DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/23/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0043416 A1 [Wang].
Regarding Claim 1:
Wang discloses a charged particle detector (para 7) comprising:
a plurality of sensing elements formed in a substrate (Fig. 4 (301, 302, 303, et al)),
wherein a sensing element of the plurality of sensing elements( either Fig. 13 (800), para 83; or Fig. 5 (3000)) is formed of a first region on a first side of the substrate ((810) or (3020)), and a second region on a second side of the substrate ((830) or (3040)), the second side being opposite to the first side (as shown in Figs. 13 and 5);
a plurality of third regions formed on the second side of the substrate, the third regions including one or more circuit components ((841)- the circuit component of which is a CMOS; or (3001)- the circuit component being a MOSFET)
an array of fourth regions formed on the second side of the substrate, the array of fourth regions being between adjacent third regions ((842) or (850) or (3002)).
Regarding Claim 2:
Since conductivity in a doped semiconductor is a function of a number of factors such as bias, illumination, etc, the claim limitations to first and second conductivities are interpreted to describe the doping of the semiconductor materials. This is consistent with instant PgPub para 164.
Wang discloses charged particle detector of claim 1, wherein
the first region includes semiconductor material of a first conductivity (para 84 – p type),
the second region includes semiconductor material of a second conductivity (para 84 – n type),
the third region includes semiconductor material of the first conductivity (para 85– p type), and
the array of fourth regions includes semiconductor material of the second conductivity (para 84 – n type).
Regarding Claim 3:
Wang discloses the charged particle detector of claim 1, wherein
the first region includes p type semiconductor (para 84),
the second region includes n type semiconductor (para 84),
the third region includes p type semiconductor (para 85), and
the fourth region includes n type semiconductor (para 85).
Regarding Claim 4:
Wang discloses the charged particle detector of claim 1, wherein the second region is adjacent to the first region. As shown in Fig. 13.
Regarding Claim 5:
Wang discloses the charged particle detector of claim 1, wherein the sensing element includes a PIN diode. Paras 55-59.
Regarding Claim 6:
Wang discloses the charged particle detector of claim 1, wherein the array of fourth regions is connected by a wiring path. Fig. 15 (419).
Regarding Claim 7:
Wang discloses the charged particle detector of claim 1, wherein the array of fourth regions is connected by a bridge portion. Fig. 15 (419) acts as a bridge portion since it connects the components of a sensor region to the other sensor outside of the sensor itself.
Regarding Claim 8:
Wang discloses the charged particle detector of claim 1, wherein the array of fourth regions includes electrodes configured to collect carriers generated in the sensing element. (850), para 84.
Regarding Claim 9:
Wang discloses the charged particle detector of claim 1, wherein the one or more circuit components include transistors. Both the CMOS and MOSFET embodiments of Wang meet this limitation.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881