DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9, 12-14, 16, 18-21, 23 and 25-26 are pending before the Office for review.
In the response filed January 20,2026:
Claim 8 was amended.
No new matter is present.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-7, 14, 16, 18-21, 23 and 25-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 20, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II (claims 8-9 and 12-13) in the reply filed on January 20, 2027 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups require the same technical feature and therefore it would not be a serious burden to search all the groups. This is not found persuasive because a search of all the groups would be an undue burden on the examiner since (1) the technical feature shared by the group is not a special technical feature in light of the teachings of Lan et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0380263) and (2) a search of all the groups would place an undue burden on the Examiner as additional search terms, classes and queries would be necessary to thoroughly search the various non-overlapping limitations present in each group. Therefore since the claims do not share a special technical feature in view of the prior art of Lan and a search would be an undue burden on the Examiner, the Examiner maintains the restriction.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 line 9 the word “and” should be delete between ‘… poly 3-butyl-1H-imidazol-3-ium acetate, and poly 3-(2,2'-(ethane-1,2-diylbis(oxy))bis(ethane)-1H-imidazol-3-ium acetate..” in order to put the group in appropriate form. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 9 recites the broad recitation “between 1and 14”, and the claim also recites “1 and 6” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LAN et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0380263).
With regards to claim 8, Lan discloses a chemical mechanical polishing composition comprising an additive including one or more polymers selected from a group consisting of n-vinyl homopolymers and n-vinyl copolymers (Paragraph [0046]), an abrasive (Paragraphs [0033]-[0044], water (Paragraphs [0032], [0078]) and optionally an oxidizing agent (Paragraph [0086]-[0087]); a corrosion inhibitor (Paragraph [0090]) and a pH adjusting agent (Paragraph [0093]).
Lan does not explicitly disclose an imidazolium based poly(ionic liquid) comprising at least one monomer having at least one imidazolium group with structure 1.
However Lan discloses wherein the polymers are obtained from one or more monomers including 3-methyl-1-vinylimidazolium chloride (Paragraphs [053]-[0054]) which renders obvious Applicant’s claimed imidazolium based poly(ionic liquid) comprising at least one monomer having at least one imidazolium group with structure 1 wherein condition B is satisfied wherein the halide group is chlorine.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the embodiment composition of Lan to include the 3-methyl-1-vinylimidazolium chloride (imidazolium based poly(ionic) liquid) as taught by the general disclosure of Lan because one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired polishing composition using the imidazolium based poly(ionic liquid) (3-methyl-1-vinylimidazolium chloride) as rendered obvious by the general disclosure of Lan. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 9, the modified teachings of Lan renders obvious wherein the abrasive selected from the group consisting of inorganic oxide particles the abrasive ranges from 0.4 wt% to about 30 wt% (Paragraphs [0033]-[0041] discloses colloidal silica particles) which renders obvious 0.5 wt.% to 20 wt.%; the oxidizing agent is selected from the group consisting of peroxy compound selected from the group consisting of hydrogen peroxide (Paragraph [0086]) and the oxidizing agent ranges from about 1 to 5 wt% (Paragraph [0087]) which renders obvious 0.1 wt.% to 10 wt.% and the pH adjusting agent is selected from the group consisting of (a)nitric acid, sulfuric acid, and mixtures thereof to lower the pH; and (b) potassium hydroxide, sodium hydroxide, ammonia, mixtures thereof to raise the pH (Paragraph [0093]); and pH of the composition is preferably from 2 to 6 (Paragraph [0092]) which renders obvious between 1 and 14, or 1 and 6. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of Lan et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0380263) renders obvious the composition with regards to claim 8. However the cited prior art fails to teach or render obvious the imidazolium based poly(ionic liquid) as presented in claims 12 and 13. A further search of the prior art has failed to produce analogous art which teaches or renders obvious Applicant’s claimed invention.
Conclusion
/STEPHANIE P DUCLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713