DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (2021/0242158) in view of Yu et al. (2019/0333893).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Lee (Fig. 24) discloses a semiconductor package, comprising: a re-distribution layer (RDL) interposer 100 having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface ([0046]); a plurality of fanout pads (114/124) disposed on the second surface of the RDL interposer 100 ([0046]); a plurality of peripheral pads (114, 116) disposed on the second surface and arranged along a perimeter of the RDL interposer 100 (Figs. 19-22, [0044]); a first semiconductor die 200 disposed on the first surface of the RDL interposer 100 and electrically connected to the plurality of fanout pads 114 ([0042]); a molding compound 300 encapsulating the first semiconductor die 200 and the first surface of the RDL interposer ([0060]), wherein a top surface of the molding compound 300 is coplanar with a rear surface of the first semiconductor die 200 (Fig. 22); a plurality of through mold vias 420 disposed in the molding compound 300 around the first semiconductor die 200, wherein the plurality of through mold vias 420 exposes the plurality of peripheral pads (114, 116) (Figs. 18-19), respectively; a plurality of peripheral solder bumps 410 disposed within the plurality of through mold vias 420 and placed directly on the plurality of peripheral pads (114, 116) (Fig. 24, [0042]), respectively; a plurality of through via pads 516 disposed on the rear surface of the first semiconductor die 200 ([0027]); and a second semiconductor die 620 bonded to the plurality of through via pads of the first semiconductor die 200 and bonded to the plurality of peripheral solder bumps 410 within the plurality of through mold vias 420 (see Fig. 24, [0069]).
Lee all the claimed limitations of the invention except for a plurality of through silicon via (TSV) pads.
However, Yu (Fig. 9) discloses a plurality of through silicon via (TSV) pads 208 disposed on the rear surface of the first semiconductor die 102 in order to provide additional electrical connections between dies 102 and/or 104 ([0073]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Lee as taught by Yu by forming a plurality of through silicon via (TSV) pads disposed on the rear surface of the first semiconductor die in order to provide additional electrical connections between dies (Fig. 9, [0073]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Lee (Fig. 24) discloses wherein the plurality of peripheral pads (114, 116) surrounds the plurality of fanout pads 114.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, as discussed, the combination above, Yu (Fig. 9) discloses wherein the second semiconductor die 104B is bonded to the plurality of TSV pads 208 of the first semiconductor die 102 through a plurality of first connecting elements 602 ([0077]).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, as discussed, the combination above, Yu (Fig. 9) discloses wherein the plurality of first connecting elements 602 comprises micro-bumps ([0077]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to disclose all the limitations recited in the claim 5. Specifically, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the second semiconductor die is bonded to the plurality of peripheral solder bumps within the plurality of through mold vias through a plurality of second connecting elements having a diameter greater than a diameter of each of the plurality of first connecting elements.
The dependent claims being further limiting and definite are also allowable.
Conclusion
/THERESA T DOAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814