Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments, see page 4, line 10, filed 15 December 2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakayama et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2017-096017 A), hereinafter Nakayama; have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that by amending the preamble of Claim 1 to further describe the photocurable composition with the added words of “an optical imprint lithography” before “photocurable composition.” MPEP § 2111.02(II) states: “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020)” This amended limitation to the preamble merely states the intended use of the composition and does not itself further limit Claim 1 of the present application. Thus, said amendment is not further limiting and the rejection of record is maintained.
2. Applicant’s arguments, see page 4, line 20, filed 15 December 2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sakida et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2008-202022 A), hereinafter Sakida; have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the teaching by Sakida of a content of the metal oxide nanoparticles 0.1-50 mass % with respect to the total mass of the composition and 35-99 mass % of the photopolymerizable compound with respect to the total mass of the composition. Thus, with respect to the content of the metal oxide nanoparticles by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total content of the metal oxide nanoparticle and the photopolymerizable compound is as much as 58.8 mass %, i.e. (50)/(35+50). Applicant argues that Sakita teaches away from having a content of the metal oxide nanoparticle of greater than 50%. But that is not the only way to achieve a greater content of the metal oxide nanoparticles by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total content of the metal oxide nanoparticle and the photopolymerizable compound. Alternatively reducing the amount of photopolymerizable compound would achieve the same thing. Sakita does not teach away from a content of less than 35 mass % of photopolymerizable compound with respect to the total mass of the composition and 58.8 mass % is merely close to the claimed 60 mass % of metal oxide nanoparticles with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total content of the metal oxide nanoparticle and the photopolymerizable compound. MPEP § 2144.05(I) states: “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).” Herein the content of metal oxide nanoparticles with respect to the total content of metal oxide nanoparticles and photopolymerizable compound is very close to the teaching of the prior art Sakita that a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect composition having 58.8 mass % versus 60 mass % of metal oxide nanoparticles with respect to the total content of metal oxide nanoparticles and photopolymerizable compound to have the same properties. Thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection of record is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakayama et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2017-096017 A), hereinafter Nakayama.
6. Regarding Claims 1-2, Nakayama teaches (Paragraphs [0050-0059], Table 1) a photocurable composition. Nakayama teaches (Paragraphs [0050-0059], Table 1) metal oxide nanoparticles. Nakayama teaches (Paragraphs [0050-0059], Table 1) a photopolymerizable compound. Nakayama teaches (Paragraphs [0050-0059], Table 1) a photoradical polymerization initiator. Nakayama teaches (Paragraphs [0050-0059], Table 1) the content of the photoradical polymerization initiator is 10 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total content of the metal oxide nanoparticles and the photopolymerizable compound. Nakayama teaches (Paragraphs [0050-0059], Table 1) the metal oxide nanoparticles have a volume-average primary particle diameter of 100 nm or less. Nakayama teaches (Paragraphs [0050-0059], Table 1) the content of the metal oxide nanoparticles is 60 to 90 parts by mass and the content of the photopolymerizable compound is 10 to 40 parts by mass, with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total content of the metal oxide nanoparticle and the photopolymerizable compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sakida et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2008-202022 A), hereinafter Sakida.
10. Regarding Claims 1-2 and 4-5, Sakida teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0035]) a photocurable composition, therein a curable composition. Sakida teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0035]) metal oxide nanoparticles, therein inorganic oxide fine particles. Sakida teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0035]) a photopolymerizable compound, therein a polymerizable unsaturated monomer. Sakida teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0035]) a photoradical polymerization initiator. Sakida teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0035]) the content of the photoradical polymerization initiator is 10 parts by mass or more with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total content of the metal oxide nanoparticles and the photopolymerizable compound. Sakida teaches (Paragraph [0106]) the metal oxide nanoparticles have a volume-average primary particle diameter of 100 nm or less. Sakida teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0035]) the content of the metal oxide nanoparticles is 58.8 parts by mass and the content of the photopolymerizable compound is 10 to 40 parts by mass, with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total content of the metal oxide nanoparticle and the photopolymerizable compound. Sakida teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0035]) a cured film formed of the photocurable composition has a refractive index of 1.70 or more at a wavelength of 530 nm. Sakida teaches (Paragraph [0106]) a cured film having a film thickness of 600 nm, which is formed of the photocurable composition, has a haze value of 0.4% or less as measured in accordance with ASTM D100. Sakida teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0035]) the photocurable composition is used for optical imprint lithography.
11. Herein, Sakita does not teach away from a content of less than 35 mass % of photopolymerizable compound with respect to the total mass of the composition and 58.8 mass % is merely close to the claimed 60 mass % of metal oxide nanoparticles with respect to 100 parts by mass of the total content of the metal oxide nanoparticle and the photopolymerizable compound. MPEP § 2144.05(I) states: “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).” Herein the content of metal oxide nanoparticles with respect to the total content of metal oxide nanoparticles and photopolymerizable compound is very close to the teaching of the prior art Sakita that a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect composition having 58.8 mass % versus 60 mass % of metal oxide nanoparticles with respect to the total content of metal oxide nanoparticles and photopolymerizable compound to have the same properties. Furthermore, the limitations of Claim 1 of the present application are not found in a single experimental example of the prior art. That said, the specification of Sakida teach each limitation and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the prior art elements taught by Sakida according to known methods taught by Sakida to yield predictable results.
12. Also, Claims 4-5 of the present application have material property limitations, i.e. refractive index and haze value. MPEP § 2112.01(II) states: "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Herein, the prior art teaches all material and composition limitations of the claims and thus the material property limitations are also met.
Conclusion
13. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737