DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed June 8, 2026 have been entered.
Claims 1-10 are pending;
Claims 1-4 and 8-9 have been withdrawn.
Drawings
The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made July 1, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 5-7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made May 12, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
The rejection of claims 5-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Montoya et al (“Enhanced pink-red hues in processed powders from unfermented cacao beans” Food Science and Technology pages 1-7) has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made May 12, 2026; specifically, Montoya does not teach the cocoa fruit contains both part or all of the pump and beans.
Claims 5-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Huhn (US 2018/0206517).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Huhn teaches a method of producing a cocoa fruit ground product comprising:
Providing cocoa fruit which contains part or all of cocoa pulp and beans (paragraph 22);
Wet grinding the cocoa fruit, i.e. grinding under moisture (abstract and paragraph 27); and
Heating the wet solid phase, i.e. the material which would comprise solids from the cocoa fruit, in a heater at 55-150C, wherein the product is between 70-100C or does not exceed 90C and heating is for less than 15 minutes (paragraphs 29, 36-38, 47-49, and 56).
Huhn is not specific to an enzyme inactivation treatment which inactivates polyphenol oxidase from the cocoa fruit as recited in claims 5 and 7, however the instant specification states in paragraph 56 that enzyme inactivation of polyphenol oxidase occurs at high temperatures, for example, 80C and higher and although the time depends on the temperature it is for example, 5 seconds to 10 minutes. Thus, as Huhn teaches heating the cocoa fruit material in a heater at 55-150C, wherein the product is between 70-100C for up to about, i.e. less than, 15 minutes (paragraphs 29, 36-38, 47-49, and 56), the process of Huhn encompasses or alternatively make obvious an enzyme inactivation treatment as claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Huhn teaches that the water containing liquids for wet grinding can be coffee or fruit juice which were acidic (paragraph 25), and thus encompass the wet grinding as performed under acidic conditions.
Regarding claim 10, Huhn teaches that the ratio of water to cocoa materials in the suspension for grinding is preferably 1-6:1 (paragraph 24), and thus encompass a moisture content during grinding of preferably 50-85.7%.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY BEKKER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1792
/KELLY J BEKKER/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792