Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A1) as being anticipated by Chu(US10847643B2).
With respect to Claim 19, Chu teaches in Fig 4, a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate having an enhancement mode device region and a depletion mode device region (Fig 4 with Annotations; Region 1 and Region 2);
a III-V compound semiconductor layer disposed on the enhancement mode device region and the depletion mode device region (Fig 4 with Annotations; 102; Column 3 Line 24-31);
a III-V compound barrier layer disposed on the III-V compound semiconductor layer (Fig 4 with Annotations; 104; Column 7 Line 37-48), wherein the III-V compound barrier layer is located above the enhancement mode device region and the depletion mode device region (Fig 4 with Annotations; 104; Column 7 Line 37-48); and
a patterned p-type doped III-V compound layer disposed on the III-V compound barrier layer and located above the enhancement mode device region (Fig 4 with Annotations; 106a; Column 3 Line 22-24), wherein a thickness of the III-V compound barrier layer located above the enhancement mode device region is substantially equal to a thickness of the III-V compound barrier layer located above the depletion mode device region (Fig 4 with Annotations; 104; Column 7 Line 37-48).
PNG
image1.png
100
100
image1.png
Greyscale
With respect to Claim 20, Chu teaches in Fig 5, The semiconductor device according to Claim 19,
wherein a distance between a top surface of the III-V compound barrier layer located above the enhancement mode device region (Fig 4; 104; Column 7 Line 37-48) and a top surface of the III-V compound barrier layer located above the depletion mode device region in a vertical direction is less than 3 nanometers (Fig 4; 104; Column 7 Line 37-48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-11, 13, 14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu(US10847643B2) and Daken Chemical(Negative Photoresist a Comprehensive Guide to Understanding).
With respect to Claim 1, Chu teaches in Fig 1A, a manufacturing method of a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a substrate having a first device region and a second device region (Fig 1A with Annotations; 100; Region1 and Region 2; Column 3 and Line 22-24);
forming a III-V compound semiconductor layer on the first device region and the second device region (Fig 1A with Annotations; 102; Column and 3 Line 22-31);
forming a III-V compound barrier layer on the III-V compound semiconductor layer (Fig 1A with Annotations; 104; Column 3 Line 45-55) wherein the III-V compound barrier layer is located above the first device region and the second device region (Fig 1A with Annotations; 104; Region 1 and Region 2);
forming a lamination structure on the III-V compound barrier layer, wherein a first portion of the lamination structure is located above the first device region, a second portion of the lamination structure is located above the second device region, and the lamination structure comprises:
a p-type doped III-V compound layer located in the first portion and the second portion of the lamination structure (Fig 1A with Annotations; 106; Column 3 and Line 56-58);
PNG
image3.png
100
100
image3.png
Greyscale
Chu does not teach a first mask layer disposed on the p-type doped III-V compound layer, wherein the first mask layer is located in the first portion and the second portion of the lamination structure; and
performing a patterning process to the lamination structure, wherein the first portion of the lamination structure is patterned by the patterning process, the second portion of the lamination structure is removed by the patterning process, and a thickness of the second portion of the lamination structure is greater than a thickness of the first portion of the lamination structure before the patterning process.
Daken Chemical teaches in Figure a first mask layer disposed on the p-type doped III-V compound layer (Fig with Annotations-Daken; resist layer), wherein the first mask layer (Figure with Annotations-Daken; resist layer) is located in the first portion and the second portion of the lamination structure (Figure with Annotations-Daken; SiO2 layer; ¶ [03]; negative photoresist); and
performing a patterning process (Figure with Annotations-Daken; What is Negative Photoresist and How Does it Work ¶ [03]; exposure to light ) to the lamination structure, wherein the first portion of the lamination structure is patterned by the patterning process (Figure with Annotations-Daken; Region 1; Etching & Stripping), the second portion of the lamination structure is removed by the patterning process (Figure with Annotations-Daken; Region 2; Etching & Stripping), and a thickness of the second portion (Figure with Annotations-Daken; Region 2; Top Image) of the lamination structure is greater than a thickness of the first portion (Figure with Annotations-Daken; Region 1; Top Image) of the lamination structure before the patterning process.
PNG
image5.png
100
100
image5.png
Greyscale
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to combine the invention of Chu, a semiconductor enhancement mode HEMT device and the invention of Daken Chemical Negative Photoresist Comprehensive Guide. This combination would produce a semiconductor metal thin film stack with a patterned surface using photolithography, radiation, photoresist and etching. The ability to precisely control patterns is one of the main advantages of using photolithography photoresist material Daken Chemical(Benefits of Using Negative Photoresist ¶ [08]).
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the thickness of the first portion and the second portion of the laminated material before the processing to be a result effective variable affecting the resulting thickness and patterning of the lamented material after the processing. Thus, it would have been obvious to keep the thicknesses of the layers within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
With respect to Claim 2, Chu and Daken Chemical teach the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 1.
Chu teaches in Fig 1C wherein the second portion of the lamination structure is completely removed (Fig 1C with Annotations; Region 2; 104; Column 6 Line 18-21) by the patterning process for exposing a top surface of the III-V compound barrier layer located above the second device region (Fig 1C with Annotations; Region 2; 104; Column 6 Line 18-21).
PNG
image7.png
100
100
image7.png
Greyscale
With respect to Claim 3, Chu and Daken Chemical teach the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 1.
Chu teaches in Fig 1A wherein a method of forming the lamination structure comprises:
forming a p-type doped III-V compound material on the III-V compound barrier layer (Fig 1A; 106; Column 6 Line 22-24) wherein the p-type doped III-V compound material is located above the first device region and the second device region (Fig 1A with Annotations-Chu; Region 1 and Region 2; 106; Column 6 Line 22-24); and
p-type doped III-V compound (Fig 1A; Column 3 Line 45-58)
PNG
image3.png
100
100
image3.png
Greyscale
Chu does not teach performing a first thinning process to the material located above the first device region, wherein a thickness of the material located above the first device region is less than a thickness of the material located above the second device region after the first thinning process, and the material remaining on the barrier layer after the first thinning process becomes the compound layer of the lamination structure.
Daken Chemical teaches in the Figure with Annotations performing a first thinning process (Figure with Annotations-Daken; Top Image; ¶ [03]) to the material located above the first device region (Figure with Annotations-Daken; Region 1) wherein a thickness of the material located above the first device region is less than (Figure with Annotations-Daken; Region 1; Etch and Strip; Positive Resist; SiO2 layer) a thickness of the material located above the second device region after the first thinning process (Figure with Annotations-Daken; Region 2; Etch and Strip; Positive Resist; SiO2 layer), and the material remaining on the barrier layer after the first thinning process becomes the layer of the lamination structure (Figure with Annotations-Daken; Region 2; Etch and Strip; Positive Resist; SiO2 layer).
PNG
image9.png
100
100
image9.png
Greyscale
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to combine the invention of Chu, a semiconductor enhancement mode HEMT device and the invention of Daken Chemical Negative Photoresist Comprehensive Guide. This combination would produce a semiconductor metal thin film stack with a patterned surface using photolithography, radiation, photoresist and etching. The ability to precisely control patterns is one of the main advantages of using photolithography photoresist material Daken Chemical(Benefits of Using Negative Photoresist ¶ [08]). The first thinning process precisely controls the pattern of the p-type doped III-V compound layer.
With respect to Claim 4, Chu and Daken Chemical The manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 3.
Chu does not teach wherein the method of forming the lamination structure further comprises:
forming the first mask layer on the p-type doped III-V compound layer after the first thinning process; and
forming a second mask layer on the first mask layer, wherein the second mask layer is located in the first portion and the second portion of the lamination structure, and a material composition of the second mask layer is different from a material composition of the first mask layer.
Daken Chemical teaches wherein the method of forming the lamination structure further comprises:
forming the first mask layer on the p-type doped III-V compound layer after the first thinning process (Fig; resist layer; ¶ [03]) and
forming a second mask layer (Figure; mask; ¶ [03]) on the first mask layer (see Figure; resist layer; ¶ [03]), wherein the second mask layer is located in the first portion and the second portion of the lamination structure (Figure with Annotations; Region 1 and Region 2), and a material composition of the second mask layer (Figure; Mask; Photomask ¶ [03]) is different from a material composition of the first mask layer (Figure; Resist; Photoresist ¶ [03]).
PNG
image9.png
100
100
image9.png
Greyscale
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to combine the invention of Chu, a semiconductor enhancement mode HEMT device and the invention of Daken Chemical Negative Photoresist Comprehensive Guide. This combination would produce a semiconductor metal thin film stack with a patterned surface using photolithography, radiation, photoresist and etching. The ability to precisely control patterns is one of the main advantages of using photolithography photoresist material Daken Chemical(Benefits of Using Negative Photoresist ¶ [08]). The first thinning process requires two masks of two different materials to pattern the first and second regions in a controlled matter.
With respect to Claim 5, Chu and Daken Chemical teach The manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 1.
Chu teaches in Fig 1A, Fig 4 and Fig 1D wherein a method of forming the lamination structure comprises:
forming a first p-type doped III-V compound material on the III-V compound barrier layer (Fig 1A; 106; Column 3 Line 22-24), wherein the first p-type doped III-V compound material is located above the first device region and the second device region (Fig 1A with Annotations; 106; Region 1 and Region 2);
removing the first p-type doped III-V compound material located above the first device region (Fig 4; 104 and 106a); and
forming a second p-type doped III-V compound material after the first p-type doped III-V compound material located above the first device region is removed (Fig 4 with Annotations; 110; Column 4 Line 37-41), wherein the second p-type doped III-V compound material is formed on the III-V compound barrier layer located above the first device region (Fig 4 with Annotations; 110; Column 4 Line 37-41) and formed on the first p-type doped III-V compound material located above the second device region (Fig 4 with Annotations; 110; Column 4 Line 37-41).
PNG
image3.png
100
100
image3.png
Greyscale
PNG
image11.png
100
100
image11.png
Greyscale
With respect to Claim 6, Chu and Daken Chemicals teach the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 5.
Chu teaches on Fig 4, wherein the p-type doped III-V compound layer located in the first portion of the lamination structure consists of the second p-type doped III-V compound material located above the first device region (Fig 4 with annotations; 110; Column 4 Line 37-41), and the p-type doped III-V compound layer located in the second portion of the lamination structure consists of the first p-type doped III-V compound material located above the second device region (Fig 4 with annotations; 106a; Column 4 Line 37-41) and the second p-type doped III-V compound material located above the second device region. (Fig 4 with annotations; 110; Column 4 Line 37-41)
PNG
image11.png
100
100
image11.png
Greyscale
With respect to Claim 7, Chu and Daken Chemical teach the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 5.
Chu teaches in Fig 1D wherein a material composition of the second p-type doped III-V compound material (Fig 1D; 110; Column 4 Line 37-57) is identical to a material composition of the first p-type doped III-V compound material (Fig 1D; 106; Column 3 Line 61-66).
With respect to Claim 9, Chu and Daken teach the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 5.
Chu teaches in Column 4, wherein the first p-type doped III-V compound material located above the first device region is removed by a wet etching process (Column 4 Line 22-25).
With respect to Claim 10, Chu and Daken Chemical teach The manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 5.
Chu teaches wherein the method of forming the lamination structure further comprises:
forming the first mask layer on the second p-type doped III-V compound material (Fig 4 with Annotation; 112; Column 5 Line 28-33); and
forming a second mask layer on the first mask layer (Fig 4 with Annotations; 114; Column 5 Lines 33-37), wherein the second mask layer is located in the first portion and the second portion of the lamination structure (Fig 4 with Annotations; 114; Column 5 Lines 33-37), and a material composition of the second mask layer is different from a material composition of the first mask layer (Column 5 Line 28-37).
PNG
image11.png
100
100
image11.png
Greyscale
With respect to Claim 11, Chu and Daken Chemical teach the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 1.
Chu teaches in Fig 1A wherein a method of forming the lamination structure comprises:
forming the p-type doped III-V compound layer on the III-V compound barrier layer (Fig 1A with Annotations; 106; Column 3 and Line 56-58);
the p-type doped III-V compound (Column 3 and Line 56-58)
Chu does not teach forming a first mask material on the p-type doped III-V compound layer, wherein the first mask material is located above the first device region and the second device region ; and
performing a second thinning process to the first mask material located above the first device region, wherein a thickness of the first mask material located above the first device region is less than a thickness of the first mask material located above the second device region after the second thinning process, and the first mask material remaining on the p-type doped III-V compound layer after the second thinning process becomes the first mask layer of the lamination structure.
Daken Chemical teaches forming a first mask material (Figure with Annotations-Daken; resist) on layer, wherein the first mask material is located above the first device region and the second device region (Figure with Annotations-Daken; resist; Region 1 and Region 2); and
performing a second thinning process (Figure with Annotation-Daken; Radiation; Develop; Etching & Stripping) to the first mask material located above the first device region (Figure with Annotation-Daken; Region 1; Resist), wherein a thickness of the first mask material located above the first device region is less than a thickness of the first mask material located above the second device region after the second thinning process (Figure with Annotation-Daken; Develop; Negative Resist; Region 1 and Region 2), and the first mask material remaining on the layer after the second thinning process becomes the first mask layer of the lamination structure.
PNG
image5.png
100
100
image5.png
Greyscale
With respect to Claim 13, Chu and Deken Chemical teach the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 1.
Chu does not teach wherein the lamination structure further comprises:
a second mask layer disposed on the first mask layer, wherein the second mask layer is located in the first portion and the second portion of the lamination structure.
Deken Chemical teaches wherein the lamination structure further comprises:
a second mask layer (see fig; mask; black strips; ¶ [03]) disposed on the first mask layer, wherein the second mask layer is located in the first portion and the second portion of the lamination structure (see fig; resist layer; ¶ [03]).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to combine the invention of Chu, a semiconductor enhancement mode HEMT device and the invention of Daken chemical negative photoresist comprehensive guide. This combination would produce a semiconductor metal thin film stack with a patterned surface using photolithography with negative photoresist and etching. The ability to precisely control patterns is one of the main advantages of using photolithography photoresist material (Benefits of Using Negative Photoresist ¶ [08]). Depositing a second mask layer on the first mask layer sets up the structure to undergo photolithography and etching processing.
With respect to Claim 14, Chu and Daken Chemical teach the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 13.
Chu teaches wherein the lamination structure consists of the p-type doped III-V compound layer (Fig 1B; 106; Column 3 and Line 56-58).
Chu does not teach the first mask layer, and the second mask layer.
Daken Chemical teaches in the Figure the first mask layer (see Figure; resist layer; ¶ [03]), and the second mask layer (see Figure; mask; black strips; ¶ [03]).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to combine the invention of Chu, a semiconductor enhancement mode HEMT device and the invention of Daken chemical negative photoresist comprehensive guide. This combination would produce a semiconductor metal thin film stack with a patterned surface using photolithography with negative photoresist and etching. The ability to precisely control patterns is one of the main advantages of using photolithography photoresist material (Benefits of Using Negative Photoresist ¶ [08]). The lamination structure consisting of the of the p-type doped III-V compound material layer, the first mask and the second mask sets the structure up to undergo photolithography and etching processes.
With respect to Claim 17, Chu and Daken Chemical teach the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 1.
Chu teaches in Fig 1A wherein the first device region is an enhancement mode device region and the second device region is a depletion mode device region (Fig 1A with Annotations; Region 1 and Region 2).
PNG
image13.png
100
100
image13.png
Greyscale
With respect to Claim 18, Chu and Daken Chemical teaches The manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 1.
Chu teaches wherein a distance between a top surface of the III-V compound barrier layer located above the first device region and a top surface of the III-V compound barrier layer located above the second device region in a vertical direction is less than 3 nanometers (Fig 4; 104; Column 7 Line 37-48).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu(US10847643B2) and Daken Chemical(Negative Photoresist a Comprehensive Guide to Understanding) as applied to claim 1-7, 9-11, 13, 14, 17 and 18 above, and further in view of Micovic(US6852615).
With respect to Claim 8, Chu and Daken Chemical teach The manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 5.
Chu teaches second p-type doped III-V compound (Fig 4; 110; Column 4 Line 37-41)
first p-type doped III-V compound (Fig 4; 110; Column 4 Line 37-41)
Chu does not teach wherein a thickness of the second p-type doped III-V compound material is greater than a thickness of the first p-type doped III-V compound material.
Micovic teaches in Fig 9 a thickness of the second material (Fig 9; 26; Column 6 Line 16-20) is greater than a thickness of the first material (Fig 9; 11c; Column 4 Line 53-60).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the invention of Chu a stacked semiconductor device, the invention of Daken Chemical teaching the photolithography, development and etching process with positive and negative photoresist, and the invention of Micovic, a semiconductor device with two metal layers of two different thicknesses over a substrate. This combination would produce semiconductor stack with a controlled surface charge depletion Micovic(Column 1 Line 61) at the point of surface contact.
However, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the thickness of the second p-type doped III-V compound material compared to the thickness of the first p-type doped III-V compound material to be a result effective variable affecting the direction of the flow of electrons and the electric leakage in the current. Thus, it would have been obvious to keep the thicknesses of the layers within the claimed range, since optimum or workable ranges of such variables are discoverable through routine experimentation. see MPEP 2144.05 II.B
Claim 12 and 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu(US10847643B2) and Daken Chemical(Negative Photoresist a Comprehensive Guide to Understanding) as applied to claim 1-7, 9-11, 13, 14, 17 and 18 above, and further in view of Hsieh(A Soft PDMS/Metal-Film Photo-Mask for Large-Area Contact Photolithography at Sub-Micrometer Scale With Application on Patterned Sapphire Substrates).
With respect to Claim 12, Chu and Daken Chemical teach the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 11.
Chu does not teach wherein the method of forming the lamination structure further comprises:
forming a second mask layer on the first mask layer after the second thinning process, wherein the second mask layer is located in the first portion and the second portion of the lamination structure, and a material composition of the second mask layer is different from a material composition of the first mask layer.
Daken teaches wherein the method of forming the lamination structure further comprises:
forming a second mask layer (Figure with Annotation-Daken; Mask) on the first mask layer (Figure with Annotation-Daken; photoresist) after the second thinning process, wherein the second mask layer is located in the first portion and the second portion of the lamination structure (Figure with Annotation-Daken; Mask (photomask)),
PNG
image5.png
100
100
image5.png
Greyscale
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to combine the invention of Chu, a semiconductor enhancement mode HEMT device and the invention of Daken chemical negative photoresist comprehensive guide. This combination would produce a semiconductor metal thin film stack with a patterned surface using photolithography with negative photoresist and etching. The ability to precisely control patterns is one of the main advantages of using photolithography photoresist material (Benefits of Using Negative Photoresist ¶ [08]). The second mask to be placed on the first mask layer sets up for the controlled patterning process.
Hseieh teaches in Fig 2a a material composition of the second mask layer (Fig 2a; PDMS; ll. Experiment ¶ [003]) is different from a material composition of the first mask layer (Fig 2a; PR-Photoresist; ll. Experiment ¶ [003]).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the invention of Chu, a semiconductor device with lll-V group compound layers, Daken Chemical, a guide to photolithography and the invention of Hseieh a soft lithography approach to modifying a photolithography mask. This combination would produce a process to fabricate a stacked semiconductor device with layers of a variety of surface patterns. Using a patterned PDMS photo mask for carrying out a contact type photolithograph on wafers to achieve photolithographic patterning on a slightly curved sapphire substrate with larger patterning area, small line-width, and high yield rate (I. Introduction; ¶[004]). The two different materials compositions for the first and second mask allow for radiation to travel through the masks at different rates and reach the substrate at a controlled dosage across the layer surface.
With respect to Claim 15, Chu and Daken Chemical teach the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 13.
Chu teaches wherein a method of forming the lamination structure comprises:
forming the p-type doped III-V compound layer on the III-V compound barrier layer (Fig 1B; 106; Column 3 and Line 56-58);
p-type doped III-V (Column 3 and Line 56-58)
Chu does not teach forming the first mask layer on compound layer;
forming a second mask material on the first mask layer, wherein the second mask material is located above the first device region and the second device region; and
performing a third thinning process to the second mask material located above the first device region, wherein a thickness of the second mask material located above the first device region is less than a thickness of the second mask material located above the second device region after the third thinning process, and the second mask material remaining on the first mask layer after the third thinning process becomes the second mask layer of the lamination structure.
Daken chemical teaches in Figure forming the first mask layer (Figure; resist layer; ¶ [03]) on the compound layer;
forming a second mask material (Figure; mask; ¶ [03]) on the first mask layer, wherein the second mask material is located above the first device region and the second device region (Photomasks shield the entire substrate)
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to combine the invention of Chu, a semiconductor enhancement mode HEMT device and the invention of Daken Chemical Negative Photoresist Comprehensive Guide. This combination would produce a semiconductor metal thin film stack with a patterned surface using photolithography, radiation, photoresist and etching. The ability to precisely control patterns is one of the main advantages of using photolithography photoresist material Daken Chemical(Benefits of Using Negative Photoresist ¶ [08]).
Hseieh teaches in Fig 1 and Fig 2 performing a third thinning process (Fig 1; ll. Experiment; ¶ [001]) to the second mask material located above the first device region (Fig 1; ll. Experiment; ¶ [001]),
wherein a thickness of the second mask material located above the first device region is less (Fig 2a with Annotations; R1; PDMS; ll. Experiment ¶ [003]) than a thickness of the second mask material located above the second device region (Fig 2a with Annotations; R2; PDMS; ll. Experiment ¶[003]) after the third thinning process (Fig 1 with Annotations; PDMS; II. Experiment; ¶ [001]), and the second mask material remaining on the first mask layer after the third thinning process becomes the second mask layer of the lamination structure.
PNG
image15.png
100
100
image15.png
Greyscale
PNG
image17.png
100
100
image17.png
Greyscale
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the invention of Chu, a semiconductor device with lll-V group compound layers, Daken Chemical, a guide to photolithography and the invention of Hseieh a soft lithography approach to modifying a photolithography mask. This combination would produce a process to fabricate a stacked semiconductor device with layers of a variety of surface patterns. Using a patterned PDMS photo mask for carrying out a contact type photolithograph on wafers to achieve photolithographic patterning on a slightly curved sapphire substrate with larger patterning area, small line-width, and high yield rate (I. Introduction; ¶[004]). The difference in thickness of the second mask from the first and second region allows for the second mask to shield the photoresist in a controlled pattern.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu(US10847643B2) and Daken Chemical(Negative Photoresist a Comprehensive Guide to Understanding) as applied to claim 1-7, 9-11, 13, 14, 17 and 18, and further in view of Yu(US20120094464A1).
With respect to Claim 16, Chu and Daken teach the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device according to Claim 1.
Chu teaches in Fig 4 wherein the p-type doped III-V compound layer in the first portion of the lamination structure is patterned to be a patterned p-type doped III-V compound layer located above the first device region by the patterning process, and the manufacturing method of the semiconductor device further comprises:
forming a gate structure on the patterned p-type doped III-V compound layer (Fig 4; G; Column 3 Line 56-58; Column 2 Line 35-36); and
Chu does not teach performing an anneal process to the patterned p-type doped III-V compound layer after the patterning process and before the gate structure is formed.
Yu teaches in Fig 4 performing an anneal process to the patterned p-type doped III-V compound layer after the patterning process and before the gate structure is formed (Fig 4; 245; ¶ [0042]).
It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to combine the invention of Chu, a semiconductor enhancement mode HEMT device, the invention of Daken chemical negative photoresist comprehensive guide and the invention of Yu, a method to fabricate a semiconductor device by annealing the metal layer after performing a patterning process. Thermal annealing happens after the implantation of ions Yu(0013]) to repair the lattice after ion bombardment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Lin(US20190198654A1); A semiconductor device comprising III-V compound layers
Chelakara(US20100044719A1); A structure including a refractory metal layer disposed in contact with the semiconductor material
/B.Q.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817