DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 10-16 in the reply filed on July 22, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 9 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 22, 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
Method for forming semiconductor stacked structures on a substrate by regulating a temperature profile across an upper surface during each step of a sequential deposition process
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the step of depositing “a semiconductor stacked structure” in l. 11. It is unclear whether this is the same as or different from the “semiconductor structure” recited in l. 1 of the claim. It is assumed that applicants intended to recite, for example, “the semiconductor claims 2-8 are similarly rejected due to their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2023/0017768 to Wang, et al. (hereinafter “Wang”) in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2021/0020429 to Khazaka, et al. (“Khazaka”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method for forming a semiconductor structure (see the Abstract, Figs. 1-3, and entire reference which teach a system and method for forming a semiconductor structure (124) on a substrate (110)), the method comprising:
seating a substrate within a chamber body (see Fig. 1A and ¶¶[0011]-[0013] which teach providing a wafer (110) on a susceptor (106) within a growth chamber (100));
regulating a temperature profile across an upper surface of the substrate during each individual process step of a sequential deposition process by employing a feedback control procedure (see Figs. 1A-C and ¶¶[0014]-[0034] which teach that a temperature profile across an upper surface of the substrate (110) is controlled by means of a plurality of frontside (8) and backside (6) pyrometers which are coupled to a CPU (516) which, in turn, controls the heat output to upper (112a) and lower (112b) heating sources based on the measured temperature) comprising;
acquiring at least two independent sets of optical temperature measurements from at least two separate areas on the upper surface of the substrate (see Figs. 1A-C and ¶¶[0015]-[0023] which teach that frontside pyrometers (8a), (8b), (8c), and (8d) are used to acquire at least wo temperature measurements from heating zones (1), (2), (3), and (4), respectively, on an upper surface of the wafer (110) and/or film (124)); and
throttling heating of the substrate according to a temperature differential or a temperature gradient across the upper surface of the substrate as determined by the at least two independent sets of optical temperature measurements (see Figs. 1A-C and ¶¶[0021]-[0031] which teach that the power output to upper (112a) and lower (112b) heat sources within each of zones (1)-(4) is increased or decreased (i.e., throttled) based on whether the temperature measurements obtained by frontside pyrometers (8a)-(8d) is lower or higher than a predetermined set point in order facilitate deposition of a more uniform thin film); and
depositing a semiconductor stacked structure on the substrate by performing a deposition process (see Fig. 1A and ¶[0014] which teach that a mixture of precursors (130) comprised of gases are supplied to the growth chamber (110) to perform a deposition process), wherein the deposition process comprises at least process steps of:
introducing a first precursor gas into the chamber body to epitaxially deposit a first layer comprising silicon and germanium on the substrate (see Fig. 1A and ¶[0014] which teach that the mixture of precursors (130) may be comprised of gases that form an epitaxial SiGe layers on the substrate (110)).
Wang does not teach the method of forming the semiconductor stacked structure on the substrate as claimed. However, Khazaka teaches a method of depositing a semiconductor stacked structure on a substrate by performing two or more sequences of a sequential deposition process (see Figs. 1-4 and ¶¶[0033]-[0053] which teach a method of depositing a SiGe/Si stacked structure onto a substrate by performing steps (206), (204), and (208), a plurality of times in step (210)) that comprises at least the process steps of:
introducing a first precursor gas into the chamber body to epitaxially deposit a first layer comprising silicon and germanium on the substrate (see Figs. 1-4 and ¶¶[0033]-[0053] which teach the introduction of Si- and Ge-containing precursor gases to deposit a first layer comprised of SiGe in step (206));
subsequently introducing a transition gas into the chamber body to passivate an exposed surface of the first layer (see Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0033]-[0053] which teach introducing a transition gas such as HCl to passivate an exposed surface of the SiGe layer in step (204)); and
subsequently introducing a second precursor gas into the chamber body to epitaxially deposit a second layer comprising silicon over the first layer (see Figs. 1-4 and ¶¶[0033]-[0053] which teach introducing a Si-containing gas to epitaxially deposit a second layer comprising Si over the first layer in step (208)).
Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would recognize that the method of measuring and controlling the substrate temperature as taught by Wang may be used to form the SiGe/Si stacked structure of Khazaka with the motivation for doing so being to minimize temperature nonuniformities across the surface of the substrate and to promote the growth of epitaxial layers with a more uniform film thickness profile across the entire width of the wafer.
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches that throttling the heating of the substrate further comprising, regulating power supplied to a upper heater element array disposed above the chamber body based on the at least two independent sets of optical temperature measurements (see Figs. 1A-C and ¶¶[0021]-[0031] which teach that the power output to upper (112a) and lower (112b) heat sources within each of zones (1)-(4) is decreased (i.e., throttled) when the temperature measurements obtained by one or more of the frontside pyrometers (8a)-(8d) is higher than a predetermined set point in order facilitate deposition of a more uniform thin film).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches that the first pyrometer is arranged along a first optical axis and the second pyrometer is arranged along a second optical axis, the second optical axis being radially outward of the first optical axis (see Figs. 1A-C and ¶¶[0021]-[0031] which teach that the first pyrometer (8a) obtains temperature data along a first optical axis within zone (1) while the second pyrometer (8b) obtains temperature data from a second optical axis within zone (2) which is radially outward from zone (1)).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches that the first layer comprises a silicon germanium (Si1-xGex) layer, wherein the germanium content (x) is greater than zero (see ¶[0014] which teach that the mixture of precursors (130) may be comprised of gases that form an epitaxial SiGe layer), but does not teach that the germanium content (x) is less than 0.5. However, in at least ¶[0027] Khazaka teaches that the Si1-xGex layer may have a composition in which x is greater than zero, but less than one. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to utilize a Ge content (x) of up to 0.5 in order to, for example, obtain the desired lattice parameter and bandgap in the Si1-xGex layer and/or to produce the desired amount of strain in the overlying Si layer that is necessary for a particular electronic device.
Wang and Khazaka do not teach that the germanium content (x) non-uniformity is less than 0.2%. However, in at least ¶[0039] Wang teaches that the disclosed method results in improved temperature and thickness uniformity across the grown film (124), both of which would also contribute to an improvement in compositional uniformity. Moreover, since the combination of Wang and Khazaka performs each and every step of the claimed process it must necessarily produce the same result, namely a Ge content non-uniformity of less than 0.2% as claimed. It is axiomatic that one who performs the steps of the known process must necessarily produce all of its advantages. Mere recitation of a newly discovered function or property, that is inherently possessed by things in the prior art does not cause a claim drawn to these things to distinguish over the prior art. Therefore, a Ge content non-uniformity of less than 0.2%, if not clearly envisaged, would be reasonably expected by the skilled artisan. See Leinoff v. Louis Milona & Sons, Inc. 220 USPQ 845 (CAFC 1984).
Regarding claim 6, Wang does not teach that introducing a transition gas into the chamber body further comprises, stopping flow of any germanium containing gas into the chamber body, and subsequently introducing the transition gas into the chamber body, wherein the transition gas comprises a silicon containing gas, and at least one of a silicon halide containing gas, and hydrochloric acid (HCl) vapor. However, in Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0036]-[0044] Khazaka teaches that after deposition of the initial SiGe layer in step (206), flow of the Ge precursor is stopped and dichlorosilane (DCS) and HCl are introduced into the reaction chamber to form the transition layer. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to utilize DCS and HCl during formation of the transition layer between SiGe and Si in order to effectively suppress the formation of an interface layer therebetween and promote the formation of a more abrupt interface between the SiGe and Si layers.
Regarding claim 7, Wang does not teach that introducing the transition gas into the chamber body further comprises, depositing a silicon capping layer directly on the first layer. However, as noted supra with respect to the rejection of claim 6, in Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0036]-[0044] Khazaka teaches that after deposition of the initial SiGe layer in step (206), flow of the Ge precursor is stopped and dichlorosilane (DCS) and HCl are introduced into the reaction chamber to form the transition layer which is equated with the Si capping layer as claimed. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to utilize DCS and HCl in order to deposit a Si capping layer between the SiGe and Si layers in order to, for example, inhibit the segregation of Ge from the SiGe layer and promote the formation of a more abrupt interface between the SiGe and Si layers.
Regarding claim 8, Wang does not teach that an interface layer is disposed between the first layer and the second layer, the interface layer having an average thickness of less than 10 Angstroms. However, in at least Figs. 1 & 3, ¶[0014], and ¶[0036] Khazaka teaches that the transition layer is formed between the SiGe and Si layers and may have a thickness of less than 0.2 nm (i.e., 2 Å). Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to produce an interface layer between the SiGe and Si layers which has a thickness of less than 10 Å in order to, for example, inhibit the segregation of Ge from the SiGe layer and promote the formation of a more abrupt interface between the SiGe and Si layers.
Claims 3 and 10-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Khazaka and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2019/0127851 to Lau, et al. (“Lau”).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches that the at least two independent sets of optical temperature measurements comprise a first set of optical temperature measurements (T1) acquired from a first acquisition area of the upper surface of the substrate by a first pyrometer supported above the upper heater element array, and a second set of optical temperature measurements (T2) acquired from a second acquisition area of the upper surface of the substrate by a second pyrometer supported above the upper heater element array, wherein the first acquisition area and the second acquisition area are separated from one another (see Figs. 1A-C and ¶¶[0021]-[0031] which teach that the first pyrometer (8a) obtains temperature data from zone (1) while the second pyrometer (8b) obtains temperature data from zone (2) which is separate from zone (1); moreover, at least a portion of the pyrometers (8a)-(8d) in Fig. 1 of Wang are located above the upper heating source (112a) and, hence, may be broadly considered as being supported above the upper heater element array).
Even if it is assumed arguendo that Wang and Khazaka do not teach that the first and second pyrometers are supported above the upper heater element array this would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Lau. In Figs. 2-3 and ¶¶[0027]-[0033] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Lau teaches an analogous embodiment of a method for depositing an epitaxial layer utilizing a process chamber (200) which includes a plurality of pyrometers (253) and heating lamps (204) disposed above the substrate (202). As shown specifically in Fig. 2, the pyrometers (253) are positioned within a reflector (254) and are located above the heating lamps (204). Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Lau and would be motivated to provide the pyrometers in the method of Wang above the heating lamps in order to, for example, minimize the occurrence of false temperature readings arising from the radiation emitting from the lamps.
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches a method for forming a semiconductor stacked structure on a surface of a substrate (see the Abstract, Figs. 1-3, and entire reference which teach a system and method for forming a semiconductor structure (124) on a substrate (110)), the method comprising:
seating a substrate on a substrate support disposed in a chamber body, the chamber body having an upper wall and a lower wall (see Fig. 1A and ¶¶[0011]-[0013] which teach providing a wafer (110) on a susceptor (106) within a growth chamber (100) having upper and lower walls);
heating the substrate to a deposition temperature employing an upper heater element array supported above the upper wall of the chamber body and a lower heater element array supported below the lower wall of the chamber body (see Figs. 1A-D and ¶¶[0015]-[0021] which teach that the substrate (110) is heated to a deposition temperature using upper (112a) and lower (112b) heating sources which are located above the upper wall and below the lower wall of the growth chamber (100), respectively);
providing a controller in communication with at least the upper heater element array (see Fig. 1A and ¶[0021] which teach that a CPU (516) is in communication with the upper heating sources (112a)),
wherein the controller throttles power to at least the upper heater element array according to a set of optical temperature measurements communicated to the controller from at least a first pyrometer and a second pyrometer (see Figs. 1A-C and ¶¶[0021]-[0031] which teach that the power output to upper (112a) and lower (112b) heat sources within each of zones (1)-(4) is increased or decreased (i.e., throttled) based on whether the temperature measurements obtained by frontside pyrometers (8a)-(8d) is lower or higher than a predetermined set point in order facilitate deposition of a more uniform thin film);
the first pyrometer and the second pyrometer being supported above the upper heater element array and being optically coupled to the substrate surface over at least a first acquisition area and a second acquisition area, wherein the second acquisition area is radially distal from the first acquisition area (see Figs. 1A-C and ¶¶[0021]-[0031] which teach that at least a portion of the pyrometers (8a)-(8d) are located above the upper heating source (112a) and, hence, may be broadly considered as being supported above the upper heater element array; moreover, first pyrometer (8a) obtains temperature data from zone (1) while the second pyrometer (8b) obtains temperature data from zone (2) which is radially distal from zone (1)); and
depositing a semiconductor stacked structure on the substrate by a deposition process (see Fig. 1A and ¶[0014] which teach that a mixture of precursors (130) comprised of gases are supplied to the growth chamber (110) to perform a deposition process).
Wang does not teach the steps of depositing two or more silicon germanium (Si1-xGex) / silicon (Si) bilayers as claimed. However, Khazaka teaches a method of depositing two or more silicon germanium (Si1-xGex) / silicon (Si) bilayers on the substrate by a sequential deposition process (see Figs. 1-4 and ¶¶[0033]-[0053] which teach a method of depositing a SiGe/Si stacked structure onto a substrate by performing steps (206), (204), and (208), a plurality of times in step (210)), wherein a unit sequence of the sequential deposition process comprises at least process steps of:
epitaxially deposit a silicon germanium (Si1-xGex) layer over the substrate (see Figs. 1-4 and ¶¶[0033]-[0053] which teach the introduction of Si- and Ge-containing precursor gases to deposit a first layer comprised of SiGe in step (206));
introducing a transition gas comprising a chlorine containing gas into the chamber body for set time period (see Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0033]-[0053] which teach introducing a transition gas such as HCl to passivate an exposed surface of the SiGe layer in step (204));
epitaxially depositing a silicon (Si) layer over the silicon germanium (Si1-xGeX) layer (see Figs. 1-4 and ¶¶[0033]-[0053] which teach introducing a Si-containing gas to epitaxially deposit a second layer comprising Si over the first layer in step (208)); and
forming an interface layer disposed between the silicon germanium (Si1-xGex) layer and the silicon (Si) layer, wherein the interface layer has an average thickness of less than 10 Angstroms (see Figs. 1 & 3, ¶[0014], and ¶[0036] which teach that the transition layer is formed between the SiGe and Si layers and may have a thickness of less than 0.2 nm (i.e., 2 Å).
Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would recognize that the method of measuring and controlling the substrate temperature as taught by Wang may be used to form the SiGe/Si stacked structure of Khazaka with the motivation for doing so being to minimize temperature nonuniformities across the surface of the substrate and to promote the growth of epitaxial layers with a more uniform film thickness profile across the entire width of the wafer.
Even if it is assumed arguendo that Wang and Khazaka do not teach that the first and second pyrometers are supported above the upper heater element array this would have been obvious in view of the teachings of Lau. In Figs. 2-3 and ¶¶[0027]-[0033] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Lau teaches an analogous embodiment of a method for depositing an epitaxial layer utilizing a process chamber (200) which includes a plurality of pyrometers (253) and heating lamps (204) disposed above the substrate (202). As shown specifically in Fig. 2, the pyrometers (253) are positioned within a reflector (254) and are located above the heating lamps (204). Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would look to the teachings of Lau and would be motivated to provide the pyrometers in the method of Wang above the heating lamps in order to, for example, minimize the occurrence of false temperature readings arising from the radiation emitting from the lamps.
Regarding claim 11, Wng does not teach that introducing the transition gas further comprises, stopping flow of any germanium containing precursor into the chamber body prior to introducing the transition gas, the transition gas comprising, silane (SiH4), and at least one of dichlorosilane (DCS), and hydrochloric acid (HCl) vapor. However, in Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0036]-[0044] Khazaka teaches that after deposition of the initial SiGe layer in step (206), flow of the Ge precursor is stopped and a first and second silicon-containing gas are flowed into the reaction chamber together with a halogen which may be selected from, inter alia, silane, DCS, and HCl. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to utilize silane, DCS, and HCl during formation of the transition layer between SiGe and Si in order to effectively suppress the formation of an interface layer therebetween and promote the formation of a more abrupt interface between the SiGe and Si layers.
Regarding claim 12, Wang does not teach that introducing the transition gas further comprises, reducing the thickness of the interface layer with increasing flow time of the transition gas. However, in Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0033]-[0053] Khazaka teaches the use of a transition gas such as HCl to passivate an exposed surface of the SiGe layer in step (204). Since HCl is an etchant which etches the surface of Si and SiGe, the flow of HCl during step (204) necessarily reduces the total thickness of the transition layer that forms during the process of forming a SiGe/Si bilayer stack in the method of Khazaka.
Regarding claim 13, Wang does not teach that the transition gas is introduced into the chamber body for a time period of less than 100 seconds. However, in Figs. 1-3, ¶[0014], and ¶¶[0036]-[0041] Khazaka teaches that the transition layer may have a thickness ranging from 0.01 to 20 nm and that this is achieved using flow rates for the first and second Si-containing gases as well as the HCl gas that are from 0.01 to 10,000 sccm while a ratio of the HCl gas to the second Si-containing gas ranges from 0.01 to 100. Since the flow rates of the Si-containing and HCl gases and the ratio of each gas within the gas mixture determines the growth rate of the transition layer, the corresponding flow rates for each gas necessarily determines the deposition time required to produce a transition layer having a thickness from 0.01 to 20 nm. Accordingly, it would have been within the capabilities of a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention to utilize routine experimentation to determine the optimal flow rates of each of the first and second Si-containing gas and the HCl gas and, consequently, the optimal growth duration, including within the claimed range of less than 100 seconds, that is necessary to produce a transition layer with the desired materials properties, including a thickness of 0.01 to 20 nm. It is specifically noted that a Si flow rate of, for example, 10,000 sccm with a corresponding HCl flow rate of 0.01 sccm would necessarily require well below 100 seconds to form a transition layer with a thickness of just 0.01 nm (i.e., 0.1 Å) since the growth rate would be fairly high under these conditions.
Regarding claim 14, Wang does not teach that the interface layer further comprises a silicon capping (Si) layer deposited directly on the surface of the silicon germanium (Si1-xGeX) layer, wherein the silicon (Si) capping layer prevents segregation of germanium (Ge) from the silicon germanium (Si1-xGeX) layer into an adjacent silicon (Si) layer. However, as noted supra with respect to the rejection of claim 10, in Figs. 1-3 and ¶¶[0036]-[0044] Khazaka teaches that after deposition of the initial SiGe layer in step (206), flow of the Ge precursor is stopped and dichlorosilane (DCS) and HCl are introduced into the reaction chamber to form the transition layer which is equated with the Si capping layer as claimed. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to utilize DCS and HCl in order to deposit a Si capping layer between the SiGe and Si layers in order to, for example, inhibit the segregation of Ge from the SiGe layer and promote the formation of a more abrupt interface between the SiGe and Si layers.
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches that the upper wall of the chamber body extends longitudinally between an injection end and a longitudinally opposite exhaust end, and the lower wall is below and parallel relative to the upper wall (see Fig. 1A and at least ¶[0014] which teach that the upper and lower walls of the chamber (100) extend longitudinally between a gas inlet (126) and an opposing gas outlet (128)).
Regarding claim 16, Wang and Khazaka do not teach that the chamber body comprises an arcuate, or dome-like shape. However, in Figs. 2-3 and ¶¶[0027]-[0033] as well as elsewhere throughout the entire reference Lau teaches an analogous embodiment of a method for depositing an epitaxial layer utilizing a process chamber (200) which includes a plurality of pyrometers (253) and heating lamps (204) disposed above the substrate (202). As shown specifically in Figs. 2-3 and ¶[0028] the susceptor (206) is provided within the chamber (200) between first (208) and second (210) energy transmissive members which are made of optically transparent quartz and define an internal region (211) of the process chamber (200). The plurality of heating lamps (204) and pyrometers (253) are suspended within a reflector (254) located above the first transmissive member (208). The reflector (254) functions to reflect and redirect energy back to the substrate (202) to facilitated more efficient heating. Thus, a PHOSITA prior to the effective filing date of the invention would provide the body of the chamber (100) in the system and method of Wang with a dome-like shape that is fabricated from an optically transparent material such as quartz while the pyrometers (8a)-(8d) and upper heating sources (112a) are supported above the quartz dome by a reflector with the motivation for doing so being to minimize the internal chamber volume such that process gases can be more efficiently utilized and evacuated while simultaneously increasing the heating efficiency of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Taiwan Patent Appl. Publ. No. TW 201327708 A to Moritz, et al. discloses an embodiment of a processing chamber containing a plurality of pyrometers which measure and control the temperature of the substrate at a plurality of locations.
/KENNETH A BRATLAND JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714