DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Applicant’s Reply filed 9/11/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-11 are pending.
Claims 10-11 are withdrawn.
Claims 2 and 5-6 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 7, and 8 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-9 (all pending, non-withdrawn claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohizumi (US Pub. 2011/0126985) in view of Leung (US Pub. 2007/0039942), Song (US Pub. 2018/0298495), and Frijlink (US Patent 4,860,687).
Regarding claim 1, Ohizumi teaches a deposition apparatus (Fig. 1, entirety) comprising: a processing chamber ([0037] and Fig. 1, container #1); a rotary table rotatably provided in the processing chamber ([0037] and Fig. 1, rotary table #2), a plurality of stages provided along a rotation direction of the rotary table (Fig. 20A, placement member #250 provided in plurality as in Fig. 3), and each configured to mount a substrate thereon (Fig. 20A, substrate W); and a heater configured to heat the substrate mounted on each stage of the plurality of stages ([0063] and Fig. 1, heater #7); wherein the rotary table has a plurality of recesses along the rotation direction of the rotary table (see Figs. 2-3), wherein the stages are supported by the rotary table (Fig. 3, plurality of substrates W).
Ohizumi does not teach wherein the rotary table includes a coolant flow channel therein.
However, Leung teaches wherein the rotary table includes a coolant flow channel therein (Leung – [0035] and Fig. 4A, cooling channels #136 within body #124).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the Ohizumi apparatus to comprise the cooling channels of Leung in order to cool the susceptor after high temperature processing and/or during cleaning (Leung – [0007]).
Ohizumi modified by Leung does not teach wherein a plurality of grooves are provided in a bottom surface of each of the plurality of recesses along a circumferential direction of a corresponding recess among the plurality of recesses, wherein the plurality of grooves extend along radial directions of the corresponding recess, wherein a plurality of supports are provided in the plurality of grooves, each of the plurality of supports having a spherical shape, wherein the plurality of supports support a corresponding stage among the plurality of stages by being in point contact with the corresponding stage, wherein the plurality of stages are supported by the rotary table while being thermally isolated from the rotary table.
However, Song teaches wherein a plurality of grooves are provided in a bottom surface of a recess (Song – [0055] and Fig. 4, hole holding ball #225) along a circumferential direction of a recess (Song – see Figs. 3-4, at least two positions below a substrate and between the holder), wherein the plurality of grooves extend along radial directions of the corresponding recess (Song – see Figs. 3-4, each hole holding ball #225 has a dimension radially outward of the wafer center), wherein a plurality of supports are provided in the plurality of grooves (Song – [0055] and Fig. 4, plurality of balls #225), each of the plurality of supports having a spherical shape (Song – [0055]), wherein the plurality of supports support a stage by being in point contact with the corresponding stage (Song – Figs. 3-4, each ball #225 supports a bottom surface of support #210 by point contact), wherein the plurality of stages are supported while being thermally isolated (Song – Figs. 3-4, the balls #225 provide at least some separation of #210 and #222).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Ohizumi apparatus by including the ball/groove structure of Song in order to prevent the stages from deviating while rotating (Song – [0054], [0055]).
Ohizumi modified by Leung and Song does not appear to teach wherein a bottom surface of each groove of the plurality of grooves is inclined upward from an inner side of the corresponding recess toward an outer side of the corresponding recess.
However, Frijlink teaches wherein a bottom surface of a stage has an inclined surface (Frijlink – C5, L3-13 and Fig. 4a).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the stages of the modified Ohizumi apparatus to comprise the conical structure of Frijlink in order to prevent lateral displacement of the stage without preventing it from rotating (Frijlink – C4, L66-68).
Thus, as a combination, if the stages of modified Ohizumi apparatus were further modified to comprise the conical structure of Frijlink, it would comprise upward/outward inclined surfaces such that the plurality of grooves would have the same.
Additionally, the Examiner notes that Frijlink discloses an additional embodiment in Fig. 4b that is substantially similar to the structure of Ohizumi Fig. 20A (used in the rejection of this claim).
As such, the Examiner submits that it would also be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to enact the modification as proposed above as a simple substitution to achieve predictable results. As Frijlink teaches either of the structures in 4a and 4b are advantageous in preventing lateral displacement of the stage without preventing it from rotating (Frijlink – C4, L66-68), Frijlink appears to further strengthen a prima facie case of obviousness by demonstrating their interchangeability.
Regarding claim 3, Ohizumi modified by Leung does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Song teaches wherein the plurality of supports are separate members from the table (Song – balls #225 different than #222 and/or #210).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Ohizumi apparatus by including the ball/groove structure of Song in order to prevent the stages from deviating while rotating (Song – [0054], [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Ohizumi modified by Leung does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Song teaches wherein the plurality of supports are movable along a radial directions of the corresponding recess (Song – Fig. 4, balls #225 appear to be rotatable in three dimensions, thus could be rotating along a radial line relative to the wafer center).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Ohizumi apparatus by including the ball/groove structure of Song in order to prevent the stages from deviating while rotating (Song – [0054], [0055]).
Regarding claim 7, Ohizumi teaches an inner diameter of each recess of the plurality of recesses is larger than a diameter of each stage of the plurality of stages (see Fig. 20A).
Ohizumi modified by Leung does not teach wherein the plurality of supports are configured to support a peripheral edge portion of each of the stages.
However, Song teaches wherein the supports are provided on a bottom surface of each of the recesses, and are configured to support a peripheral edge portion of the corresponding stage (Song – see Figs. 3-4, #225 seated in the surrounding hole, supporting an edge of #210).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to further modify the modified Ohizumi apparatus by including the ball/groove structure of Song in order to prevent the stages from deviating while rotating (Song – [0054], [0055]).
Regarding claim 8, Ohizumi teaches wherein the bottom surface of each recess of the plurality of recesses has an opening, and a lower surface of each stage of the plurality of stages is exposed from the opening (see Fig. 20A).
Regarding claim 9, Ohizumi teaches wherein the plurality of stages are rotatable relative to the rotary table ([0107]: members #250 are detachable from rotary table #2, thus would be rotatable due to their circular shape and “floating” arrangement).
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claims 1, 7, and 8 to correct minor informalities, thus the objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered, but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection as presented herein. The Examiner respectfully submits that Frijlink remedies any alleged deficiencies of the other prior art of record.
Conclusion
/Kurt Sweely/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718