DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed on 12/16/2025 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-4 has/have been amended and claim(s) 7 has/have been cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-6 and 8 are now pending in the application.
Response to Amendment
The previous claim objections have been withdrawn in light of applicant's amendments.
The previous drawing objections have been withdrawn in light of applicant's amendments.
The previous 35 USC 112 rejections are withdrawn in light of applicant's amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, at line 6, the recitation “configured to prefabricate together” renders the claim indefinite because the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. It is unclear if this is referring to a process of manufacturing or a more specific type of connection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coudray (U.S. Patent No. 3,424,239) in view of Azad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0190113 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Coudray teaches a semi-fabricated composite shielding shell (pressure vessel; figures 1-2), comprising a concrete (prestressed concrete wall; abstract) layer (1), a reinforced (at cross-bars 16) concrete (RC) layer (2), and a back panel (8) configured to resist cracking (it is understood that the panel is capable of resisting cracking), wherein the RC layer is arranged between the concrete layer and the back panel (figure 1), and the RC layer and the concrete layer are connected to each other by means of connectors (14), the connectors comprise tension reinforcements (figures 1-2; it is understood that the connectors 14 are capable of reinforcing for tensile forces on the vessel), and the connectors are configured together with the concrete layer (figure 1).
Coudray does not specifically disclose an ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) and constructional steel reinforcements are arranged in the UHPC layer.
Azad et al. teaches an ultra-high performance concrete (abstract) and constructional steel reinforcements (steel fiber) are arranged in the UHPC layer (abstract).
Therefore, from the teaching of Azad et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the composite wall of Coudray to include an ultra-high performance concrete (UHPC) and constructional steel reinforcements are arranged in the UHPC layer, as taught by Azad et al., in order to provide a strengthened concrete to the pressure vessel which may be beneficial in such environments under high pressure cycles to resist fatigue and reduce cracks.
Regarding claim 2, Coudray teaches a number of studs (10) are welded to the back panel (col. 4, lines 7-12), and the back panel is connected to the RC layer through the studs (figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Coudray teaches the RC layer is a reinforced concrete layer casted with normal-strength concrete (col. 4, lines 55-60) and internally provided with RC layer main reinforcements (12) and RC layer tension reinforcements (16).
Regarding claim 5, Coudray does not specifically disclose the studs are made of high-strength carbon steel or low alloy steel.
However, Coudray does disclose the lining membrane is made of high-strength carbon steel or low alloy steel (low-carbon nickel steel; col. 6, lines 20-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the studs such that they are also made from the same carbon steel in order to reduce costs by not having to source further types of material and include the same material that will facilitate welding them together.
Claim(s) 3, as best understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coudray (U.S. Patent No. 3,424,239), in view of Azad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0190113 A1), and further in view of Irniger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0025304 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Coudray as modified does not specifically disclose the UHPC layer is composed of prefabricated panels made of ultra-high performance concrete.
Irniger et al. discloses a annual construction (abstract) composed of prefabricated panels (paragraph 5) made of ultra-high performance concrete (paragraph 7).
Therefore, from the teaching of Irniger et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the modified composite wall of Coudray such that the UHPC layer is composed of prefabricated panels made of ultra-high performance concrete, as taught by Irniger et al., in order to further provide a strengthened concrete to the pressure vessel which may be beneficial in such environments under high pressure cycles to resist fatigue and reduce cracks.
Claim(s) 6 and 8, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coudray (U.S. Patent No. 3,424,239), in view of Azad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0190113 A1), and in view of Gan et al. (CN110805146 A) with Espacenet translation.
Regarding claim 6, Coudray does not specifically disclose the RC layer main reinforcements of the RC layer and the RC layer tension reinforcements of the RC layer are HRB400E steel reinforcements.
Gan et al. discloses a concrete reinforcement (para 16) whereby the reinforcements are HRB400E steel reinforcements (claim 8).
Therefore, from the teaching of Gan et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the composite wall of Coudray such that the RC layer main reinforcements of the RC layer and the RC layer tension reinforcements of the RC layer are HRB400E steel reinforcements, as taught by Gan et al., in order to provide the optimal concrete reinforcement strength for the wall assembly for a high yield strength and better crack resistance.
Regarding claim 8, Coudray does not specifically disclose the constructional steel reinforcements of the UHPC layer are HRB400E steel reinforcements.
Gan et al. discloses a concrete reinforcement (para 16) whereby the reinforcements are HRB400E steel reinforcements (claim 8).
Therefore, from the teaching of Gan et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the composite wall of Coudray such that the constructional steel reinforcements of the UHPC layer are HRB400E steel reinforcements, as taught by Gan et al., in order to provide the optimal concrete reinforcement strength for the wall assembly for a high yield strength and better crack resistance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
New reference(s) Azad et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0190113 A1) and Irniger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0025304 A1) have been added to overcome the newly added limitations. Applicant’s amendment regarding “the connectors comprise tension reinforcements or bolts, and the connectors are configured to prefabricate together with the UHPC layer, and constructional steel reinforcements are arranged in the UHPC layer” has overcome the previous rejection, and the applicant’s argument that Coudray does not disclose such a feature was found persuasive. The new limitation is overcome in view of Azad et al. With regards to the argument that in Coudray, there are no separate components for connecting the concrete structure 1 and the heat-insulating layer 2 together. However, this is not found persuasive since this is not what is being claimed. The specific claim limitation is as follows: the RC layer and the UHCP layer are connected to each other by means of connectors. Since the connectors 145 extend into both layers, connected from one layer to the other, then under broadest reasonable interpretation they meet the limitation. There is no claim limitation that states that there are to be separate components for connecting the concrete structure. With regards to the previous 112 rejection that the prestressed concrete disclosed by Coudray as being analogous to the claimed UHPC layer of the instant application, the rejection is hereby withdrawn in light of applicant’s newly submitted definition for UHPC provided in the IDS.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR F HIJAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3633