DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 6 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0221623 to Kamiyama.
Regarding claim 1, Kamiyama teaches a display device comprising:
an anode (13, ¶[0071]) ;
a hole injection layer (15);
a first light-emitting layer (17R) that emits light of a first color; and
a cathode (21),
wherein the hole injection layer contains a mixture (PEDOT/PSS) in which polystyrene sulfonic acid (PSS) is mixed with polyethylene dioxythiophene (PEDOT) (¶ [0080]), and
a first polymer (16, ¶ [0082]) adjacent to the PEDOT/PSS.
Regarding claim 6, Kamiyama teaches a display device, further comprising: a second light-emitting layer (17G) that emits light of a second color different from the first color.
Regarding claim 7, Kamiyama teaches a display device, wherein the hole injection layer is a single layer.
Regarding claim 8, Kamiyama teaches a display device (Fig. 6D), wherein the anode includes a first pixel electrode (13R) and a second pixel electrode (13G), and the hole injection layer includes a first portion (15) overlapping the first pixel electrode and a second portion (15) overlapping the second pixel electrode, the first portion being separated from the second portion. See Fig. 6D.
Regarding claim 9, Kamiyama teaches a display device, wherein the hole injection layer includes a lower layer containing the PEDOT/PSS, and an upper layer containing the first polymer (16) and covering the lower layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication No. 20230369545 to Ohshima et al. teach a display device including an anode, a cathode and hole transport layer comprising PEDOT-PSS. Ohshima et al. do not specifically teach that the hole transport layer is a hole injection layer, nor do Ohshima et al. teach a polymer adjacent to the PEDOT-PSS.
DOUGLAS W. OWENS, Esq.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/DOUGLAS W OWENS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897