer.
Ko teaches, in at least figures 5-6 and related text, the device comprising a first inorganic layer (IL1, [205]) adjacent to the second electrode; a second inorganic layer (IL2, [205]) disposed on the first inorganic layer (IL1, [205]); an organic layer (OL, [205]) disposed between the first inorganic layer (IL1, [205]) and the second inorganic layer (IL2, [205]), for the purpose of providing a display panel including an separator with improved isolation ability ([5]).
Kwon, Bae, Ko are analogous art because they all are directed to display device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kwon in view of Bae with the specified features of Ko because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Kwon in view of Bae to have the first inorganic layer adjacent to the second electrode; the second inorganic layer disposed on the first inorganic layer; the organic layer disposed between the first inorganic layer and the second inorganic layer, as taught by Ko, for the purpose of providing a display panel including an separator with improved isolation ability ([5], Ko).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon in view of Bae and Ko discloses the display panel of claim 11 as described above.
Kwon in view of Bae does not explicitly disclose the first inorganic layer extends along a shape of each of the first sub-separator and the second sub-separator, and the organic layer is disposed between the first sub-separator and the second sub-separator.
Ko teaches, in at least figures 5-6 and related text, the first inorganic layer (IL1, [205]) extends along a shape of each of the first sub-separator (left SPR, [137], figures) and the second sub-separator (right SPR, [137], figures), and the organic layer (OL, [205]) is disposed between the first sub-separator (left SPR, [137], figures) and the second sub-separator (right SPR, [137], figures), for the purpose of providing planarization layer with improved isolation ability.
Kwon, Bae, Ko are analogous art because they all are directed to display device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kwon in view of Bae with the specified features of Ko because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Kwon in view of Bae to have the first inorganic layer extending along a shape of each of the first sub-separator and the second sub-separator, and the organic layer being disposed between the first sub-separator and the second sub-separator, as taught by Ko, for the purpose of providing planarization layer with improved isolation ability.
Regarding claim 13, Kwon in view of Bae and Ko discloses the display panel of claim 12 as described above.
Kwon in view of Bae does not explicitly disclose a lower dummy layer disposed between the first sub-separator and the second sub-separator, disposed on the pixel definition layer, and covered by the organic layer.
Ko teaches, in at least figures 5-6 and related text, a lower dummy layer (UP1, [226]) disposed between the first sub-separator (left SPR, [137], figures) and the second sub-separator (right SPR, [137], figures), disposed on the pixel definition layer (PDL, [192]), and covered by the organic layer (OL, [205]), for the purpose of providing reducing manufacturing steps thereby reducing cost.
Kwon, Bae, Ko are analogous art because they all are directed to display device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Kwon in view of Bae with the specified features of Ko because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Kwon in view of Bae to have the lower dummy layer disposed between the first sub-separator and the second sub-separator, disposed on the pixel definition layer, and covered by the organic layer, as taught by Ko, for the purpose of providing reducing manufacturing steps thereby reducing cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 1 and 3 that recite "the separator comprises the scattering agent having an amount of about 8 wt% to about 11 wt%, based on a total weight of the separator" in combination with other elements of the base claims 1 and 3.
Claims 14-20 are allowed because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 14 that recite "applying a photosensitive organic composition comprising a base resin and a scattering agent on the pixel definition layer; disposing a mask comprising a mask opening on the photosensitive organic composition; forming a separator by irradiating light on the photosensitive organic composition through the mask opening to cure a portion of the photosensitive organic composition" in combination with other elements of the base claims 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TONG-HO KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811