DETAILED ACTION
Claims 13-25 are pending in this application, which is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/017517. Amended claims 16, 21 are noted.
The amendment dated 08/10/2026 has been entered and carefully considered. The examiner appreciates the amendments to the title and claims. In view of said amendments, the objection to the title and the 112 rejection have been withdrawn. In view of the arguments on p.12 with respect to the inert gas, the obviousness double patenting rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim 25 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-21, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (2020/0017968).
Kato teaches a deposition method (title) which includes forming an adsorption inhibiting region on a substrate and adsorbing a raw material gas on an adsorption site which is not a non-adsorption inhibiting region and reacting said raw material gas with a reactant gas by a plasma (abstract). The adsorption inhibiting region is formed using an adsorption inhibiting gas (0034) and the nitride film can be formed in a fine recess on a substrate surface (0003). In one embodiment, the plasma is used to activate a nitride gas (0006) which is reacted with a silicon containing gas used as a raw material gas (0034) to form a silicon nitride film (0037). The nitride gas can be ammonia (0034) used along with an inert gas (0084) in which both flow rates are controlled (0058). However, the reference fails to teach a nitrogen containing gas having a greater flow rate than the inert gas.
It is noted that the reference clearly teaches a nitride gas whose flow rate is controlled by a flow controller and that a mixture of ammonia and argon is used and that each can be supplied separately (0058). A teaching of supplying ammonia and argon separately inherently means that a flow rate of each is utilized. To use more ammonia would have been obvious given such a teaching in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 14, Kato teaches repeating (0120).
Regarding claim 15, Kato teaches ammonia and argon (0084).
Regarding claim 16, Kato teaches a plasma (0034-0038).
Regarding claims 17-18, the applicant requires sequential exposure to plasma. Kato teaches a plasma (0034-0036). In general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. Pat. App. 1959)
Regarding claim 19, the applicant requires repeating and sequential exposure to plasma. Kato teaches repeating (0120) and a plasma (0034-0036). In general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes.
Regarding claim 20, the applicant requires a mixed gas and sequential exposure to plasma. Kato teaches a mixed gas (0037) and a plasma (0034-0036). In general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes.
Regarding claim 21, Kato teaches a plasma and chlorine (0034-0038).
Regarding claim 24, Kato teaches chlorine (0037).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (2020/0017968) in view of JP 2018-523753 (see English Translation). Kato fails to teach modifying gas plasma.
JP’753 teaches a method for depositing silicon nitride films (title) in which a precursor is reacted in the presence of a plasma (abstract). In one embodiment, a post-deposition plasma treatment can be utilized (paragraph bridging pp.11-12). To utilize a post-deposition plasma in Kato would have been obvious to one skilled in the art with the expectation of success because JP’573 teaches of using a post-deposition plasma after forming a silicon nitride film.
Regarding claim 23, the applicant requires a flow rate ratio. It is noted that JP’753 clearly teaches the use of a hydrogen/argon plasma. Such a teaching inherently means that a ratio of hydrogen and argon exists. To utilize the claimed ratio would have been obvious given such a teaching in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that the reference fails to teach the claimed nitrogen gas having a higher flow rate than a flow rate of the inert gas (pp.9-10).
The examiner agrees in part. As stated above, Kato clearly teaches a nitride gas whose flow rate is controlled by a flow controller and that a mixture of ammonia and argon is used and that each can be supplied separately (0058). The examiner concedes that the reference is silent on a higher flow rate of the nitrogen gas. However, a teaching of supplying ammonia and argon separately inherently means that a flow rate of each is utilized. To use more ammonia would have been obvious given such a teaching in the absence of a showing of unexpected results.
Furthermore, the respective flow rates of the nitrogen-containing gas and of the inert gas do not appear critical to the generation of plasma from the nitriding gas. Certainly there is no evidence of record to show any criticality of flow rates affecting the generation of the plasma. To that end, the claims don't reflect that the N2-containing gas and the inert gas are administered at differing flow rates, nor do they indicate the flow rate of the overall nitriding gas. All that's required is that the nitriding gas generates the plasma, a fact clearly taught by Kato.
Applicant’s arguments dated 08/10/2026 has been considered but are not deemed persuasive.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRET P CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 09/29/2026