DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1- 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhuyan ( USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 20 21/0277516 , hereinafter Bhuyan ) in view of Lee (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 201 1/0287633 , hereinafter Lee ). Re claim 1 Bhuyan discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising: exposing a semiconductor substrate[ 0017] in a semiconductor processing chamber[ 0031,0032] to a carbon-containing precursor[0051,0085] to deposit a carbon hardmask layer[0035] . Bhuyan does not discloses a carbon-containing precursor[ 0051,0085] selected from one of more of the following compounds (malononitrile), (fumaronitrile), ( trichloroacetonitrile ), (cyanuric chloride), (tetrachloroethylene), or (tetracyanoethylene). Lee discloses in a carbon-containing precursor selected from one of more of the following compounds (malononitrile ), ( fumaronitrile), ( trichloroacetonitrile ), (cyanuric chloride ), ( tetrachloroethylene), or (tetracyanoethylene) [ claim 18 ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the inventions to use the material of Lee to replace the material of Bhuyen ’s device because such material replacement is art recognized suitability for an intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Re claim 2 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising pre-treating the semiconductor substrate[ 0017] to prior to depositing the carbon hardmask layer[0035] . Re claim 3 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 2, wherein pre-treating the semiconductor substrate[ 0017] includes exposing the semiconductor substrate[ 0017] to a plasma comprising one or more of hydrogen (H ₂ ), carbon monoxide (CO), carbon dioxide (CO ₂ ), argon ( Ar ), helium (He), diborane (B ₂ H ₆ ), nitrogen (N ₂ ), ammonia (NH ₃ )[ 0054] , or a gaseous hydrocarbon. Re claim 4 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 2, wherein pre-treating the semiconductor substrate[ 0017] includes depositing a seed layer directly on the semiconductor substrate[ 0017] . Re claim 5 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] is deposited by a plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition ( PECVD[0003] ) process. Re claim 6 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the PECVD[ 0003] process is carried out with an inert gas[0057] . Re claim 7 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 6, wherein the PECVD[ 0003] process further comprises a plasma of one or more of hydrogen (H ₂ )[0057] , carbon monoxide (CO), carbon dioxide (CO ₂ ), diborane (B ₂ H ₆ ), nitrogen (N ₂ ), ammonia (NH ₃ )[ 0054] , or a gaseous hydrocarbon. Re claim 8 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] is deposited at a temperature[0047] in a range of from 100 °C to 500 °C. Re claim 9 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] is deposited at a pressure[0052] in a range of from 0.1 Torr to 20 Torr. Re claim 10 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] is substantially free of hydrogen atoms. Re claim 11 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising treating the carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] . Re claim 12 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 11, wherein treating the carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] comprises exposing the carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] to a plasma comprising one or more of hydrogen (H ₂ ), carbon monoxide (CO), carbon dioxide (CO ₂ ), argon ( Ar ), helium (He), diborane (B ₂ H ₆ ), nitrogen (N ₂ ), ammonia (NH ₃ )[ 0054] , or a gaseous hydrocarbon. Re claim 13 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 11, wherein treating the carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] comprises performing an annealing process[0064] . Re claim 14 Bhuyan and Lee disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor device is a logic device or a memory device[ 0078] . Claim(s) 1 5 -20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhuyan ( USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2021/0277516, hereinafter Bhuyan ) in view of Lee (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2011/0287633, hereinafter Lee) and Yeh (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 20 07/0072422 , hereinafter Yeh ). Re claim 1 5 Bhuyan discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising: pre- treating ( claim 12) a semiconductor substrate[0017] ; depositing a carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] on the semiconductor substrate[ 0017] by plasma-enhanced chemical vapor deposition ( PECVD[ 0003] ), depositing the carbon hardmask layer[0035] comprising exposing the semiconductor substrate[0017] in a semiconductor processing chamber[0031,0032] to a carbon-containing precursor [0051] at a temperature[0047] in a range of from 100 °C to 500 °C and a pressure[0052] in a range of from 0.1 Torr to 20 Torr; and treating the carbon hardmask layer[0035] . Bhuyan does not discloses depositing a carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] that is substantially free of hydrogen a toms ; a carbon-containing precursor selected from one of more of the following compounds (malononitrile), (fumaronitrile), ( trichloroacetonitrile ), (cyanuric chloride), (tetrachloroethylene), or (tetracyanoethylene) Lee discloses a carbon-containing precursor selected from one of more of the following compounds (malononitrile), (fumaronitrile), ( trichloroacetonitrile ), (cyanuric chloride), (tetrachloroethylene), or (tetracyanoethylene) [claim 18]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the inventions to use the material of Lee to replace the material of Bhuyen’s device because such material replacement is art recognized suitability for an intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Bhuyan and Lee does not discloses depositing a carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] that is substantially free of hydrogen atoms; Yeh discloses depositing a carbon hardmask layer[ 00 26 ] that is substantially free of hydrogen atoms [0021,0029] ; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Yeh to the teachings of Bhuyan in order to enhance surface conditions for successful process steps for advanced device fabrication [ 0003 , Yeh ]. Re claim 16 Bhuyan , Lee and Yeh disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the PECVD[ 0003] process is carried out in an inert gas[0057] . Re claim 17 Bhuyan , Lee and Yeh disclose the method of claim 16, wherein the PECVD[ 0003] process further comprises a plasma of one or more of hydrogen (H ₂ ), carbon monoxide (CO), carbon dioxide (CO ₂ ), diborane (B ₂ H ₆ ), nitrogen (N ₂ ), ammonia (NH ₃ )[ 0054] , or a gaseous hydrocarbon. Re claim 18 Bhuyan , Lee and Yeh disclose the method of claim 15, wherein treating the carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] comprises exposing the carbon hardmask layer[0035] to a plasma comprising one or more of hydrogen (H ₂ ), carbon monoxide (CO), carbon dioxide (CO ₂ ), argon ( Ar ), helium(He), diborane (B ₂ H ₆ ), nitrogen (N ₂ ), ammonia (NH ₃ )[0054] , or a gaseous hydrocarbon. Re claim 19 Bhuyan , Lee and Yeh disclose the method of claim 15, wherein treating the carbon hardmask layer[ 0035] comprises performing an annealing process[0064] . Re claim 20 Bhuyan , Lee and Yeh disclose the method of claim 15, wherein the semiconductor device is a logic device or a memory device[ 0078] . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT PATRICIA D VALENZUELA whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-9242 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 10am-6pm EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT William Partridge can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-1402 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812