DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/14/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0036062A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] comprising:
a base layer (110) fig. 3 [0046] having a plurality of light-emitting regions (DA 1-3) [0065] (see annotated fig. 3 below) and a non-light-emitting region (NDA) [0074] (see annotated fig. 3 below) disposed adjacent to the plurality of light-emitting regions (DA 1-3); and
a color filter layer (510) fig. 3 [0039] disposed on (supported by) the base layer (110), wherein the color filter layer (510) comprises:
a first color filter (513) fig. 3 [0073] that transmits a first color light (blue) [0073];
a second color filter (511) fig. 3 [0076] that transmits a second color light (red) [0076], the first color light (blue) [0073] and the second color light (red) [0076] being different from each other; and
a third color filter (512) fig. 3 [0077] that transmits a third color light (green) [0077], the first color light (blue) [0073], the second color light (red) [0076], and the third color light (green) [0077] being different from each other,
the first to third color filters (511-513) overlap each other (see annotated fig. 3 below) in the non-light-emitting region (NDA) in a plan view (see fig. 2), and (partially) in the third color filter (512),
a measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] is defined in a region overlapping the non-light-emitting region (NDA) in a plan view (see fig. 2; see also annotated fig. 3 below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Measurement opening filled by this 420)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Area of mutual overlap of 511-513; created by slanted 511/512 interface)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (DA3)][AltContent: textbox (DA1)][AltContent: textbox (DA2)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (NDA)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (NDA)][AltContent: connector]
Annotated fig. 3 of Kim
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the plurality of light-emitting regions (DA’s) (see annotated fig. 3 above) comprise:
a first light-emitting region (DA1) overlapping a portion of the first color filter (513) fig. 3 [0073] in a plan view;
a second light-emitting region (DA2) overlapping a portion of the second color filter (511) fig. 3 [0076] in a plan view; and
a third light-emitting region (DA3) overlapping a portion of the third color filter (512) fig. 3 [0077] in a plan view.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein a size (vertical-length) of the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] is smaller than a size (vertical-length) of each of the first to third light-emitting regions (DA1-3) in (within) a plan view (as defined in annotated fig. 3 above; DA1-3 span and extend beyond vertical-height of 420).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the first color light (of 513) is blue light [0073], the second color light (of 511) is red light [0076], and the third color light (of 512) is green light [0077].
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] overlaps the first color filter (513) fig. 3 [0073] and the second color filter (511) fig. 3 [0076] in (within) a plan view.
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] has a polygonal (trapezoidal) shape in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches further comprising:
a lower display substrate (comprising components vertically between 190 and 453, inclusive) fig. 3 [0060] comprising:
a first base substrate (270) fig. 3 [0061];
a plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s) fig. 3 [0062] disposed on the first base substrate (270); and
a thin film encapsulation layer (453) fig. 3 [0070] that covers the plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 7. Kim also teaches further comprising:
a partition barrier rib (430) fig. 3 [0038] disposed on the color filter layer (510) fig. 3 [0038] and having a plurality of partition openings (openings filled by 530s) fig. 3 [0038] overlapping the plurality of light-emitting regions (DA1-3) in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2);
and a plurality of optical patterns (530 comprising 531-533) fig. 3 [0039] disposed in the plurality of partition openings (openings between 430s filled by 530), wherein an upper surface (slanted sidewalls 430; upper surfaces relative to bottommost surface of 430) of the partition barrier rib (540) faces (partially towards) an upper surface of the lower display substrate (comprising upper surface 453) fig. 3 [0070].
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches, further comprising:
a plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s) fig. 3 [0062] disposed on (supported by) the base layer (110) fig. 3 [0046];
a thin film encapsulation layer (453) fig. 3 [0070] that covers the plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s); a
partition barrier rib (430) fig. 3 [0038] disposed on the thin film encapsulation layer (453) and having a plurality of partition openings (openings in 430s filled by 530s) fig. 3 [0038] overlapping the plurality of light-emitting regions (DA1-3) (see annotated fig. 3 above) in a plan view (see also fig. 2); and
a plurality of optical patterns (530 comprising 531-533) fig. 3 [0039] disposed in the plurality of partition openings (openings in 430s filled by 530s), wherein the first to third color filters (510 comprising 511-513) fig. 3 [0039] are disposed on the partition barrier rib (430) and the plurality of optical patterns (530).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein a plurality of first openings (513b’s) fig. 3 [0044] (see also fig. 2) are defined (partially) in the first color filter (collective 513) fig. 3 [0073], and each of the plurality of first openings overlaps at least one of the second color filter (collective 511 material) fig. 3 [0076] and the third color filter (512 material) fig. 3 [0077] in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein a plurality of second openings (513b’s) fig. 3 [0044] (see also fig. 2) are defined (partially) in the second color filter (511) fig. 3 [0076], and each of the plurality of second openings (513b’s) overlaps at least one of the first color filter (513 material) fig. 3 [0073] and the third color filter (512 material) fig. 3 [0077] in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein a plurality of third openings (513b’s) fig. 3 [0044] (see also fig. 2) are further defined (partially) in the third color filter (512) fig. 3 [0077], and each of the plurality of third openings (513b’s) overlaps at least one of the first color filter (513 material) fig. 3 [0073] and the second color filter (511 material) fig. 3 [0076] in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] comprising:
a base layer (110) fig. 3 [0046];
a first color filter (collective 513 material) fig. 3 [0073] disposed on (supported by) the base layer (110) and having a plurality of first openings (1st openings defined as gaps in collective 513 material) (see annotated fig. 3 below) (see also fig. 2 for plurality of repeating sub-pixel structures) [0039-0041];
a second color filter (collective 511 material) fig. 3 [0076] disposed on (supported by) the base layer (110) and having a plurality of second openings (2nd openings defined as gaps in collective 511 material) (see annotated fig. 3 below) (see also fig. 2 for plurality of repeating sub-pixel structures) [0039-0041]; and
a third color filter (collective 512 material) fig. 3 [0077] disposed on (supported by) the base layer (110) and having a plurality of third openings (3rd openings defined as gaps in collective 512 material) (see annotated fig. 3 below) (see also fig. 2 for plurality of repeating sub-pixel structures) [0039-0041] and a measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074],
wherein each of the plurality of first openings (1st openings defined as gaps in collective 513 material) (see annotated fig. 3 below) overlaps at least one of the second color filter (collective 511 material) and the third color filter (collective 512 material) in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2);
each of the plurality of second openings (2nd openings defined as gaps in collective 511 material) (see annotated fig. 3 below) (partially) overlaps at least one of the first color filter (collective 512 material) in a plan view (outer sidewalls of 2nd opening overlap outer sidewalls of 513 – as defined in annotated fig. 3 below);
each of the plurality of third openings (3rd openings defined as gaps in collective 512 material) (partially) overlaps at least one of the first color filter (513) in a plan view (outer sidewalls of 3rd opening overlap outer sidewalls of 513 – as defined in annotated fig. 3 below); and
the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] overlaps the first color filter (513) and the second color filter (511) in (within) a plan view.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (2nd openings defined as gaps in collective 511 mateiral )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (3rd openings defined as gaps in collective 512 mateiral )][AltContent: textbox (1st openings defined as gaps in collective 513 mateiral )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Measurement opening filled by this 420)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Area of mutual overlap of 511-513; created by slanted 511/512 interface)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (DA3)][AltContent: textbox (DA1)][AltContent: textbox (DA2)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (NDA)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (NDA)]
Annotated fig. 3 of Kim
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 13. Kim also teaches wherein a plurality of light-emitting regions (DA 1-3) [0065] (see annotated fig. 3 below) and a non-light-emitting region (NDA) [0074] (see annotated fig. 3 below) disposed adjacent to the plurality of light-emitting regions (DA1-3) are defined (partially) in the base layer (110) fig. 3 [0046]; and
the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] overlaps the non-light-emitting region (NDA) in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 14. Kim also teaches wherein a size (vertical-length) of the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] is smaller than a size (vertical-length) of each of the first to third light-emitting regions (DA1-3) in (within) a plan view (as defined in annotated fig. 3 above; DA1-3 span and extend beyond vertical-height of 420).
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 13. Kim also teaches wherein the first color light (of 513) is blue light [0073], the second color light (of 511) is red light [0076], and the third color light (of 512) is green light [0077].
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 13. Kim also teaches wherein the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] has a polygonal (trapezoidal) shape in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 13. Kim also teaches further comprising:
a lower display substrate (comprising components vertically between 190 and 453, inclusive) fig. 3 [0060] comprising:
a first base substrate (270) fig. 3 [0061];
a plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s) fig. 3 [0062] disposed on the first base substrate (270); and
a thin film encapsulation layer (453) fig. 3 [0070] that covers the plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 18. Kim also teaches further comprising:
a partition barrier rib (430) fig. 3 [0038] disposed on the first to third color filters (510 comprising 511-513) fig. 3 [0039] and having a plurality of partition openings (openings in 430s filled by 530s) fig. 3 [0038] overlapping the plurality of light-emitting regions (comprising 290 1-3’s) in a plan view (see also fig. 2);
a plurality of optical patterns (530 comprising 531-533) fig. 3 [0039] disposed in the plurality of partition openings (openings in 430s filled by 530s), wherein an upper surface (slanted sidewalls 430; upper surfaces relative to bottommost surface of 430) of the partition barrier rib (540) faces (partially towards) an upper surface of the lower display substrate (comprising upper surface 453) fig. 3 [0070].
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 13. Kim also teaches, further comprising:
a base substrate (270) fig. 3 [0061];
a plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s) fig. 3 [0062] disposed on the base substrate (270);
a thin film encapsulation layer (453) fig. 3 [0070] that covers the plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s);
a partition barrier rib (430) fig. 3 [0038] disposed on the thin film encapsulation layer (453) and having a plurality of partition openings (openings in 430s filled by 530s) fig. 3 [0038] overlapping the plurality of light-emitting regions (comprising 290 1-3’s) in a plan view (see also fig. 2); and
a plurality of optical patterns (530 comprising 531-533) fig. 3 [0039] disposed in the plurality of partition openings (openings in 430s filled by 530s), wherein the first to third color filters (510 comprising 511-513) fig. 3 [0039] are disposed on the partition barrier rib (430’s) and the plurality of optical patterns (530’s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US-20200388663-A1), Huang (US-20210408131-A1), and Seong (US-20220085114-A1) teach other examples of display devices with multiple color filters overlapping in the non-emission area.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 02/02/2026
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892