DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C.
119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/16/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-10, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “have flexibility” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “have flexibility” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitations “the first substrate” and “second substrate” in the claim has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term “have flexibility”.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the conductive layer has a function of an antenna” which is indefinite because it does not clearly define the structural or objective limitations that establishes the conductive layer as an antenna.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the first conductive layer has a function of an antenna” which is indefinite because it does not clearly define the structural or objective limitations that establishes the first conductive layer as an antenna.
Claim 6 recites “wherein the second conductive layer has a function of an electrode of a touch sensor” which is indefinite because it does not clearly define the structural or objective limitations that establishes the second conductive layer as a touch sensor.
Claim 6 recites “a display element between the first substrate and the first conductive layer and between the first substrate and the second conductive layer”. It is unclear how the display element is positioned relative to first and second conductive layers. The examiner interprets this as placing the display element between the first substrate and both the first and second conductive layers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 – 7, 9, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US20210103354A1; hereinafter Kim) in view of Kawata (US20160268315A1; hereinafter Kawata).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses a display apparatus [0158] comprising:
a first substrate (300, FIG. 14, [0158]) and a second substrate (CW, FIG. 18 reproduced below, [0200]); Kim [0200] discloses the cover window CW may be attached onto the touch array TA by using an adhesive layer, indicating CW functions as a second substrate.
a conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210 in the touch antenna array TA, FIG. 2, [0066], [0086]) between the first substrate (300) and the second substrate (CW), FIG. 18, [0167], [0193]. Kim FIG. 18, [0193] discloses the touch antenna array TA (including the conductive layer with antenna electrode 210) disposed on top of display panel DP (including substrate 300, [0170]), and the CW is disposed on top of the TA.
a display element (light emitting structure 320) between the first substrate (300) and the conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210 in the touch antenna array TA), FIG. 14, [0158].
wherein the first substrate (300) has flexibility (the display panel DP may be a flexible display panel, [0196]). Kim discloses the display panel DP may include a substrate 300, FIG. 15, [0170].
wherein each of the first substrate (300), the second substrate (CW), the conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210), and the display element (320) comprises a curved portion (the first edge display area EA1 and the second edge display area EA2 may be bent in a third direction D3 perpendicular to the first direction D1 and the second direction D2 to form a curved surface), FIGS. 17, 18, [0195], [0197], [0200], Kim discloses a edges EA1 and EA2 with a curved portion with first substrate 300 (within display panel DP), second substrate (CW), conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210 in TA) and the display element (within DP).
wherein curved portions (bent portions of EA1 and EA2) of the first substrate (300), the second substrate CW, the conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210), and the display element (320) overlap with each other, FIGS, 17, 18, [0195], [0197], [0200].
wherein the conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210) comprises a plurality of openings (mesh pattern openings), FIG. 13, [0167].
wherein the display element (320) overlaps with one of the plurality of openings (mesh pattern opening), [0160], [0167]. Kim discloses the antenna electrode openings are aligned with emission openings OP in which the display element 320 is disposed.
wherein the conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210 in the touch antenna array TA) has a function of an antenna, FIG. 2, [0063], [0066]. Kim [0063] discloses that the antenna electrode transmits and receives RF signals functioning as an antenna.
Kim: FIG. 18
Kim discloses the second substrate (CW) is curved (cover window CW may have a curved edge portion to correspond to curved surfaces), FIG. 18, [0200], but does not disclose an explicit second substrate with flexibility.
In a similar art, Kawata discloses a display device 100, FIG. 3B reproduced below, [0098].
Kawata discloses: a first substrate (111) and a second substrate (121), FIG. 3B, [0098];
wherein the first substrate (111) and the second substrate (121) each have flexibility (flexible material such as an organic resin material, or the like can be used for the substrate 111 and the substrate 121, [101]).
wherein each of the first substrate (111), the second substrate (121), the conductive layer (conductive wiring 219), and the display element (125) comprises a curved portion (bent portion of the display device 100 that is bent in the X direction), FIGS. 2B, 3B, [0080].
wherein curved portions of the first substrate (111), the second substrate (121), the conductive layer (conductive wiring 219), and the display element (125) overlap with each other, (display device 100 that is bent in the X direction), FIGS. 2B, 3B, [0080].
Kawata discloses the substrates 111 and 121 overlap each other, and the display elements 125 and conductive layer 217 are stacked between them, indicating the curved portions of the first and second substrate, conductive layer and the display element overlap with each other, [0077], [0094], [0097].
Kawata: FIG. 3B
Kawata discloses that a display device as taught provides a flexible, bendable, and highly reliable device [0009]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s device, in order to provide a display device with improved flexibility, bendability, and reliability as disclosed by Kawata [0009].
Claims 2-4. (canceled)
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Kim and Kawata disclose the display apparatus according to claim 1.
Kim discloses: wherein the conductive layer (conductive layer including antenna electrode 210) comprises a metal selected from silver, copper, or aluminum, (silver, gold, copper, aluminum, [0095]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kim discloses a display apparatus [0158] comprising:
a first substrate (300, FIG. 14, [0158]) and a second substrate (CW, FIG. 18, [0200]); Kim [0200] discloses the cover window CW may be attached onto the touch array TA by using an adhesive layer, indicating CW indicating CW functions as a second substrate.
a first conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210 in the touch antenna array TA, FIG. 2, [0066], [0086]) and a second conductive layer (conductive layer with a touch electrode TE, a ground wiring 112, and a touch wiring 114 in the touch antenna array TA, [0066], [0158]) between the first substrate (300) and the second substrate (CW), FIG. 13, FIG. 18, [0158]. The conductive layer with antenna electrode 210 and the conductive layer with touch electrode TE are included in the touch antenna array TA which is stacked between third substrate 300 (included in DP) and second substrate (CW).
a display element (light emitting structure 320) between the first substrate (300) and the first conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210) and between the first substrate (300) and the second conductive layer (conductive layer with a touch electrode TE), FIG. 14, [0159], [0160], Kim discloses the display element 320 is disposed on the substrate 300 included in the display panel DP. The first and second conductive layers are included in the TA which is stacked on top of the display panel DP, indicating the display element is between the first substrate 300 and the first and second conductive layers, FIG. 18, [0066].
wherein the first conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210) and the second conductive layer (conductive layer with a touch electrode TE) each comprise a plurality of openings (mesh pattern openings), FIG. 13, [0161], [0167].
wherein the display element (320) comprises a region overlapping with one of the plurality of openings (mesh pattern openings) in one of the first conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210) and the second conductive layer (conductive layer with a touch electrode TE), FIG. 13, [0160], [0167]. Kim discloses the antenna electrode openings are aligned with emission openings OP in which the display element 320 is disposed, indicating the display element overlaps with the plurality of openings in the first conductive layer.
wherein the first conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210) has a function of an antenna, FIG. 2, [0063], [0066]. Kim [0063] discloses that the antenna electrode transmits and receives RF signals functioning as an antenna.
wherein the second conductive layer (conductive layer with a touch electrode TE) has a function of an electrode of a touch sensor (plurality of touch electrode elements for a touch input function, [0059])
Kim discloses CW functioning as the second substrate (CW), FIG. 18, [0200], but does not disclose explicitly a second substrate.
In a similar art, Kawata discloses a display device 100, FIG. 3B, [0098].
Kawata discloses: a first substrate (111) and a second substrate (121), FIG. 3B, [0098].
Kawata discloses that a display device as taught provides a flexible, bendable, and highly reliable device [0009]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s device, in order to provide a display device with improved flexibility, bendability, and reliability as disclosed by Kawata [0009].
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Kim and Kawata disclose the display apparatus according to claim 6.
Kim discloses: wherein the first conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210) and the second conductive layer (conductive layer with a touch electrode TE) do not overlap with each other (the antenna electrode 210 may be spaced from the touch electrode TE when viewed in a plan view so as not to overlap the touch electrode TE, FIG. 2, [0072]).
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Kim and Kawata disclose the display apparatus according to claim 6.
Kim discloses: wherein the first conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210) and the second conductive layer (conductive layer with a touch electrode TE), each comprise a metal selected from silver, copper, or aluminum, [0087], [0095]. Kim [0095] discloses the first conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210) comprise silver, gold, copper, aluminum. Kim [0087] discloses the second conductive layer (conductive layer with TE and wiring 112 and 114) comprise silver, gold, copper, aluminum.
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Kim and Kawata disclose the display apparatus according to claim 1.
Kim discloses: wherein the display element is an organic EL element (OLED), [0168].
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Kim and Kawata disclose the display apparatus according to claim 1.
Kim does not disclose ”wherein the curved portions of the first substrate, the second substrate, the conductive layer, and the display element are concave curved portions.”
Kawata discloses: wherein the curved portions of the first substrate (111), the second substrate (121), the conductive layer (conductive wiring 219), and the display element (125) are concave curved portions, (curved portion of the bent display device 100, FIG. 2D, [0080]). FIG. 2D discloses the display device 100 that is bent to be rolled up, with a concave curved inner portion.
Kawata discloses that a display device as taught provides a flexible, bendable, and highly reliable device [0009]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s device, in order to provide a display device with improved flexibility, bendability, and reliability as disclosed by Kawata [0009].
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Kim and Kawata disclose the display apparatus according to claim 1.
Kim discloses: wherein the curved portions of the first substrate (300), the second substrate (CW), the conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210), and the display element (320) are convex curved portions, FIG. 18, [0195]. Kim discloses a first edge EA1 and a second edge EA2 may be bent in direction D3. The edge EA1 and EA2 regions includes first substrate 300 (within display panel DP), second substrate (CW), conductive layer (conductive layer with antenna electrode 210 in TA) and the display element (within DP). FIG. 18 discloses the edges with a convex curved portion bent in direction D3.
11. (canceled)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kawata, further in view of Jong et al. (US20200067176A1; hereinafter Jong).
Regarding Claim 8, The combination of Kim and Kawata disclose the display apparatus according to claim 6.
The combination of Kim and Kawata does not disclose “wherein the first conductive layer comprises a region overlapping with the second conductive layer.”
In a similar art, Jong discloses a touch sensor in a display device [0037].
Jong discloses the antenna unit 20 provided on the touch sensor unit 10 overlapped both the Tx electrode 130 and the Rx electrode 120 of the touch sensor unit 10, FIG. 4, [0041].
The combination of Kim and Jong disclose: wherein the first conductive layer (Kim: conductive layer with antenna electrode 210) comprises a region overlapping with the second conductive layer (Kim: conductive layer with touch electrode TE), Jong: FIG. 4, [0041].
Jong discloses that a display device as taught minimizes noise interference and improves performance of the display device [0009]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Kawata’s device, in order to provide a display device with minimized noise interference and improved performance as disclosed by Jong [0009].
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to Krishna Palaniswamy whose telephone number is
(571)272-6239. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30AM - 5PM
EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Brent Fairbanks can be reached on 408-918-7532. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is
available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center,
visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent -
center for more information about Patent Center and ttps://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx
for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the
Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN
USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Krishna J. Palaniswamy/
Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899