Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwashita et al. (Japanese Patent Publication no. JP 2008-224984 A), hereinafter Iwashita.
5. Regarding Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8, Iwashita teaches (Paragraph [0172]) a step of applying a photosensitive resin composition on a substrate. Iwashita teaches (Paragraph [0172]) drying the photosensitive resin composition to form a resin film. Iwashita teaches (Paragraph [0172]) a step of heat-treating the resin film in a nitrogen atmosphere to obtain a cured film. Iwashita teaches (Paragraph [0172]) a step of raising temperature from 25° C. to 300° C. at a rate of 10° C./min in a nitrogen atmosphere and then measuring weight loss of the cured film. Iwashita teaches (Paragraph [0172], Table 2) a photosensitive resin composition capable of producing the cured film having a weight loss ratio at 300° C. of 1.0% to 6.0% is selected. Iwashita teaches (Paragraph [0172]) a temperature for heat-treating the resin film is 170° C. to 260° C. Iwashita teaches (Table 4) a glass transition temperature of the cured film is 200° C. or higher. Iwashita teaches (Paragraphs [0109-0124]) a step of applying a photosensitive resin composition selected by the method for selecting a photosensitive resin composition on a portion or an entire surface of a substrate. Iwashita teaches (Paragraphs [0109-0124]) drying the photosensitive resin composition to form a resin film. Iwashita teaches (Paragraphs [0109-0124]) a step of exposing at least a portion of the resin film. Iwashita teaches (Paragraphs [0109-0124]) a step of developing the resin film after exposure to form a patterned resin film. Iwashita teaches (Paragraphs [0109-0124]) a step of heating the patterned resin film to obtain a patterned cured film. Iwashita teaches (Paragraphs [0125-0132], Fig. 1-5) a method for producing a semiconductor device including a patterned cured film formed by the method for producing a patterned cured film as an interlayer insulating layer or a surface protection layer.
6. Claims 1, 3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda et al. (Japanese Patent Publication no. JP 2015-184516 A), hereinafter Ikeda.
7. Regarding Claims 1, 3, 6, and 8, Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0084-0094], Table 1) a step of applying a photosensitive resin composition on a substrate. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0084-0094], Table 1) drying the photosensitive resin composition to form a resin film. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0084-0094], Table 1) a step of heat-treating the resin film in a nitrogen atmosphere to obtain a cured film. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0084-0094], Table 1) a step of raising temperature from 25° C. to 300° C. at a rate of 10° C./min in a nitrogen atmosphere and then measuring weight loss of the cured film. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0084-0094], Table 1) a photosensitive resin composition capable of producing the cured film having a weight loss ratio at 300° C. of 1.0% to 6.0% is selected. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0084-0094], Table 1) a storage modulus at 130° C. of the cured film is 1.0 GPa or more. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0070 and 0092]) a step of applying a photosensitive resin composition selected by the method for selecting a photosensitive resin composition on a portion or an entire surface of a substrate. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0070 and 0092]) drying the photosensitive resin composition to form a resin film. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0070 and 0092]) a step of exposing at least a portion of the resin film. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0070 and 0092]) a step of developing the resin film after exposure to form a patterned resin film. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0070 and 0092]) a step of heating the patterned resin film to obtain a patterned cured film. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0068-0071, Fig. 1]) a method for producing a semiconductor device including a patterned cured film formed by the method for producing a patterned cured film as an interlayer insulating layer or a surface protection layer.
8. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (Japanese Patent Publication no. JP 2010-020108 A), hereinafter Kato.
9. Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8, Kato teaches (Paragraphs [0141 and 0150]) a step of applying a photosensitive resin composition on a substrate. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0150]) drying the photosensitive resin composition to form a resin film. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0150]) a step of heat-treating the resin film in a nitrogen atmosphere to obtain a cured film. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0150], Table 2) a step of raising temperature from 25° C. to 300° C. at a rate of 10° C./min in a nitrogen atmosphere and then measuring weight loss of the cured film. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0150], Table 2) a photosensitive resin composition capable of producing the cured film having a weight loss ratio at 300° C. of 1.0% to 6.0% is selected. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0150], Table 2) a temperature for heat-treating the resin film is 170° C. to 260° C. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0150], Table 2) a moisture absorption rate obtained after leaving the cured film to stand for 24 hours under conditions of 130° C. and 85 RH % is 1.2% or less. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0145]) a step of applying a photosensitive resin composition selected by the method for selecting a photosensitive resin composition on a portion or an entire surface of a substrate. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0145]) drying the photosensitive resin composition to form a resin film. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0145]) a step of exposing at least a portion of the resin film. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0145]) a step of developing the resin film after exposure to form a patterned resin film. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0145]) a step of heating the patterned resin film to obtain a patterned cured film. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0145]) a method for producing a semiconductor device including a patterned cured film formed by the method for producing a patterned cured film as an interlayer insulating layer or a surface protection layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claims 7, 9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwashita et al. (Japanese Patent Publication no. JP 2008-224984 A), hereinafter Iwashita; in view of Minami et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2005/0164129 A1), hereinafter Minami.
13. Regarding Claim 7, Iwashita teaches all limitations of Claim 6 above. However, Iwashita fails to explicitly teach wherein the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 3 µm or less and an interline distance of 3 µm or less.
14. Minami teaches (Paragraphs [0040, 0044, 0047, and 0050]) the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 2 µm or less and an interline distance of 2 µm or less. Minami teaches (Paragraph [0134 and 0252]) that said line width and space width is required for fine patterns which is essential for scaling down of a resultant device.
15. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwashita to incorporate the teachings of Minami wherein the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 2 µm or less and an interline distance of 2 µm or less. Doing so would have resulted in fine patterns essential for scaling down of devices, as recognized by Minami.
16. Regarding Claims 9 and 12-13, Iwashita teaches (Paragraph [0172], Table 2) wherein a weight loss ratio measured by raising temperature of the cured film from 25° C to 300° C at a rate of 10° C/min in a nitrogen atmosphere is 1.0% to 6.0%. Iwashita teaches (Table 4) a glass transition temperature of the cured film is 200° C. or higher. Iwashita teaches (Paragraphs [0125-0132], Fig. 1-5) a semiconductor device comprising the cured film as an interlayer insulating layer or a surface protection layer. However, Iwashita fails to explicitly teach wherein the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 3 µm or less and an interline distance of 3 µm or less.
17. Minami teaches (Paragraphs [0040, 0044, 0047, and 0050]) the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 2 µm or less and an interline distance of 2 µm or less. Minami teaches (Paragraph [0134 and 0252]) that said line width and space width is required for fine patterns which is essential for scaling down of a resultant device.
18. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Iwashita to incorporate the teachings of Minami wherein the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 2 µm or less and an interline distance of 2 µm or less. Doing so would have resulted in fine patterns essential for scaling down of devices, as recognized by Minami.
19. Claims 7, 9-10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al. (Japanese Patent Publication no. JP 2015-184516 A), hereinafter Ikeda; in view of Minami et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2005/0164129 A1), hereinafter Minami.
20. Regarding Claim 7, Ikeda teaches all limitations of Claim 6 above. However, Ikeda fails to explicitly teach wherein the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 3 µm or less and an interline distance of 3 µm or less.
21. Minami teaches (Paragraphs [0040, 0044, 0047, and 0050]) the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 2 µm or less and an interline distance of 2 µm or less. Minami teaches (Paragraph [0134 and 0252]) that said line width and space width is required for fine patterns which is essential for scaling down of a resultant device.
22. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ikeda to incorporate the teachings of Minami wherein the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 2 µm or less and an interline distance of 2 µm or less. Doing so would have resulted in fine patterns essential for scaling down of devices, as recognized by Minami.
23. Regarding Claims 9-10, and 13, Ikeda teaches (Paragraph [0084-0094], Table 1) wherein a weight loss ratio measured by raising temperature of the cured film from 25° C to 300° C at a rate of 10° C/min in a nitrogen atmosphere is 1.0% to 6.0%. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0084-0094], Table 1) a storage modulus at 130° C. of the cured film is 1.0 GPa or more. Ikeda teaches (Paragraphs [0125-0132], Fig. 1-5) a semiconductor device comprising the cured film as an interlayer insulating layer or a surface protection layer. However, Ikeda fails to explicitly teach wherein the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 3 µm or less and an interline distance of 3 µm or less.
24. Minami teaches (Paragraphs [0040, 0044, 0047, and 0050]) the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 2 µm or less and an interline distance of 2 µm or less. Minami teaches (Paragraph [0134 and 0252]) that said line width and space width is required for fine patterns which is essential for scaling down of a resultant device.
25. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ikeda to incorporate the teachings of Minami wherein the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 2 µm or less and an interline distance of 2 µm or less. Doing so would have resulted in fine patterns essential for scaling down of devices, as recognized by Minami.
26. Claims 7, 9, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (Japanese Patent Publication no. JP 2010-020108 A), hereinafter Kato; in view of Minami et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2005/0164129 A1), hereinafter Minami.
27. Regarding Claim 7, Kato teaches all limitations of Claim 6 above. However, Ikeda fails to explicitly teach wherein the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 3 µm or less and an interline distance of 3 µm or less.
28. Minami teaches (Paragraphs [0040, 0044, 0047, and 0050]) the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 2 µm or less and an interline distance of 2 µm or less. Minami teaches (Paragraph [0134 and 0252]) that said line width and space width is required for fine patterns which is essential for scaling down of a resultant device.
29. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kato to incorporate the teachings of Minami wherein the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 2 µm or less and an interline distance of 2 µm or less. Doing so would have resulted in fine patterns essential for scaling down of devices, as recognized by Minami.
30. Regarding Claims 9, 11, and 13, Kato teaches (Paragraph [0150], Table 2) wherein a weight loss ratio measured by raising temperature of the cured film from 25° C to 300° C at a rate of 10° C/min in a nitrogen atmosphere is 1.0% to 6.0%. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0150], Table 2) a moisture absorption rate obtained after leaving the cured film to stand for 24 hours under conditions of 130° C. and 85 RH % is 1.2% or less. Kato teaches (Paragraph [0150]) a semiconductor device comprising the cured film as an interlayer insulating layer or a surface protection layer. However, Kato fails to explicitly teach wherein the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 3 µm or less and an interline distance of 3 µm or less.
31. Minami teaches (Paragraphs [0040, 0044, 0047, and 0050]) the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 2 µm or less and an interline distance of 2 µm or less. Minami teaches (Paragraph [0134 and 0252]) that said line width and space width is required for fine patterns which is essential for scaling down of a resultant device.
32. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kato to incorporate the teachings of Minami wherein the substrate has a wiring pattern having a line width of 2 µm or less and an interline distance of 2 µm or less. Doing so would have resulted in fine patterns essential for scaling down of devices, as recognized by Minami.
Conclusion
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737