DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites that “the container is reticle-shaped”. It is unclear what shape is envisioned, as a reticle may have any number of different shapes.
Claim 13 recites that “the substrate is wafer-shaped”. It is unclear what shape is envisioned, as a wafer may have any number of different shapes.
Claim 19 recites that “the container is reticle-shaped”. It is unclear what shape is envisioned, as a reticle may have any number of different shapes.
Claim 20 recites that “the substrate is wafer-shaped”. It is unclear what shape is envisioned, as a wafer may have any number of different shapes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0002695 in view of Yaguchi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2012/0212583.
Regarding claim 1, Saito discloses an apparatus, comprising: a substrate 2; and optics 1, mechanically coupled to the substrate 2 (“The sample holder 2 holds the sample 1” [0046]), to direct light upward away from the substrate into an aperture of a scanning electron microscope (SEM) (“light reflected on the sample 1 is introduced through the microscope tube 40a” [0067]). However, although Saito discloses that “the sample 1 is transferred from the load lock chamber to the sample holder 2 provided in the vacuum chamber 13” [0066], there is no explicit disclosure that both the optics and substrate are loadable and unloadable, together, into the SEM and from the SEM through a load lock of the SEM.
Yaguchi discloses an electron microscopy system (“The present invention relates to a sample holder used for electron microscopes and FIB processing apparatuses” [0001]) wherein “the sample holder 1 with the sample 6 attached thereto is inserted. A loadlock system not illustrated is provided so as to enable removal and insertion of the sample holder 1 from/to the sample chamber while maintaining a vacuum state of the sample chamber” [0052] “The sample holder 1 taken out from the FIB apparatus 16 is inserted in the sample pre-evacuation chamber 47 of the electron microscope 29 while hermetically sealing the vicinity of the sample 6 by the covering unit 9” [0057].
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Saito with the sample holder of Yaguchi in order to simplify operation of an electron microscopy system by transferring a sample between multiple chambers without realigning a sample on a holder.
Regarding claim 11, the only disclosed light sources in Saito are light sources 51, 21, or 7, which are separate from the apparatus of the substrate 2 and optics 1. Therefore, Saito illustrates in figure 1 that the apparatus does not include a light source to generate the light.
Regarding claim 12, Saito discloses a container 13 that contains the optics 1, wherein: the container has the shape illustrated in figure 1; the substrate 2 is a bottom surface of the container; the optics 1 are disposed within the container 13; and the container has a top opening 131 to allow the optics 1 to direct the light upward into the aperture (as illustrated in figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Saito discloses that the optics 1 are mounted on top of the substrate (as illustrated in figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2; Saito et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0002695 discloses an apparatus, comprising: a substrate 2; and optics 1, mechanically coupled to the substrate 2 (“The sample holder 2 holds the sample 1” [0046]), to direct light upward away from the substrate into an aperture of a scanning electron microscope (SEM) (“light reflected on the sample 1 is introduced through the microscope tube 40a” [0067]). However, the only reflector of Saito that reflects light upward away from the substrate is the sample 1. Therefore, Saito does not disclose optics, mechanically coupled to the substrate, comprising: a mirror to direct the light upward away from the substrate; and a lens to guide the light to the mirror along an optical path substantially parallel to the substrate.
Iwabuchi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2002/0024021 discloses an apparatus, comprising: a substrate 12; and optics 85, mechanically coupled to the substrate (as illustrated in figure 17); wherein the optics comprise: a mirror 85. However, the mirrors of Iwabuchi are not configured to direct light upward away from the substrate into an aperture of a scanning electron microscope (SEM).
Nishikata et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2007/0023655 discloses an apparatus, comprising: a substrate 1; and optics 3, to direct light upward away from the substrate into an aperture 321 of a scanning electron microscope (SEM) (“an electron microscope” [0003]). However, Nishikata does not disclose that optics 3 are mechanically coupled to the substrate 1.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, an apparatus, comprising: a substrate; and optics, mechanically coupled to the substrate, to direct light upward away from the substrate into an aperture of a scanning electron microscope (SEM); wherein the apparatus is loadable into the SEM and unloadable from the SEM through a load lock of the SEM; wherein the optics comprise: a mirror to direct the light upward away from the substrate; and a lens to guide the light to the mirror along an optical path substantially parallel to the substrate.
Regarding claims 3-10; these claims depend, either directly or indirectly, upon claim 2.
Claims 14-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 14; Saito et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0002695 discloses a method, comprising: loading an apparatus into a scanning electron microscope (SEM) through a load lock of the SEM and onto a stage of the SEM (“the sample 1 is transferred from the load lock chamber to the sample holder 2 provided in the vacuum chamber 13” [0066]), the apparatus comprising: a substrate 2; and optics 1, mechanically coupled to the substrate 2, to direct light upward away from the substrate (“light reflected on the sample 1 is introduced through the microscope tube 40a” [0067]). However, Saito does not disclose using the optics to direct the light upward through an aperture of the SEM onto an electron detector in the SEM.
Aida U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0207945 discloses a scanning electron microscope ([0105]) for reflecting light off of a specimen (“an imaging element that detects reflected light reflected by the specimen” [Abstract]). However, although Aida discloses that “there is a risk that the reflected electron detector may detect the light from the light source 210” [0102], it is clear that it would be undesirable to direct light to the electron detector, and Aida does not disclose using the optics to direct the light upward through an aperture of the SEM onto an electron detector in the SEM.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, a method, comprising: using optics mechanically coupled to a substrate to direct light upward through an aperture of an SEM onto an electron detector in the SEM; wherein the apparatus comprising the optics and the substrate is loaded through a load lock of the SEM onto a stage of the SEM.
Regarding claims 15-18; these claims are allowable at least for their dependence, either directly or indirectly, upon independent claim 14.
Conclusion
/JASON L MCCORMACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2881