DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
The amendment made to claim 1 and the withdrawal of claim 10, as filed on May 1, 2026, are acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new ground(s) of rejection in this Office Action necessitated by the amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blomberg et al. (US20190249312).
Regarding claim 1, Blomberg discloses an etching method of etching a metal on a substrate (abstract and paragraph 0115), the etching method comprising: (a) modifying a surface layer of the metal into a halide-containing surface layer by exposing the metal to a halogen-containing gas (paragraphs 0004); (b) removing the halide-containing surface layer by exposing the halide-containing surface layer to a gas containing carbon (C) and oxygen (O) (COS comprises carbon and oxygen, paragraphs 0018); and (c) repeating the step of (a) and the step of (b) in this order (paragraph 0005).
Regarding claims 2-3, Blomberg discloses wherein the metal is Fe (paragraph 0115).
Regarding claims 4-5, Blomberg discloses wherein the halogen-containing gas includes HF (paragraph 0076).
Regarding claim 6, Blomberg discloses wherein the gas containing C and O includes CH2O (HCOOH, paragraph 0004 and claim 23).
Regarding claim 7, Blomberg discloses wherein in the step of (b), the halide-containing surface layer is carbonylated and removed by the gas containing C and O (paragraphs 0004 and 0018).
Regarding claim 8, Blomberg discloses wherein in the step of (a) and the step of (b), a temperature of a stage on which the substrate is placed is controlled so that a temperature of the substrate ranges from 300 degrees C to 500 degrees C (paragraph 0023).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Blomberg et al. (US20190249312) as applied to claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 9, Blomberg discloses wherein in the step of (a) and the step of (b), the temperature of the stage is controlled so that the temperature of the substrate ranges from 300 degrees C to 500 degrees C (paragraph 0023), which overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713