DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-16 are under consideration
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikebe (US20190369483A1, published 2019).
Regarding claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, and 13-15,
Ikebe teaches reflective mask blank and reflective mask [abstract] comprising of a multilayer reflective film formed on a substrate (which reflects exposure light), an overlying protective film, and an overlying absorber film (which absorbs EUV/exposure light) [0003, 0053].
Ikebe teaches the protective film may be composed of a laminated structure consisting of not less than three layers, where the uppermost and lowermost layers are Ru, with an interposing Ru alloy between the uppermost and lowermost layers which may contain niobium (Nb) [0068-0069], reading on instant claims 1, 6-7, and 14-15.
The uppermost and lowermost layers are Ru (with an Ru content ratio of or close to 100 at%) [0068-0069], reading on instant claims 3 and 13.
Ikebe teaches the absorber film may comprise of materials containing Ta and N [0074-0077], reading on instant claims 4 and 9.
Ikebe teaches an etching mask (hard mask film) may be formed on the absorber layer, and may comprise of materials containing Cr [0101-0102], reading on instant claims 5 and 10.
Ikebe teaches forming a pattern on the absorber film [0103], and forming a reflective mask using their reflective mask blank [0127], reading on instant claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikebe (US20190369483A1, published 2019) as applied to claims 1, 6, 11, and 14 above.
Regarding claims 2, 8, 12, and 16,
Ikebe teaches the above limitations set forth.
Ikebe teaches the Ru content ratio of the Ru alloy may be 50 at% to 100 at% [0070], overlapping the ranges of instants claim 2 and 12. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
While silent to the thicknesses of each of the layers of the protective film, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that each layer may be substantially the same thickness, in which case an Ru content ratio of the Ru alloy of 50 at% would result in an Ru content ratio of the protective film to be about 83 at%, reading on instant claims 8 and 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20170263444A1 teaches a similar reflective mask blank and reflective mask.
/Alexander N. Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1737