DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 19, 2023 was considered by the examiner.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to because:
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zope et al. (US 2019/0067094 A1) (“Zope”).
Regarding claim 1, Zope teaches:
the method comprising the steps of (detailed below):
providing a substrate within a reaction chamber (110),
the substrate (402) comprising a surface (“U” shape of 400) comprising a first material and a second material different than the first material (¶¶ 0046-50, where the substrate may comprise one or more material surfaces); and
using a plasma-assisted deposition process (¶ 0052, where PECVD can be used) to form plasma-deposited molybdenum (130) on the first material and on the second material (130/220),
wherein a temperature within the reaction chamber during the step of using the plasma-assisted deposition process is less than 350 °C (¶ 0098, where temp may be less than 200 C); and
wherein a selectivity of the plasma-deposited molybdenum on the first material relative to the second material is between about 40 percent and about 60 percent (the prior art teaches the same materials disclosed by Applicant. Therefore, it would be inherent that the first material and second material would have the claimed selectivity. Additionally, or alternatively, it would have been obvious that because the prior art materials are the same as Applicant’s materials it would have been obvious that the prior art would have the claimed selectivity’s. MPEP 2112.).
Regarding claim 2, Zope teaches:
wherein the second material comprises a dielectric material (¶¶ 0046-51, where one of the materials in the in the multi-material surface can be a dielectric material).
Regarding claim 3, Zope teaches:
wherein the first material comprises a conductive material (¶¶ 0046-51, where one of the materials in the in the multi-material surface can be a conductive material).
Regarding claim 4, Zope teaches:
wherein the substrate (402) comprises a feature having a bottom surface (bottom of trench) comprising the first material and a side surface (side of trench) comprising the second material (Based upon the breath of the disclosure of the prior art in regards to the allowable materials and layers of the substrate the prior art teaches this limitation. Additionally, or alternatively, it would have been obvious based upon the disclosure of the prior art that the substrate would comprise the claimed features as the prior art allows for this combination of layers.).
Regarding claim 5, Zope teaches:
wherein the feature comprises a gap (where the gap is the trench shown in at least figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, Zope teaches:
comprising a cyclical deposition and etch process, wherein a cycle of the cyclical deposition and etch process comprises: the plasma-assisted deposition process; and a step of etching a portion of the plasma-deposited molybdenum (According to Applicant’s disclosure in ¶¶ 0051-60, the plasma-assisted deposition process can use a molybdenum halide precursor, and the etchant can be a molybdenum halide. Based upon the Applicant’s disclosure the etchant can be the same as the precursor. Therefore, the deposition and etch described above can use the same materials for both the deposition and etch steps. Based upon this the prior art teaches this. In ¶¶ 0071-72 the prior art teaches the same precursors as Applicant. In ¶ 0052, the prior art teaches a cyclical deposition procession. This means the prior art teaches the substrate will be exposed to the molybdenum halide, and thus, the molybdenum halide will act as both a deposition and etch process as it uses the same materials taught by Applicant.).
Regarding claims 7-9, Zope teaches:
Claims 7-9 are inherent and/or obvious for the reasons given in claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 10, Zope teaches:
wherein the temperature within the reaction chamber during the step of using the plasma-assisted deposition process is greater than 250 °C (¶ 0098).
Regarding claim 13, Zope teaches:
further comprising a step of forming thermally-deposited molybdenum overlying the plasma-deposited molybdenum (because the process of claim 1 requires a temperature to form the molybdenum this can be considered a thermally-deposited process. Further, because there can be multiple layers of molybdenum deposited the first layer(s) can be considered the plasma-deposited molybdenum and the second layer(s) can be considered the thermally-deposited molybdenum).
Regarding claim 14, Zope teaches:
further comprising a step of passivating a portion of a surface of the plasma-deposited molybdenum prior to the step of forming thermally-deposited molybdenum (this is shown in step 120).
Regarding claim 15, Zope teaches:
wherein the step of passivating comprises providing an organic passivating agent (¶ 0070).
Regarding claim 16, Zope teaches:
wherein the organic passivating agent comprises one or more of trimethylsilyl dimethylamine, acetylacetone, fluorocarbon, octadecylphosphonic acid (¶ 0070).
Regarding claim 17, Zope teaches:
further comprising a step of performing a surface cleaning within the reaction chamber (According to Applicant’s specification the surface cleaning step is done with a reducing agent. ¶ 0066. The reducing agent according to ¶ 0050 is the molybdenum precursor. Therefore, according to Applicant’s specification one can use the molybdenum precursor to clean the surface of the substrate. Thus, according to the specification by using the molybdenum precursor one is inherently, alternatively obviously, cleaning the surface of the substrate.).
Regarding claim 18, Zope teaches:
wherein a plasma-assisted deposition process comprises a cyclical plasma-assisted deposition process, wherein a reducing agent is continually flowed to the reaction chamber during one or more cycles of the cyclical plasma-assisted deposition process (¶¶ 0073-74, where the reducing agent, e.g. the MoCl5, is flowed continuously during its cycle time and then purged.).
Regarding claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
The difference between claim 19 and claim 1 is the limitation…
wherein the deposited molybdenum is greater than 70% conformal on the first material and on the second material.
This limitation would have been inherent, alternatively obvious, over the prior art as the purpose of the prior art as having the layers be “extremely” conformal is a common requisite of
the prior art, ¶ 0004, and to have this conformality at an atomic level control. ¶ 0006.
Regarding claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1 and claim 13 above.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zope, in view of Lu et al. (US 6,100,188) (“Lu”).
Regarding claim 11, Zope does not teach:
wherein a plasma power during the step of using the plasma-assisted deposition process is greater than 125 W.
Because Zope does not teach the required power it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to search for another reference. This search would have led to Lu.
Lu teaches:
wherein a plasma power during the step of using the plasma-assisted deposition process is greater than 125 W (¶ 0033).
It would have been obvious to use the power of Lu as Lu teaches a similar process to Zope in forming the molybdenum films.
Regarding claim 12, Lu teaches:
wherein a plasma power during the step of using the plasma-assisted deposition process is between 125 W and 750 W (¶ 0033).
Conclusion
/VINCENT WALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898