DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3 are pending before the Office for review.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOYODA et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0008821) in view of AKIMOTO et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0037535).
With regards to claim 1, Toyoda discloses a method for producing a resin member used in a production process of electronic devices comprising: a processing step of applying abrasive processing to a surface of a raw member to set a surface roughness Ra 0.5 µm or less (Paragraphs [0041]-[0043], [0087] discloses forming a resin sealing sheet wherein the surface is subjected to a grinding process wherein the ground surface has a mean surface roughness of Rx 0.5µm or less) to 100 nm or less. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
Toyoda does not explicitly disclose a contact angle of pure water with respect to a surface to 70° or more and less than 110°.
Akimoto discloses a method for producing a resin member comprising forming an composite comprising an epoxy wherein the composite film has a water repellency of 75° or more to provide good water repellency. (Paragraphs [0286, [0315]-[0338]). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) Therefore tit would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the contact angle of the surface to amounts including Applicant’s claimed amount of 70° or more and less than 110° in order to provide a surface that has water repellency as taught by the modified teachings of Toyoda in view of Akimoto. (Akimoto Paragraph [0286], MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Therefore it would have been prime facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Toyoda to include the contact angle as rendered obvious by Akimoto because the reference of Akimoto teaches such contact angle provides desired water repellency (Paragraph[0286]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired resin member using the contact angle as rendered obvious by Akimoto. MPEP 2143D
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner has rejected the subject matter of independent claim 1 under Toyoda in view of Akimoto. With regards to claim 2, the cited prior art fails to teach or render obvious wherein “…the raw member is formed of a fluororesin”. A further search of the prior art has failed to produce analogous art which teaches or renders obvious this limitation. With regards to claims 3-4, the cited prior art fails to teach or render obvious “… the processing step is a step of reducing the contact angle of pure water with respect to the surface by 5° or more than the contact angle before the processing by the abrasive processing.” A further search of the prior art has failed to produce analogous art which teaches or renders obvious this limitation.
Conclusion
/STEPHANIE P DUCLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713