DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on December 31, 2025 is acknowledged. Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fan et al. (US20240021435).
Regarding claim 1, Fan discloses an etching method of etching a metal on a substrate (abstract), the etching method comprising: (a) modifying a surface layer of the metal into a halide-containing surface layer by exposing the metal to a halogen-containing gas (claim 1); (b) removing the halide-containing surface layer by exposing the halide-containing surface layer to a gas containing carbon (C) and oxygen (O) (CO, claims 1 and 3); and (c) repeating the step of (a) and the step of (b) in this order (claim 7).
Regarding claims 2-3, Fan discloses wherein the metal is Fe (paragraph 0031).
Regarding claims 4-5, Fan discloses wherein the halogen-containing gas includes Cl2 (claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Fan discloses wherein the gas containing C and O includes CO (claim 3).
Regarding claim 7, Fan discloses wherein in the step of (b), the halide-containing surface layer is carbonylated and removed by the gas containing C and O (paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 8, Fan discloses wherein in the step of (a) and the step of (b), a temperature of a stage on which the substrate is placed is controlled so that a temperature of the substrate ranges from 60 degrees C to 200 degrees C (paragraphs 0029 and 0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Fan et al. (US20240021435) as applied to claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 9, Fan discloses wherein in the step of (a) and the step of (b), the temperature of the stage is controlled so that the temperature of the substrate ranges from 60 degrees C to 200 degrees C (paragraphs 0029 and 0032), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713