DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 18, 2023; and October 24, 2024 were considered by the examiner.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to because:
Claim 1 requires the current sense area 116 to be attached to the first die 104a by a wire bond 122 and the current sense area 116 to be attached to the second die 104b by a wire bond 300c. However, the figures show 302 is outside of the current sense area 116. See figures 2-5. This is because said figures only show one connection 300c attached to the current sense area 116. Element 302 is outside of the current sense area 116. Therefore, the claimed subject matter is not shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10-13, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoguchi et al. (US 2022/0137102 A1) (“Inoguchi”), in view of Uchinuma et al. (US 2024/0363500 A1) (“Uchinuma”).
Regarding claim 1, Inoguchi teaches at least in figures 1-4:
a substrate (¶ 0011, where a substrate is used);
a first die (16) coupled to the substrate (¶ 0011) and a current sense area (24);
a second die (20) coupled to the substrate (¶ 0011),
the second die (20) coupled to the current sense area (24) by a second wire bond (28).
Inoguchi does not clearly show:
a first die coupled to the substrate and having a current sense area;
a first wire bond coupled to the first die at plurality of bonding points.
Uchinuma teaches at least in figures 1-2, and 4:
a first die (200) coupled to the substrate (400) and having a current sense area (205);
a first wire bond (MA/MB) coupled to the first die (200) at plurality of bonding points (MA/MB are bonded to 200 at a plurality of bonding points).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the IGBT/MOSFET (hereinafter “transistor”) of Inoguchi with the transistor of Uchinuma because Uchinuma includes the current sense into the first die by means of a Kelvin pad. As this not only further miniaturizes the device it also allows for a wider active region as the RDS(on) of the device can be reduced. See figure 9.
Regarding claim 3, Uchinuma teaches at least in figures 1-2, and 4:
wherein one of the plurality of bonding points is in the current sense area (this is shown in figure 2 where 205 is and its bonding points (MA/MB) are in the 205).
Regarding claim 4, Uchinuma teaches at least in figures 1-2, and 4:
wherein the first die includes an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) (¶ 0003, where a MOSFET or IGBT can be used), and
the current sense area is internal to the IGBT (205 is internal to 200).
Regarding claim 5, Inoguchi teaches at least in figures 1-4:
wherein one of the plurality of bonding points is at an emitter of the IGBT (this is shown in figure 3 of where 36 and 38 are on the emitter; see also figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art teaches:
wherein the first wire bond is configured to carry a current between the emitter and ground and no current between the emitter and the current sense area (The device is so configured because the current flows from the emitter. The current sense area is there only to “sense” the current and not to actually deliver current out of the device. This is the function of the emitter.).
Regarding claim 7, Inoguchi teaches at least in figures 1-4:
wherein a first bonding pad at the current sense area for the first wire bond is separated from a second bonding pad at the current sense area for the second wire bond (as shown in Inoguchi figure 3 there are two wires 36 and 38. It is obvious that the two wires would have their own bonding pads).
Regarding claim 10, Inoguchi teaches at least in figures 1-4:
wherein the first wire bond is grounded to a lead frame (this is considered a use of the device. One of ordinary skill in the art using routine skill in the art would make the determination of how and where they want each of the bonding wires to be connected. Further, since the prior art teaches the device will be a final device it would also be up to the end user of ordinary skill in the art on how they want to connect each of the lead frames. Thus, the use of the device would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Inoguchi teaches at least in figures 1-4:
wherein the second die (20) is configured to sense current in the first wire bond (wire 2 or 24).
Regarding claim 12, Inoguchi teaches at least in figures 1-4:
wherein the current sense area is configured to operate without current flow (this is the function of the current sense area. See claim 6).
Regarding claim 13, Inoguchi teaches at least in figures 1-4:
wherein the current sense area is electrically floating (42 is electrically floating in the sense that it is not connected to any other element. .
Regarding claim 13, Uchinuma teaches at least in figures 1-2, and 4:
wherein the current sense area is electrically floating (205 is electrically floating in the sense that it is only connected to read the current and is not electrically connected without the wire bonds).
wherein the current sense area is electrically floating (42 is electrically floating in the sense that it is not connected to any other element. .
Regarding claim 15, Uchinuma teaches at least in figures 1-2, and 4:
Claim 15 is taught by at least one of figure 1 of Uchinuma, and at least one of figures 1-2, and 5 of Inoguchi.
Regarding claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected for the same and/or similar reason as claim 13.
Regarding claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected for the same and/or similar reason as claim 6.
Claim(s) 2, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoguchi, in view of Uchinuma, in view of St. German et al. (US 2018/0053712 A1) (“St. German”).
Regarding claim 2, Inoguchi does not teach:
wherein the second die is attached to the substrate by a polyimide tape.
St. German teaches:
That known means for attaching dies to a lead frames can include:
epoxy, polyimide, silicone or hybrid organic adhesives, and/or soft or eutectic solders, and it may be deposited in gel, paste, film, tape, or solder form.”
¶ 0030. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art could use any known means for attaching a die to a lead frame as they all are well-known obvious variants of each other, and one reading Inogunchi would know this as evidenced by St. German.
Regarding claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-2 in that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use their routine skill in the art to determine what is the best method for their specific requirements to attach the first die and the second die to the substrate. St. German teaches that there are a plurality of functionally equivalent methods to make such attachments and one of ordinary skill in the art using routine skill in the art would know which is best suited for each of said devices.
Regarding claim 19,
This is the function the prior art’s current detection circuit shown in Inoguchi figure 2, and Uchinuma figure 1.
Regarding claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected for the same and/or similar reason as claim 7.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoguchi, in view of Uchinuma, in view of Ostrem (US 4,796,157) (“Ostrem”).
Regarding claims 8-9, Inoguchi does not teach:
The bonding wires are gold and/or aluminum
Ostem teaches:
Bonding wires are typically made out of gold or aluminum. Col. 3 at lines 64-68.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill it the art to choose well-known materials as the bonding wires for the device. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mix and match different types of well-known materials for these bonding based wires based upon the current carrying capability and other characteristics of said wires. One of ordinary skill in the art would use their routine skill in the art to make the determination of which material is best for the their specific need and the needs of the design requirements.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoguchi, in view of Uchinuma, in view of Ostrem, in view of Liou et al. (US 8,022,522 B1) (“Liou”)
Regarding claim 14,
As stated in claims 8-9 Ostem teaches that one can use aluminum or gold wires.
Liou teaches:
That when one uses gold wires it is commonly known as gold ball bonding. “In gold ball bonding, a gold ball is formed (e.g., the free-air ball) which is then attached to a respective location (e.g., a bond pad of the die) using appropriate amounts of pressure, heat, ultrasonic forces and the like.” Col. 4 at lines 33-37.
Based upon the teachings of Liou one would know that the gold wire bonding would include the use of forming gold balls to attach the gold wire to the bond pads.
Conclusion
/VINCENT WALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898