DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending.
The foreign priority document No.2021-099364 filed on June 15, 2021, the foreign priority document No. 2021-099674 filed on June 15, 2021, and the foreign priority document No. 2022-091800 filed on June 06, 2022 in Japan have been received and are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatakeyama et al. (US 2021/0048746).
With regard to claim 1, Hatakeyama et al. teach a resist composition comprising as base polymer the Polymer 1, PAG-4 acid generator, and the Quencher 4:
(Example 4 in Table 1, par.0174, Quencher-1 in par.0166, PAG-4 in par.0171).
The Polymer 1 comprises acid labile groups (par.0026, par.0071-0072), and is “a resin component (A) whose solubility in a developing solution is changed due to the action of an acid” in claim 1.
PAG-4 is “an acid generator component (B) which generates an acid upon light exposure” in claim 1, wherein the acid generator component (B) contains a compound (B0) of General Formula (b0), wherein nb1=3, X0 is an iodine atom, nb2=0, Yb0 is a divalent linking group, Vb0 is a single bond, R0 is a fluorine atom, Rb1and Rb3-Rb15 are hydrogen atoms, Rb2 is a perfluoroalkyl group.
Therefore, the resist composition in Example 4 of Hatakeyama et al. anticipates the resist composition in claim 1 of the instant application.
With regard to claim 2, PAG-4 of Hatakeyama et al. is a compound (B0) including a compound (B01) represented by General Formula (b0-1), wherein nb1=3, X0 is an iodine atom, nb2=0, L01 is -OCO-, z=0, L02 is a single bond, Vb0 is a single bond, R0 is a fluorine atom, Rb1 and Rb3-Rb15 are hydrogen atoms, Rb2 is a perfluoroalkyl group.
With regard to claim 3, Quencher 4 of Hatakeyama et al. is a “base component (D) which traps an acid generated upon light exposure”, wherein the base component (D) contains a compound of General Formula (d1-1), wherein m=1, Mm+ is a monovalent cation, Rd1 is a chain alkyl which has a substituent.
With regard to claims 4 and 5, Hatakeyama et al. teach a process comprising the steps of:
-forming a resist film using the resist composition;
-exposing the resist film with EUV radiation through a mask; and
-developing the exposed resist film (par.0172).
With regard to claim 6, PAG-4 of Hatakeyama et al. is a compound of General Formula (b0), wherein nb1=3, X0 is an iodine atom, nb2=0, Yb0 is a divalent linking group, Vb0 is a single bond, R0 is a fluorine atom, Rb1 and Rb3-Rb15 are hydrogen atoms, Rb2 is a pefluoroalkyl group.
With regard to claim 7, PAG-4 of Hatakeyama et al. is a compound of General Formula (b0-1), wherein nb1=3, X0 is an iodine atom, nb2=0, L01 is -OCO-, z=0, L02 is a single bond, Vb0 is a single bond, R0 is a fluorine atom, Rb1 and Rb3-Rb15 are hydrogen atoms, Rb2 is a perfluoroalkyl group.
With regard to claim 8, PAG-4 of Hatakeyama et al. is an acid generator (see Table 1 in par.0174).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2021/0048746) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2016/0376233).
With regard to claims 9 and 10, Hatakeyama et al. teach PAG 4 of formula:
(par.0171), which is a compound of formula (b0’) in claim 9, wherein nb1=3, X0 is an iodine atom, nb2=0, L01 is -OCO-, z=0, L02 is a single bond, Vb0 is a single bond, R0 is a fluorine atom, m=1, and Mm+ is an organic cation.
Hatakeyama et al. fail to teach the process in claim 9 and the intermediate in claim 10.
Yamazaki et al. teach a positive type resists composition comprising a sulfonium salt (abstract), and further teach the method of obtaining the sulfonium salt:
(par.0167).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of Yamazaki et al. and obtain the sulfonium salt PAG 4 of Hatakeyama et al.
PAG4 of Hatakeyama et al. may be obtained from the reaction of:
and
.
is a compound (B0p) in claims 9 and 10, wherein nb1=3, X0 is an iodine atom, nb2=0, L01 is -OCO-, z=0, L02 is a single bond, Vb0 is a single bond, R0 is a fluorine atom, m’=1, and Mpm’ is a Na+ (a metal cation).
is a compound of formula (C-3) in claim 9, wherein X- is a counter anion, m=1, and Mm+ is an organic cation.
Hatakeyama et al. and Yamazaki et al. fail to specifically teach that a compound of formula (b0-p) is obtained from the reaction of the compounds (C-1) and (C-2) in claim 9.
However, the compound of formula:
comprises an ester bond, and an ester bond is formed from the reaction of a carboxylic acid with an alcohol.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to obtain the compound above from the reaction of
with an acid of formula HOOC-CF2-SO3- Na+.
is a compound of formula (C-1) in claim 9, wherein nb1=3, X0 is an iodine atom, nb2=0, and a is a hydroxy group.
HOOC-CF2-SO3- Na+ is a compound of formula (C-2) in claim 9, wherein b is a carboxy group, z=0, L02 and Vb0 are single bonds, R0 is a fluorine atom, m’=1, and Mpm’ is a Na+ (a metal cation).
With regard to claim 11, Hatakeyama et al. teach PAG 4 of formula:
(par.0171), but does not teach the compound in claim 11.
Yamazaki et al. teach a positive type resists composition comprising a sulfonium salt (abstract), and further teach the method of obtaining the sulfonium salt:
(par.0167).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use the method of Yamazaki et al. and obtain the sulfonium salt PAG 4 of Hatakeyama et al.
The method uses a compound of formula:
, which is a compound of General Formula (b0-p-1), wherein nb1=3, X0 is an iodine atom, nb2=0, L001 is an ester bond (-OCO-), z=0, L02 is a single bond, Vb0 is a single bond, R0 is a fluorine atom, m=1, and Mm+ is a metal cation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hatakeyama et al. (US 2022/0004100) teach a photoresist composition comprising the polymer P-3 and the acid generator PAG-4:
(Example 21 in Table 1, par.0183, PAG-4 in par.0180, and polymer P-3 in par.0175).
Hatakeyama et al. (US 2022/0057713) teach a photoresist composition comprising the polymer P-1 and the acid generator PAG-4:
(Example 10 in Table 1, par.0192, polymer P-1 in par.0185, PAG-4 in par.0189).
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722