Interview Summary
On April 20, 2026, the Examiner proposed an amendment in order to expedite prosecution towards a notice of allowance.
On April 22, 2026, Applicant’s representative respectfully declined to proceed with the proposed amendment and requested the Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11, with respect to prior claim 9 and claim 1, as amended, Applicant alleges that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have looked to the teachings of Yang because Tsurumi already achieved a strong adhesion. Therefore, Applicant alleges that a person of ordinary skill would not have looked to Yang or any other reference once they believed that they have a suitable solution. Thus, Applicant alleges that claim 1, as amended, is allowable over Tsurumi in view of Yang.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Yang, page 246, teaches: “the development of a process for the fabrication metallic patterns with higher adhesion still remains a great challenge for chemists and material scientists.”
The Examiner respectfully submits that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Tsurumi’s component carrier with Yang’s dendrites in order to provide for an improvement to Tsurumi’s disclosure, or to provide an alternate process for the fabrication of metallic patterns with higher adhesion, as suggested by Yang at page 246. As such, the Examiner respectfully submits that Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 10, 13-16 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Tsurumi” (US 2009/0114432) in view of “Yang” (Polymer grafting surface as templates for the site-selective metallization, Applied Surface Science, ELSEVIER, Amsterdam, NL, vol. 274, 14 March 2013 (2013-03-14), pp. 241-247, XP028589471. Examiner’s note: Yang was filed by the Applicant in the IDS dated 1/5/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Tsurumi discloses 1. A component carrier, wherein the component carrier comprises: a stack comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure (Figs. 2D’-2F’, [0278], [0282]-[0285]; the laminate 10 is a stack comprising the conductive layer 26 and the resin composition layer 16);
an adaptive sheet formed on and adhering with the stack (Figs. 2D’-2F’, [0278], [0282]-[0286]; the polymer precursor layer 14 is formed on and adhering with the resin composition layer 16, a mask pattern 28 is applied to the surface of the polymer precursor layer 14 and light exposure is performed, the graft polymer 22 is produced in a pattern form only at an exposed region);
a photosensitive adhesion promoter on or above the stack, wherein only a sub-portion of the photosensitive adhesion promoter is photoactivated (Figs. 2D’-2F’, [0278], [0282]-[0285]; active light rays (for example, an electron beam, UV light or the like) are irradiated at the whole, and a sub-portion of the graft polymer 22 that directly bonds with the insulating layer surface is produced);
and electrically conductive material selectively on and adhering with at least a portion of the photosensitive adhesion promoter (Figs. 2D’-2F’, [0278], [0282]-[0285]; the conductive layer 26 is selectively on and adhering with at least a portion of the sub-portion graft polymer 22);
the component carrier further comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the at least one electrically insulating layer structure comprises a halogenated material (Figs. 2D’-2F’, [0108], [0111], [0278], [0282]-[0285]; the epoxy resin is fluorene-type epoxy resins, fluoride resins (PTFE);
wherein the at least one electrically insulating layer structure comprises a non-halogenated material;
wherein the electrically conductive material defines a wiring structure having a line/space ratio of not more than 5 μm/5 μm.
Tsurumi does not disclose still further comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the photosensitive adhesion promoter comprises dendrites in its photoactivated state;
wherein the photoactivated sub-portion of the photosensitive adhesion promoter comprises dendrites;
wherein a non-photoactivated portion of the photosensitive adhesion promoter comprises a grafting chemistry configured for forming dendrites in its photoactivated state.
Yang discloses still further cat least one of the following features:
wherein the photosensitive adhesion promoter comprises dendrites in its photoactivated state;
wherein the photoactivated sub-portion of the photosensitive adhesion promoter comprises dendrites (Fig. 4, page 246, first paragraph; the branched graft-polymer bonded to a surface and having interacting sites on its branches that interact with the electroless plating catalyst);
wherein a non-photoactivated portion of the photosensitive adhesion promoter comprises a grafting chemistry configured for forming dendrites in its photoactivated state.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Tsurumi’s component carrier with Yang’s dendrites in order to provide for an improvement to Tsurumi’s disclosure, or to provide an alternate process for the fabrication of metallic patterns with higher adhesion, as suggested by Yang at page 246.
Regarding claim 3, Tsurumi in view of Yang discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Tsurumi discloses 3. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the electrically conductive material has a rectangular shape in a cross-sectional view (Figs. 2D’-2F’, [0278], [0282]-[0285]; the conductive layer 26 has a rectangular shape in a cross-sectional view).
Regarding claim 4, Tsurumi in view of Yang discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Tsurumi discloses 4. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the electrically conductive material is free of an undercut (Figs. 2D’-2F’, [0278], [0282]-[0285]; the conductive layer 26 is free of an undercut).
Regarding claim 5, Tsurumi in view of Yang discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Tsurumi discloses 5. The component carrier according to claim 1,
comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the adaptive sheet is made of a non-halogenated material;
wherein the adaptive sheet is configured for functionally decoupling the photosensitive adhesion promoter with regard to a closest one of the at least one electrically insulating layer structure of the stack,
wherein the photosensitive adhesion promoter would be partially or entirely functionally inactivated by the closest one of the at least one electrically insulating layer structure without the adaptive sheet;
wherein the adaptive sheet is in direct physical contact with one of the at least one electrically insulating layer structure of the stack (Figs. 2D’-2F’, [0278], [0282]-[0285]; the polymer precursor layer 14 is in direct physical contact with the resin composition layer 16);
wherein the adaptive sheet has a thickness of not more than 5 μm.
Regarding claim 10, Tsurumi in view of Yang discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Tsurumi discloses 10. The component carrier according to claim 1, comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the electrically conductive material on the photosensitive adhesion promoter forms one of the group consisting of at least one pad, at least one wiring structure, at least one pillar, and at least one seed layer in a hole in the stack;
wherein the photosensitive adhesion promoter has a higher roughness in a photoactivated sub-portion compared to a remaining other sub-portion of the photosensitive adhesion promoter;
wherein the photosensitive adhesion promoter and the at least one electrically insulating layer structure comprise different resin materials ([0082], [0103], [0106]; the polymer precursor layer (A) comprises biphenol F-type epoxy resins and the resin composition layer (B) comprises an epoxy compound with two or more epoxy groups in one molecule such as carboxyl groups, hydroxyl groups, amino groups, thiol groups and the like).
Regarding claim 13, Tsurumi in view of Yang discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Tsurumi discloses 13. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the at least one electrically insulating layer structure is larger than a thickness of the adaptive sheet ([0097], 0143]; a thickness of the reactive polymer precursor layer is 0.5 μm to 10 μm, and a thickness of the support is 10 to 30 μm).
Regarding claim 14, Tsurumi in view of Yang discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Tsurumi discloses 14. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein a photoactivated sub-portion of the photosensitive adhesion promoter has adhesion promoting properties whereas another non-photoactivated sub-portion of the photosensitive adhesion promoter has no adhesion promoting properties (Figs. 2D’-2F’, [0278], [0282]-[0286]; the polymer precursor layer 14 is formed on and adhering with the resin composition layer 16, a mask pattern 28 is applied to the surface of the polymer precursor layer 14 and light exposure is performed, the graft polymer 22 is produced in a pattern form only at an exposed region).
Regarding claim 15, Tsurumi in view of Yang discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Tsurumi discloses 15. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the photosensitive adhesion promoter is a photosensitive adhesion promoter layer arranged parallel to the layer structures of the stack (Figs. 2D’-2F’, [0278], [0282]-[0286]; the polymer precursor layer 14 and the graft polymer 22 is arranged parallel to the layer structures of the stack).
Regarding claim 16, Tsurumi in view of Yang discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Tsurumi discloses 16. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein a non-photoactivated portion of the photosensitive adhesion promoter is not covered by electrically conductive material (Figs. 2D’-2F’, [0278], [0282]-[0286]; the non-photoactivated portion of the photosensitive adhesion promoter polymer precursor layer 14 is not covered by the conductive layer 26).
Regarding claim 28, Tsurumi in view of Yang discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Tsurumi discloses 28. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the adaptive sheet is configured for functionally decoupling the photosensitive adhesion promoter with regard to the stack, wherein the photosensitive adhesion promoter would be partially or entirely functionally inactivated by the stack without the adaptive sheet (Figs. 2D’-2F’, [0278], [0282]-[0286]; the polymer precursor layer 14 is formed on and adhering with the resin composition layer 16, a mask pattern 28 is applied to the surface of the polymer precursor layer 14 and light exposure is performed, the graft polymer 22 is produced in a pattern form only at an exposed region, and the electroplating catalyst or precursor 24 would be inactivated without the polymer precursor layer 14).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsurumi in view of Yang and “Ikebe” (US 2022/0232699).
Regarding claim 17, Tsurumi in view of Yang discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Tsurumi does not disclose the limitations of claim 17.
Ikebe discloses 17. The component carrier according to claim 1, wherein the electrically conductive material comprises a first electrically conductive layer on the photosensitive adhesion promoter and comprises a second electrically conductive layer on the first electrically conductive layer (Fig. 5, [0049], [0059], [0070]; the copper seed layer 11a and the copper plating layer 11b forms a stack).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Tsumuri’s component carrier, as modified by Yang, with Ikebe’s stacked conductive layers in order to provide for a fine electrically conductive patters for higher performance, smaller size, and lighter weight, as suggested by Ikebe at [0002].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847