DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-6), in the reply filed on December 11, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Reference character “292” shown in Figures 2B, 3B, 4B, 5B are not in the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation of “wherein the body first side facing surface is disposed inwardly of the body of from the first surface as it the body first surface facing side of the at least one chucking electrode” which is indefinite. It is unclear in claim 3, how the first side facing surface of the body relates to the first surface facing side of the one chucking electrode. For purposes of examination, the one chucking electrode is located within the body.
FIRST ART REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woo (U.S. 2021/0159107).
Referring to Figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0021]-[0030], Woo discloses a substrate support for use in a substrate processing chamber, the substrate support 104 comprising: a ceramic electrostatic chuck having a body, the body having an outer diameter (par.[0025]), a first side configured to support a substrate and a second side opposite the first side, and a thickness between the first side and the second side, wherein the body 108 comprises; at least one chucking electrode 122a, 122b having a radially outer surface (par.[0027]); a far edge electrode 124 disposed adjacent to the chucking electrode and extending radially outwardly of the at least one chucking electrode (Figs. 1-3, par.[0028]); wherein the far edge electrode 124 has a thickness in the thickness direction of the body which is greater than the thickness of the at least one chucking electrode 122a, 122b in the thickness direction of the body (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 5, the substrate support of Woo further includes wherein the far edge electrode 124 is configured to operate independently of the chucking electrode 122a, 122b (Fig. 2B, par.[0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (U.S. 2021/0159107) in view of Benjamin et al. (U.S. 2018/0130690).
The teachings of Woo have been discussed above.
Woo is silent on the far edge electrode connected to one or more electrical jumper connections extending in the thickness direction of the body.
Referring to Figure 4 and paragraphs [0059]-[0060], Benjamin et al. teach a substrate support wherein an electrode connected to one or more electrical jumper connections 413 extending in the thickness direction of the body as a suitable means to connect the electrode with the power source for power distribution. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Woo such that the far edge electrode connected to one or more electrical jumper connections extending in the thickness direction of the body as taught by Benjamin et al. since it is a suitable means to connect the electrode with the power source for power distribution.
With respect to claim 3, the substrate support of Woo in view of Benjamin et al. further includes wherein the body 108 first side facing surface is disposed inwardly of the body of from the first surface as it the body first surface facing side of the at least one chucking electrode 122a, 122b (Woo-Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (U.S. 2021/0159107) in view of Gomm (U.S. 2018/0350649).
The teachings of Woo have been discussed above.
Woo fails to teach wherein the body second side facing surface of the far edge electrode is in contact with a mesh electrode extending parallel to the first side of the body, and the mesh electrode is connected to a conductive stud extending outwardly from the second side of the body.
Referring to Figure 3 and paragraph [0028], Gomm teaches a substrate support wherein the body second side facing surface of the far edge electrode 202 is in contact with a mesh electrode 208 extending parallel to the first side of the body, and the mesh electrode is connected to a conductive stud (i.e. power feed terminal) extending outwardly from the second side of the body since it is a conventionally known means used to distribute power to the active far edge electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Woo the body second side facing surface of the far edge electrode is in contact with a mesh electrode extending parallel to the first side of the body, and the mesh electrode is connected to a conductive stud extending outwardly from the second side of the body as taught by Gomm since it is a conventionally known means used to distribute power to the active far edge electrode.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo (U.S. 2021/0159107) in view of Lin et al. (U.S. 2017/0040198).
The teachings of Woo have been discussed above.
Woo is silent on wherein the far edge electrode is configured to operate from the power source coupled to the chucking electrode.
Referring to Figure 5A-5B and paragraph [0065], Lin et al. teach a substrate support wherein the far edge electrode 544 is configured to operate from the power source 550 coupled to the chucking electrode since it is an alternate and equivalent means to provide power to the chucking electrode and far edge electrode. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Woo with wherein the far edge electrode is configured to operate from the power source coupled to the chucking electrode as taught by Lin et al. since it is an alternate and equivalent means to provide power to the chucking electrode and far edge electrode. Furthermore, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II).
SECOND ART REJECTION
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pisharody et al. (U.S. 2024/0412957) in view of Sato et al. (U.S. 20210175109).
Referring to Figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0017]-[0032], Pisharody et al. discloses a substrate support 124, 150 for use in a substrate processing chamber (par.[0019]), the substrate support comprising: a ceramic electrostatic chuck 152 having a body (par.[0019]), the body having an outer diameter, a first side configured to support a substrate 122 and a second side opposite the first side, and a thickness between the first side and the second side, wherein the body comprises: at least one chucking electrode 154 having a radially outer surface (Fig. 2, par.[0019]); a far edge electrode 119 disposed adjacent to the chucking electrode and extending radially outwardly of the at least one chucking electrode (Fig. 2, (par.[0019]));
Pisharody et al. fail to teach wherein the far edge electrode has a thickness in the thickness direction of the body which is greater than the thickness of the at least one chucking electrode in the thickness direction of the body.
Referring to paragraph [0116], Sato et al. teach a substrate support wherein the far edge electrode has a thickness in the thickness direction of the body which is greater than the thickness of the at least one chucking electrode in the thickness direction of the body depending on the desired chamber conditions for plasma generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Pisharody et al. with wherein the far edge electrode has a thickness in the thickness direction of the body which is greater than the thickness of the at least one chucking electrode in the thickness direction of the body as taught by Sato et al. to achieve the desired chamber conditions for plasma generation.
With respect to claim 2, the substrate support of Pisharody et al. further comprising the far edge electrode 119 connected to one or more electrical jumper connections extending in the thickness direction of the body. (Fig. 2B, par.[0036]).
With respect to claim 3, the substrate support of Pisharody et al. further includes wherein the body first side facing surface is disposed inwardly of the body 152 of from the first surface as it the body first surface facing side of the at least one chucking electrode (Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 4, the substrate support of Pisharody et al. further includes wherein the body 152 second side facing surface of the far edge electrode is in contact with a mesh electrode 229 extending parallel to the first side of the body, and the mesh electrode is connected to a conductive stud extending outwardly from the second side of the body (par.[0036]).
With respect to claim 5, the substrate support of Pisharody et al. further includes wherein the far edge electrode 119 is configured to operate independently of the chucking electrode 154 (par.[0031]).
With respect to claim 6, the substrate support of Pisharody et al. further includes wherein the far edge electrode 119 is configured to operate from the power source 117 coupled to the chucking electrode 154 (par.[0054]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 9-11, 14, and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/207042 in view of Sato et al. (U.S. 20210175109).
With respect to claim 1, referring to claims 1 and 11 of copending Application No. 18/207042 discloses a substrate support for use in a substrate processing chamber, the substrate support comprising: a ceramic electrostatic chuck having a body, the body having an outer diameter, a first side configured to support a substrate and a second side opposite the first side, and a thickness between the first side and the second side, wherein the body comprises: at least one chucking electrode having a radially outer surface; and a far edge electrode disposed adjacent to the chucking electrode and extending radially outwardly of the at least one chucking electrode.
copending Application No. 18/207042 fail to teach wherein the far edge electrode has a thickness in the thickness direction of the body which is greater than the thickness of the at least one chucking electrode in the thickness direction of the body.
Referring to paragraph [0116], Sato et al. teach a substrate support wherein the far edge electrode has a thickness in the thickness direction of the body which is greater than the thickness of the at least one chucking electrode in the thickness direction of the body depending on the desired chamber conditions for plasma generation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of copending Application No. 18/207042 with wherein the far edge electrode has a thickness in the thickness direction of the body which is greater than the thickness of the at least one chucking electrode in the thickness direction of the body as taught by Sato et al. to achieve the desired chamber conditions for plasma generation.
With respect to claim 3, the substrate support of copending Application No. 18/207042 further includes wherein the body first side facing surface is disposed inwardly of the body 152 of from the first surface as it the body first surface facing side of the at least one chucking electrode (claims 1, 11).
With respect to claim 4, the substrate support of copending Application No. 18/207042 further includes wherein the body second side facing surface of the far edge electrode is in contact with a mesh electrode extending parallel to the first side of the body, and the mesh electrode is connected to a conductive stud extending outwardly from the second side of the body (claims 4, 14).
With respect to claim 5, the substrate support of copending Application No. 18/207042 further includes wherein the far edge electrode is configured to operate independently of the chucking electrode (claims 9, 19).
With respect to claim 6, the substrate support of copending Application No. 18/207042 further includes wherein the far edge electrode is configured to operate from the power source coupled to the chucking electrode (claims 10, 20).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim(s) 2 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-6 above of copending Application No. 18/207042 in view of Sato et al. (U.S. 20210175109), and further in view of Benjamin et al. (U.S. 2018/0130690).
The teachings of copending Application No. 18/207042 in view of Sato et al. have been discussed above.
copending Application No. 18/207042 in view of Sato et al. is silent on the far edge electrode connected to one or more electrical jumper connections extending in the thickness direction of the body.
Referring to Figure 4 and paragraphs [0059]-[0060], Benjamin et al. teach a substrate support wherein an electrode connected to one or more electrical jumper connections 413 extending in the thickness direction of the body as a suitable means to connect the electrode with the power source for power distribution. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of copending Application No. 18/207042 in view of Sato et al. such that the far edge electrode connected to one or more electrical jumper connections extending in the thickness direction of the body as taught by Benjamin et al. since it is a suitable means to connect the electrode with the power source for power distribution.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koshimizu’506, Cho et al.’098, Mitsumori et al.’568, Jennings et al.’934, Yoshikawa et al.’461, Himori’217, Koshimizu et al.’606, and Hoffman et al.’433 teach wherein the far edge electrode is configured to operate independently of the chucking electrode. Koshimizu’782 and Cui et al.’098 teach wherein a far edge electrode is configured to operate from the power source coupled to a chucking electrode. Tamura’239 teach a far edge electrode is configured to operate independently of a chucking electrode using a conductive stud. Benjaminson et al.’755 teach a far edge electrode and a chucking electrode.
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716