DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/20/2023 and 06/10/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
The second claim set filed 10/20/2023 has been considered by Examiner.
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-14 are currently amended; Claims 1-15 have been fully considered in Examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0229149A1) in view of Yeh (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0104128A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo teaches a method [see fig. 2, 0012] for forming a matrix (187, at least 3x3 matrix shown) fig. 2 [0013] of light-emitting diode, LED, elements (blue, red, green LED-subpixels) fig. 2-223 [0018] of different colours (R, G, B) [0018], comprising:
epitaxially growing a first layer (n-GaN, MQW-B, p-GaN; in blue s-pix site [0015]) fig. 2-201 [0015, 0032-0034] on (supported by left sidewall of) a GaN sacrificial layer (middle-right p-GaN) fig. 2-201 [0015], the first layer (n-GaN, MQW-B, p-GaN; in blue s-pix site [0015]) fig. 2-201 [0015, 0032-0034] comprising a stacked structure of a first n-doped GaN layer (left n-GaN) fig. 2-201 [0015], a first p-doped GaN layer (left p-GaN) fig. 2-201 [0015], and a first InxGa(1-x)N layer (left MQW-B) fig. 2-201 [0015] arranged (vertically) therebetween, wherein x lies within the range of 0.10- 0.75 (for blue pixel MQW-B, x ~ 0.15-0.20 [0034]);
patterning the first layer (removing excessive MQW-B material) [0016-0017] to form a first array (column) (implemented in plurality 187/189) fig. 2 [0013] of first LED elements (n-GaN, MQW-B, p-GaN; in blue s-pix site [0015]) fig. 2-223 [0015, 0032-0034] arranged to emit light of a first colour (blue);
forming a first etch mask (second passivation layer) fig. 2-203 [0016] protecting the first array (blue-LED’s) and comprising a plurality of first trenches (middle trench) [0016] (implemented in 3x3 plurality 187) fig. 2 [0013] exposing the sacrificial layer (right p-GaN) fig. 2-207 [0016];
epitaxially growing a second array of second LED elements (n-GaN, MQW-G, p-GaN; in green s-pix site [0016]) fig. 2-209 [0016, 0032-0034] in the plurality of first trenches (middle trench) [0016], wherein the second LED elements (comprising green MQW-G) are arranged to emit light of a second colour (green) and comprise a stacked structure of a second n-doped GaN layer (middle n-GaN) [0016], a second p-doped GaN layer (middle p-GaN [0016]), and a second InyGa(1-y)N layer (left MQW-B) fig. 2-209 [0016] arranged therebetween, wherein y lies within the range of 0.20-0.28 (for green pixel MQW-G, y ~ 0.20-0.25 [0034]);
forming a second etch mask (third passivation layer) fig. 2-211 [0016] protecting the second array (green pixels) and comprising a plurality of second trenches (right trenches) [0017] exposing the (right sidewall of) sacrificial layer (middle-right p-GaN) fig. 2-213 [0016-0017]; and
epitaxially growing a third array of third LED elements (n-GaN, MQW-R, p-GaN; in red s-pix site [0016]) fig. 2-217 [0017, 0032-0034] in the plurality of second trenches (right trench), wherein the third LED elements (n-GaN, MQW-R, p-GaN; in red s-pix site [0016]) fig. 2-217 [0017, 0032-0034] are arranged to emit light of a third colour (red) and comprise a stacked structure of a third n-doped GaN layer (right n-GaN) [0017], a third p-doped GaN layer (right p-GaN) [0017], and a third InzGa(1-z)N layer (right MQW-R [0017]) arranged therebetween,
wherein the first (B-LED-sub_pixels), second (G-LED-sub_pixels) and third arrays (R-LED-sub_pixels) (implemented in 3x3 plurality 187) fig. 2 [0013] form the matrix (implemented in 3x3 matrix 187) fig. 2 [0013].
However, Yoo does not explicitly disclose wherein z (for a third InzGa(1-z)N layer used in red LED [0017, 0032-0034]) lies within the range of 0.28-0.33 (concentration not specified).
Yeh teaches a method [see title] wherein z (for InzGa(1-z)N layer (4) fig. 1 [0033] used in red LED [0033]) lies within the range of 0.28-0.33 (may be greater than about 30% [0033], i.e, z ~ 0.31 for red MQW [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yoo such that the InGaN MQW layer intended for red light emission [0033] to comprise indium in a relative concentration on the order of about 30% indium [0033] in order to ensure fully-functional red output [0033-0034] with high spectral purity and output power [0034], as taught by Yeh.
Regarding claim 2, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 1. Yoo also teaches wherein the first InxGa(1-x)N layer (MQW-B) fig. 2-223 [0016, 0034] [0018] has a thickness of 0.5-3 nm (2nm [0034]), the second InyGa(1-y)N layer (MQW-G) fig. 2-223 [0016, 0034] has a thickness of 2-3 nm (2nm [0034]).
However, Yoo does not explicitly disclose and the third InzGa(1-z)N layer (MQW-R) fig. 2-223 [0017, 0034] has a thickness of 2.8-3.5 nm (thickness for MQW-R not specified).
Yeh teaches a method [see title] wherein the third InzGa(1-z)N layer (for InzGa(1-z)N layer (4) fig. 1 [0033] used in red LED [0033]) has a thickness of 2.8-3.5 nm (each MQW-Red may be about 3nm thick [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yoo such that the InGaN MQW layer intended for red light emission [0033] to have a thickness on the order of a few nm [0033] in order to, along with other features, ensure fully-functional red output [0033-0034] with high spectral purity and output power [0034], as taught by Yeh.
Regarding claim 4, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 1. Yoo also teaches wherein the GaN sacrificial layer (middle-right p-GaN) fig. 2-201 [0015] is p-doped [0015-0016].
Regarding claim 5, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 1. Yoo also teaches wherein the matrix is configured to form a plurality of pixels (implemented in 3x3 plurality 187) fig. 2 [0013] for a display device [0009-0012], and wherein each pixel (R, G, B) is formed of at least one of the first LED elements (B) and a plurality of the second (G) and third ® LED elements (respectively comprising blue, green, red light emitting sub-pixel-areas) fig. 2-223 [0018].
Regarding claim 6, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 1. Yoo also teaches wherein the first colour (B) is blue [0015-0018], the second colour (G) is green [0016-0018] and the third colour (R) is red [0017-0018]
Regarding claim 7, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 1. Yoo also teaches further comprising forming AlGaN barrier layers (buffer-BG’s) fig. 2-223 [0019] (buffer-BG = AlGaN/GaN bilayer [0019]) abutting opposite sides (left/right sidewalls) of at least one of the first InxGa(1-x)N layer (MQW-B) fig. 2-223 [0016, 0019] and the second InyGa(1-y)N layer (MQW-G) fig. 2-223 [0016, 0019].
Regarding claim 8, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 7. Yoo also teaches further comprising forming an undoped GaN layer (buffer-BG = AlGaN/GaN bilayer [0019]) fig. 2-223 [0019] abutting at least one of the AlGaN barrier layers (AlGaN/GaN bilayer mutually-abutting each other presumably undoped [0019]).
Regarding claim 9, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 1. Yoo also teaches wherein the first etch mask (second passivation layer) fig. 2-203 [0016] and the second etch mask (third passivation layer) fig. 2-211 [0016] are hardmasks (of SiN [0014-0015]).
Regarding claim 10, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 1. Yoo also teaches wherein the second etch mask (third passivation layer) fig. 2-211 [0016] is formed by covering the second array of second LED elements (comprising middle MQW-G) fig. 2-211[0016] with a mask material (third passivation layer) fig. 2-211 [0016] (SiN) [0014-0015] and forming the plurality of second trenches (middle trench) fig. 2-207 [0016] in the layer forming the first etch mask (second passivation layer) fig. 2-203 [0016].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0229149A1) in view of Oohata (U.S. PG Pub No US2003/0160258A1).
Regarding claim 3, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 1. Yoo also teaches wherein a maximum lateral width of each of the first LED elements (comprising MQW-B) fig. 2-223 [0016, 0034] [0018] lies within the range of 0.1-25 microns (sub-pixel may be 1-12 microns in width [0009]).
However, Yoo does not explicitly disclose wherein a maximum lateral width of each of the second LED elements (comprising MQW-G) fig. 2-223 [0016, 0034] [0018] lies within the range of 2-3 nm, and/or wherein a maximum lateral width of each of the third LED elements (MQW-R) fig. 2-223 [0016, 0034] [0018] lies within the range of 2.8-3.5 nm.
Oohata teaches a method [see title] wherein a maximum lateral width of each of the third LED elements (maximum width taken near uppermost level of 2) fig. 5 [0061] lies within the range of 2.8-3.5 nm (width of InGaN layer 2 varies from microns [0064, 0066] to less than one nm / atom-wide at upper tip; maximum lateral width at a given level therebetween necessarily is about 3nm to the closest atomic-width).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yoo such that gallium-nitride materials of the LED are slanted so as to produce an upper corner of atomic-width [0060-0061] in order to reduce crystal defects [0061] so that internal light emission efficiency is higher [0061] and luminance is enhanced [0061], as taught by Oohata.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0229149A1) modified by Yeh (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0104128A1), as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Pezeshki (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0208337A1).
Regarding claim 11, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 1. Yoo also teaches wherein the GaN sacrificial layer (middle-right p-GaN) fig. 2-201 [0015] is arranged on a substrate ((111) substrate) [0019] comprising a layer comprising a plurality of AIN pillars (isolation sidewalls 184/185) fig. 2-183 [0013], and wherein the plurality of pillars (184/185) are (partially) embedded by the material of the GaN sacrificial layer (middle-right p-GaN) fig. 2-201 [0015].
However, Yoo does not explicitly disclose comprising a plurality of AIN pillars (141) (SiO2 instead [0013]).
Pezeshki teaches a method [see title] comprising a plurality of AIN pillars (passivation coating (not shown) around pillars could be AlN instead of SiO2 [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yoo such that the pillars between the conductive LED layers of Yoo are formed, at least in part, by AlN instead of SiO2 [0042] because of the material’s suitable dielectric passivation properties [0042] as well as favorabel opical properties [0042], as taught by Pezeshki.
Regarding claim 12, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 11. Yoo also teaches further comprising:
forming a plurality of third trenches (left trenches hosting MQW-B) fig. 2-201 [0016] between at least some of the first (left), second (middle) and third (right) LED elements (between first and second and first and third LED elements), the plurality of third trenches (left trenches between 184/185 pillars) extending down to the layer comprising the plurality of pillars (184/185);
selectively removing at least some of the material of the GaN sacrificial layer (middle-p-type GaN removed) fig. 2 207 [0016] between the plurality of pillars (left/right 184/185 SiO2 pillars) [0013, 0015].
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0229149A1) modified by Yeh (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0104128A1) and Pezeshki (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0208337A1), as applied in claim 11 above, and further in view of Yu (U.S PG Pub No US2012/0256187A1).
Regarding claim 13, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 12. However, Yoo does not explicitly disclose
bonding the first (B-LED-sub_pixels), second (G-LED-sub_pixels) and third (R-LED-sub_pixels) LED elements [see fig. 2-223] to a carrier substrate;
followed by:
releasing the first (B-LED-sub_pixels), second (G-LED-sub_pixels) and third (R-LED-sub_pixels) LED elements [see fig. 2-223] elements from the substrate ((111) substrate)) by removing the plurality of pillars (left/right 184/185 SiO2 pillars) [0013, 0015].
Yu teaches a method [see title, 0033] comprising
bonding the first, second and third LED elements (plurality of LED elements 124a-b) fig. 12 [0033] to a carrier substrate (150) fig. 13 [0033];
followed by:
releasing the first, second and third LED elements (plurality of LED elements 124a-b) from the substrate (102) fig. 12 [0032] by removing the plurality of pillars (partially-removing pillar shaped portions of 126 from each other [0020, figs. 13-14]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yoo such that the light emitting elements are further processed by use of a carrier substrate [0032-0033] in order to facilitate further selective processing and transfer [0039] into a larger array [0049], reducing manufacturing costs and improving LED assembly quality [0049], as taught by Yu.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0229149A1) in view of Yeh (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0104128A1), as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Strassburg (U.S. PG Pub No US2014/0353581A1).
Regarding claim 14, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 1. However, Yoo does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
forming a fourth LED element below at least one of the first (B-LED-sub_pixels), second (G-LED-sub_pixels) and third (R-LED-sub_pixels) LED elements [see fig. 2-223], wherein the fourth LED element comprises a fourth IndGa(1-d)N layer (212) for optically pumping said first InxGa(1-x)N, second InyGa(1-y)N or third InzGa(1-z)N layer [0016-0017, 0032-0034].
Strassburg teaches a method [see title, 0055] further comprising:
forming a fourth LED element (a first individual column l) fig. 1 [0057] (partially) below at least one of the first (a second individual column spanning l) [0057], second (a third individual column spanning l) [0057] and third (a fourth individual column spanning l) [0057], wherein the fourth LED element comprises a fourth IndGa(1-d)N layer (a first column comprising a first 6-layer) fig. 1 [0041-0045] for optically pumping (enabling collective optical pumping of) said first InxGa(1-x)N, second InyGa(1-y)N or third InzGa(1-z)N layer (lower layer 21 enables optical pumping of upper LED structures shown in fig. 1 [0062-0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yoo such that the LED elements are implemented as the stacked columns of Strassburg [0041-0045, 0057] in order to enable optical pumping [0064] that enhances light generation of the display system comprising a plurality of LED elements [0046], as taught by Strasburg.
Regarding claim 15, Yoo teaches the method [see fig. 2, 0012] of claim 14. Yoo in view of Strassburg also teaches wherein the indium composition d is less than 0.05 (may comprise a n+ layer with indium content of about 3% [0043]) and the fourth IndGa(1-d)N layer (a first column comprising a first 6-layer) fig. 1 [0041-0045] has a thickness of 1-6 nm (individual spacer layer may be about 2-5 nm [0045]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
All references made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature LED’s with most of the claimed layers.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 12/08/2025
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892