Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang; Shujin et al. (US 20220352006 A1) in view of Park; Byung Sun et al. (US 20190145001 A1). Huang teaches a substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) applicable for semiconductor manufacturing, comprising: a first outer surface (top of 100; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 201; Figure 3); a ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3) disposed inwardly of the first outer surface (top of 100; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 201; Figure 3) and recessed relative to the first outer surface (top of 100; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 201; Figure 3); a pocket defining a pocket surface (116; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 207; Figure 3) that is disposed inwardly of the ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3) and recessed relative to the ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3); a plurality of first flow openings (122; Figure 3,10A,10B-Applicant’s 211; Figure 3) extending into the pocket surface (116; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 207; Figure 3); a plurality of second flow openings (162; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 212; Figure 3) extending into the ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3) – claim 1
Huang further teaches:
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 7, wherein the first flow openings (122; Figure 3,10A,10B-Applicant’s 211; Figure 3) are disposed along a plurality of rows (Figure 10B), as claimed by claim 8
Huang does not teach:
a plurality of third flow openings (Applicant’s 213; Figure 3) extending into the first outer surface (top of 100; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 201; Figure 3) – claim 1
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 3, wherein the plurality of second flow openings (162; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 212; Figure 3) are oriented at an oblique angle relative to a plane of a lower end of the pocket, as claimed by claim 4
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 4, wherein the oblique angle is 20º or higher, as claimed by claim 5
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 5, wherein the oblique angle is within a range of 50º to 60º, as claimed by claim 6
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 1, wherein the second flow openings (162; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 212; Figure 3) and the third flow openings (Applicant’s 213; Figure 3) are respectively disposed along a circular row, as claimed by claim 7
Park also teaches a substrate support (44,30; Figure 1, 5A) including flow openings (40a,c,d; Figure 5A-C-Applicant’s 213; Figure 3) extending into the first outer surface (top of 44; Figure 5A-Applicant’s 201; Figure 3) orientated at an oblique angle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Huang to add third flow openings as taught by Park at optimized angles.
Motivation for Huang to add third flow openings as taught by Park at optimized angles is for at least reducing “bowing, warpage” as taught by Park ([0064]). Further, it is well established that changes in apparatus dimensions are within the level of ordinary skill in the art.(Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc. , 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied , 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Rose , 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.04)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang; Shujin et al. (US 20220352006 A1) and Park; Byung Sun et al. (US 20190145001 A1) in view of Huang; Shujin et al. (US 20230128390 A1). Huang and Park are discussed above. Huang (US 20220352006 A1) and Park do not teach the substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 1, wherein the ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3) is oriented at an angle relative to a plane of a lower end of the ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3), and the angle is within a range of 0º to 5º, as claimed by claim 3
Huang (US 20230128390 A1) also teaches a substrate support (100; Figure 6) including a ledge (134; Figure 6,7-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3) is oriented at an angle (120; Figure 7; [0051] -0.2º< ledge angle<-4º) relative to a plane of a lower end of the ledge (134; Figure 6,7-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3), and the angle is within a range of 0º to 5º.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Huang (US 20220352006 A1) to optimize Huang’s (US 20220352006 A1) ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3) angle as taught by Huang (US 20230128390 A1).
Motivation for Huang (US 20220352006 A1) to optimize Huang’s (US 20220352006 A1) ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3) angle as taught by Huang (US 20230128390 A1) is for “limiting transfer (diffusion) of the film precursor” as taught by Huang (US 20230128390 A1; [0051]).
Claims 2, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang; Shujin et al. (US 20220352006 A1) and Park; Byung Sun et al. (US 20190145001 A1) in view of Metzner; Craig et al. (US 20070089836 A1). Huang and Park are discussed above. Huang further teaches:
A substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) applicable for semiconductor manufacturing, comprising:a first outer surface (top of 100; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 201; Figure 3); a pocket defining a pocket surface (116; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 207; Figure 3) that is disposed inwardly of the first outer surface (top of 100; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 201; Figure 3) and recessed relative to the first outer surface (top of 100; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 201; Figure 3) – claim 9
A processing chamber (16; Figure 1) applicable for semiconductor manufacturing, comprising:one or more sidewalls; a window (36; Figure 1) at least partially defining a processing volume; one or more heat sources (46; Figure 1) operable to heat the processing volume; and a substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) disposed in the processing volume, the substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) comprising: a first outer surface (top of 100; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 201; Figure 3), a ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3) disposed inwardly of the first outer surface (top of 100; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 201; Figure 3) and recessed relative to the first outer surface (top of 100; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 201; Figure 3), a pocket defining a pocket surface (116; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 207; Figure 3) that is disposed inwardly of the ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3) and recessed relative to the ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3), a plurality of second flow openings (162; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 212; Figure 3) extending into the ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3) – claim 19
Huang does not teach:
a plurality of third flow openings (Applicant’s 213; Figure 3) extending into the first outer surface (top of 100; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 201; Figure 3) – claim 19
Huang and Park do not teach:
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of lift pin openings (Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4) extending into the pocket surface (116; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 207; Figure 3), as claimed by claim 2
one or more lift pin openings (Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4), at least one of the one or more lift pin openings (Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4) comprising: an opening section having a diameter, a ledge (Applicant’s 233; Figure 3; [0048]) recessed relative to the pocket surface (116; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 207; Figure 3) by a first distance and extending by a second distance, a sum of the first distance and the second distance lesser than the diameter, and a hole section extending relative to the ledge (118; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3) – claim 9
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 9, wherein the sum is a ratio of the diameter, and the ratio is within a range of 0.45 to 0.65, as claimed by claim 10
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 9, wherein the sum is within a range of 2.7 mm to 3.2 mm, as claimed by claim 11
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 9, wherein the diameter is within a range of 5.3 mm to 5.8 mm, as claimed by claim 12
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 9, wherein the at least one of the one or more lift pin openings (Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4) comprises an arcuate surface along an inner edge thereof, as claimed by claim 13
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 13, wherein the arcuate surface has a radius, the radius is a ratio of the diameter, and the ratio is 0.1 or less, as claimed by claim 14
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 9, further comprising a lift pin sized and shaped for disposition in the at least one of the one or more lift pin openings (Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4), as claimed by claim 15
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 15, wherein a head of the lift pin has a second diameter that is a ratio of the diameter, and the ratio is 0.70 or less, as claimed by claim 16
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 15, wherein a head of the lift pin has a second diameter, the diameter is a ratio of the second diameter, and the ratio is within a range of 1.45 to 1.95, as claimed by claim 17
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 15, wherein a head of the lift pin has a second diameter, the sum is a ratio of the second diameter, and the ratio is within a range of 0.85 to 0.95, as claimed by claim 18
and one or more lift pin openings (Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4), at least one of the one or more lift pin openings (Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4) comprising: an opening section having a diameter, a ledge (Applicant’s 233; Figure 3) recessed relative to the pocket surface (116; Figure 10A-Applicant’s 207; Figure 3) by a first distance and extending by a second distance, a sum of the first distance and the second distance lesser than the diameter – claim 19
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 19, further comprising a lift pin sized and shaped for disposition in the at least one of the one or more lift pin openings (Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4), wherein the lift pin has a second diameter, at least one of the one or more lift pin openings (Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4) comprises an arcuate surface along an inner edge thereof, the arcuate surface has a radius, the radius is a ratio of the second diameter, and the ratio is within a range of 0.065 to 0.085, as claimed by claim 20
Metzner also teaches a similar substrate support (124; Figure 1,2) also including a pocket defining a pocket surface (202; Figure 2-Applicant’s 207; Figure 3) that is disposed inwardly of a ledge (204; Figure 2-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3) and recessed relative to the ledge (204; Figure 2-Applicant’s 203; Figure 3). Metzner further teaches a plurality of lift pin openings (206,208; Figure 2-Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4) extending into the pocket surface (202; Figure 2-Applicant’s 207; Figure 3).
Metzner further teaches:
one or more lift pin openings (206,208; Figure 2-Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4), at least one of the one or more lift pin openings (206,208; Figure 2-Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4) comprising: an opening section (208; Figure 2) having a diameter, a ledge (208; Figure 2-Applicant’s 233; Figure 3; [0048]) recessed relative to the pocket surface (202; Figure 2-Applicant’s 207; Figure 3) by a first distance and extending by a second distance, and a hole section (206; Figure 2) extending relative to the ledge (208; Figure 2-Applicant’s 233; Figure 3; [0048]) – claim 9, 19
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 9, wherein the at least one of the one or more lift pin openings (206, 208; Figure 2-Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4) comprises an arcuate surface (208; Figure 2) along an inner edge thereof, as claimed by claim 13
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 9, further comprising a lift pin (214; Figure 2) sized and shaped for disposition in the at least one of the one or more lift pin openings (206,208; Figure 2-Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4), as claimed by claim 15
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 19, further comprising a lift pin (132; Figure 2) sized and shaped for disposition in the at least one of the one or more lift pin openings (233; Figure 2-Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4), wherein the lift pin has a second diameter, at least one of the one or more lift pin openings (233; Figure 2-Applicant’s 215; Figure 2,4) comprises an arcuate surface along an inner edge thereof, the arcuate surface has a radius, the radius is a ratio of the second diameter – claim 20
Metzner does not teach:
a sum of the first distance and the second distance lesser than the diameter – claim 9, 19
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 9, wherein the sum is a ratio of the diameter, and the ratio is within a range of 0.45 to 0.65, as claimed by claim 10
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 9, wherein the sum is within a range of 2.7 mm to 3.2 mm, as claimed by claim 11
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 9, wherein the diameter is within a range of 5.3 mm to 5.8 mm, as claimed by claim 12
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 13, wherein the arcuate surface (208; Figure 2) has a radius, the radius is a ratio of the diameter, and the ratio is 0.1 or less, as claimed by claim 14
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 15, wherein a head of the lift pin has a second diameter that is a ratio of the diameter, and the ratio is 0.70 or less, as claimed by claim 16
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 15, wherein a head of the lift pin has a second diameter, the diameter is a ratio of the second diameter, and the ratio is within a range of 1.45 to 1.95, as claimed by claim 17
The substrate support (100; Figure 1,3,10-Applicant’s 106; Figure 1; 200; Figure 2,3) of claim 15, wherein a head of the lift pin has a second diameter, the sum is a ratio of the second diameter, and the ratio is within a range of 0.85 to 0.95, as claimed by claim 18
and the ratio is within a range of 0.065 to 0.085 - claim 20
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Huang to add Metzner’s lift pin to Huang’s apparatus at optimized dimensions.
Motivation for Huang to add Metzner’s lift pin to Huang’s apparatus at optimized dimensions is for loading/unloading substrates as taught by Metzner ([0026]). Motivation for Huang to add Metzner’s lift pin at optimized dimensions is for loading/unloading substrates of variable diameters. It is well established that changes in apparatus dimensions are within the level of ordinary skill in the art.(Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc. , 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied , 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Rose , 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); See MPEP 2144.04)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Substrate support structures with under substrate gas injection include US 20030168174 A1; US 20060222481 A1; US 7601224 B2; US 20230128390 A1; US 12394659 B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716