DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The Amendments filed May 8th, 2026 are noted. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification to overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 02/13/2026 are noted. Applicant’s amendment(s) to the Specification have overcome the objection(s) to the Title previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 02/13/2026, so the objection(s) to the Title has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are noted.
3. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
4. Claims 1-20 have been fully considered in examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0036062A1) (of record) in view of Jikumura (U.S. PG Pub No US2015/0362776A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] comprising:
a base layer (110) fig. 3 [0046] having a plurality of light-emitting regions (DA 1-3) [0065] (see annotated fig. 3 below) and a non-light-emitting region (NDA) [0074] (see annotated fig. 3 below) disposed adjacent to the plurality of light-emitting regions (DA 1-3); and
a color filter layer (510) fig. 3 [0039] disposed on (supported by) the base layer (110), wherein the color filter layer (510) comprises:
a first color filter (513) fig. 3 [0073] that transmits a first color light (blue) [0073];
a second color filter (511) fig. 3 [0076] that transmits a second color light (red) [0076], the first color light (blue) [0073] and the second color light (red) [0076] being different from each other; and
a third color filter (512) fig. 3 [0077] that transmits a third color light (green) [0077], the first color light (blue) [0073], the second color light (red) [0076], and the third color light (green) [0077] being different from each other,
the first to third color filters (511-513) overlap each other (see annotated fig. 3 below) in the non-light-emitting region (NDA) in a plan view (see fig. 2), and (partially) in the third color filter (512),
a measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] is defined in a region overlapping the non-light-emitting region (NDA) in a plan view (see fig. 2; see also annotated fig. 3 below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Measurement opening filled by this 420)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Area of mutual overlap of 511-513; created by slanted 511/512 interface)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (DA3)][AltContent: textbox (DA1)][AltContent: textbox (DA2)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (NDA)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (NDA)][AltContent: connector]
Annotated fig. 3 of Kim
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose in the third color filter (512), a measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] defined through the third color filter (512) (only between color filters).
Jikumura teaches a display device (120c) fig. 19 [0357] in the third color filter (183) fig. 19 [0361], a measurement opening (opening defined into and between 182 and 183 [0161], filled by 186 [0099-0102]) fig. 19 [0161] defined through (partially through) the third color filter (183 boundaries) (lower portion of 186 filling measurement opening protrudes partially into and thus partially through boundaries of individual, underlying color filter 181-183; see annotated fig. 19 of Jikumura below).
[AltContent: textbox (Lower portion of 186 filling measurement opening protrudes partially into and through boundaries of individual, underlying color filter 181-183)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval]
Annotated close-up of fig. 19 of Jikumura
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display device of Kim such that the measurement opening is expanded to depress [0018-0019] partially into and through individual of the color filters in the non-display area [0357-0361, 0099-0102] in order to enhance the amount of black matrix material [0099-0102] vertically over individual of the color filters in the non-display area [0006] so as to enhance the reduction of light leakage offered by the black matrix [0006, 0013-0019], as taught by Jikumura.
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the plurality of light-emitting regions (DA’s) (see annotated fig. 3 above) comprise:
a first light-emitting region (DA1) overlapping a portion of the first color filter (513) fig. 3 [0073] in a plan view;
a second light-emitting region (DA2) overlapping a portion of the second color filter (511) fig. 3 [0076] in a plan view; and
a third light-emitting region (DA3) overlapping a portion of the third color filter (512) fig. 3 [0077] in a plan view.
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein a size (vertical-length) of the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] is smaller than a size (vertical-length) of each of the first to third light-emitting regions (DA1-3) in (within) a plan view (as defined in annotated fig. 3 above; DA1-3 span and extend beyond vertical-height of 420).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the first color light (of 513) is blue light [0073], the second color light (of 511) is red light [0076], and the third color light (of 512) is green light [0077].
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] overlaps the first color filter (513) fig. 3 [0073] and the second color filter (511) fig. 3 [0076] in (within) a plan view.
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] has a polygonal (trapezoidal) shape in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches further comprising:
a lower display substrate (comprising components vertically between 190 and 453, inclusive) fig. 3 [0060] comprising:
a first base substrate (270) fig. 3 [0061];
a plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s) fig. 3 [0062] disposed on the first base substrate (270); and
a thin film encapsulation layer (453) fig. 3 [0070] that covers the plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 7. Kim also teaches further comprising:
a partition barrier rib (430) fig. 3 [0038] disposed on the color filter layer (510) fig. 3 [0038] and having a plurality of partition openings (openings filled by 530s) fig. 3 [0038] overlapping the plurality of light-emitting regions (DA1-3) in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2);
and a plurality of optical patterns (530 comprising 531-533) fig. 3 [0039] disposed in the plurality of partition openings (openings between 430s filled by 530), wherein an upper surface (slanted sidewalls 430; upper surfaces relative to bottommost surface of 430) of the partition barrier rib (540) faces (partially towards) an upper surface of the lower display substrate (comprising upper surface 453) fig. 3 [0070].
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches, further comprising:
a plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s) fig. 3 [0062] disposed on (supported by) the base layer (110) fig. 3 [0046];
a thin film encapsulation layer (453) fig. 3 [0070] that covers the plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s); a
partition barrier rib (430) fig. 3 [0038] disposed on the thin film encapsulation layer (453) and having a plurality of partition openings (openings in 430s filled by 530s) fig. 3 [0038] overlapping the plurality of light-emitting regions (DA1-3) (see annotated fig. 3 above) in a plan view (see also fig. 2); and
a plurality of optical patterns (530 comprising 531-533) fig. 3 [0039] disposed in the plurality of partition openings (openings in 430s filled by 530s), wherein the first to third color filters (510 comprising 511-513) fig. 3 [0039] are disposed on the partition barrier rib (430) and the plurality of optical patterns (530).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein a plurality of first openings (513b’s) fig. 3 [0044] (see also fig. 2) are defined (partially) in the first color filter (collective 513) fig. 3 [0073], and each of the plurality of first openings overlaps at least one of the second color filter (collective 511 material) fig. 3 [0076] and the third color filter (512 material) fig. 3 [0077] in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein a plurality of second openings (513b’s) fig. 3 [0044] (see also fig. 2) are defined (partially) in the second color filter (511) fig. 3 [0076], and each of the plurality of second openings (513b’s) overlaps at least one of the first color filter (513 material) fig. 3 [0073] and the third color filter (512 material) fig. 3 [0077] in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein a plurality of third openings (513b’s) fig. 3 [0044] (see also fig. 2) are further defined (partially) in the third color filter (512) fig. 3 [0077], and each of the plurality of third openings (513b’s) overlaps at least one of the first color filter (513 material) fig. 3 [0073] and the second color filter (511 material) fig. 3 [0076] in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches a display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] comprising:
a base layer (110) fig. 3 [0046];
a first color filter (collective 513 material) fig. 3 [0073] disposed on (supported by) the base layer (110) and having a plurality of first openings (1st openings defined as gaps in collective 513 material) (see annotated fig. 3 below) (see also fig. 2 for plurality of repeating sub-pixel structures) [0039-0041];
a second color filter (collective 511 material) fig. 3 [0076] disposed on (supported by) the base layer (110) and having a plurality of second openings (2nd openings defined as gaps in collective 511 material) (see annotated fig. 3 below) (see also fig. 2 for plurality of repeating sub-pixel structures) [0039-0041]; and
a third color filter (collective 512 material) fig. 3 [0077] disposed on (supported by) the base layer (110) and having a plurality of third openings (3rd openings defined as gaps in collective 512 material) (see annotated fig. 3 below) (see also fig. 2 for plurality of repeating sub-pixel structures) [0039-0041] and a measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074],
wherein each of the plurality of first openings (1st openings defined as gaps in collective 513 material) (see annotated fig. 3 below) overlaps at least one of the second color filter (collective 511 material) and the third color filter (collective 512 material) in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2);
each of the plurality of second openings (2nd openings defined as gaps in collective 511 material) (see annotated fig. 3 below) (partially) overlaps at least one of the first color filter (collective 512 material) in a plan view (outer sidewalls of 2nd opening overlap outer sidewalls of 513 – as defined in annotated fig. 3 below);
each of the plurality of third openings (3rd openings defined as gaps in collective 512 material) (partially) overlaps at least one of the first color filter (513) in a plan view (outer sidewalls of 3rd opening overlap outer sidewalls of 513 – as defined in annotated fig. 3 below); and
the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] overlaps the first color filter (513) and the second color filter (511) in (within) a plan view.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (2nd openings defined as gaps in collective 511 mateiral )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (3rd openings defined as gaps in collective 512 mateiral )][AltContent: textbox (1st openings defined as gaps in collective 513 mateiral )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Measurement opening filled by this 420)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Area of mutual overlap of 511-513; created by slanted 511/512 interface)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (DA3)][AltContent: textbox (DA1)][AltContent: textbox (DA2)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (NDA)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (NDA)]
Annotated fig. 3 of Kim
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose a measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] defined through the third color filter (512) (only between color filters 511, 512).
Jikumura teaches a display device (120c) fig. 19 [0357] in the third color filter (183) fig. 19 [0361], a measurement opening (opening defined into and between 182 and 183 [0161], filled by 186 [0099-0102]) fig. 19 [0161] defined through (partially through) the third color filter (183 boundaries) (lower portion of 186 filling measurement opening protrudes partially into and thus partially through boundaries of individual, underlying color filter 181-183; see annotated fig. 19 of Jikumura below).
[AltContent: textbox (Lower portion of 186 filling measurement opening protrudes partially into and through boundaries of individual, underlying color filter 181-183)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval]
Annotated close-up of fig. 19 of Jikumura
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display device of Kim such that the measurement opening is expanded to depress [0018-0019] partially into and through individual of the color filters in the non-display area [0357-0361, 0099-0102] in order to enhance the amount of black matrix material [0099-0102] vertically over individual of the color filters in the non-display area [0006] so as to enhance the reduction of light leakage offered by the black matrix [0006, 0013-0019], as taught by Jikumura.
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 13. Kim also teaches wherein a plurality of light-emitting regions (DA 1-3) [0065] (see annotated fig. 3 below) and a non-light-emitting region (NDA) [0074] (see annotated fig. 3 below) disposed adjacent to the plurality of light-emitting regions (DA1-3) are defined (partially) in the base layer (110) fig. 3 [0046]; and
the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] overlaps the non-light-emitting region (NDA) in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 14. Kim also teaches wherein a size (vertical-length) of the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] is smaller than a size (vertical-length) of each of the first to third light-emitting regions (DA1-3) in (within) a plan view (as defined in annotated fig. 3 above; DA1-3 span and extend beyond vertical-height of 420).
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 13. Kim also teaches wherein the first color light (of 513) is blue light [0073], the second color light (of 511) is red light [0076], and the third color light (of 512) is green light [0077].
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 13. Kim also teaches wherein the measurement opening (opening defined in 511 and 512, filled by 420) fig. 3 [0074] has a polygonal (trapezoidal) shape in (within) a plan view (see also fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 13. Kim also teaches further comprising:
a lower display substrate (comprising components vertically between 190 and 453, inclusive) fig. 3 [0060] comprising:
a first base substrate (270) fig. 3 [0061];
a plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s) fig. 3 [0062] disposed on the first base substrate (270); and
a thin film encapsulation layer (453) fig. 3 [0070] that covers the plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s).
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 18. Kim also teaches further comprising:
a partition barrier rib (430) fig. 3 [0038] disposed on the first to third color filters (510 comprising 511-513) fig. 3 [0039] and having a plurality of partition openings (openings in 430s filled by 530s) fig. 3 [0038] overlapping the plurality of light-emitting regions (comprising 290 1-3’s) in a plan view (see also fig. 2);
a plurality of optical patterns (530 comprising 531-533) fig. 3 [0039] disposed in the plurality of partition openings (openings in 430s filled by 530s), wherein an upper surface (slanted sidewalls 430; upper surfaces relative to bottommost surface of 430) of the partition barrier rib (540) faces (partially towards) an upper surface of the lower display substrate (comprising upper surface 453) fig. 3 [0070].
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Jikumura teaches the display device (100) fig. 3 [0038, 0046] of claim 13. Kim also teaches, further comprising:
a base substrate (270) fig. 3 [0061];
a plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s) fig. 3 [0062] disposed on the base substrate (270);
a thin film encapsulation layer (453) fig. 3 [0070] that covers the plurality of light-emitting elements (comprising respective 290 1-3’s);
a partition barrier rib (430) fig. 3 [0038] disposed on the thin film encapsulation layer (453) and having a plurality of partition openings (openings in 430s filled by 530s) fig. 3 [0038] overlapping the plurality of light-emitting regions (comprising 290 1-3’s) in a plan view (see also fig. 2); and
a plurality of optical patterns (530 comprising 531-533) fig. 3 [0039] disposed in the plurality of partition openings (openings in 430s filled by 530s), wherein the first to third color filters (510 comprising 511-513) fig. 3 [0039] are disposed on the partition barrier rib (430’s) and the plurality of optical patterns (530’s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-4, filed 05/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Jikumura (U.S. PG Pub No US2015/0362776A1) under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (US-20200388663-A1) (of record), Huang (US-20210408131-A1) (of record), and Seong (US-20220085114-A1) (of record) teach other examples of display devices with multiple color filters overlapping in the non-emission area.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 07/27/2026
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892