CTNF 18/552,957 CTNF 87597 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Election/Restrictions 1 . Applicant's election, without traverse, of claims 12-25 in the “Response to Restriction Requirement” filed on 02/06/2026 is acknowledged and entered by the Examiner. This office action consider claims 12-27 pending for prosecution, wherein claims 26-27 are withdrawn from further consideration, and claims 12-25 are presented for examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Notes : when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as ( 100 ; Fig 3A; [0063]) = (element 100 ; Figure No. 3A; Paragraph No. [0063]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document. 07-15 AIA 2. Claim s 12-19 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20160233084 A1; hereinafter Chen ) . Regarding claim 12 , Chen teaches a film forming method of forming a film containing at least silicon and oxygen on a substrate ( see the entire document, specifically Fig. 1+; [0003+], and as cited below ), the method comprising: a) supplying a metal-containing catalyst ( 204 ; [0031]) to the substrate ( 302 ; Figs. 3A-3D, 2, 1; [0164]); b) supplying a hydrogen-containing gas ( 206 ; [0032]) to the substrate ( 302 ; Figs. 3A-3D, 2, 1; [0164]); and c) supplying a silicon precursor ( 208 ; [0033]) containing silanol to the substrate ( 302 ; Figs. 3A-3D, 2, 1; [0164]). Regarding claim 13 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 12. Chen further teaches wherein a), b), and c) are performed non- simultaneously (see 204, 206, 208 ; [0031-0033]). Regarding claim 14 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 13. Chen further teaches wherein a first step of performing a), a second step of performing b) after the first step, and a third step of performing c) after the second step are repeated a plurality of times (see [0034]) in view of [0031-0033]). Regarding claim 15 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 14. Chen further teaches wherein the metal-containing catalyst includes a metal, semimetal or compound thereof having a Lewis acid property ( 204 ; [0031]). Regarding claim 16 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 15. Chen further teaches wherein the metal contained in the metal- containing catalyst includes at least one of Al, Co, Hf, Ni, Pt, Ru, W, Zr, Ti, B, Ga, In, Zn, Mg, or Ta (see [0031]; aluminum ). Regarding claim 17 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 16. Chen further teaches wherein b) includes generating a hydrogen radical from the hydrogen-containing gas and supplying the hydrogen radical to the substrate (see [0032]). Regarding claim 18 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 17. Chen further teaches wherein the hydrogen-containing gas includes at least one of a H 2 gas, a D 2 gas, a H 2 0 gas, a NH 3 gas, a silicon hydride gas, a PH 3 gas, a B 2 H 6 gas, or a hydrocarbon gas (see [0032]). Regarding claim 19 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 12. Chen further teaches wherein a fourth step of performing a), a fifth step of performing b) after the fourth step, and a sixth step of performing c) after the fifth step are repeated a plurality of times (see [0034]) in view of [0031-0033]). Regarding claim 22 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 12. Chen further teaches wherein the metal-containing catalyst includes a metal, semimetal or compound thereof having a Lewis acid property ( 204 ; [0031]). Regarding claim 23 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 22. Chen further teaches wherein the metal contained in the metal- containing catalyst includes at least one of Al, Co, Hf, Ni, Pt, Ru, W, Zr, Ti, B, Ga, In, Zn, Mg, or Ta (see [0031]; aluminum ). Regarding claim 24 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 12. Chen further teaches wherein b) includes generating a hydrogen radical from the hydrogen-containing gas and supplying the hydrogen radical to the substrate (see [0032]). Regarding claim 25 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 24. Chen further teaches wherein the hydrogen-containing gas includes at least one of a H 2 gas, a D 2 gas, a H 2 0 gas, a NH 3 gas, a silicon hydride gas, a PH 3 gas, a B 2 H 6 gas, or a hydrocarbon gas (see [0032]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Notes : when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as ( 30A ; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A ; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document. 07-21-aia AIA 3. Claim s 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 20160233084 A1; hereinafter Chen ), in view of the following statement . Regarding claim 20 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 12. Chen further teaches wherein a seventh step of performing a), and (see below for “ a eighth step of alternately repeating b) and c) after the seventh step are repeated a plurality of times ”). As noted above, Chen does not expressly disclose “wherein a seventh step of performing a), and a eighth step of alternately repeating b) and c) after the seventh step are repeated a plurality of times” . However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed “wherein a seventh step of performing a), and a eighth step of alternately repeating b) and c) after the seventh step are repeated a plurality of times ” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without wherein a seventh step of performing a), and a eighth step of alternately repeating b) and c) after the seventh step are repeated a plurality of times ). Also, the Applicant has not shown that “wherein a seventh step of performing a), and a eighth step of alternately repeating b) and c) after the seventh step are repeated a plurality of times ” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. Instead, Claim 21 of the instant disclosure discloses other possible options such as “wherein a nineth step of alternately repeating a) and b) and a tenth step of performing c) after the nineth step are repeated a plurality of times”, and Claim 19 of the instant disclosure discloses other possible options such as “wherein a fourth step of performing a), a fifth step of performing b) after the fourth step, and a sixth step of performing c) after the fifth step are repeated a plurality of times”. Therefore, no rationale is given that the invention will not function without “wherein a seventh step of performing a), and a eighth step of alternately repeating b) and c) after the seventh step are repeated a plurality of times ”. Thus, the claimed “wherein a seventh step of performing a), and a eighth step of alternately repeating b) and c) after the seventh step are repeated a plurality of times ” is not critical to the invention. In view of the above, as there is no persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of “wherein a seventh step of performing a), and a eighth step of alternately repeating b) and c) after the seventh step are repeated a plurality of times ” is significant. Thus, the claimed limitation of “wherein a seventh step of performing a), and a eighth step of alternately repeating b) and c) after the seventh step are repeated a plurality of times ” is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. Therefore, the claimed limitation of “wherein a seventh step of performing a), and a eighth step of alternately repeating b) and c) after the seventh step are repeated a plurality of times ” is not patentable over Chen . Regarding claim 21 , Chen teaches all of the features of claim 12. Chen further teaches wherein a nineth step of alternately repeating a) and (see below for “ b) and a tenth step of performing c) after the nineth step are repeated a plurality of times ”). As noted above, Chen does not expressly disclose “wherein a nineth step of alternately repeating a) and b) and a tenth step of performing c) after the nineth step are repeated a plurality of times” . However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed “wherein a nineth step of alternately repeating a) and b) and a tenth step of performing c) after the nineth step are repeated a plurality of times ” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without wherein a nineth step of alternately repeating a) and b) and a tenth step of performing c) after the nineth step are repeated a plurality of times ). Also, the Applicant has not shown that “wherein a nineth step of alternately repeating a) and b) and a tenth step of performing c) after the nineth step are repeated a plurality of times ” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. Instead, Claim 20 of the instant disclosure discloses other possible options such as “wherein a seventh step of performing a), and a eighth step of alternately repeating b) and c) after the seventh step are repeated a plurality of times”, and Claim 19 of the instant disclosure discloses other possible options such as “wherein a fourth step of performing a), a fifth step of performing b) after the fourth step, and a sixth step of performing c) after the fifth step are repeated a plurality of times”. Therefore, no rationale is given that the invention will not function without “wherein a nineth step of alternately repeating a) and b) and a tenth step of performing c) after the nineth step are repeated a plurality of times ”. Thus, the claimed “wherein a nineth step of alternately repeating a) and b) and a tenth step of performing c) after the nineth step are repeated a plurality of times ” is not critical to the invention. In view of the above, as there is no persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of “wherein a nineth step of alternately repeating a) and b) and a tenth step of performing c) after the nineth step are repeated a plurality of times ” is significant. Thus, the claimed limitation of “wherein a nineth step of alternately repeating a) and b) and a tenth step of performing c) after the nineth step are repeated a plurality of times ” is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious. Therefore, the claimed limitation of “wherein a nineth step of alternately repeating a) and b) and a tenth step of performing c) after the nineth step are repeated a plurality of times ” is not patentable over modified Chen. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Omar Mojaddedi whose telephone number is 313-446-6582. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julio J. Maldonado, can be reached on 571-272-1864. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /OMAR F MOJADDEDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/552,957 Page 2 Art Unit: 2898