DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected device and method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Malik et al (2011/0184139).
Malik et al disclose metal-containing resist (non-chemically amplified), wherein the resist comprises a metal oxide compound (comprising oxygen-containing ligands; see TABLE 1, claim 1, 15, [0035]-[0043]; instant claims 1, 2), and further comprises a solvent (instant claim 5), and a photoinitator having a ketone (Irgacure 184; [0078]-[0079]) which is a ketone having a carbonyl group (instant claim 4)and absorbs radiation in the 300nm or less wavelength and releases a radial absorbing in the 300nm or more range.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ma et al (2020/0096870).
Ma et al disclose a non-chemically amplified resist (organometallic EUV resist sensitize to wavelength of less than 300 nm), and a sensitizing precursor ([0006], [0022], [0026], [0029]) implanted into the resist to improve sensitivity upon exposure. Xe a preferred sensitizer, known as absorbing EUV radiation (ionizing) under 2300nm, and also UV/ Vis non-ionizing radiation having a wavelength of greater than 300 nm (instant claims 1 and 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tagawa et al (2016/0004160).
Tagawa et al teach a non-chemically amplified resist including a sensitizing precursor ([0024], [0087]). The precursors are sensitive to DUV, and EUV having a wavelength of less than 300 nm, and may be at least one of bis(4-methoxyphenyl)methanol (DOMeBzH), a dimethoxy benzhydrol derivative (DOBzMM), and trimethoxy benzhydrol (TriOMeBzH) ([0154], [0182], [0184], [0189]; alcohol, instant claim 4). The polymer is preferably a hydroxystyrene and PMMA resin main chain scission-type resist, resist as dissolved in solvent, then spin-coated; instant claims 3 and 5), and examples include PMMA resist polymers, and ZEP250A, a combination of chloroacrylate and methylstyrene (example 3, in anisole solvent).
Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Tagawa et al, choosing as the resist, a non-chemically amplified resist comprising a sensitizer precursor sensitive to radiation of 300nm or less, which also generates a sensitizer absorbing radiation of 300nm or more.
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tagawa et al in view of Wall et al (12,535,735).
Tagawa et al has been discussed above. The reference teaches known photoinitiators, such as those having a ketone structure are suitable for use in its composition.
Wall et al disclose improved ketone-type photoinitiators for use in resist compositions. The reference teaches the compounds are improved photoinitiators for photoresists, resulting in reduced scum, with preferred compound being that as disclosed as preferred by the instant specification (column 2, lines 27-63).
Given the teachings of the references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the composition of Tagawa et al, choosing as the photoinitiator, the improved ketone as taught by Wall et al to achieve less scum.
/AMANDA C. WALKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722