DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12, 14-17 and 19-22 are pending before the Office for review.
In the response filed January 21, 2026:
Claims 1, 3, 11 and 16 were amended.
Claims 13 and 18 were canceled.
No new matter is present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TOMURA et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0165578).
With regards to claim 1, Tomura discloses a method comprising: obtaining a substrate; and etching a portion of the substrate using an etch process performed at a temperature of less than or equal to about zero degrees Celsius, wherein: etching the portion of the substrate comprises forming an etchant on the substrate using vapor adsorption of an etchant gas, and the etchant gas comprises molecules of a fluorine (F)-containing gas that is selected to mitigate byproduct formation (Paragraphs [0031]-[0036] Figure 2A discloses providing a substrate with a silicon containing layer wherein the substrate surface is controlled to a temperature of 0C or lower; a HF vapor is adsorbed onto the surface and etch wherein etchant gas comprises HF such that is either eliminates or reduces the sue of any deposition gases such a fluorocarbon gases).
With regards to claim 2, Tomura discloses wherein the substrate comprises a silicon (Si) substrate. (Paragraph [0032]).
With regards to claim 3, Tomura discloses wherein the fluorine containing gas is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen fluoride (HF) (Paragraphs [0033]-[0034]).
With regards to claims 5 and 6, Tomura discloses wherein the etch process is a multi-step etch process, and wherein etching the portion of the substrate further comprises initiating ion- impact dissociation of the etchant to remove the portion of the substrate and wherein initiating the ion-impact dissociation comprises generating a plasma using an inert gas. (Paragraph [0034])
With regards to claim 21, Tomura discloses wherein the etch process is an inductively coupled plasma (ICP)-based etch process. (Paragraph [0050])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YATSUDA et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0381264) in view of TOMURA et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0165578).
With regards to claim 1, Yatsuda discloses a method comprising: obtaining a substrate (W); and etching a portion of the substrate (203) using an etch process performed at a temperature of less than or equal to about zero degrees Celsius (cryogenic temperature), wherein etching the portion of the substrate comprises forming an etchant on the substrate using vapor adsorption (Paragraphs [0044]-[0054]).
However Yatsuda is silent as to wherein the etchant gas comprises molecular is fluorine (F) in containing gas that is selected to mitigate byproduct formation.
Tomura discloses providing a substrate with a silicon containing layer wherein the substrate surface is controlled to a temperature of 0C or lower; a HF vapor is adsorbed onto the surface and etch wherein etchant gas comprises HF such that is either eliminates or reduces the use of any deposition gases such a fluorocarbon gases (Paragraphs [0031]-[0036] Figure 2A). As such Yatsuda as modified by Tomura renders obvious wherein the etchant gas comprises molecular is fluorine (F) in containing gas that is selected to mitigate byproduct formation.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Yatsuda to include the fluorine containing gas as rendered obvious by Tomura because the reference of Tomura teaches that the use of HF eliminates or reduces the sue of any deposition gas such as a fluorocarbon gas thus reducing possible clogging (Paragraph [0035]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired etching using the HF gas a rendered obvious by Tomura. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 2, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein the substrate comprises a silicon substrate (Yatsuda Paragraph [0044], Tomura Paragraph [0032]).
With regards to claim 3, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein the fluorine (F) containing gas is selected from the group consisting of hydrogen fluoride (HF) (Tomura Paragraph [0033]).
With regards to claim 5, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein the etch process is a multi-step etch process, and wherein etching the portion of the substrate further comprises initiating ion-impact dissociation of the etchant to remove the portion of the substrate. (Yatsuda Paragraphs [0044]-[0054], Tomura Paragraph [0034]).
With regards to claim 6, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein initiating the ion-impact dissociation comprises generating a plasma using an inert gas. (Yatsuda Paragraph [0052], ], Tomura Paragraph [0034]).
With regards to claim 7, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein the etch process is a multi-step etch process, and wherein etching the portion of the substrate further comprises forming a non-volatile reactive layer on the substrate based on the etchant and a native oxide formed on the substrate, and initiating ion-impact desorption of the non-volatile reactive layer to remove the portion of the substrate (Yatsuda Figure 4Paragraphs [[047]-[0057] discloses a multistep etching process comprising forming a non-volatile reactive layer 205 over substrate 201 with oxide layer 203 and using a noble gas of argon for removing the non-volatile reaction layer form all or a portion of the substrate).
With regards to claims 8-9, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein initiating the ion-impact desorption further comprises generating a plasma using an inert gas; wherein the inert gas comprises argon. (Yatsuda Paragraph [0052])
With regards to claim 10, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein the etchant is formed using physisorption. (Yatsuda Paragraph [0051]).
With regards to claim 11, Yatsuda discloses a method comprising: forming, on a substrate at a temperature of less than or equal to about zero degrees Celsius (Paragraph [0050] cryogenic temperature) via physisorption (Paragraph [0051]), an adsorbed layer comprising molecules of an etchant gas; and initiating ion-impact dissociation of the adsorbed layer to remove the portion of the substrate. (Figure 4Paragraphs [0044]-[0057] discloses a multistep etching process comprising forming a non-volatile reactive layer 205 over substrate 201 with oxide layer 203 and using a noble gas of argon for removing the non-volatile reaction layer form all or a portion of the substrate).
However Yatsuda is silent as to wherein the etchant gas comprises molecular is fluorine (F) in containing gas that is selected to mitigate byproduct formation.
Tomura discloses providing a substrate with a silicon containing layer wherein the substrate surface is controlled to a temperature of 0C or lower; a HF vapor is adsorbed onto the surface and etch wherein etchant gas comprises HF such that is either eliminates or reduces the use of any deposition gases such a fluorocarbon gases (Paragraphs [0031]-[0036] Figure 2A). As such Yatsuda as modified by Tomura renders obvious wherein the etchant gas comprises molecular is fluorine (F) in containing gas that is selected to mitigate byproduct formation.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Yatsuda to include the fluorine containing gas as rendered obvious by Tomura because the reference of Tomura teaches that the use of HF eliminates or reduces the sue of any deposition gas such as a fluorocarbon gas thus reducing possible clogging (Paragraph [0035]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired etching using the HF gas a rendered obvious by Tomura. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 12, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein the substrate comprises a silicon substrate (Yatsuda Paragraph [0044], Tomura Paragraph [0032]).
With regards to claims 14-15, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein initiating the ion-impact desorption further comprises generating a plasma using an inert gas; wherein the inert gas comprises argon. (Yatsuda Paragraph [0052])
With regards to claim 16, Yatsuda discloses a method comprising: forming, on a substrate at a temperature of less than or equal to about zero degrees Celsius (Paragraph [0050] cryogenic temperature) via physisorption of molecules of an etchant gas (Paragraph [0051]), a non-volatile reactive layer (205) based on a native oxide formed on the substrate (SiO2) and initiating ion impact desorption of the non-volatile reactive layer to remove the portion of the substrate. (Figure 4Paragraphs [0044]-[0057] discloses a multistep etching process comprising forming a non-volatile reactive layer 205 over substrate 201 with oxide layer 203 and using a noble gas of argon for removing the non-volatile reaction layer form all or a portion of the substrate).
However Yatsuda is silent as to wherein the etchant gas comprises molecular is fluorine (F) in containing gas that is selected to mitigate byproduct formation.
Tomura discloses providing a substrate with a silicon containing layer wherein the substrate surface is controlled to a temperature of 0C or lower; a HF vapor is adsorbed onto the surface and etch wherein etchant gas comprises HF such that is either eliminates or reduces the use of any deposition gases such a fluorocarbon gases (Paragraphs [0031]-[0036] Figure 2A). As such Yatsuda as modified by Tomura renders obvious wherein the etchant gas comprises molecular is fluorine (F) in containing gas that is selected to mitigate byproduct formation.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Yatsuda to include the fluorine containing gas as rendered obvious by Tomura because the reference of Tomura teaches that the use of HF eliminates or reduces the sue of any deposition gas such as a fluorocarbon gas thus reducing possible clogging (Paragraph [0035]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired etching using the HF gas a rendered obvious by Tomura. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 17, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein the substrate comprises a silicon substrate (Yatsuda Paragraph [0044], Tomura Paragraph [0032]).
With regards to claims 19-20, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein initiating the ion-impact desorption further comprises generating a plasma using an inert gas; wherein the inert gas comprises argon. (Yatsuda Paragraph [0052])
With regards to claim 21, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein the etch process is an inductively coupled plasma (ICP)-based etch process. (Tomura Paragraph [0050]).
With regards to claim 22, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious wherein the ion-impact dissociation of the adsorbed layer uses inductively coupled plasma (ICP) generation. (Tomura Paragraph [0050] discloses processing methods used in a CCP plasma processing apparatus may be performed in an inductively couples plasma processing apparatus).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YATSUDA et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0381264) in view of TOMURA et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0165578), as applied to claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-17 and 19-22, in further view of ZHANG et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0199418).
With regards to claim 4, the modified teachings of Yatsuda renders obvious the limitations of claim 1 as previously discussed.
However the modified teachings of Yatsuda do not explicitly disclose wherein the etch process is a single-step etch process, and wherein the etchant spontaneously etches material of the substrate at the temperature.
Zhang discloses a method of etching with halogen containing gas which is deposited on the surface at a temperature below 0 and the deposited layer is removed with a noble gas wherein the process may be performed in two steps or in a continuous plasma processing using a single step (Paragraphs [0036]-[0037], [0047]-[0048], [0057]-[0058]). As such Yatsuda as modified by Tomura and Zhang renders obvious wherein the etch process is a single-step etch process, and wherein the etchant spontaneously etches material of the substrate at the temperature.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the modified method of Yatsuda to include the single step process as rendered obvious Zhang because one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired etching using single step process as rendered obvious by Zhang. MPEP 2143D
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-9 of Applicant’s response, filed January 21, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12, 14-17 and 19-20 under 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. In particular, Applicant’s amendment to the claims has overcome the rejection of record. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of TOMURA et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0165578).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHANIE P DUCLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713