DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to JP2021-089308 for 05/27/2021. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
OLED STRUCTURE FOR TOUCHSCREEN PANEL AND METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING THEREOF
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/16/2024 has been considered by the examiner. The examiner requests that due to the volume of IDS documents submitted, the most relevant documents be identified for the record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamada et al. (WO 2020/0053692A1, US PGPub 2021/0327979 is the US equivalent and is cited for convenience; herein known as Kamada) in view of Yamazaki et al. (WO 2020/021399A1, US PGPub 2021/0296409 is the US equivalent and is cited for convenience; herein known as Yamazaki).
Regarding claim 1, Kamada teaches (Fig. 2A) a display apparatus comprising: a first light-emitting element (190, [0080]), a light-receiving element (110, [0080]), and a first coloring layer, wherein the first light-emitting element comprises: a first pixel electrode (191, [0083]), a first organic layer (193, [0086]) over the first pixel electrode, and a common electrode (115, [0093]) over the first organic layer, wherein the light-receiving element comprises: a second pixel electrode (111, [0093]), a second organic layer (113, [0086]) over the second pixel electrode, and the common electrode (115, [0093]) over the second organic layer, wherein the first organic layer comprises: a first light-emitting layer ([0086]), wherein the second organic layer comprises a photoelectric conversion layer ([0093]),
Kamada does not explicitly teach a first coloring layer, wherein the first coloring layer overlaps with the first light-emitting element, nor and wherein the photoelectric conversion layer has sensitivity in a wavelength range of light passing through the first coloring layer.
Yamazaki teaches (Fig. 6A) a first coloring layer (CF, [0108]) wherein the first coloring layer overlaps with the first light-emitting element (170, [0108]).
Because Kamada and Yamazaki are both directed toward OLED devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamada and Yamazaki to include a first coloring layer, wherein the first coloring layer overlaps with the first light-emitting element in order to achieve full-color display (Yamazaki, [0109]).
Kamada in view of Yamazaki does not explicitly teach wherein the photoelectric conversion layer has sensitivity in a wavelength range of light passing through the first coloring layer ([0123]).
Kamada further teaches wherein the photoelectric conversion layer has sensitivity in a wavelength range of light passing through the first coloring layer ([0123]).
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the teachings of Kamada and Yamazaki to include wherein the photoelectric conversion layer has sensitivity in a wavelength range of light passing through the first coloring layer in order to enable a highly sensitive sensor with selectively inhibited light ([0123]).
Regarding claim 3, Kamada in view Yamazaki teaches (Kamada, Fig. 2A) the display apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a resin layer, wherein the resin layer (216, [0092]) is positioned in a region between the first light-emitting element (190, [0080]) and the light-receiving element (110, [0080]), and wherein a side surface of the first organic layer and a side surface of the second organic layer face (See Figure 2A) each other with the resin layer therebetween (See Figure 2A).
Regarding claim 5, Kamada in view of Yamazaki teaches (Kamada, not pictured) the display apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a second light-emitting element ([0009]); and wherein the second light-emitting element comprises: a third pixel electrode ([0009]); a third organic layer over the third pixel electrode ([0009]); and the common electrode ([0009]) over the third organic layer, wherein the third organic layer comprises a second light-emitting layer ([0009]),
Kamada in view of Yamazaki does not explicitly teach a second coloring layer, wherein the second coloring layer is overlaps with the second light-emitting element, and wherein a wavelength range of light passing through the second coloring layer is different from the wavelength range of light passing through the first coloring layer.
At the time of filing, there is a recognized need to provide subpixels emitting different colors in OLED devices.
Yamazaki teaches a coloring layer disposed over a light-emitting element for the purpose of providing a finite number of options of either a red, green, or blue subpixel ([0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine Kamada and Yamazaki to include a second coloring layer, wherein the second coloring layer is overlaps with the second light-emitting element, and wherein a wavelength range of light passing through the second coloring layer is different from the wavelength range of light passing through the first coloring layer as a known potential solution with a reasonable expectation of success of providing two light-emitting subpixels with different colors. See MPEP 2143.I(E).
Regarding claim 7, Kamada in view of Yamazaki further teaches (Kamada, Fig. 2A) the display apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the first organic layer comprises: a first light-emitting unit (112, [0092]) over the first pixel electrode (191); a first charge-generation layer (193, [0090]) over the first light-emitting unit; and a second light-emitting unit (114, [0092]) over the first charge-generation layer, wherein the third organic layer comprises: a third light-emitting unit (112, [0092]) over the third pixel electrode; a second charge-generation layer (not pictured, [0009]) over the third light-emitting unit; and a fourth light-emitting unit (114, [0092]) over the second charge-generation layer.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamada in view of Yamazaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamazaki et al. (US PGPub 2020/0057330; herein known as Yamazaki2).
Regarding claim 2, Kamada in view of Yamazaki teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising a region in which a distance between the first organic layer and the second organic layer is less than or equal to 8 μm.
Yamazaki2 teaches wherein the pitch between two pixels is ideally in a range of 4-100μm where pitch is a result-effective variable of impacting screen resolution ([0170]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein which a distance between the first organic layer and the second organic layer is less than or equal to 8 μm in order to improve device resolution (Yamazaki, [0170]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamada in view of Yamazaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Akiyama et al. (US PGPub 2013/0075761; herein known as Akiyama).
Regarding claim 4, Kamada in view of Yamazaki (Kamada, Fig. 2A) the display apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a resin layer (216, [0092]); and wherein the resin layer is positioned between the first light-emitting element (190) and the light-receiving element (110).
Kamada in view of Yamazaki does not explicitly teach an insulating layer wherein the insulating layer is in contact with a side surface of the first organic layer and side surface of the second organic layer.
Akiyama teaches an insulating layer (202, defined as an insulating film) wherein the insulating layer is in contact with a side surface of the first organic layer (205, [0051]) and side surface of the second organic layer (305, [0050]).
Because Kamada in view of Yamazaki and Akiyama are directed toward OLED devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamada in view of Yamazaki and of Akiyama to include an insulating layer wherein the insulating layer is in contact with a side surface of the first organic layer and side surface of the second organic layer in order to define and separate emitting and receiving regions (Akiyama, [0048]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamada in view of Yamazaki, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Yamazaki2.
Regarding claim 6, Kamada in view of Yamazaki teaches the display apparatus according to claim 5, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer comprise a same material.
Yamazaki2 teaches wherein the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer comprise a same material ([0133]).
Because Kamada in view of Yamazaki and Yamazaki2 are directed toward OLED devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamada in view of Yamazaki and of Yamazaki2 to include wherein the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer comprise a same material in order to simplify formation process of the light-emitting elements (Yamazaki2, [0133]).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamada in view of Yamazaki, and further in view of Chen et al. (US PGPub 2020/0274110; herein known as Chen).
Regarding claim 9, Kamada teaches (Fig. 2A) a method for manufacturing a display apparatus, comprising the steps of: forming a first pixel electrode (191, [0083]) and a second pixel electrode (111, [0093]); forming a first organic film (112, [0093]) to cover the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode; forming a second organic film (114, [0093]) to cover the first organic layer and the second pixel electrode; wherein the first organic layer comprises a light-emitting organic compound, and wherein the second organic layer comprises a photoelectric conversion material.
Kamada does not explicitly teach forming a first resist mask over the first sacrificial film to overlap with the first pixel electrode; processing the first sacrificial film into a first sacrificial layer having an island shape using the first resist mask; processing the first organic film into a first organic layer having an island shape using the first sacrificial layer as a mask; forming a second organic film to cover the first organic layer and the second pixel electrode; forming a second sacrificial film over the second organic film; forming a second resist mask over the second sacrificial film to overlap with the second pixel electrode; processing the second sacrificial film into a second sacrificial layer having an island shape using the second resist mask; processing the second organic film into a second organic layer having an island shape using the second sacrificial layer as a mask.
Chen teaches (Figs. 5J to 5M) forming a first sacrificial film (50, [0040]) over the first organic film; forming a first resist mask (50P, [0040]) over the first sacrificial film to overlap with the first pixel electrode ([0040]); processing the first sacrificial film into a first sacrificial layer having an island shape using the first resist mask ([0041], opening is formed in sacrificial layer) processing the first organic film into a first organic layer having an island shape using the first sacrificial layer as a mask ([0042]);
Chen further teaches wherein this process can be repeated on additional elements of a device ([0046]).
Because Kamada and Chen are both directed toward methods of manufacturing OLED devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamada and of Chen in order to enable a highly selective etch of the organic layer of the device.
Kamada in view of Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the organic layer has an island shape.
Yamazaki teaches wherein the organic layer has an island shape ([0252]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamada in view of Chen and of Yamazaki to include wherein the organic layer has an island shape for use in flexible OLED substrates.
Kamada in view of Yamazaki and Chen does not explicitly teach forming a coloring layer over the first organic layer to overlap with the first organic layer.
Yamazaki teaches (Fig. 3) forming a coloring layer (CF, [0108]) over the first organic layer to overlap with the first organic layer (112, [0093]).
Because Kamada in view of Chen and Yamazaki are both directed toward OLED devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamada in view of Chen and Yamazaki to include forming a coloring layer over the first organic layer to overlap with the first organic layer. in order to achieve full-color display (Yamazaki, [0109]).
Regarding claim 10, Kamada teaches (Fig. 2A) a method for manufacturing a display apparatus, comprising the steps of: forming a first pixel electrode (191, [0083]) and a second pixel electrode (111, [0093]); forming a first organic film (112, [0093]) to cover the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode; wherein the first organic layer comprises a photoelectric conversion material [(0093]), and wherein the second organic layer comprises a light-emitting organic compound [(0093)].
Kamada does not explicitly teach forming a first resist mask over the first sacrificial film to overlap with the first pixel electrode; processing the first sacrificial film into a first sacrificial layer having an island shape using the first resist mask; processing the first organic film into a first organic layer having an island shape using the first sacrificial layer as a mask; forming a second organic film to cover the first organic layer and the second pixel electrode; forming a second sacrificial film over the second organic film; forming a second resist mask over the second sacrificial film to overlap with the second pixel electrode; processing the second sacrificial film into a second sacrificial layer having an island shape using the second resist mask; processing the second organic film into a second organic layer having an island shape using the second sacrificial layer as a mask.
Chen teaches (Figs. 5J to 5M) forming a first sacrificial film (50, [0040]) over the first organic film; forming a first resist mask (50P, [0040]) over the first sacrificial film to overlap with the first pixel electrode ([0040]); processing the first sacrificial film into a first sacrificial layer having an island shape using the first resist mask ([0041], opening is formed in sacrificial layer), processing the first organic film into a first organic layer having an island shape using the first sacrificial layer as a mask ([0042]);
Chen further teaches wherein this process can be repeated on additional elements of a device ([0046]).
Because Kamada and Chen are both directed toward methods of manufacturing OLED devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamada and of Chen in order to enable a highly selective etch of the organic layer of the device. forming a common electrode (115, [0093]) over the first organic layer and the second organic layer.
Kamada in view of Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the organic layer has an island shape.
Yamazaki teaches wherein the organic layer has an island shape ([0252]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamada in view of Chen and of Yamazaki to include wherein the organic layer has an island shape for use in flexible OLED substrates.
Kamada in view of Chen and Yamazaki does not explicitly teach forming a coloring layer over the common electrode to overlap with the second organic layer.
Yamazaki further teaches forming a coloring layer (CF, [0108]) over the common electrode to overlap with the second organic layer.
Because Kamada in view of Chen and Yamazaki are both directed toward OLED devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kamada in view of Chen and Yamazaki to include forming a coloring layer over the common electrode to overlap with the second organic layer in order to achieve full-color display (Yamazaki, [0109]).
Claims 11-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamada in view of Yamazaki and Chen as applied to claims 9 and 10 above, and further in view of Hashimoto et al. (JP 2008251270A; herein known as Hashimoto, translation provided for reference).
Regarding claim 11, Kamada in view of Chen and Yamazaki teaches the method for manufacturing a display apparatus, according to claim 9, but does not explicitly teach further comprising the step of: forming an insulating film to cover the first organic layer and the second organic layer after the second organic layer is formed.
Hashimoto teaches (Fig. 1b) forming an insulating film (7, [0034]) to cover the first organic layer and the second organic layer after the second organic layer is formed (insulating film is over both layers, see figure). Because Kamada in view of Yamazaki and Chen and Hashimoto are directed toward OLED manufacture, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings to include forming an insulating film to cover the first organic layer and the second organic layer after the second organic layer is formed in order to protect the organic layers during subsequent processing (Hashimoto, [0034]).
Regarding claim 12, Kamada in view of Chen, Yamazaki, and Hashimoto teaches the method for manufacturing a display apparatus, according to claim 11, wherein the insulating film is formed by an atomic layer deposition method.
Kamada in view of Chen, Yamazaki, and Hashimoto teach an insulating film formed of a metal oxide (Hashimoto, 0117). The examiner takes official notice that atomic layer deposition is a known method of deposition of metal oxide films, with the benefit of creating highly conformal coatings on semiconductor structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the insulating film is formed by an atomic layer deposition method for that benefit.
Regarding claim 13, Kamada in view of Yamazaki, Chen, and Hashimoto teaches (Kamada, Fig. 2A) the method for manufacturing a display apparatus, according to claim 11, further comprising the step of: forming a resin layer (216, [0126]) over the insulating film in a region between the first organic layer (193) and the second organic layer (113).
Regarding claim 15, Kamada in view of Chen and Yamazaki teaches the method for manufacturing a display apparatus, according to claim 10, but does not explicitly teach further comprising the step of: forming an insulating film to cover the first organic layer and the second organic layer after the second organic layer is formed.
Hashimoto teaches (Fig. 1b) forming an insulating film (7, [0034]) to cover the first organic layer and the second organic layer after the second organic layer is formed (insulating film is over both layers, see figure). Because Kamada in view of Yamazaki and Chen and Hashimoto are directed toward OLED manufacture, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings to include forming an insulating film to cover the first organic layer and the second organic layer after the second organic layer is formed in order to protect the organic layers during subsequent processing (Hashimoto, [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Kamada in view of Chen, Yamazaki, and Hashimoto teaches the method for manufacturing a display apparatus, according to claim 15, wherein the insulating film is formed by an atomic layer deposition method.
Kamada in view of Chen, Yamazaki, and Hashimoto teach an insulating film formed of a metal oxide (Hashimoto, 0117). The examiner takes official notice that atomic layer deposition is a known method of deposition of metal oxide films, with the benefit of creating highly conformal coatings on semiconductor structures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the insulating film is formed by an atomic layer deposition method for that benefit.
Regarding claim 17, Kamada in view of Yamazaki, Chen, and Hashimoto teaches (Kamada, Fig. 2A) the method for manufacturing a display apparatus, according to claim 15, further comprising the step of: forming a resin layer (216, [0126]) over the insulating film in a region between the first organic layer (193) and the second organic layer (113).
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamada in view of Yamazaki, Chen, and Hashimoto as applied to claims 13 and 17 above, and further in view of Yamazaki2.
Regarding claim 14, Kamada in view of Yamazaki, Chen, and Hashimoto teach the method for manufacturing a display apparatus, according to claim 13, but does not explicitly teach wherein a photosensitive organic resin is used for the resin layer.
Yamazaki2 teaches wherein a photosensitive organic resin is used for the resin layer ([0323]).
Because Kamada in view of Yamazaki and Chen and Yamazaki2 are directed toward OLED devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine their teachings to include wherein a photosensitive organic resin is used for the resin layer to allow for processing by light exposure and development treatment (Yamazaki2, [0323]).
Regarding claim 18, Kamada in view of Yamazaki, Chen, and Hashimoto teach the method for manufacturing a display apparatus, according to claim 17, but does not explicitly teach wherein a photosensitive organic resin is used for the resin layer.
Yamazaki2 teaches wherein a photosensitive organic resin is used for the resin layer ([0323]).
Because Kamada in view of Yamazaki and Chen and Yamazaki2 are directed toward OLED devices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine their teachings to include wherein a photosensitive organic resin is used for the resin layer to allow for processing by light exposure and development treatment (Yamazaki2, [0323]).
Conclusion
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/EMILY FARMER/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812