DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on January 12, 2024 and March 17, 2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the interface layer” should read “the first interface layer” (line 4). Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-7, 10-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0066917 A1 (hereinafter “Nahar”) . Regarding claim 1 , Nahar discloses in Fig. 11 and related text a memory device ( 60; [0004] and [0035] ) , comprising: a first electrode (48; [0035] ) ; a ferroelectric layer (14f; [0035] ) fabricated on the first electrode, wherein the ferroelectric layer comprises a plurality of ferroelectric films (15, 17, 19; [0025] ) and a plurality of interface layers (16, 18; [0022] ) stacked alternately, wherein each of the plurality of ferroelectric films comprises a ferroelectric material (e.g., Hf 1-x Zr x O 2 ; [0021] ) , and wherein each of the plurality of interface layers comprises at least one dielectric material (e.g., Al 2 O 3 ; [0022] ) that is more chemically stable than the ferroelectric material (Applicant’s specification states in [0041] that Al 2 O 3 is an example of a dielectric material that is more chemically stable than the ferroelectric materials including Hf 1-x Zr x O 2 described in [0040] of the specification) ; and a second electrode (30; [0035] ) fabricated on the ferroelectric layer. Regarding claim 2 , Nah a r discloses the ferroelectric material comprises a metal oxide, and wherein the metal oxide comprises at least one of hafnium oxide (HfO 2 ), zirconium oxide (ZrO 2 ), zirconium-doped hafnium oxide (Hf 1-x Zr x O 2 with x ranging from 0 to 1) scandium-doped aluminum nitride (Al 1-x Sc x N with x>0.3), titanates (BaTiO 3 ), niobates (LiNbO 3 ), or tantalates (NaTaO 3 ) ([0021]). Regarding claim 3 , Nahar discloses the ferroelectric material is interstitially doped with at least one interstitial dopant, and wherein the at least one interstitial dopant comprises at least one of H, N, C (carbon) , B, or F ([0021]). Regarding claim 4 , Nahar discloses the plurality of ferroelectric films comprises a first ferroelectric film (15; Fig. 7; [0025]) and a second ferroelectric film (17; Fig. 7; [0025]) , and wherein a first interface layer (16d; Fig. 7; [0031]) of the plurality of interface layers is fabricated between the first ferroelectric film and the second ferroelectric film . (Nahar states at the end of [0035]: “Any other attribute(s) or aspect(s) as shown and/or described herein may be used with respect to the embodiments described with reference to FIGS. 11 and 12.”) Regarding claim 5 , Nahar discloses the first interface layer comprises a discontinuous film of the dielectric material (Fig. 7; [0031]) , wherein at least a portion of the second ferroelectric film is directly fabricated on the first ferroelectric film through pin-holes or pores in the first interface layer (Fig. 7; [0031]). Regarding claim 6 , Nahar discloses the second electrode is fabricated on a top ferroelectric film (19; Fig. 11; [0025]) of the plurality of ferroelectric films. Regarding claim 7 , Nahar discloses the dielectric material comprises aluminum oxide ([0022]). Regarding claim 1 0 , Nahar discloses in Fig. 11 and related text a method for fabricating a memory device (60; [0004] and [0035]) , the method comprising: fabricating, on a first electrode (48; [0035]), a ferroelectric layer (14f; [0035]) , wherein the ferroelectric layer comprises a plurality of ferroelectric films (15, 17, 19; [0025]) and a plurality of interface layers (16, 18; [0022]) alternately stacked , wherein each of the plurality of ferroelectric films comprises a ferroelectric material (e.g., Hf 1-x Zr x O 2 ; [0021]) , and wherein each of the plurality of interface layers comprises at least one dielectric material (e.g., Al 2 O 3 ; [0022]) that is more chemically stable than the ferroelectric material (Applicant’s specification states in [0041] that Al 2 O 3 is an example of a dielectric material that is more chemically stable than the ferroelectric materials including Hf 1-x Zr x O 2 described in [0040] of the specification) ; and fabricating, on the ferroelectric layer , a second electrode (30; [0035]). Regarding claim 11 , Nahar discloses the ferroelectric material comprises a metal oxide, and wherein the metal oxide comprises at least one of hafnium oxide (HfO 2 ), zirconium oxide (ZrO 2 ), zirconium-doped hafnium oxide (Hf 1-x Zr x O 2 with x ranging from 0 to 1) scandium-doped aluminum nitride (Al 1-x Sc x N with x>0.3), titanates (BaTiO 3 ), niobates (LiNbO 3 ), or tantalates (NaTaO 3 ) ([0021]). Regarding claim 12 , Nahar discloses the ferroelectric material is interstitially doped with at least one interstitial dopant, and wherein the at least one interstitial dopant comprises at least one of H, N, C (carbon) , B, or F ([0021]). Regarding claim 13 , Nahar discloses fabricating the ferroelectric layer comprises: fabricating a first ferroelectric film (15; Fig. 7; [0025]) ; fabricating, on the first ferroelectric film, a first interface layer (16d; Fig. 7; [0031]) of the plurality of interface layers; and fabricating a second ferroelectric film (17; Fig. 7; [0025]) on the first interface layer. (Nahar states at the end of [0035]: “Any other attribute(s) or aspect(s) as shown and/or described herein may be used with respect to the embodiments described with reference to FIGS. 11 and 12.”) Regarding claim 14 , Nahar discloses fabricating the first interface layer comprises fabricating a discontinuous film of the dielectric material (Fig. 7; [0031]) , wherein at least a portion of the second ferroelectric film is directly fabricated on the first ferroelectric film through the discontinuous film of dielectric material (Fig. 7; [0031]). Regarding claim 15 , Nahar discloses the first ferroelectric film is fabricated by depositing the ferroelectric material using Atomic Layer Deposition (ALD) ([0042]) , wherein the first interface layer is fabricated by depositing the dielectric material using ALD ([0042]). Regarding claim 16 , Nahar discloses the second electrode is fabricated on a top ferroelectric film (19; Fig. 11; [0025]) of the plurality of ferroelectric films. Regarding claim 17 , Nahar discloses the dielectric material comprises aluminum oxide ([0022]). Regarding claim 20 , Nahar discloses performing heat treatment on the memory device ([0025]). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 8, 9, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nahar in view of “Grain size engineering for ferroelectric Hf 0.5 Zr 0.5 O 2 films by an insertion of Al 2 O 3 interlayer” (Applied Physics Letters 105, 192903 (2014), hereinafter “Kim”). Regarding claim 8 , Nahar discloses the memory device of claim 1. Nahar does not disclose the first electrode comprises at least one of tungsten, ruthenium, molybdenum, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, or tungsten nitride. Kim teaches in Fig. 1(a) and related text the first electrode (bottom electrode (BE)) comprises at least one of tungsten, ruthenium, molybdenum, titanium nitride , tantalum nitride, or tungsten nitride (page 2, left column, lines 14-15). Nahar and Kim are analogous art because they both are directed to ferroelectric capacitors and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nahar with the specified features of Kim because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the first electrode to comprise titanium nitride , as taught by Kim, in order to realize one or more advantages of titanium nitride as an electrode material for ferroelectric capacitors, such as excellent CMOS compatibility, high electrical conductivity, and ability to stabilize the desired ferroelectric crystal phase . Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin , 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.07 . Regarding claim 9 , Nahar discloses the memory device of claim 1. Nahar does not disclose the second electrode comprises at least one of tungsten, ruthenium, molybdenum, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, or tungsten nitride. Kim teaches in Fig. 1(a) and related text the second electrode (top electrode (TE)) comprises at least one of tungsten, ruthenium, molybdenum, titanium nitride , tantalum nitride, or tungsten nitride (page 2, left column, lines 31-32). Nahar and Kim are analogous art because they both are directed to ferroelectric capacitors and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nahar with the specified features of Kim because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the second electrode to comprise titanium nitride , as taught by Kim, in order to realize one or more advantages of titanium nitride as an electrode material for ferroelectric capacitors, such as excellent CMOS compatibility, high electrical conductivity, and ability to stabilize the desired ferroelectric crystal phase . Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin , 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.07 . Regarding claim 1 8 , Nahar discloses the method of claim 10. Nahar does not disclose the first electrode comprises at least one of tungsten, ruthenium, molybdenum, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, or tungsten nitride. Kim teaches in Fig. 1(a) and related text the first electrode (bottom electrode (BE)) comprises at least one of tungsten, ruthenium, molybdenum, titanium nitride , tantalum nitride, or tungsten nitride (page 2, left column, lines 14-15). Nahar and Kim are analogous art because they both are directed to ferroelectric capacitors and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nahar with the specified features of Kim because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the first electrode to comprise titanium nitride , as taught by Kim, in order to realize one or more advantages of titanium nitride as an electrode material for ferroelectric capacitors, such as excellent CMOS compatibility, high electrical conductivity, and ability to stabilize the desired ferroelectric crystal phase . Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin , 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.07 . Regarding claim 1 9 , Nahar discloses the me thod of claim 1 0 . Nahar does not disclose the second electrode comprises at least one of tungsten, ruthenium, molybdenum, titanium nitride, tantalum nitride, or tungsten nitride. Kim teaches in Fig. 1(a) and related text the second electrode (top electrode (TE)) comprises at least one of tungsten, ruthenium, molybdenum, titanium nitride , tantalum nitride, or tungsten nitride (page 2, left column, lines 31-32). Nahar and Kim are analogous art because they both are directed to ferroelectric capacitors and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Nahar with the specified features of Kim because they are from the same field of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the second electrode to comprise titanium nitride , as taught by Kim, in order to realize one or more advantages of titanium nitride as an electrode material for ferroelectric capacitors, such as excellent CMOS compatibility, high electrical conductivity, and ability to stabilize the desired ferroelectric crystal phase . Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin , 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.07 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT PETER M ALBRECHT whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-7813 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9:30 AM - 6:30 PM (CT) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Lynne Gurley can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-1670 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PETER M ALBRECHT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811