DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
1. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 1/21/2026. Claims 1-7 are pending in this application.
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “protruding portion” (claim 6) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 2019/0035750).
Re claim 1, Han teaches, under BRI, Figs. 5B & 5H, [0041, 0047, 0049, 0052, 0061, 0068], a semiconductor device, comprising:
-a substrate (100, 2x bottom 110);
-an interlayer dielectric layer (uppermost 110, 131 or upper 110 with barrier layer, not shown) [0041] on the substrate (100, 110);
-a metal pad (chip pad 111) on the interlayer dielectric layer (e.g., on uppermost 110); and
-a passivation dielectric layer (133) formed on the interlayer dielectric layer (110, 131) and the metal pad (111);
-a bump (CPa, CLa or 141) electrically connected to the metal pad (111);
-a first side surface (side or lateral surface of middle layer 110 exposed in OP2) of the substrate (100, 2x bottom 110) disposed below the interlayer dielectric layer (110, 131), the first side surface comprising an etched profile (e.g., result from anisotropically etch) (Fig. 5B, [0052]); and
-a second side surface (side surface exposed in cutting region 21) of the substrate (100, 2x bottom 110) spacer apart from the first side surface, the second side surface comprising a mechanical dicing texture (e.g., result from a sawing process) distinct from the etched profile of the first side surface (Fig. 5H, [0068]).
Re claim 2, Han teaches, Fig. 5B, [0044, 0057], wherein the interlayer dielectric layer comprises: a first interlayer dielectric layer (upper 110) on the substrate (100, 2x bottom 110); and a second interlayer dielectric layer (131) on the first interlayer dielectric layer, and wherein a metal wire (CPa, 120) is formed on the first interlayer dielectric layer.
Re claim 3, Han teaches the first interlayer dielectric layer is a lower-k dielectric layer [0039].
Re claim 5, Han teaches, [0039, 0050], the second interlayer dielectric layer (HDP oxide layer 131) has a higher dielectric constant value the firs interlayer dielectric layer (upper most 110) (or barrier layer vs 110, [0041]).
Re claim 6, Han teaches, Fig. 5H, the substrate (110, 2x bottom 110) comprises a protruding region (region extending from side surface of 110, result from etching and sawing) extending laterally between the first side surface and the second side surface.
Re claim 7, Han teaches, Fig. 5B, after the portions of the interlayer dielectric layer (110, 131) are etched, another portion (110, 131) exists on the substrate at a predetermined thickness.
4. Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 2020/0091100, “Han100”).
Re claim 1, Han100 teaches, under BRI, Figs. 5C5I, [0030, 0042, 0044, 0046, 0050, 0057, 0075], a semiconductor device, comprising:
-a substrate (100, 103, (2x) bottom 110);
-an interlayer dielectric layer (top 110, 131) on the substrate;
-a metal pad (123a) on the interlayer dielectric layer (on top 110); and
-a passivation dielectric layer (133) formed on the interlayer dielectric layer (110, 131) and the metal pad (123a);
-a bump (141a) electrically connected to the metal pad (123a);
-a first side surface (side middle layer 110 exposed in OP2) of the substrate (100, 103, (2x) bottom 110) disposed below the interlayer dielectric layer (110, 131), the first side surface comprising an etched profile (e.g., result from anisotropically etching) [0057]; and
-a second side surface (side surface exposed in cutting region 21) of the substrate (100, 103, (2x) bottom 110) spacer apart from the first side surface, the second side surface comprising a mechanical dicing texture (e.g., result from a sawing process) [0075] distinct from the etched profile of the first side surface.
Re claim 6, Han100 teaches, Fig. 5I, the substrate (110, 103, (2x) bottom 110) comprises a protruding region (region extending from side surface of 110, result from etching and sawing) extending laterally between the first side surface and the second side surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han.
The teachings of Han have been discussed above.
Re claim 4, Han (in first consideration) does not explicitly teach the first interlayer dielectric and the second interlayer dielectric layer are same dielectric layer.
Han does teach “lower dielectric layer 110…may include a plurality of stacked insulating layers” & “maybe formed of a low-k dielectric material” [0038, 0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ & modify the teaching as taught by Han to obtain the first interlayer dielectric and the second interlayer dielectric layer are same dielectric layer as claimed, because it aids in facilitating manufacturing process and achieving desired stacked of interlayer dielectric layer at cost effective.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
The claims amended with newly added limitations, interpretation and rejection under Han are altered to meet the current claims.
In further consideration, similar to Figs. 5A-B of the application, Han teaches, Figs. 5B & 5H, [0052, 0068], an anisotropically etch to form openings OP1, OP2 & OP3, and a sawing process applied to cutting region 21. Hence, Han teaches a first side surface (at side of middle 110) of the substrate (100, 2x bottom 110) disposed below the interlayer dielectric layer (upper 110, 131), the first side surface comprising an etched profile (result from a anisotropically etch); and a second side surface (side surface of 100, 110) of the substrate spaced apart from the first side surface, the second side surface comprising a mechanical dicing texture (result from sawing process) distinct from the etched profile of the first side surface. Further, Han teaches, Fig. 5H, a protruding region (region extending from side surface of 110, result from etching and sawing).
As result, given a broadest reasonable interpretation, Han meets the claimed invention. Details included in the above rejection.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 3/10/26