DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 10/22/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the process in the invention I fully encompasses the apparatus in Group II and so, there is no undue search burden. This is not found persuasive because the restriction is proper between the two groups for not only the search burden but they acquired a separate status in view of different classification as discussed in the previous office communication.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al (US 2022/0093367).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka et al disclose a method for etching a film (EF) of a substrate (W) through an opening (OP) of a mask (MK), the method comprising: by using a CVD method, forming a protective film (PF) formed of a silicon-containing substance on a surface in a chamber (10) of a plasma processing apparatus (1),
wherein the surface in the chamber (10) includes a lower surface of a ceiling plate (34), which resemble as the claimed “lid assembly” (see paragraphs [0029]-[0033], [0054]-[0055], [0058], [0062], figures 1-5); and etching the film (EF) of the substrate (W) which is placed on an upper surface of an electrostatic chuck (20), while the lower surface of the ceiling plate (34) is coated with the protective film (PF) (see paragraphs [0029]-[0030], [0036]-[0038], [0054], [0062], [0075], figures 1-5).
Tanaka et al disclose that the etching film (EF) (resemble as the claimed “target layer”) comprises silicon -containing film [0030] and the mask (MK) comprises carbon -containing film [0031].
Regarding claim 11, Tanaka et al disclose a method for etching a film (EF) of a substrate (W) through an opening (OP) of a mask (MK), the method comprising: by using a CVD method, forming a protective film (PF) formed of a silicon-containing substance on a surface in a chamber (10) of a plasma processing apparatus (1),
wherein the surface in the chamber (10) includes a lower surface of a ceiling plate (34), which resemble as the claimed “lid assembly” (see paragraphs [0029]-[0033], [0054]-[0055], [0058], [0062], figures 1-5); and etching the film (EF) of the substrate (W) which is placed on an upper surface of an electrostatic chuck (20), while the lower surface of the ceiling plate (34) is coated with the protective film (PF) (see paragraphs [0029]-[0030], [0036]-[0038], [0054], [0062], [0075], figures 1-5).
Tanaka et al disclose that the etching film (EF) (resemble as the claimed “target layer”) comprises silicon -containing film [0030] and the mask (MK) comprises carbon -containing film [0031].
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Tanaka et al disclose that forming the protective film (PF) made of a silicon-containing substance, the film-forming gas contains, for example, SiH4, SiC14, Si2Cl6, or SiF4) (see paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Tanaka et al disclose that forming the protective film (PF) may be performed in a state where a dummy substrate (DW) is placed on a substrate support (16) (see paragraph [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-10 and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al (US 2022/0093367) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Tanaka et al disclose above for the claims 1 and 11 but fails to disclose the claimed thickness of the protective film (PF) (resemble as the claimed “coating layer”.
However, without showing any criticality of such thickness of the coating layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art optimize the thickness of the PF layer for predictable result, in this instance, efficiently protecting the ceiling plate in the chamber.
Regarding claim 5, Tanaka et al disclose the ceiling plate (34) may be formed of a low resistance conductor or semiconductor with low Joule heat [0043], which semiconductor material reads on the lid assembly’s material.
Regarding claim 6, Tanaka et al disclose that the etching film (EF) is, for example, a silicon oxide film, a silicon nitride film, or a silicon-containing low dielectric constant film (see paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Tanaka et al disclose above for the claims 1 and 11 and Tanaka et al also disclose that after etching the film (EF), a cleaning gas is supplied into the chamber (10) and plasma is generated from the cleaning gas to completely remove the protective film (PF) (see paragraphs [0069]-[0070]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Tanaka et al disclose that a halogen-containing gas is used as the cleaning gas to remove the protective film PF (see paragraph [0071]), aforesaid halogen-containing gas reads on the claimed fluorine-containing gas.
Regarding claim 9, Tanaka et al disclose that, in a case where the protective film (PF) has been removed, forming the protective film (PF) is performed again (see paragraphs [0073]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 10 and 19, Tanaka et al disclose that the plasma processing apparatus (1) is an inductively coupled plasma processing apparatus (ICP) [0077].
Regarding claim 14, Tanaka et al disclose that the PF (coating layer) is formed on the lower surface of the ceiling plate 34 [0054]; and therefore, this PF is configured to suppress a release of oxygen form the ceiling plate (resemble as the claimed lid assembly).
Regarding claim 15, Tanaka et al disclose that the protective film (PF) is formed of a silicon-containing substance; and the film (EF) is etched by using hydrogen fluoride within the chamber (10); (see paragraphs [0055], [0063]), wherein the protective film is configured to release silicon as the instant invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713