DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This communication is a Non-Final rejection Office Action on the merits. Claim(s) 1 and 5 have been amended and claim(s) 2 and 7 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3-6, and 8 are now pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
The previous 35 USC 112 rejections are withdrawn in light of applicant's amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 5, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coudray (U.S. Patent No. 3,424,239) in view of Azad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0190113 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Coudray teaches a semi-fabricated composite shielding shell (pressure vessel; figures 1-2), comprising a concrete (prestressed concrete wall; abstract) layer (1), a reinforced (at cross-bars 16) concrete (RC) layer (2), and a back panel (8) configured to resist cracking (it is understood that the panel is capable of resisting cracking), wherein the RC layer is arranged between the concrete layer and the back panel (figure 1), and the RC layer and the concrete layer are connected to each other by connectors (14), the connectors comprise tension reinforcements (figures 1-2; it is understood that the connectors 14 are capable of reinforcing for tensile forces on the vessel), and the connectors in the concrete layer (figure 1), wherein a number of studs (10) are welded to the back panel (col. 4, lines 7-12), and the back panel is connected to the RC layer through the studs (figure 2).
Coudray does not specifically disclose an ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) and constructional steel reinforcements are arranged in the UHPC layer.
Azad et al. teaches an ultra-high performance concrete (abstract) and constructional steel reinforcements (steel fiber) are arranged in the UHPC layer (abstract).
Therefore, from the teaching of Azad et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the composite wall of Coudray to include an ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) and constructional steel reinforcements are arranged in the UHPC layer, as taught by Azad et al., in order to provide a strengthened concrete to the pressure vessel which may be beneficial in such environments under high pressure cycles to resist fatigue and reduce cracks.
In addition, although Coudray does not specifically disclose “configured to be prefabricated together” etc., the examiner would like to point out that these limitations are drawn to the method or process of forming the product. Therefore, since this claim is an apparatus claim, the prior art only needs to show the final product. Thus, since Coudray as modified teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim, the claim stands rejected. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 4, Coudray teaches the RC layer is a reinforced concrete layer casted with normal-strength concrete (col. 4, lines 55-60) and internally provided with RC layer main reinforcements (12) and RC layer tension reinforcements (16).
Regarding claim 5, Coudray does not specifically disclose the studs are made of high-strength carbon steel or low alloy steel.
However, Coudray does disclose the lining membrane is made of high-strength carbon steel or low alloy steel (low-carbon nickel steel; col. 6, lines 20-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the studs such that they are also made from the same carbon steel in order to reduce costs by not having to source further types of material and include the same material that will facilitate welding them together.
Claim(s) 3, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coudray (U.S. Patent No. 3,424,239), in view of Azad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0190113 A1), and further in view of Irniger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0025304 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Coudray as modified does not specifically disclose the UHPC layer is composed of prefabricated panels made of ultra-high performance concrete.
Irniger et al. discloses a annual construction (abstract) composed of prefabricated panels (paragraph 5) made of ultra-high performance concrete (paragraph 7).
Therefore, from the teaching of Irniger et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the modified composite wall of Coudray such that the UHPC layer is composed of prefabricated panels made of ultra-high performance concrete, as taught by Irniger et al., in order to further provide a strengthened concrete to the pressure vessel which may be beneficial in such environments under high pressure cycles to resist fatigue and reduce cracks.
Claim(s) 6 and 8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coudray (U.S. Patent No. 3,424,239), in view of Azad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0190113 A1), and in view of Gan et al. (CN110805146 A) with Espacenet translation.
Regarding claim 6, Coudray does not specifically disclose the RC layer main reinforcements of the RC layer and the RC layer tension reinforcements of the RC layer are HRB400E steel reinforcements.
Gan et al. discloses a concrete reinforcement (para 16) whereby the reinforcements are HRB400E steel reinforcements (claim 8).
Therefore, from the teaching of Gan et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the composite wall of Coudray such that the RC layer main reinforcements of the RC layer and the RC layer tension reinforcements of the RC layer are HRB400E steel reinforcements, as taught by Gan et al., in order to provide the optimal concrete reinforcement strength for the wall assembly for a high yield strength and better crack resistance.
Regarding claim 8, Coudray as modified does not specifically disclose the constructional steel reinforcements of the UHPC layer are HRB400E steel reinforcements.
Gan et al. discloses a concrete reinforcement (para 16) whereby the reinforcements are HRB400E steel reinforcements (claim 8).
Therefore, from the teaching of Gan et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the composite wall of Coudray such that the constructional steel reinforcements of the UHPC layer are HRB400E steel reinforcements, as taught by Gan et al., in order to provide the optimal concrete reinforcement strength for the wall assembly for a high yield strength and better crack resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Coudray does not specifically disclose the limitation regarding a number of studs are welded to the back panel, and the back panel is connected to the RC layer through the studs. However, the structural limitation is clearly taught as studs (10) are welded to the back panel (col. 4, lines 7-12), and the back panel is connected to the RC layer through the studs (figure 2). Applicant argues that “[r]ather, Coudray is directed to a nuclear reactor pressure vessel, which is the primary structural component of a nuclear reactor. Nuclear reactor pressure vessels house nuclear fuel assemblies and control rods, and maintain a high pressure required for a coolant to remove heat efficiently from the core. Nuclear reactor pressure vessels serve as the first and most critical safety barrier against the release of radioactive materials”, however, the argument is unclear as to how this pertains to what is in the claim limitation.
In addition, applicant argues that it is well known to one of skill in the art that there is a protective shell (e.g., containment or containment building) that surrounds the nuclear reactor pressure vessel in order to enclose the reactor coolant system and prevent release of radioactive materials into the environment in the event of an accident. As described in the instant application, "in order to protect a reactor from the effects of external events (impact of a large projectile, tornado, etc.), it is necessary to construct a containment (i.e., a shielding shell) outside the reactor." However, it is unclear as to which specific claim limitation this specification excerpt is pointing to. Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims.
In addition, applicant argues that the structure of the nuclear reactor vessel in Coudray differs greatly from modern reactor pressure vessels, which are usually made of steel…[p]articularly, as illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2 of Coudray… however, the claim is not limiting to being made of steel. The arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims.
In addition, applicant argues that “[t]he lining membrane 8 (cf. back panel) and the heat-insulating layer 2 (cf. RC layer) of Coudray differ greatly from the back panel and the RC layer, respectively, as disclosed in the instant application … Coudray discloses that "said lining membrane [is] directly in contact with the heat-transporting fluid … that is, the wall known in FIG. 1 is used in the reactor core and is not used on the periphery of the nuclear reactor”. However, it is not claimed that the back panel is not on the periphery. Thus, since Coudray teaches the claimed structural matter, the limitations are met.
In addition, applicant argues that “the heat-insulating layer 2 (cf. RC layer) of Coudray is non-load-bearing component. Rather, its function is to provide thermal insulation and prevent the prestressed concrete from coming into direct contact with the reactor circulation airflow … [i]n contrast, the RC layer of the instant application is a key load-bearing component of the composite shielding shell”. However, it is not claimed that the RC layer is load-bearing. Thus, since Coudray teaches the claimed structural matter, the limitations are met.
In addition, applicant argues that Coudray does not disclose such separate components and thus the brackets 14 of Coudray are not analogous connectors, and the structural members 10 are not analogous studs. However, a bracket 14 is capable of functioning as a connector and the structural member 10 is capable of functioning as a stud. Without further specific definition or defined shapes of the claimed elements, they are taught under broadest reasonable interpretation.
In addition, applicant argues that Azad et al. the beam is made of conventional concrete, while the UHPC is embedded as reinforcement. However, it is understood that the concrete layer of Azad as a whole, forms a UHPC layer (see paragraphs 17 and 18 of Azad et al.).
/OMAR F HIJAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3633