Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/19/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 18, 19, 23, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi, D., et al., WO 2021033386 A1 (hereinafter Hayashi), in view of Jin, S. et al., KR 20180136137 A (hereinafter Jin), and further in view of Ranish, J., US 20190391017 A1 (hereinafter Ranish).
Regarding claim 12, Hayashi teaches an apparatus for performing a process on a substrate, comprising: a processing container configured to accommodate the substrate (Fig. 5, p. 7 para 9) and defining a processing space where the process is performed (fig. 4 and fig. 5 element S2, p. 7 para 2 and para 9); a processing gas supply configured to supply a processing gas (fig. 1 element GS supply gas to fig. 5, p. 7 para 9; p. 10 last para), which is for use in performing the process on the substrate or a process on a device disposed in the processing container (fig. 4 is a substrate processing device, p. 5 para 8), to the processing space; “a light emitter configured to emit laser light to the processing space where the processing gas is supplied” (the light emitter is element 21 as shown in fig. 4); “a light source configured to supply, to the light emitter via a light waveguide” (fig. 4 the waveguide is the fiber element 23, p. 7 last para), “laser light of a wavelength that changes within a first wavelength range, which is a preset wavelength range” (this is the “first wavelength”, p. 8 para 1), and “laser light of a wavelength that changes within a second wavelength range, which is different from the first wavelength range” (this is the “second wavelength”, p. 8 para 1); “a light receiver configured to receive the laser light that has passed through the processing space” (fig. 4 element 30, p. 8 para 2); “a temperature calculator configured to calculate a temperature of the processing gas based on an absorption spectrum of the laser light within the first wavelength range received by the light receiver and an absorption spectrum of the laser light within the second wavelength range received by the light receiver” (p. 8 para 7); and “a concentration calculator configured to calculate a concentration of the processing gas based on an absorbance of laser light of a specific wavelength within the first wavelength range or within the second wavelength range” (p. 5 para 4 lines 6-7 implies the device calculates the concentration of the gas within the second wavelength), wherein the processing space is provided with a stage on which the substrate is placed (p. 7 para 9).
Hayashi does not teach a gas shower head having an opposing surface facing the stage and a gas supply port formed in the opposing surface to supply the processing gas to the processing space, and wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are disposed on the stage such that the laser light emitted from the light emitter is reflected by the opposing surface of the gas shower head and is then received by the light receiver.
Jin, from the same field of endeavor as Hayashi, teaches “a shower head having an opposing surface facing the stage and wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are disposed on the stage such that the laser light emitted from the light emitter is reflected by the opposing surface of the shower head and is then received by the light receiver” (this entire limitation is shown in fig. 8a, p. 7 para 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Jin to Hayashi to have “a shower head having an opposing surface facing the stage and wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are disposed on the stage such that the laser light emitted from the light emitter is reflected by the opposing surface of the shower head and is then received by the light receiver” in order to measure the separate distance between the detecting portion and the reflection body accurately (p. 2 para 6).
Hayashi, when modified by Jin, does not teach a gas shower head and a gas supply port formed in the opposing surface to supply the processing gas to the processing space.
Ranish, from the same field of endeavor as Hayashi, teaches a gas shower head (fig. 4 element 403, para [0044]) and a gas supply port formed in the opposing surface to supply the processing gas to the processing space (fig. 4 element 411, para [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Ranish to Hayashi, when modified by Jin, to have a gas shower head and a gas supply port formed in the opposing surface to supply the processing gas to the processing space in order to introduce gases or liquids in the enclosure (para [0044]).
Regarding claim 18, Hayashi fails to teach the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are provided around a region of the stage where the substrate is placed.
Ranish, from the same field of endeavor as Hayashi, teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are provided around a region of the stage where the substrate is placed (this is shown in fig. 4, where L1-L6 are light sources and elements 408 and 409 represent the light receiver are all integrated to the support 404, para [0043], the opposing surface is substrate 401; note this is general teaching).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Ranish to the modified device of Hayashi to have the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are provided around a region of the stage where the substrate is placed in order to have a stable support system for the light source and detector.
Regarding claim 19, Hayashi teaches the apparatus of claim 12, “the light emitter emits the laser light during a period when the substrate is not placed on the stage” (p. 2 para 4; this para explained that the substrate does not influence the measurement of the gas, which indicates the substrate with or without the substrate the device of Hayashi measures the temperature and concentration of the gas).
Hayashi does not teach wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are provided in a region of the stage where the substrate is placed.
Ranish, from the same field of endeavor as Hayashi, teaches wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are provided in a region of the stage where the substrate is placed (this is shown in fig. 4, where L1-L6 are light sources and elements 408 and 409 represent the light receiver are all integrated to the support 404, para [0043], the opposing surface is substrate 401; note this is general teaching).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Ranish to the modified device of Hayashi to have wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are provided in a region of the stage where the substrate is placed in order to have a stable support system for the light source and detector.
Regarding claim 23, Hayashi teaches a method of measuring a temperature and a concentration of a processing gas for a process on a substrate, the method comprising: supplying the processing gas (fig. 1 element GS supply gas to fig. 5, p. 7 para 9), which is for use in performing the process on the substrate or a process on a device disposed in a processing container (fig. 4 is a substrate processing device, p. 5 para 8), to a processing space (the processing space is S2 in fig. 5) where the process is performed; emitting, by a light emitter (the light emitter is element 21 as shown in fig. 4), laser light of a wavelength that changes within a first wavelength range, which is a preset wavelength range (this is the “first wavelength”, p. 8 para 1), and laser light of a wavelength that changes within a second wavelength range, which is different from the first wavelength range (this is the “second wavelength”, p. 8 para 1), to the processing space where the processing gas is supplied (this is shown in fig. 4); receiving, by a light receiver (fig. 4 element 30, p. 8 para 2), the laser light that has passed through the processing space (this is shown in fig. 4); calculating the temperature of the processing gas based on an absorption spectrum of the received laser light within the first wavelength range and an absorption spectrum of the received laser light within the second wavelength range (p. 8 para 7); and calculating the concentration of the processing gas based on an absorbance of laser light of a specific wavelength within the first wavelength range or within the second wavelength range (p. 5 para 4 lines 6-7 implies the device calculates the concentration of the gas within the second wavelength), wherein the processing space is provided with a stage on which the substrate is placed (p. 7 para 9).
Hayashi does not teach a gas shower head having an opposing surface facing the stage and a gas supply port formed in the opposing surface to supply the processing gas to the processing space, and wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are disposed on the stage such that the laser light emitted from the light emitter is reflected by the opposing surface of the gas shower head and is then received by the light receiver.
Jin, from the same field of endeavor as Hayashi, teaches “a shower head having an opposing surface facing the stage and wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are disposed on the stage such that the laser light emitted from the light emitter is reflected by the opposing surface of the shower head and is then received by the light receiver” (this entire limitation is shown in fig. 8a, p. 7 para 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Jin to Hayashi to have “a shower head having an opposing surface facing the stage and wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are disposed on the stage such that the laser light emitted from the light emitter is reflected by the opposing surface of the shower head and is then received by the light receiver” in order to measure the separate distance between the detecting portion and the reflection body accurately (p. 2 para 6).
Hayashi, when modified by Jin, does not teach a gas shower head and a gas supply port formed in the opposing surface to supply the processing gas to the processing space.
Ranish, from the same field of endeavor as Hayashi, teaches a gas shower head (fig. 4 element 403, para [0044]) and a gas supply port formed in the opposing surface to supply the processing gas to the processing space (fig. 4 element 411, para [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Ranish to Hayashi, when modified by Jin, to have a gas shower head and a gas supply port formed in the opposing surface to supply the processing gas to the processing space in order to introduce gases or liquids in the enclosure (para [0044]).
Regarding claim 24, Hayashi does not teach the method of claim 23, wherein in the emitting the laser light and in the receiving the laser light, emission and reception of the laser light is performed a plurality of times to cause the laser light to pass through different regions in the processing space, and wherein in the calculating the temperature and in the calculating the concentration, the temperature and the concentration of the processing gas are calculated in each region where the laser light passes.
MPEP 2144.05 II-A In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 1149, 14 USPQ2d 1056, 1058 (Fed. Cir. 1990), states that the precedent limitation is equivalent to a routine optimization.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply “the method of claim 23, wherein in the emitting the laser light and in the receiving the laser light, emission and reception of the laser light is performed a plurality of times to cause the laser light to pass through different regions in the processing space, and wherein in the calculating the temperature and in the calculating the concentration, the temperature and the concentration of the processing gas are calculated in each region where the laser light passes” to the teaching of Hayashi, when modified by Jin and Ranish, in order to increase the accuracy of the measurement.
Claim(s) 14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi, Jin, and Ranish as applied to 12 above, and further in view of Adams, B., et al., US 6183130 B1 (hereinafter Adams).
Regarding claim 14, Hayashi, teaches wherein the temperature calculator and the concentration calculator calculate the temperature and the concentration of the processing gas in a region where the laser light emitted and received by the detector (p. 8 para 7; p. 5 para 4 lines 6-7 implies the device calculates the concentration of the gas within the second wavelength; also, Nagase teaches the concentration calculator, see claim 1 rejection).
Hayashi, does not teach the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the stage is provided with a plurality of light emitting/receiving sets, each of which includes the light emitter and the light receiver in association with each other so that the laser light passes through different regions within the processing space, and each of the light emitting/receiving sets passes.
Adams, from the same field of endeavor as Hayashi, teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the stage is provided with a plurality of light emitting/receiving sets (fig. 1 shows a plurality of light emitting/receiving sets 42, 50 integrated in the stage of substrate 14; col 6 last para to col 7 para 1), each of which includes the light emitter and the light receiver in association with each other so that the laser light passes through different regions within the processing space (the light emitting/receiving sets measure different region in the cavity of 34 as shown in fig. 1; col 6 lines 60-65), and each of the light emitting/receiving sets passes (fig. 1 shows elements 42 and 50 are sets; Note that this are general teaching.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Adams to Hayashi to have the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the stage is provided with a plurality of light emitting/receiving sets, each of which includes the light emitter and the light receiver in association with each other so that the laser light passes through different regions within the processing space, and each of the light emitting/receiving sets passes in order to increase the accuracy of the measurement.
Regarding claim 17, Hayashi fails to teach the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the stage is further provided with a reflector that reflects the laser light reflected from the opposing surface back toward the opposing surface.
Adams, from the same field of endeavor as Hayashi, teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the stage is further provided with a reflector that reflects the laser light reflected from the opposing surface back toward the opposing surface (fig. 1 reflector 24, col 6 lines 35-50; Note that this are general teaching.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Adams to Hayashi to have the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the stage is further provided with a reflector that reflects the laser light reflected from the opposing surface back toward the opposing surface in order to increase the accuracy of the measurement.
Claim(s) 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi, Jin, Ranish, and Adams as applied to 14 above, and further in view of Timans, P., US 7847218 B2 (hereinafter Timans).
Regarding claim 15, the modified system of Hayashi fails to teach the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the stage is further provided with a reflector that reflects the laser light reflected from the opposing surface back toward the opposing surface.
Timans, from the same field of endeavor as Hayashi, teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the stage is further provided with a reflector that reflects the laser light reflected from the opposing surface back toward the opposing surface (fig. 10 reflector 38; col 11 lines 58-67; this is a general teaching).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Timans to Hayashi to have the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the stage is further provided with a reflector that reflects the laser light reflected from the opposing surface back toward the opposing surface in order to further increase the accuracy of the measurement.
Regarding claim 16, Hayashi fails to teach the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are provided around a region of the stage where the substrate is placed.
Ranish, from the same field of endeavor as Hayashi, teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are provided around a region of the stage where the substrate is placed (this is shown in fig. 4, where L1-L6 are light sources and elements 408 and 409 represent the light receiver are all integrated to the support 404, para [0043], the opposing surface is substrate 401; note this is general teaching).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Ranish to Hayashi to have the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are provided around a region of the stage where the substrate is placed in order to have a stable support system for the light source and detector.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi, Jin, and Ranish, as applied to 12 above, and further in view of Wieboldt, R., et al., US 5045703 A (hereinafter Wieboldt).
Regarding claim 20, Hayashi does not teach the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are provided in a region of the stage where the substrate is placed, and the light source supplies, to the light emitter, laser light of a wavelength that passes through the substrate.
Ranish, from the same field of endeavor as Hayashi, teaches the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are provided in a region of the stage where the substrate is placed (this is shown in fig. 4, where L1-L6 are light sources and elements 408 and 409 represent the light receiver are all integrated to the support 404, para [0043], the opposing surface is substrate 401; note this is general teaching).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Ranish to Hayashi to have the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the light emitter and the light receiver are provided in a region of the stage where the substrate is placed in order to have a stable support system for the light source and detector.
Hayasi, fails to teach the light source supplies, to the light emitter, laser light of a wavelength that passes through the substrate.
Wieboldt, from the same field of endeavor as Hayashi, teaches the light source supplies, to the light emitter, laser light of a wavelength that passes through the substrate (fig. 1 shows light from 78 passes through the substrate 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Wieboldt to Hayashi to have the light source supplies, to the light emitter, laser light of a wavelength that passes through the substrate in order to detect infrared lights from the substrate (col 8 lines 9-22).
Conclusion
/ROBERTO FABIAN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877