CTNF 18/566,771 CTNF 85773 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Response to Amendment/Restriction Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, Sub D, Sub-sub 1, and Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12, 15-17, and 19-21 in the reply filed on March 26, 2026 is acknowledged. Thus, Claims 4, 11, 13, 14, and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 26, 2026. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is broad and not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Objections 07-05-05 Applicant is advised that should claim 8 be found allowable, claim 9 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, 12, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0040854 A1 to Sung et al. (“Sung”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0117528 A1 to Fukuda (“Fukuda”) . As to claim 1 , although Sung discloses a display device comprising: a base substrate layer (110); a thin film transistor layer (130) provided on the base substrate layer (110); and a light-emitting element layer (210) provided on the thin film transistor layer (130), the light-emitting element layer (210) including a plurality of pixel electrodes (211), a common edge cover (190), a plurality of light-emitting function layers (212 organic layer), and a common electrode (213) layered in this stated order, corresponding to a plurality of subpixels (¶ 0028, ¶ 0029) that forms a display region, wherein: the common edge cover (190) covers a peripheral edge portion of each of the plurality of pixel electrodes (211), in each of the plurality of subpixels (¶ 0028, ¶ 0029), a portion of the plurality of pixel electrodes (211), exposed from the common edge cover (190), forms a light-emitting region, and another portion of the plurality of pixel electrodes (211), overlapping the common edge cover (190) forms a non-light-emitting region, a reflective surface (at 315) having an uneven shape is provided in the non-light-emitting region (See Fig. 4, Fig. 5, Fig. 10, ¶ 0024-¶ 0029, ¶ 0038-¶ 0058, ¶ 0061, ¶ 0066, ¶ 0081-¶ 0092) (Notes: the recited light-emitting region and non-light-emitting region are defined by the recited structures and where the light-emitting function layers are formed), Sung does not further disclose the plurality of subpixels includes a red subpixel configured to emit red light, a green subpixel configured to emit green light, and a blue subpixel configured to emit blue light, the plurality of subpixels being provided adjacent to each other in a stripe shape, and a number of light-emitting regions in the red subpixel, a number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel, and a number of light-emitting regions in the blue subpixel are different from each other. However, Fukuda does disclose the plurality of subpixels includes a red subpixel (10R) configured to emit red light, a green subpixel (10G) configured to emit green light, and a blue subpixel (10B) configured to emit blue light, the plurality of subpixels being provided adjacent to each other in a stripe shape, and a number of light-emitting regions in the red subpixel, a number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel, and a number of light-emitting regions in the blue subpixel are different from each other (See Fig. 1, Fig. 5, ¶ 0012, ¶ 0013, ¶ 0016, ¶ 0036, ¶ 0037, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0062, ¶ 0063) (Notes: the limitation “region” is defined as an extensive, continuous part of a surface, space, or body by Dictionary.com). In view of the teaching of Fukuda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Sung to have the plurality of subpixels includes a red subpixel configured to emit red light, a green subpixel configured to emit green light, and a blue subpixel configured to emit blue light, the plurality of subpixels being provided adjacent to each other in a stripe shape, and a number of light-emitting regions in the red subpixel, a number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel, and a number of light-emitting regions in the blue subpixel are different from each other because the larger pixel size corresponding to more light-emitting regions in the respective subpixels provides the same level of degree of the deterioration and the color shift phenomenon is suppressed (See ¶ 0062). As to claim 2 , Sung in view of Fukuda further discloses wherein, in the non-light-emitting region, a resin film (146/14) is provided on a thin film transistor layer side of the plurality of pixel electrodes (211), a plurality of recessed portions (between 315) extending in parallel to each other is provided on a surface of the resin film (146/14) on a side of the plurality of pixel electrodes (211), and the plurality of pixel electrodes (211) in the non-light-emitting region includes the reflective surface (at 315) (See Sung Fig. 4, ¶ 0035 and Fukuda Fig. 1, ¶ 0047), where the resin film is known to provide sealing and protection on the thin film transistor layer side). As to claim 3 , Sung in view of Fukuda further discloses wherein each of the plurality of subpixels (¶ 0028, ¶ 0029) is provided in a rectangular shape, and the plurality of recessed portions (between 315) is provided along a longer side of each of the plurality of subpixels (¶ 0028, ¶ 0029) (See Sung Fig. 4 and Fukuda Fig. 5). As to claim 5 , Sung in view of Fukuda further discloses wherein the resin film (146/14) is a flattening film provided on a light-emitting element layer side of the thin film transistor layer (130) (See Sung Fig. 4). As to claim 6 , Sung further discloses wherein a reflective film (315) is provided on the common electrode (213) in the non-light-emitting region, a plurality of recessed portions (between 315) extending in parallel to each other is provided on a surface of the common edge cover (190) on a side of the plurality of light-emitting function layers (212 organic layer), and the reflective film (315) includes the reflective surface (at 315) (See Fig. 4). As to claim 8 , Sung in view of Fukuda further discloses wherein the number of light-emitting regions in the blue subpixel (10B) is larger than the number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel (10G), and the number of light-emitting regions in the red subpixel (10R) is smaller than the number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel (10G) (See Fukuda Fig. 5). As to claim 9 , Sung in view of Fukuda further discloses wherein the blue subpixel (10B) is larger than the red subpixel (10R) and the green subpixel (10G), the number of light-emitting regions in the blue subpixel (10B) is larger than the number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel (10G), and the number of light-emitting regions in the red subpixel (10R) is smaller than the number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel (10G) (See Fukuda Fig. 5). As to claim 12 , Sung further discloses a cover glass layer (¶ 0058) is provided on the common electrode (213) via a layered body (320) in which a high refractive index material layer (322), made of a material having a relatively high refractive index and formed in the light-emitting region, and a low refractive index material layer (321), made of a material having a relatively low refractive index and formed in the light-emitting region and the non-light-emitting region, are layered in this stated order (See Fig. 4, ¶ 0058, ¶ 0061, ¶ 0066). As to claim 15 , although Sung discloses a display device comprising: a base substrate layer (110); a thin film transistor layer (130) provided on the base substrate layer (110); and a light-emitting element layer (210) provided on the thin film transistor layer (130), the light-emitting element layer (210) including a plurality of pixel electrodes (211), a common edge cover (190), a plurality of light-emitting function layers (212 organic layer), and a common electrode (213) layered in this stated order, corresponding to a plurality of subpixels (¶ 0028, ¶ 0029) that forms a display region, wherein: the common edge cover (190) covers a peripheral edge portion of each of the plurality of pixel electrodes (211), in each of the plurality of subpixels (¶ 0028, ¶ 0029), a portion of the plurality of pixel electrodes (211), exposed from the common edge cover (190) forms a light-emitting region, and another portion of the plurality of pixel electrodes (211), overlapping the common edge cover (190) forms a non-light-emitting region, a reflective surface (at 315) having an uneven shape is provided in the non-light-emitting region (See Fig. 4, Fig. 5, Fig. 10, ¶ 0024-¶ 0029, ¶ 0038-¶ 0058, ¶ 0061, ¶ 0066, ¶ 0081-¶ 0092) (Notes: the recited light-emitting region and non-light-emitting region are defined by the recited structures and where the light-emitting function layers are formed), Sung does not further disclose the plurality of subpixels includes a red subpixel configured to emit red light, a green subpixel configured to emit green light, and a blue subpixel configured to emit blue light, the blue subpixel is larger than the red subpixel and the green subpixel, a number of light-emitting regions in the blue subpixel is larger than a number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel, and a number of light-emitting regions in the red subpixel is smaller than the number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel. However, Fukuda does disclose the plurality of subpixels includes a red subpixel (10R) configured to emit red light, a green subpixel (10G) configured to emit green light, and a blue subpixel (10B) configured to emit blue light, the blue subpixel (10B) is larger than the red subpixel (10R) and the green subpixel (10G), a number of light-emitting regions in the blue subpixel (10B) is larger than a number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel (10G), and a number of light-emitting regions in the red subpixel (10R) is smaller than the number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel (10G) (See Fig. 1, Fig. 5, ¶ 0012, ¶ 0013, ¶ 0016, ¶ 0036, ¶ 0037, ¶ 0047, ¶ 0062, ¶ 0063) (Notes: the limitation “region” is defined as an extensive, continuous part of a surface, space, or body by Dictionary.com). In view of the teaching of Fukuda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Sung to have the plurality of subpixels includes a red subpixel configured to emit red light, a green subpixel configured to emit green light, and a blue subpixel configured to emit blue light, the blue subpixel is larger than the red subpixel and the green subpixel, a number of light-emitting regions in the blue subpixel is larger than a number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel, and a number of light-emitting regions in the red subpixel is smaller than the number of light-emitting regions in the green subpixel because the larger pixel size corresponding to more light-emitting regions in the respective subpixels provides the same level of degree of the deterioration and the color shift phenomenon is suppressed (See ¶ 0062). As to claim 16 , Sung in view of Fukuda further discloses wherein, in the non- light-emitting region, a resin film (146/14) is provided on a thin film transistor layer side of the plurality of pixel electrodes (211), a plurality of recessed portions (between 315) extending in parallel to each other is provided on a surface of the resin film (146/14) on a side of the plurality of pixel electrodes (211), and the plurality of pixel electrodes (211) in the non-light-emitting region includes the reflective surface (at 315) (See Sung Fig. 4, ¶ 0035 and Fukuda Fig. 1, ¶ 0047), where the resin film is known to provide sealing and protection on the thin film transistor layer side). As to claim 17 , Sung in view of Fukuda further discloses wherein each of the plurality of subpixels (¶ 0028, ¶ 0029) is provided in a rectangular shape, and the plurality of recessed portions (between 315) is provided along a longer side of each of the plurality of subpixels (¶ 0028, ¶ 0029) (See Sung Fig. 4 and Fukuda Fig. 5). As to claim 19 , Sung in view of Fukuda further discloses wherein the resin film (146/14) is a flattening film (146/14) provided on a light-emitting element layer side of the thin film transistor layer (130) (See Sung Fig. 4). As to claim 20 , Sung further discloses wherein a reflective film (315) is provided on the common electrode (213) in the non-light-emitting region, a plurality of recessed portions (between 315) extending in parallel to each other is provided on a surface of the common edge cover (190) on a side of the plurality of light-emitting function layers (212 organic layer), and the reflective film (315) includes the reflective surface (at 315) (See Fig. 4) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0040854 A1 to Sung et al. (“Sung”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0117528 A1 to Fukuda (“Fukuda”) as applied to claim s 1 and 15 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0137812 A1 to Yan et al. (“Yan”) . The teachings of Sung and Fukuda have been discussed above . As to claims 10 and 21 , although Sung discloses the light-emitting function layers (212 organic layer) (See Fig. 4), Sung and Fukuda do not further disclose wherein each of the light-emitting function layers includes a quantum dot light-emitting layer. However, Yan does disclose the EL device incudes OLED, micro LED, and QLED (See ¶ 0033). In view of the teaching of Yan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein each of the light-emitting function layers includes a quantum dot light-emitting layer because the quantum dot light-emitting layer along with other EL light-emitting layers are commonly known in the art to provide the display device . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DAVID CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-7438. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 12-6. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JOSHUA BENITEZ can be reached at (571) 270-1435. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/566,771 Page 2 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/566,771 Page 3 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/566,771 Page 4 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/566,771 Page 5 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/566,771 Page 6 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/566,771 Page 7 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/566,771 Page 8 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/566,771 Page 9 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/566,771 Page 10 Art Unit: 2815 Application/Control Number: 18/566,771 Page 11 Art Unit: 2815