DETAILED ACTION
Background
The amendment dated May 07, 2026 (amendment) amending claims 1, 5 and 7, adding new claims 10-11 and cancelling claims 3 and 4 has been entered. Claims 1, 5 and 7-11 as filed with the amendment have been examined. In view of the amendment, all outstanding objections have been withdrawn and all outstanding rejections of canceled claims 3 and 4 have been withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because the separate elements beginning with “wherein” are not separated by a line indentation. See 37 CFR 1.75(i).
Claim is objected to for the following informalities:
In claim 1, at the beginning of each of lines 9 and 11 insert an indentation before “wherein”;
at line 4, after “wherein” delete the indent so that the next phrase is “the milk”; and,
at line 8, after “water”, delete the indent so that the next word is “wherein” .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN104146020 B to Mu et al. (Mu) in view of JP2018174860 A to (Sakamoto), of record.
All references to Mu refer to the Clarivate machine translation, a copy of which was provided in an earlier Office action. All references to Sakamoto refer to the Clarivate machine translation, a copy of which is provided with this Office action.
Unless otherwise disclosed, all percentages (%s) disclosed without units are interpreted as weight %s (wt%), which is interpreted as interchangeable with mass%.
Unless otherwise specified, the Office interprets the recited hardness and cohesiveness and the recited viscosity and modulus terms in claim 1 to refer to those properties as determined under conditions of room temperature and standard pressure.
The Office interprets the recited term “not substantially containing a wheat-derived protein” in claim 1 as meaning that the recited expanded food comprises less than 1 mass% of a wheat-derived protein, based on the total mass of the expanded food as disclosed in the instant specification at [0029] on page 21.
Regarding instant claims 1, 3-4 and 7, Mu in Example 1 on page 4, “Preferred Embodiment” 2nd and 3rd full paragraphs discloses a fermented dough (“an expanded food”) without gluten protein (“not substantially containing a wheat-derived protein”). The dough disclosed in Example 1 of Mu comprises a mixture of 140 g of potato starch (“(b)” in claim 4), 40 g potato powder, 20 g whey protein concentrate (“milk protein comprising a protein derived from a milk-fermented product” in claims 1 and 4; as “at least one edible composition comprising a milk protein, wherein at least one of the edible compositions is a milk-fermented product” as in claim 3; and as “(a) milk protein” in claim 4), 1.0% of yeast (“(c) a leavening agent” in claim 4) in 50 g water (“(d)” in claim 4) and, further comprising in various trials 0, 0.15, 0.25, 0.75, 1.0, 1.5 and 2.0 g hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC as “(e) a thickener” - claim 7) dissolved in 100 g 50 °C water (“(d)” in claim 4).
In addition, Mu at Example 1 discloses activating its dough at 35 °C for 10 min, then fermenting at 36 °C for 50 min (“subjecting a dough composition…to heat treatment to cause the dough composition to expand and form a support matrix” in claim 4). In addition, Mu discloses steamed bread and therefore discloses cooking as a heat treatment.
Further, the dough expanded food disclosed in Example 1 of Mu comprises protein only as milk protein from whey (milk protein or “milk protein (a)” in claim 4 comprises approximately 100 mass% milk protein “based on the total mass or protein content in the expanded food”).
Claim 1 recites product by process limitations manufactured using a fermentation process by fermenting a dough composition with yeast and subsequently subjecting the dough composition to a heat treatment to cause the dough composition to expand and form a support matrix. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. See MPEP 2113.I. Further, once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a prior art rejection is made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an nonobvious difference over the art. See MPEP 2113.II. However, Mu discloses fermenting its dough and doing so at 36°C, which is substantially above room temperature, as well as adding starch 50°C water to the dough. Accordingly, the Office considers the expanded food of Mu in Example 1 to be substantially the same thing as the claimed fermented and heat treated dough composition.
Still further and regarding instant claims 10-11, Mu does not disclose a dough or expanded food composition wherein the dough composition comprises a milk-fermented product; further, Mu does not disclose a dough composition wherein the milk-fermented product is at least one selected from the group consisting of fermented milk and a lactic acid bacteria beverage as in claim 10 or is yogurt as a fermented milk as in claim 11.
Sakamoto at Abstract on page 1 discloses a bread like food from a dough comprising no wheat protein and a fermented milk product and water which can be produced on an industrial scale. Further, at page 3, 2nd and 3rd full paragraphs Sakamoto discloses several milk-fermented products including yogurt and lactic bacteria kefir and kwark or quark. The Office considers the claimed lactic acid bacteria beverage as including the lactic acid kefir of Sakamoto.
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, the ordinary skilled artisan would have found it obvious in view of Sakamoto for Mu to use as its milk protein a milk-fermented product, yogurt or kefir. Both references disclose expanded foods and gluten free dough compositions comprising milk protein, leavening agent, water and starch. The ordinary skilled artisan in Mu would have desired to use the yogurt or kefir of Sakamoto in its dough to add liquid or fluidity and an acid flavor.
The Office considers the bread, steamed bun or cake containing a fermented milk product discloses in Mu at Example 1, page 3, 4th to last full paragraph as modified by Sakamoto and the Abstract and at page 3, 2nd and 3rd full paragraphs 3, an expanded food as approximately 100 mass% of the total protein, starch, water and yeast appear to be substantially the same thing as the claimed expanded food. Accordingly, absent a clear showing as to how the hardness, cohesiveness, modulus, viscosity and textural properties of the expanded food in Mu differs from that of the expanded food as claimed, the Office considers the expanded food of Example 1 and page 3, 4th to last full paragraph of Mu to have all of the (A)(1) hardness, as determined by a texture measurement, within the range of 0.10 to 0.35 N and (2) cohesiveness, as determined by a texture measurement, within the range of 0.50 to 0.71, and/or (B) values of (1) elastic modulus and (2) viscosity, as determined by a creep test, within the following ranges: (1a) instantaneous elastic modulus: 190 to 460 Pa; (1b) delayed elastic modulus: 4400 to 13000 Pa; (2a) delayed viscosity: 38000 to 117000 Pa•s; and (2b) permanent viscosity: 240000 to 820000 Pa•s as claimed in claim 1. MPEP 2112.01.I.
Regarding instant claim 8, the Office interprets the recited expanded food which substantially does not contain a processed rice product in claim 8 to include any such food which has 0.1 mass% or less of such a rice product, based on the total mass of the expanded food as disclosed in the instant specification at [0044] on page 30. Because the expanded food disclosed in Example 1 of Mu contains no rice or processed rice products, the Office considers the claimed expanded food which substantially does not contain a processed rice product in claim 8 to include the expanded food of Example 1 of Mu.
Regarding instant claim 9, the Office considers the recited expanded food made without using eggs or egg derived ingredients (“without an egg or an egg-derived ingredient or does not contain all members in the group”) to include the expanded food disclosed in Example 1 of Mu because it contains no eggs or egg-derived ingredients.
Response to Arguments
In view of the amendment dated May 07, 2026, the following rejections have been withdrawn as moot:
The rejections of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of claim 1; and,
The rejections of claims 1, 3-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN104146020 B to Mu et al. (Mu).
The positions taken in the remarks accompanying the amendment dated May 07, 2026 (Reply) with respect to claims 1, 3-5 and 7-9 have been considered but are not found persuasive for the following reasons:
Regarding the position taken in the Reply that Mu does not disclose a dough or expanded food composition wherein the dough composition comprises a milk-fermented product, Mu is not relied upon for the disclosure of a milk-fermented product, but does disclose dough and bread comprising milk proteins broadly.
Regarding the position taken in the Reply that Mu does not disclose a heat treatment, the Office respectfully disagrees. Cooking and heating to proof both comprise a heat treatment to expand a dough. Nothing on the record provides any evidence of any difference between the claimed product by process and the product of Mu.
Conclusion
/ANDREW E MERRIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1791