DETAILED ACTION
This is the Office action based on the 18564314 application filed December 14, 2023, and in response to applicant’s argument/remark filed on March 30, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below. Applicant’s withdrawal of claim 20 acknowledged. Applicant’s argument that the claims are definite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is persuasive. This Office action is made non-final.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on June 22, 2021, as filed in Application Data Sheet. It is noted, however, that the filing date in the foreign priority document provided by Applicant is actually June 2, 2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8 and 10-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kabansky et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 20170178899), hereinafter “Kabansky”:--Claims 1, 2, 18, 19: Kabansky teaches a method of deposition, comprising(i) providing a substrate comprising a hard mask 105 over a layer 101, the hardmask 105 comprises a plurality of protrusions separated by recesses (Fig. 1_30, [0022-0023]); (ii) loading the substrate onto a chuck in a process chamber, wherein the chuck is maintained at 30-250°C ([0061]);(iii) performing a directional deposition on the hardmask by: a) depositing a mask build-up material on the substrate, wherein the depositing comprises using plasma comprising a gaseous mixture from a silicon-containing precursor and diluting gases is used to deposit a silicon film on the hard mask, wherein the plasma may comprise SiHyClx radicals, H atoms, and chlorinated polysilanes (Step 201 in Fig. 2 or 4, [0024-0032], Fig. 3a); b) treating the mask build-up material, wherein the treating etches the mask build-up material in the recesses and re-deposits it at the upper portion of the recesses and increases top:bottom and top:sidewall step coverage (Step 203 in Fig. 2 or 4, [0033-0034, 0039], Fig. 3b), wherein the treating may comprise a hydrogen-based plasma, such as H2, CH4, NH3, C2H2, and N2H2 ([0035-0036]), wherein the treating may comprise a nitrogen-based plasma, an oxygen-based plasma, a hydrocarbon-based plasma, an argon-based plasma, or a helium-based plasma in some embodiments ([0037]); c) optionally reacting the mask build-up material to change its composition and increasing etch selectivity (Step 204 in Fig. 4, [0040]), wherein step (v) may be performed prior to step (iv) or after step (vi) ([0041]) d) optionally repeating steps (iii) a plurality of times to attain the desired aspect ratio, wherein each cycle may add 10-500 Å to the protrusion (Step 205 in Fig. 2 or 4, [0039], Fig. 3c);(iv) etching the substrate through the hard mask, thereby removing a portion of the build-up materials (Fig. 1_40, [0023]) Kabansky further teaches that step (iiia) and (iiib) may be performed in reversed order, or combined and performed simultaneously ([0051]). Kabansky further teaches that “(f)or example, a chlorosilane with hydrogen (H2) may be introduced to the chamber. A plasma may be struck, generating radicals (denoted with a *) and ions, with subsequent reactions producing chlorinated polysilanes” ([0027]), and “During operation of the apparatus, one or more reactant gases may be supplied through injection ports 560 and/or 570... Radio frequency power is supplied from the RF power supply 541 to the coil 533 to cause an RF current to flow through the coil 533. The RF current flowing through the coil 533 generates an electromagnetic field about the coil 533.” ([0057-0058]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to introduce the gas mixture into the process chamber, then supply RF power to the gas mixture to generate a plasma in the invention of Kabansky. Kabansky further teaches that the silicon-containing precursor may be any appropriate silicon-containing precursor, “While the above discussion focuses on depositing a silicon-based mask build-up material, other materials such as carbon films may be used. In depositing silicon, any appropriate silicon-containing precursor may be used including silanes (e.g., SiH4), polysilanes (H3Si—(SiH2)n—SiH3) where n>1, organosilanes, halogenated silanes, and aminosilanes. Organosilanes such as methylsilane, ethylsilane, isopropylsilane, t-butylsilane, dimethylsilane, diethylsilane, di-t-butylsilane, allylsilane, sec-butylsilane, thexylsilane, isoamylsilane, t-butyldisilane, di-t-butyldisilane, and the like, may be used. A halogenated silane contains at least one halogen group and may or may not contain hydrogens and/or carbon groups. Examples of halogenated silanes are iodosilanes, bromosilanes, chlorosilanes and fluorosilanes. Specific chlorosilanes are tetrachlorosilane (SiCl4), trichlorosilane (HSiCl3), dichlorosilane (H2SiCl2), monochlorosilane (ClSiH3), chloroallylsilane, chloromethylsilane, dichloromethylsilane, chlorodimethylsilane, chloroethylsilane, t-butylchlorosilane, di-t-butylchlorosilane, chloroisopropylsilane, chloro-sec-butylsilane, t-butyldimethylchlorosilane, thexyldimethylchlorosilane, and the like. An aminosilane includes at least one nitrogen atom bonded to a silicon atom, but may also contain hydrogens, oxygens, halogens and carbons. Examples of aminosilanes are mono-, di-, tri- and tetra-aminosilane (H3Si(NH2)4, H2Si(NH2)2, HSi(NH2)3 and Si(NH2)4, respectively), as well as substituted mono-, di-, tri- and tetra-aminosilanes, for example, t-butylaminosilane, methylaminosilane, tert-butylsilanamine, bis(tertiarybutylamino)silane (SiH2(NHC(CH3)3)2 (BTBAS), tert-butyl silylcarbamate, SiH(CH3)—(N(CH3)2)2, SiHCl—(N(CH3)2)2, (Si(CH3)2NH)3 and the like” ([0044]), and “In depositing carbon films, any appropriate carbon-containing precursor may be used. In some embodiments, a hydrocarbon precursor of the formula CxHy, wherein X is an integer between 2 and 10, and Y is an integer between 2 and 24, may be used. Examples include methane (CH4), acetylene (C2H2), ethylene (C2H4), propylene (C3H6), butane (C4H10), cyclohexane (C6H12), benzene (C6H6), and toluene (C7H8) ([0046]), and that “Metal-containing films may also be deposited. Examples of metal-containing films that may be formed include oxides and nitrides of aluminum, titanium, hafnium, tantalum, tungsten, manganese, magnesium, strontium, etc., as well as elemental metal films. Example precursors may include metal alkylamines, metal alkoxides, metal alkylamides, metal halides, metal β-diketonates, metal carbonyls, organometallics, etc. Appropriate metal-containing precursors will include the metal that is desired to be incorporated into the film. For example, a tantalum-containing layer may be deposited by reacting pentakis(dimethylamido)tantalum with ammonia or another reducing agent as an auxiliary reactant. Further examples of metal-containing precursors that may be employed include trimethylaluminum, tetraethoxytitanium, tetrakis-dimethyl-amido titanium, hafnium tetrakis(ethylmethylamide), bis(cyclopentadienyl)manganese, and bis(n-propylcyclopentadienyl)magnesium, etc.” ([0049]). It is noted that many of the above precursor have a high boiling point, such as Precursor Boiling Point (°C)--------------- -----------------------SiCl4 58SiCl3 32HSiCl3 32-34Tetrachloroethylene 121Butyldimethylchlorosilane 125Butylsilane 57butylaminosilane 167trimethylaluminum 127benzene 80toluene 111 Since the chuck may be maintained at 30°C at the start of the depositing the mask build-up step, i.e. step (iii) above, the precursor that has a boiling point higher than 30°C would condense in the recesses in liquid form prior to the generating of the plasma. Kabansky further teaches that the gas mixture may further comprise a diluting gas ([0032]) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to supply the precursor as a liquid to the recess of the hardmask, then strike a plasma to form material in the recess, then treat the recess by using a hydrogen-based plasma, such as H2, CH4, NH3, C2H2, and N2H2, a nitrogen-based plasma, an oxygen-based plasma, a hydrocarbon-based plasma, an argon-based plasma, or a helium-based plasma to etch material in the recesses and re-deposits it at the upper portion of the recesses and increases top:bottom and top:sidewall step coverage in the invention of Kabansky. In an embodiment Kabansky discloses that the directional deposition comprises SiCl4 and H2, 50W plasma power, 60 mT pressure and the treating comprises H2 with 5 vol.% N2 ([0087]). It is noted that the SiCl4 would be a liquid in the recess since the substrate is kept at 30°C at the start of the depositing, and SiCl4 has a boiling point of 58°C.--Claims 3, 4: Kabansky further teaches that “(t)he deposition of the mask build-up material may be performed prior to or at selected intermittences during etch process” ([0022]) and “directional deposition may take place in an etch chamber prior to or in the midst of an etch process to increase the aspect ratio of a mask overlying material to be etched” ([0024, 0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to perform step (iii) intermittently a plurality of times during an etching, i.e. repeating steps (iii) and (iv) a plurality of times. It is noted that layer 101 may be exposed during the etching (Fig. 1_50).--Claim 5: Kabansky further teaches that “Mask loss during etch, also referred to as mask erosion, is a key challenge in etching high aspect ratio features such as holes and trenches”, and the directional deposition on the mask is to compensate for the mask erosion ([0021]) to increase the aspect ratios of the patterned features of the mask to allow the subsequent etch to proceed for a longer time providing deeper etching ([0023]), and that “(t)he deposition of the mask build-up material may be performed prior to or at selected intermittences during etch process” ([0022]) and “directional deposition may take place in an etch chamber prior to or in the midst of an etch process to increase the aspect ratio of a mask overlying material to be etched” ([0024, 0040]). Therefore, the mask thickness is a result-effective variable, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to perform the directional deposition when the mask has been eroded to a predetermined threshold, such as 20 nm or less, because it’s been well established that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).--Claim 6: It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, in routine experimentations, to use a precursor comprising a halide, such as SiCl4, tetrachloroethylene, …in the list of precursor above.--Claim 8: It is noted that the hydrocarbon precursor, such as butane from the list above, is a liquid polymer.--Claim 10, 13: Kabansky further teaches that the gas mixture may include a dopant precursor such as a boron-containing gas, a phosphorus-containing gas, a carbon-containing gas, or a mixture thereof. For example, when the mask build-up material is phosphorus- and boron-doped silicon oxide glass (BPSG) then the gas mixture may include one or more boron-containing reactants, such as B2H6, and one or more phosphorus-containing reactants, such as PH3 ([0047]). It is noted that the boron-containing reactants and phosphorus-containing reactants would be introduced into the liquid precursor before striking the plasma. It is noted that B2H6 and PH3 are hydrides.--Claims 11, 12: Kabansky further teaches that when the mask build-up material includes an oxynitride, such as silicon nitride, then the gas mixture may include NO ([0048]). It is noted that the NO would be introduced into the liquid precursor before striking the plasma. It is noted that NO is an oxygen-containing gas and a nitrogen-containing gas.--Claims 14, 15, 16, 17: In an experiment, Kabansky discloses that the gas mixture comprises SiCl4 and H2. ([0085, 0087]) It is noted that SiCl4 is a liquid at 30°C, and H2 is a reducing gas. It is noted that the gas mixture is excited to form a plasma, thus plasmatizing the H2 that chemically changes the SiCl4 to form the chlorosilane. It is noted that this would degas a chlorine atom from the SiCl4 to form the chlorosilane.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: With respect to claim 7, Kabansky fails to teach the claimed feature “the process of (A) comprises forming the liquid by a reaction between a raw material gas that is a raw material for the halide and a reaction gas that reacts with the raw material gas” in the context of claim 7.With respect to claim 9, Kabansky fails to teach the claimed feature “the liquid is synthesized in a processing container that accommodates the substrate, and is supplied to the recess of the substrate” in the context of claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 30, 2026 have been fully considered as follows:--Regarding Applicant’s argument that the claims are definite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), this argument is persuasive. Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.--New grounds of rejection based on a newly found prior art are shown above.
Conclusion
/THOMAS T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713