DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 12/30/25 is acknowledged. Claims 8-10 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 C.F.R. 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 9/8/23 have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 9/8/23 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Higashino et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0213594).
Referring to figures 6-54, Higashino et al. teaches a semiconductor chip manufacturing method, comprising:
preparing a stacked substrate (1W) including a first semiconductor substrate (1S), a device layer (see paragraphs# 76-79), a separation layer (4a), and a third semiconductor substrate (4) in this order (see figures 6-7, paragraph# 97);
dicing the first semiconductor substrate, the device layer, and the separation layer (see figures 9-10, paragraphs# 99-102);
attaching the diced stacked substrate to a tape (10a) from an opposite side to the third semiconductor substrate, and mounting the diced stacked substrate to a frame (10b) with the tape therebetween (see figures 14, paragraph# 109);
radiating, after mounting the stacked substrate to the frame, a laser beam penetrating the third semiconductor substrate to the separation layer to form a modification layer at an interface between the third semiconductor substrate and the separation layer, or at an inside of the separation layer (see paragraph# 111); and
separating the third semiconductor substrate and the separation layer starting from the modification layer formed at the interface between the third semiconductor substrate and the separation layer or at the inside of the separation layer (see paragraphs# 113-116, figures 6-21).
Regarding to claim 2, the stacked substrate includes a gettering layer formed on a surface of the first semiconductor substrate opposite to the device layer before the dicing, and the dicing includes dicing the gettering layer (see paragraph# 98, see figure 8).
Regarding to claim 6, the mounting of the stacked substrate (W) to the frame (10b) includes attaching a die attach film formed on a surface of the tape (10a) and the first semiconductor substrate to face each other (see figure 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higashino et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2010/0213594) as applied to claims 1-2, 6 in view of Yamazaki et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0280417).
Referring to figures 6-54, Higashino et al. teaches a semiconductor chip manufacturing method, comprising:
preparing a stacked substrate (1W) including a first semiconductor substrate (1S), a device layer (see paragraphs# 76-79), a separation layer (4a), and a third semiconductor substrate (4) in this order (see figures 6-7, paragraph# 97);
dicing the first semiconductor substrate, the device layer, and the separation layer (see figures 9-10, paragraphs# 99-102);
attaching the diced stacked substrate to a tape (10a) from an opposite side to the third semiconductor substrate, and mounting the diced stacked substrate to a frame (10b) with the tape therebetween (see figures 14, paragraph# 109);
radiating, after mounting the stacked substrate to the frame, a laser beam penetrating the third semiconductor substrate to the separation layer to form a modification layer at an interface between the third semiconductor substrate and the separation layer, or at an inside of the separation layer (see paragraph# 111); and
separating the third semiconductor substrate and the separation layer starting from the modification layer formed at the interface between the third semiconductor substrate and the separation layer or at the inside of the separation layer (see paragraphs# 113-116, figures 6-21).
However, the reference does not clearly teach the gettering layer is a thermal oxide layer formed by thermally oxidizing the surface of the first semiconductor substrate.
Yamazaki et al. teaches the gettering layer is a thermal oxide layer formed by thermally oxidizing the surface of the first semiconductor substrate (see paragraph# 106, figure 8a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a thermal oxide layer formed by thermally oxidizing the surface of the first semiconductor substrate in Higashino et al as taught by Yamazaki et al. because thermal oxide would provide excellent interface and high electrical layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the prior art teaches or suggests the stacked substrate includes a die attach film formed on a surface of the gettering layer opposite to the first semiconductor substrate before the dicing, and the dicing includes dicing the die attach film (in claim 4), the stacked substrate includes a die attach film formed on a surface of the first semiconductor substrate opposite to the device layer before the dicing, and the dicing includes dicing the die attach film (in claim 5) and; the device layer includes a first device layer formed on a surface of the first semiconductor substrate, and a second device layer bonded to the first device layer (in claim 7).
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893