DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to claim objection of claims 1 and 2-12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections has been withdrawn. However, new objections to drawings are raised due to added claims 13-18.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The examiner finds that Shimoda teaches the limitation of a first absorption coefficient with respect to the laser light to absorb the laser light to an extent sufficient to form a modified layer in the first absorption layer. Furthermore, the examiner finds Yamauchi to teach a second absorption layer that transmits light having a wavelength different from that of the laser light. Also, new 35 USC § 112 (b) rejections are raised for claims 2, 3, 6 and 8 due to the added limitations of claim 1.
In summary, this application is not placed in a condition for an allowance.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the circumferential direction and a radial direction as required in claims 13-18 and referenced in ¶ [0022] of the instant application must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
A skilled person of the art would not be able to ascertain how the circumferential direction and the radial direction, as referenced in ¶ [0047] of the instant application, is structured in relation to other components illustrated in the figures. Hence, for clarity of record, the drawings need to be updated to show these claimed subject matter.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 has a typographical error in the limitation of “such that the laser light is transmitted to the first adsorption [sic: absorption] layer through the first substrate” (see second paragraph).
Claim 6 contains a limitation of “the second absorption layer absorbs laser light, and transmits a detection light” (lines 3-4) that is repeating the added limitation in claim 1 which states “wherein the second absorption layer is configured to absorb the laser light… and to transmit a light having a wavelength different from a wavelength of the laser light” (4th paragraph). Hence, this particular limitation of claim 6 does not further delimit claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 6, 8 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-3, 6 and 8-9 recite “a detection light” that is used to detect an alignment mark. However, it is not clear whether this detection light is the same as the “a light having a wavelength different from a wavelength of the laser light” as defined in parent claim 1 (4th paragraph) or a different light. Since the specification and figures discloses one other light, which is the detection light, then the examiner treats these two lights to be the same.
Claim 8, and dependent claim 9, recite the limitation of “the second absorption layer… absorbs a detection light,” (line 3) which conflicts the limitation of “the second absorption layer… transmit a light having a wavelength different from the wavelength of the laser light” in parent claim 1 (4th paragraph, line 3). It is not clear as to how the same claim element can both absorb and transmit the same light. Since there is confusion on the proper interpretation of these claims, this limitation will not be rejected under art.
Claim 13-18 each recite “a plurality of modified layers.” It is not clear whether the “a modified layer” that is formed by the laser light, as required in claim 1, is one of the plurality of modified layers or if it is from a different set. For the purpose of compact prosecution, the examiner treats the modified layer of claim 1 to be in the same set as in these dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 10-13, 15, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda (JP H10125929 A; see English translation in FOR mailed on 20 November 2023) in view of Sreenivasan (US 2021/0134640 A1) and Yamauchi (WO 2012/133760 A1; see NPL mailed on 16 March 2026 for English translation ) as evidenced by RefractiveIndex (see NPL).
Regarding claim 1, Shimoda teaches a substrate processing method comprising:
preparing a laminated substrate (see Overview) including a first substrate (1), a first absorption layer (21; Figs. 5 & 6 show 21 absorbing laser light 7) configured to transmit at least a part (¶ [0108] of English translation: “a portion of the irradiation light 7 that is absorbed ty the light absorption layer 21”) of a laser light (7) and having a first absorption coefficient (¶ [0060]: 21 made of silicon; as evidenced by RefractiveIndex, α = 2788.7 cm-1 at 667 nm of light; note light 7 ranges from 350 to 1200 nm, see ¶ [0117] ) with respect to laser light to absorb the laser light to an extent sufficient to form a modified layer (11; see Fig. 6 and ¶ [0048] ) in the first absorption layer, a second absorption layer (22) having a second absorption coefficient (¶ [0055]: 22 made of Tungsten, as evidenced by RefractiveIndex, α = 5.4717e+5 cm-1 at 667 nm of light) with respect to laser light higher than the first absorption coefficient, and a second substrate (4) in this order;
irradiating the laser light with respect to the first substrate from a side (bottom side of 1) opposite to the second substrate (see Fig. 5) such that the laser light transmitted is through the first substrate; and
separating the first substrate and the second substrate using the modified layer as a starting point (see Fig. 6),
wherein the second absorption layer is configured to absorb the laser light to prevent the laser light not absorbed by the first absorption layer from reaching the device layer (¶ [0123]; note: ¶ [0085]-[0086]: second substrate 4 contains thin-film transistors).
Shimoda further teaches the second substrate to have a transistor (¶ [0014], [0085]-[0086]: transfer layer 4 is a thin film transistor). However, Shimoda does not teach the method wherein a device layer is between the second absorption layer and the second substrate.
Sreenivasan, in the same field of invention, teaches a substrate processing method (see Fig. 16C) comprising a first absorption layer (902, see Figs. 16B and 16C; ¶ [0109]: “the carrier wafer is de-bonded by removing adhesive 902 using laser radiation 1603” ), a device layer (transistor 206; not labelled in Fig. 16 but shown in Fig. 2), and a second substrate (201/203, see Figs. 2 & 16B, which shows 206 above 201/203), wherein the device layer is above the first absorption layer and below the second substrate (203; Fig. 16B, when viewed upside down, shows 206, which is not labelled, to be above 902 and below 203). Hence, Shimoda in view of Sreenivasan teaches a device layer in between the second absorption layer (Sreenivasan’s 902 is analogous to both first absorption layer and second absorption layer) and the second substrate.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Sreenivasan into the method of Shimoda to insert a device layer in between the second absorption layer and the second substrate. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shimoda in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of fabricating transistors (¶ [0060]: 206 are transistors ) using known design methods and structures in the art, i.e., a transistor layer is patterned above a wafer (201) using lithography and etching methods (Sreenivasan Fig. 3) and for the further purpose of adding front-end high-resolution device layers in a “feedstock” design (202) to reduce cost (¶ [0060]).
Shimoda further teaches using a laser light having a wavelength of 100 to 350 nm (¶ [0036]). However, Shimoda et al. do not teach the second absorption layer to transmit a light having a wavelength different from a wavelength of the laser light.
Yamauchi, in the same field of invention, teaches a method wherein the second absorption layer (RS1; see Fig. 8) is configured to transmit a light (¶ [0059]: infrared light) having a wavelength (infrared is known in the art to have 700 nm to 1 mm) different from a wavelength of laser light.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Yamauchi into the method of Shimoda et al. to modify the second absorption layer to a material that allows transmission of another light having a wavelength different from the laser light. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shimoda in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using alignment marks (MW2) to ensure proper alignment of the laminated wafer with respect to another substrate (51, see Yamauchi Fig. 17; ¶ [0054]), prior to separating the substrate using the laser light (Yamauchi Fig. 19 and ¶ [0186] teaches RS1 to absorb a laser light), for the further purpose of reducing the processing time of transferring a plurality of chips to be vertically stacked on a substrate (¶ [0005]-[0007]; see Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 3, the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the laminated substrate (53 & WT1 & RS1 & CP1; see Yamauchi Fig. 17; ¶ [0014]) includes an alignment mark (MW2), and further comprising:
irradiating a detection light (55a; ¶ [0089] 55a emits infrared light) that is used to detect the alignment mark in a direction (55a emits light upwards along the z-axis) opposite to a direction (downwards along the z-axis; Yamauchi teaches using laser to detach WT1 from chips CP1, see “debonding process” in Fig. 19 and ¶ [0186]; Shimoda et al. in view of Yamauchi teaches the laser to be emitted from the top of substrate 53) of the laser light with respect to the alignment mark.
Regarding claim 4, the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the laminated substrate (53 & WT1 & RS1 & CP1; see Yamauchi Fig. 17; ¶ [0014]) includes an alignment mark (MW2), and
the alignment mark is disposed between the first substrate (WT1) and the first absorption layer (RS1, which is made of resin; labelled in Fig. 19 is the second absorption layer; Shimoda in view of Yamauchi teaches MW2 to be in between the first substrate and first absorption layer).
Regarding claim 5, the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the laminated substrate (53 & WT1 & RS1 & CP1; see Yamauchi Fig. 17; ¶ [0014]) includes an alignment mark (MW2), and
the alignment mark is disposed between the first substrate (WT1) and the first absorption layer (RS1, which is made of resin; labelled in Fig. 19 is the second absorption layer; Shimoda in view of Yamauchi teaches MW2 to be in between the first substrate and first absorption layer).
Regarding claim 10, the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
bonding (Sreenivasan Fig. 9A, ¶ [0091]) a plurality of chips (there are multiple 202s on 901) including the device layer and the second substrate (each 202 consists of a 201/203 and a 206) to the first substrate (901) at intervals, wherein the plurality of chips and the first substrate are separated from one another by separating the first substrate and the second substrate from each other using the modified layer as a starting point (see Sreenivasan Fig. 16C-16D).
Regarding claim 11, the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 1, further comprising:
bonding (Sreenivasan Fig. 9A, ¶ [0091]) the second substrate (labelled as 203) having the device layer formed thereon to the first substrate (901) having a size (horizontal length of 901) identical to a size (horizontal length of 203) of the second substrate (Fig. 9A shows 203 having the same horizontal length as 901),
wherein the device layer formed on the second substrate and the first substrate are separated from each other by separating the first substrate and the second substrate from each other using the modified layer as a starting point (see Sreenivasan Fig. 16C-16D).
Regarding claim 12, Shimoda et al. teach the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 1,wherein the laser light has a wavelength of 3 nm to 350 nm (Shimoda ¶ [0116]) and further teaches changing the wavelength to 350 nm to 1200 nm to impart a separating characteristic to the modified layer through the means of a phase change (Shimoda ¶ [0117]). Hence, a person of ordinary skill, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find in obvious to optimize the range of the laser light wavelength from 8800 nm to 11000 nm depending on how the materials used in the first substrate, first absorption layer, or second absorption layer are affected by the laser at specific wavelengths. See also MPEP § 2144.05 (II)(A).
Regarding claim 13, the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 1, wherein a plurality of the modified layers (Shimoda Fig. 6 shows modified layers 11 found on both the top and bottom part of layer 21; this definition of “plurality of modified layers” is analogous to the “plurality of modified layers M” as disclosed in the Figs. 5-6 and par. 0022 of the instant application) is formed at intervals (along and parallel to device layer 4) in a circumferential direction (layers 11 are extending along the circumference of the wafer in Shimoda Fig. 6) and a radial direction (layers 11 are extending horizontally) of the first substrate.
Regarding claim 15, the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 3, wherein a plurality of the modified layers (Shimoda Fig. 6 shows modified layers 11 found on both the top and bottom part of layer 21; this definition of “plurality of modified layers” is analogous to the “plurality of modified layers M” as disclosed in the Figs. 5-6 and par. 0022 of the instant application) is formed at intervals (along and parallel to device layer 4) in a circumferential direction (layers 11 are extending along the circumference of the wafer in Shimoda Fig. 6) and a radial direction (layers 11 are extending horizontally) of the first substrate.
Regarding claim 16, the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 4, wherein a plurality of the modified layers (Shimoda Fig. 6 shows modified layers 11 found on both the top and bottom part of layer 21; this definition of “plurality of modified layers” is analogous to the “plurality of modified layers M” as disclosed in the Figs. 5-6 and par. 0022 of the instant application) is formed at intervals (along and parallel to device layer 4) in a circumferential direction (layers 11 are extending along the circumference of the wafer in Shimoda Fig. 6) and a radial direction (layers 11 are extending horizontally) of the first substrate.
Regarding claim 17, the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 5, wherein a plurality of the modified layers (Shimoda Fig. 6 shows modified layers 11 found on both the top and bottom part of layer 21; this definition of “plurality of modified layers” is analogous to the “plurality of modified layers M” as disclosed in the Figs. 5-6 and par. 0022 of the instant application) is formed at intervals (along and parallel to device layer 4) in a circumferential direction (layers 11 are extending along the circumference of the wafer in Shimoda Fig. 6) and a radial direction (layers 11 are extending horizontally) of the first substrate.
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda (JP H10125929 A) in view of Sreenivasan (US 2021/0134640 A1) and Yamauchi (WO 2012/133760 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Budd (US 2019/0088481 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Shimoda et al. teach the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the laminated substrate (53 & WT1 & RS1 & CP1; see Yamauchi Fig. 17; ¶ [0057]: these layers may be laminated) includes an alignment mark (MW2), and further comprising:
irradiating detection light (55a; ¶ [0089]: 55a emits infrared light) that is used to detect the alignment mark in a direction (55a emits light upwards along the z-axis) opposite to a direction (downwards along the z-axis; Yamauchi teaches using laser to detach WT1 from chips CP1, see “debonding process” in Fig. 19 and ¶ [0186], i.e., the laser to be emitted from the top of substrate 53) of the laser light with respect to the alignment mark.
However, Shimoda et al. do not teach: irradiating detection light that is used to detect the alignment mark in a direction identical to a direction of the laser light with respect to the alignment mark.
Budd, in the same field of invention, teaches a substrate processing method (Fig. 8B) comprising of irradiating detection light that is used to detect the alignment mark (26A) in a direction (fiducials 26A are seen by the vision system in an upwards direction) identical to a direction (laser lights are irradiating the substrate 26 in an upwards direction) of the laser light (39) with respect to the alignment mark.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Budd into the method of Shimoda et al. to change the direction of the infrared detection light from an opposite direction of the laser light to an identical direction of the laser light. The ordinary artisan would have noted that the Budd’s substrate (26: ¶ [0047]: made of silicon or glass) and Shimoda’s substrate (Shimoda ¶ [0044]: glass) allows both infrared and laser light to pass through. Hence, the position of the alignment mark can be changed to suit the preference of the ordinary skilled artisan. See also MPEP § 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Regarding claim 14, the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 2, wherein a plurality of the modified layers (Shimoda Fig. 6 shows modified layers 11 found on both the top and bottom part of layer 21; this definition of “plurality of modified layers” is analogous to the “plurality of modified layers M” as disclosed in the Figs. 5-6 and par. 0022 of the instant application) is formed at intervals in a circumferential direction (layers 11 are extending along the circumference of the wafer in Shimoda Fig. 6) and a radial direction (layers 11 are extending horizontally) of the first substrate.
Claims 6-7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda (JP H10125929 A) in view of Sreenivasan (US 2021/0134640 A1) and Yamauchi (WO 2012/133760 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Mu (US 2020/0057183 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Shimoda et al. teach the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 1, wherein
the laminated substrate (53 & WT1 & RS1 & CP1; see Yamauchi Fig. 17; ¶ [0014]) includes an alignment mark (MW2), with the method further comprising of a detection light (¶ [0089]: 55a emits infrared light) used to detect the alignment mark.
Shimoda et al. further teach the second absorption layer to be a multilayered film (Shimoda ¶ [0054]: 22 can have a plurality of layers), with the laser light to have a wavelength of ranging from 3nm to 350 nm (Shimoda ¶ [0116]]). However, Shimoda et al. does not teach the second absorption layer transmits the detection light.
Mu, in the same field of invention, teaches a multilayer film (11) that transmit infrared light (¶ [0005]). Hence, Shimoda et al in view of Mu teaches the second absorption layer transmit a detection light.
A person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective date of the claimed invention, will find it obvious to combine the teachings of Mu into the method of Shimoda et al to have the second absorption layer transmit infrared detection light. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Shimoda et al in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of using the multilayered film as band pass filter that would allow the detection light (infrared, known in the art to have wavelengths ranging from 780 nm to 1 mm) to pass through (Mu ¶ [0004]), thus ensuring the alignment marks of as taught by Yamauchi can be detected, but would block and/or absorb the laser light (Fig. 3 shows the filter allow wavelengths of 920nm - 960 nm), thus protecting the device layer of Sreenivasan from the laser.
Regarding claim 7, the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 6, wherein the second absorption layer includes a high refractive index layer (111; see Mu Fig. 1) and a low refractive index layer (112) that are arranged alternately and repeatedly (see ¶ [0038] and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, the substrate processing method as claimed in claim 6, wherein a plurality of the modified layers (Shimoda Fig. 6 shows modified layers 11 found on both the top and bottom part of layer 21; this definition of “plurality of modified layers” is analogous to the “plurality of modified layers M” as disclosed in the Figs. 5-6 and par. 0022 of the instant application) is formed at intervals (along and parallel to device layer 4) in a circumferential direction (layers 11 are extending along the circumference of the wafer in Shimoda Fig. 6) and a radial direction (layers 11 are extending horizontally) of the first substrate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS YAP/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/JOHN M PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899