DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/5/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
Applicant's 12/5/2023 Preliminary Amendment to: 1. Amend the instant Abstract. 2. Amend the instant Specification. 3. Amend the Claims is acknowledged.
Claims Status
Claims 1-12 and 14-18 are currently pending. Claim 13 has been canceled, and new claims 15-18 have been added.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: MCM PACKAGE STRUCTURE HAVING EMBEDDED DIE AND MANUFACTURING METHOD THEREFOR.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
A. Re claim 4, the prior art cannot anticipate or render obvious the limitation(s) of: the thermal conductive adhesive has an electric conductive function, and the heat dissipation electrode is configured to electrically connect to a constant potential, in the combination of Fu in view of Hsu and Gu.
In Re claim 16, it is objected to due to its dependence from objected to claim 4.
B. Re claim 15, the prior art cannot anticipate or render obvious the limitation(s) of: the thermal conductive adhesive has an electric conductive function, and the heat dissipation electrode is configured to electrically connect to a constant potential, in the combination of Fu in view of Hsu and Gu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 17, 18; 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al (CN 102117799 A-translation and original provided) in view of HSU (US 2014/0118951 A1, hereafter Hsu) and Gu et al (US 2015/0318262 A1, hereafter Gu).
Re claim 1, Fu discloses in FIG. 22 (with references to FIGS. 13-21) an MCM package structure (80), comprising:
a first die (51; [0024]), comprising first pads (513; [0024]) located on an active surface (511; [0024]) of the first die (51), wherein the first die (51) is provided with an accommodating recess (515; [0025]), and an opening (upper part) of the accommodating recess (515) is located on a back surface (512; [0025]) of the first die (51);
a second die (52; [0025]), comprising second pads (522; [0025]) located on an active surface (521; [0025]) of the second die (52), wherein the second die (52) is arranged in the accommodating recess (515) and fixed with the first die (51) through an adhesive (53; [0025]), and the active surface (521) of the second die (52) faces away from (is opposite to) the active surface (511) of the first die (51);
an encapsulation layer (713/714; [0026]), coating at least a side surface (left/right vertical planes) of the first die (51), and comprising a front surface (upper plane) and a back surface (lower plane) facing oppositely (one above the other), wherein the front surface (upper plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and the active surface (521) of the second die (52) face toward a same direction (upward), and the back surface (lower plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and the active surface (511) of the first die (51) face toward a same direction (downward);
an electric connection structure (715; [0026]), penetrating between the front surface (upper plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and the back surface (lower plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714);
a first electric conductive structure (81; [0028]), located on a side (lower plane) of the back surface (lower plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and connected ([0028]) to at least the electric connection structure (715) and at least one of the first pads (513);
a second electric conductive structure (82; [0029]), located on a side (upper plane) of the front surface (upper plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and connected ([0029]) to at least the electric connection structure (715) and at least one of the second pads (522);
a heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left; see inserted figure below), located on the side (upper plane) of the front surface (upper plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714).
Fu fails to disclose wherein the second die (52) is fixed with the first die (51) through a thermal conductive adhesive;
a plastic encapsulation layer, coating at least a side surface of the first die (51), and comprising a front surface and a back surface facing oppositely, wherein the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and the active surface (521) of the second die (52) face toward a same direction, and the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and the active surface (511) of the first die (51) face toward a same direction;
the electric connection structure (715), penetrating between the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer;
the first electric conductive structure (81), located on a side of the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer;
the second electric conductive structure (82), located on a side of the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer;
the heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left), located on the side of the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and connected to the thermal conductive adhesive.
However,
A. Fu discloses in the embodiment of FIG. 11 comprising: a first die (11; [0011]), comprising first pads (113; [0011]) located on an active surface (111; [0011]) of the first die (11); and
a second die (21; [0014]), comprising second pads (212; [0014]) located on an active surface (211; [0014]) of the second die (21), wherein the second die (21) is arranged in an accommodating recess (115; [0014]) and fixed with the first die (11) through an adhesive (13; [0014]).
And,
B. Hsu discloses in FIG. 5 a package structure (10) comprising: wherein a die (30; [0038]) is arranged in an accommodating recess (U-shaped 131; [0038]), fixed through a thermal conductive adhesive (33; [0038]), and the die (30) is also fixed to an electric conductive structure (20; [0038]) through another thermal conductive adhesive (32; [0038]).
And,
C. Gu discloses in FIG. 12 a package structure (1200) comprising: a plastic encapsulation layer (epoxy or polymer 1220; [0120]-[0122]), coating at least a side surface of a die (1206/1208; [0121]), and comprising a front surface (upper plane) and a back surface (lower plane) facing oppositely (one above the other).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of FIG. 22 of Fu by: firstly, using the first and second pads of the embodiment of FIG. 11, the first and second pads embedded in the first and second die (see inserted figure below), reducing the overall thickness of each of the first and second die; secondly, using the thermally conductive adhesive(s) of Hsu, such that the second die (52) is arranged in the accommodating recess (515) and fixed with the first die (51) through a thermal conductive adhesive (see inserted figure below), the heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left), located on the side of the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and connected to the thermal conductive adhesive (see inserted figure below), increasing and improving heat dissipation from the package structure around the second electric conductive structure (82); and lastly, using the plastic encapsulation layer material(s) of Hsu as a substitutional equivalent (MPEP § 2144.06) for the insulating material(s) of Fu, depending on the requirements (e.g. density, mechanical or thermal properties) of the package structure implementations (Gu; [0065] and [0122]).
For the record, the inserted figure (annotated FIG. 22 of Fu) depicts pads (212 and 113) of the embodiment of FIG. 11 of Fu added to first (51) and second (52) die, respectively. Further, the adhesive (53) of Fu has been modified by Hsu as thermally conductive adhesive (32/33) such that the second from the left first pad 522 becomes heat dissipation electrode (522) in the dotted box, which is connected to the thermally conductive adhesive (32/33). Also, encapsulation layer (713/714) of Fu has been modified by Gu into plastic encapsulation layer (1220).
Re claim 2, Fu and Hsu disclose the MCM package structure according to claim 1, wherein the thermal conductive adhesive (Hsu: 33) is filled between (see inserted figure above) the accommodating recess (Fu: 515) and the second die (Fu: 52), and the thermal conductive adhesive (33) contacts (physically touches) at least a portion of side walls (left/right vertical planes) of the accommodating recess (515), at least a portion of side walls (left/right vertical planes) of the second die (52), a bottom wall (lower plane) of the accommodating recess (515), and a bottom wall (lower plane) of the second die (52), as part of the increasing and improving of heat dissipation from the package structure discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 3, Fu discloses the MCM package structure according to claim 1, wherein the electric connection structure (715) comprises an electric conductive column, an electric conductive plug, or an electric conductive layer ([0025]) located on an inner wall (left/right inner vertical planes) of a through hole (712; [0026]).
Re claim 5, Fu discloses the MCM package structure according to claim 1, wherein the accommodating recess (515) is in a stepped shape (1-step: base and upper level).
Re claim 6, Fu discloses the MCM package structure according to claim 1, wherein the active surface (511) of the first die (51) is covered with a first protective layer (83; [0028]), and the first protective layer (83) comprises first openings (unlabeled spaces for connection of 811; [0028]) that expose the first pads (113/513).
Re claim 7, Fu and Hsu and Gu disclose the MCM package structure according to claim 1.
But, fail to disclose wherein the active surface (Fu: 521) of the second die (52), the thermal conductive adhesive (Hsu: 32/33), and the back surface (Fu: 512) of the first die (51) are covered with a leveling layer, and an upper surface of the leveling layer is flush with the front surface (upper plane) of the plastic encapsulation layer (Gu: 1220).
However,
Gu would render these limitations obvious through rearrangement of parts (MPEP § 2144.04 VI. C.), and by disposing leveling layer (1222 in FIG. 12; [0120]) on the back surface (Fu: 512) of the first die (51), over the thermally conductive adhesive (Hsu: 32/33), where the plastic encapsulation layer (Gu: 1220) extends above the active surface (Fu: 521) of the second die (52) such that the active surface (Fu: 521) of the second die (52), the thermal conductive adhesive (Hsu: 32/33), and the back surface (Fu: 512) of the first die (51) are covered with the leveling layer, and an upper surface of the leveling layer is flush with the front surface (upper plane) of the plastic encapsulation layer (Gu: 1220), as part of the package structure implementations of Gu discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 17, Fu discloses the MCM package structure according to claim 1, wherein the active surface (521) of the second die (52) is covered with a second protective layer (84; [0029]), and the second protective layer (84) comprises second openings (unlabeled spaces for connection of 821; [0029]) that expose the second pads (212/522).
Re claim 18, Fu discloses the MCM package structure according to claim 6, wherein the active surface of the second die is covered with a second protective layer, and the second protective layer comprises second openings that expose the second pads (see claim 17).
Re claim 12, Fu discloses in FIGS. 13-22 a method of manufacturing an MCM package structure (80), comprising:
forming an encapsulation intermediate body (uncut 80; [0031]), wherein the encapsulation intermediate body (uncut 80) comprises:
a first die (51 in FIG. 13; [0024]), comprising first pads (513; [0024]) located on an active surface (511; [0024]) of the first die (51), wherein the first die (51) is provided with an accommodating recess (515; [0025]), and an opening (upper part) of the accommodating recess (515) is located on a back surface (512; [0025]) of the first die (51);
a second die (52 in FIG. 16; [0025]), comprising second pads (522; [0025]) located on an active surface (521; [0025]) of the second die (52), wherein the second die (52) is arranged in the accommodating recess (515) and fixed with the first die (51) through an adhesive (53; [0025]), and the active surface (521) of the second die (52) faces away from (is opposite to) the active surface (511) of the first die (51);
an encapsulation layer (713/714 in FIG. 18; [0026]), coating at least a side surface (left/right vertical planes) of the first die (51), and comprising a front surface (upper plane) and a back surface (lower plane) facing oppositely (one above the other), wherein the front surface (upper plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and the active surface (521) of the second die (52) face toward a same direction (upward), and the back surface (lower plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and the active surface (511) of the first die (51) face toward a same direction (downward);
forming one of a first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811 in FIG. 19; [0028]) and a second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811 in FIG. 20; [0029]) on the encapsulation intermediate body (uncut 80), wherein the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) is located on a side (lower plane) of the back surface (lower plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and connected ([0028]) to the first pads (513); the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) is located on a side (upper plane) of the front surface (upper plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and connected ([0029]) to the second pads (522); forming a heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left; see inserted figure above) before the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) is formed;
forming an electric conductive plug (715 in FIG. 17; [0026]) or an electric conductive column (715) in the encapsulation layer (713/714), wherein the electric conductive plug (715) comprises a first end (top) and a second end (bottom) being opposite to each other, and the first end (top) of the electric conductive plug (715) is connected to the formed first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) or second electric conductive structure; the electric conductive column (715) is coated (surrounded) by the encapsulation layer (713/714), and comprises a first end (top) and a second end(bottom) being opposite to each other, the first end (top) of the electric conductive column (715) and the front surface (upper plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) face toward a same direction (upward), and the second end (bottom) of the electric conductive column (715) and the back surface (lower plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) face toward a same direction (downward);
forming another one of the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at right 811 in FIG. 19; [0028]) and the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at right 811 in FIG. 20; [0029]) on the encapsulation intermediate body (uncut 80) and the electric conductive plug (715) or the electric conductive plug (715), wherein the electric conductive plug (715) is connected ([0028]-[0029]) to the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) and the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811);
forming the MCM package structure (80) through cutting ([0031]).
Fu fails to disclose forming a plastic encapsulation intermediate body, wherein the plastic encapsulation intermediate body comprises: wherein the second die (52) is arranged in the accommodating recess (515) and fixed with the first die (51) through a thermal conductive adhesive;
a plastic encapsulation layer, coating at least a side surface of the first die (51), and comprising a front surface and a back surface facing oppositely, wherein the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and the active surface (521) of the second die (52) face toward a same direction, and the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and the active surface (511) of the first die (51) face toward a same direction;
forming one of the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) and the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) on the plastic encapsulation intermediate body, wherein the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) is located on a side of the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and connected to the first pads (513); the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) is located on a side of the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and connected to the second pads (522); forming the heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left) while the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) is formed; and the heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left) is connected to the thermal conductive adhesive; and
forming the electric conductive plug (715) or the electric conductive column (715) in the plastic encapsulation layer; the electric conductive column is coated by the plastic encapsulation layer, and comprises the first end (top) and the second end (bottom) being opposite to each other, the first end (top) of the electric conductive column (715) and the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer face toward a same direction, and the second end (bottom) of the electric conductive column (bottom) and the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer face toward a same direction.
However,
A. Fu discloses in the embodiment of FIGS. 1-11 a method of manufacturing a package comprising: a first die (11; [0011]), comprising first pads (113; [0011]) located on an active surface (111; [0011]) of the first die (11); and
a second die (21; [0014]), comprising second pads (212; [0014]) located on an active surface (211; [0014]) of the second die (21), wherein the second die (21) is arranged in an accommodating recess (115; [0014]) and fixed with the first die (11) through an adhesive (13; [0014]).
And,
B. Hsu discloses in FIG. 5 a package structure (10) comprising: wherein a die (30; [0038]) is arranged in an accommodating recess (U-shaped 131; [0038]), fixed through a thermal conductive adhesive (33; [0038]), and the die (30) is also fixed to an electric conductive structure (20; [0038]) through another thermal conductive adhesive (32; [0038]).
And,
C. Gu discloses in FIGS. 11A-11E a method of manufacturing a package structure (1200) comprising: a plastic encapsulation layer (epoxy or polymer 1220; [0120]-[0122]), coating at least a side surface of a die (1206/1208; [0121]), and comprising a front surface (upper plane) and a back surface (lower plane) facing oppositely (one above the other).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of FIGS. 13-22 of Fu by: firstly, using the first and second pads of the embodiment of FIG. 11, the first and second pads embedded in the first and second die (see inserted figure above), reducing the overall thickness of each of the first and second die; secondly, using the thermally conductive adhesive(s) of Hsu, such that the second die (52) is arranged in the accommodating recess (515) and fixed with the first die (51) through a thermal conductive adhesive (see inserted figure above), the heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left), located on the side of the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and connected to the thermal conductive adhesive (see inserted figure above), increasing and improving heat dissipation from the package structure around the second electric conductive structure (82); and thirdly, using the plastic encapsulation layer material(s) of Hsu as a substitutional equivalent (MPEP § 2144.06) for the insulating material(s) of Fu, depending on the requirements (e.g. density, mechanical or thermal properties) of the package structure implementations (Gu; [0065] and [0122]), such that the limitations of forming a plastic encapsulation intermediate body, wherein the plastic encapsulation intermediate body comprises: wherein the second die (52) is arranged in the accommodating recess (515) and fixed with the first die (51) through a thermal conductive adhesive; a plastic encapsulation layer, coating at least a side surface of the first die (51), and comprising a front surface and a back surface facing oppositely, wherein the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and the active surface (521) of the second die (52) face toward a same direction, and the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and the active surface (511) of the first die (51) face toward a same direction; forming one of the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) and the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) on the plastic encapsulation intermediate body, wherein the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) is located on a side of the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and connected to the first pads (513); the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) is located on a side of the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and connected to the second pads (522); forming the heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left) while the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) is formed; and the heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left) is connected to the thermal conductive adhesive; and forming the electric conductive plug (715) or the electric conductive column (715) in the plastic encapsulation layer; the electric conductive column is coated by the plastic encapsulation layer, and comprises the first end (top) and the second end (bottom) being opposite to each other, the first end (top) of the electric conductive column (715) and the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer face toward a same direction, and the second end (bottom) of the electric conductive column (bottom) and the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer face toward a same direction are satisfied.
Re claim 14, Fu and Hsu and Gu disclose the method of manufacturing an MCM package structure according to claim 12, wherein the plastic encapsulation intermediate body is formed by: providing a carrier plate and at least one set of to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts carried on the carrier plate, wherein each set of to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts comprises: the first die, the second die and the electric conductive column, wherein the first die comprises the first pads located on the active surface of the first die, the first die is provided with the accommodating recess, and the opening of the accommodating recess is located on the back surface of the first die; the second die comprises the second pads located on the active surface of the second die, the second die is arranged in the accommodating recess and fixed with the first die through the thermal conductive adhesive, and the active surface of the second die faces away from the active surface of the first die (see claim 9); the electric conductive column (715) comprises the opposite first end (top) and second end (bottom), and wherein the active surface (511) of the first die (51) and the first end (top) of the electric conductive column (715) face toward the carrier plate (1100; see claim 9), as would be part of the MCM package structure of Fu and Hsu and Gu discussed for claim 12.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al (CN 102117799 A-translation and original provided) in view of HSU (US 2014/0118951 A1, hereafter Hsu) and Gu et al (US 2015/0318262 A1, hereafter Gu) and Paek et al (US 2020/0328170 A1, hereafter Paek).
Re claim 8, Fu discloses in FIGS. 13-22 a method of manufacturing an MCM package structure (80), comprising:
forming an encapsulation intermediate body (uncut 80; [0031]), wherein the encapsulation intermediate body (uncut 80) comprises:
a first die (51 in FIG. 13; [0024]), comprising first pads (513; [0024]) located on an active surface (511; [0024]) of the first die (51), wherein the first die (51) is provided with an accommodating recess (515; [0025]), and an opening (upper part) of the accommodating recess (515) is located on a back surface (512; [0025]) of the first die (51);
a second die (52 in FIG. 16; [0025]), comprising second pads (522; [0025]) located on an active surface (521; [0025]) of the second die (52), wherein the second die (52) is arranged in the accommodating recess (515) and fixed with the first die (51) through an adhesive (53; [0025]), and the active surface (521) of the second die (52) faces away from (is opposite to) the active surface (511) of the first die (51);
an encapsulation layer (713/714 in FIG. 18; [0026]), coating at least a side surface (left/right vertical planes) of the first die (51), and comprising a front surface (upper plane) and a back surface (lower plane) facing oppositely (one above the other), wherein the front surface (upper plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and the active surface (521) of the second die (52) face toward a same direction (upward), and the back surface (lower plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and the active surface (511) of the first die (51) face toward a same direction (downward);
forming a through hole (712; [0026]) around the encapsulation layer (713/714);
forming one of a first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811 in FIG. 19; [0028]) and a second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811 in FIG. 20; [0029]) on the encapsulation intermediate body (uncut 80), wherein the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) is located on a side (lower plane) of the back surface (lower plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and connected ([0028]) to the first pads (513); the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) is located on a side (upper plane) of the front surface (upper plane) of the encapsulation layer (713/714) and connected ([0029]) to the second pads (522); forming a heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left; see inserted figure above) before the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) is formed;
forming another one of the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at right 811 in FIG. 19; [0028]) and the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at right 811 in FIG. 20; [0029]) on the encapsulation intermediate body (uncut 80), and forming an electric conductive layer (715; [0026]) on side walls (left/right vertical planes) and the bottom wall (base) of the through hole (712), wherein the another one of the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at right 811) and the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at right 811) is connected to the electric conductive layer (715) located in the encapsulation layer (713/714) inside the through hole (712).
Fu fails to disclose forming a plastic encapsulation intermediate body, wherein the plastic encapsulation intermediate body comprises: wherein the second die (52) is arranged in the accommodating recess (515) and fixed with the first die (51) through a thermal conductive adhesive;
a plastic encapsulation layer, coating at least a side surface of the first die (51), and comprising a front surface and a back surface facing oppositely, wherein the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and the active surface (521) of the second die (52) face toward a same direction, and the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and the active surface (511) of the first die (51) face toward a same direction;
forming one of the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) and the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) on the plastic encapsulation intermediate body, wherein the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) is located on a side of the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and connected to the first pads (513); the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) is located on a side of the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and connected to the second pads (522); forming the heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left) while the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) is formed; and the heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left) is connected to the thermal conductive adhesive;
forming the through hole (712) in the plastic encapsulation layer, wherein the bottom wall (base) of the through hole (712) exposes the formed first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) or second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811);
forming the another one of the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at right 811) and the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at right 811) on the plastic encapsulation intermediate body, and simultaneously forming the electric conductive layer (715) on side walls and the bottom wall of the through hole (712) and the plastic encapsulation layer outside the through hole (712), wherein the another one of the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at right 811) and the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at right 811) is connected ([0028]-[0029]) to the electric conductive layer (715) located on the plastic encapsulation layer outside the through hole (712).
However,
A. Fu discloses in the embodiment of FIGS. 1-11 a method of manufacturing a package comprising: a first die (11; [0011]), comprising first pads (113; [0011]) located on an active surface (111; [0011]) of the first die (11); and
a second die (21; [0014]), comprising second pads (212; [0014]) located on an active surface (211; [0014]) of the second die (21), wherein the second die (21) is arranged in an accommodating recess (115; [0014]) and fixed with the first die (11) through an adhesive (13; [0014]).
And,
B. Hsu discloses in FIG. 5 a package structure (10) comprising: wherein a die (30; [0038]) is arranged in an accommodating recess (U-shaped 131; [0038]), fixed through a thermal conductive adhesive (33; [0038]), and the die (30) is also fixed to an electric conductive structure (20; [0038]) through another thermal conductive adhesive (32; [0038]).
And,
C. Gu discloses in FIGS. 11A-11E a method of manufacturing a package structure (1200) comprising: a plastic encapsulation layer (epoxy or polymer 1220; [0120]-[0122]), coating at least a side surface of a die (1206/1208; [0121]), and comprising a front surface (upper plane) and a back surface (lower plane) facing oppositely (one above the other).
And,
D. Paek discloses in FIGS. 1A-1G a method of manufacturing a package structure (100) comprising: forming a through hole (131a in FIG. 1C; [0042]) in a plastic encapsulation layer (130; [0043]), wherein the bottom wall (base) of the through hole (131a) exposes ([0042]) a formed first electric conductive structure (113; [0042]);
forming an another one of the first electric conductive structure (141 in FIG. 1D; [0044]) and the second electric conductive structure (142 in FIG. 1D; [0044]) on the plastic encapsulation intermediate body (130), and simultaneously forming an electric conductive layer (slanted portion of 141 in FIG. 1D; [0044]) on side walls (slanted walls) and the bottom wall (base) of the through hole (131a) and the plastic encapsulation layer (130) outside the through hole (131a), wherein the another one of the first electric conductive structure (141) and the second electric conductive structure (142) is connected to the electric conductive layer (slanted portion of 141) located on the plastic encapsulation layer (130) outside the through hole (131a).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of FIGS. 13-22 of Fu by: firstly, using the first and second pads of the embodiment of FIG. 11, the first and second pads embedded in the first and second die (see inserted figure above), reducing the overall thickness of each of the first and second die; secondly, using the thermally conductive adhesive(s) of Hsu, such that the second die (52) is arranged in the accommodating recess (515) and fixed with the first die (51) through a thermal conductive adhesive (see inserted figure above), the heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left), located on the side of the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and connected to the thermal conductive adhesive (see inserted figure above), increasing and improving heat dissipation from the package structure around the second electric conductive structure (82); thirdly, using the plastic encapsulation layer material(s) of Hsu as a substitutional equivalent (MPEP § 2144.06) for the insulating material(s) of Fu, depending on the requirements (e.g. density, mechanical or thermal properties) of the package structure implementations (Gu; [0065] and [0122]); and lastly, using the through hole forming, and the forming an another one of the first electric conductive structure and the second electric conductive structure on the plastic encapsulation intermediate body, and simultaneously forming an electric conductive layer of Paek, minimizing steps needed to form the first and second electric conductive structures and the electric conductive layer, such that the limitations of forming a plastic encapsulation intermediate body, wherein the plastic encapsulation intermediate body comprises: wherein the second die (52) is arranged in the accommodating recess (515) and fixed with the first die (51) through a thermal conductive adhesive; a plastic encapsulation layer, coating at least a side surface of the first die (51), and comprising a front surface and a back surface facing oppositely, wherein the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and the active surface (521) of the second die (52) face toward a same direction, and the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and the active surface (511) of the first die (51) face toward a same direction; forming one of the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) and the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) on the plastic encapsulation intermediate body, wherein the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) is located on a side of the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and connected to the first pads (513); the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) is located on a side of the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and connected to the second pads (522); forming the heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left) while the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811) is formed; and the heat dissipation electrode (2nd 522 from the left) is connected to the thermal conductive adhesive; forming the through hole (712) in the plastic encapsulation layer, wherein the bottom wall (base) of the through hole (712) exposes the formed first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at left 811) or second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at left 811); forming the another one of the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at right 811) and the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at right 811) on the plastic encapsulation intermediate body, and simultaneously forming the electric conductive layer (715) on side walls and the bottom wall of the through hole (712) and the plastic encapsulation layer outside the through hole (712), wherein the another one of the first electric conductive structure (portion of 81 at right 811) and the second electric conductive structure (portion of 82 at right 811) is connected to the electric conductive layer (715) located on the plastic encapsulation layer outside the through hole (712) are satisfied.
Re claim 9, Fu discloses the method of manufacturing an MCM package structure according to claim 8.
But, fails to disclose wherein the plastic encapsulation intermediate body (uncut 80) is formed by:
providing a carrier plate and at least one set of to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts carried on the carrier plate, wherein each set of to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts comprises: the first die and the second die, wherein the first die comprises the first pads located on the active surface of the first die, the first die is provided with the accommodating recess, and the opening of the accommodating recess is located on the back surface of the first die; the second die comprises the second pads located on the active surface of the second die, the second die is arranged in the accommodating recess and fixed with the first die through the thermal conductive adhesive, and the active surface of the second die faces away from the active surface of the first die, wherein the active surface of the first die faces toward the carrier plate;
forming the plastic encapsulation layer that embeds the to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts on a surface of the carrier plate, wherein the plastic encapsulation layer comprises the front surface and the back surface facing oppositely; thinning the plastic encapsulation layer from the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer until the active surface of the second die is exposed; removing the carrier plate.
However,
Fu coupled with Hsu’s thermally conductive adhesive (32/33), and additionally Gu would render these limitations obvious by Gu’s disclosing in FIGS. 11B, 11C and 12 providing a carrier plate (1100; [0100]) and at least one set of to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts (1120/1130; [0108]) carried on the carrier plate (1100), forming a plastic encapsulation layer (1140; [0108]) that embeds the to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts (1120/1130) on a surface (upper plane) of the carrier plate (1100), wherein the plastic encapsulation layer (1140) comprises a front surface (upper plane) and a back surface (lower plane) facing oppositely; thinning ([0110]; [0119] and [0121]) the plastic encapsulation layer (1140) from the front surface (upper plane) of the plastic encapsulation layer (1140 as in 1220; [0121]) until a surface (upper plane) of a second die (1120/1130 as in 1206/1208; [0121]) is exposed; and removing the carrier plate (1100; [0112]), and inserting the first and second die of Fu for the at least one set of to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts (1120/1130) carried on the carrier plate (1100), as part of the package structure implementations of Gu discussed for claim 8.
Re claim 10, Fu discloses the method of manufacturing an MCM package structure according to claim 8.
But, fails to disclose wherein the plastic encapsulation intermediate body (uncut 80) is formed by:
providing a carrier plate and at least one set of to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts carried on the carrier plate, wherein each set of to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts comprises: the first die, the second die and a leveling layer, wherein the first die comprises the first pads located on the active surface of the first die, the first die is provided with the accommodating recess, and the opening of the accommodating recess is located on the back surface of the first die; the second die comprises the second pads located on the active surface of the second die, the second die is arranged in the accommodating recess and fixed with the first die through the thermal conductive adhesive, and the active surface of the second die faces away from the active surface of the first die; the leveling layer covers on the active surface of the second die, the thermal conductive adhesive, and the back surface of the first die, and the leveling layer faces toward the carrier plate;
forming the plastic encapsulation layer that embeds the to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts on a surface of the carrier plate, wherein the plastic encapsulation layer comprises the front surface and the back surface facing oppositely, and the front surface of the plastic encapsulation layer and the leveling layer face toward a same direction; thinning the plastic encapsulation layer from the back surface of the plastic encapsulation layer until the active surface of the first die is exposed; removing the carrier plate.
However,
Fu coupled with Hsu’s thermally conductive adhesive (32/33), and additionally Gu would render these limitations obvious by Gu’s disclosing in FIGS. 11B, 11C and 12 providing a carrier plate (1100; [0100]) and at least one set of to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts (1120/1130; [0108]) carried on the carrier plate (1100), a leveling layer (1126; [0107]) covering an active surface (front side; [0104]) of a second die (1120/1130; [0104]),
forming a plastic encapsulation layer (1140; [0108]) that embeds the to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts (1120/1130) on a surface (upper plane) of the carrier plate (1100), wherein the plastic encapsulation layer (1140) comprises a front surface (upper plane) and a back surface (lower plane) facing oppositely; thinning ([0110]; [0119] and [0121]) the plastic encapsulation layer (1140) from the front surface (upper plane) of the plastic encapsulation layer (1140 as in 1220; [0121]) until a surface (upper plane) of a second die (1120/1130 as in 1206/1208; [0121]) is exposed; and removing the carrier plate (1100; [0112]), and inserting the first and second die of Fu for the at least one set of to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts (1120/1130), including the thermally conductive adhesive of Hsu, carried on the carrier plate (1100), as part of the heat dissipation structure of Hsu and the package structure implementations of Gu discussed for claim 8.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu and Hsu and Gu and Paek as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Yoshimoto et al (US 2016/0122604 A1, hereafter Yoshimoto).
Re claim 11, Fu discloses the method of manufacturing an MCM package structure according to claim 9, wherein each set of to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts (first (51) and second (52) die) is formed by:
providing the first die (51), and disposing an adhesive (53) in the accommodating recess (515);
providing the second die (52), wherein the active surface (521) of the second die (52) faces away from (opposite) the active surface (511) of the first die (51), and the second die (52) is arranged in the accommodating recess (515); the adhesive (53) is filled between the accommodating recess (515) and the second die (52), and the adhesive (53) contacts (physically touches) at least a portion (all) of side walls (left/right vertical planes) of the accommodating recess (515), a bottom wall (base) of the accommodating recess (515), a bottom wall (base) of the second die (52), and at least a portion (all) of side walls (left/right vertical planes) of the second die (52).
Fu fails to disclose a liquid or semi-solid thermal conductive adhesive in the accommodating recess; the liquid or semi-solid thermal conductive adhesive is filled between the accommodating recess and the second die, and the liquid or semi-solid thermal conductive adhesive contacts at least a portion of side walls of the accommodating recess, a bottom wall of the accommodating recess, a bottom wall of the second die, and at least a portion of side walls of the second die; and solidifying the liquid or semi-solid thermal conductive adhesive to fix the second die and the first die.
However,
A. Hsu discloses a thermally conductive adhesive (32/33; see inserted figure above) as discussed for claim 8.
And,
B. Yoshimoto discloses a method of using a thermally conductive adhesive comprising: applying a liquid or semi-solid thermal conductive adhesive ([0087]) into a particular shape ([0087]); the liquid or semi-solid thermal conductive adhesive forms an interface between bonded surfaces ([0087]); and solidifying (curing; [0087]) the liquid or semi-solid thermal conductive adhesive.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fu and Hsu by using the liquid or semi-solid thermal conductive adhesive of Yoshimoto as a substitutional equivalent (MPEP § 2144.06) for the adhesives of Fu and Hsu, providing a cured product produced by curing the epoxy resin composition of the present invention and a heat dissipation material and an electronic material each including the cured product (Yoshimoto; Abstract), using an epoxy resin composition excellent in heat resistance and excellent in adhesion and thermal conductivity or low moisture absorption and low thermal expansibility of the resultant cured product (Yoshimoto; [0001]), such that the limitations of a liquid or semi-solid thermal conductive adhesive in the accommodating recess; the liquid or semi-solid thermal conductive adhesive is filled between the accommodating recess and the second die, and the liquid or semi-solid thermal conductive adhesive contacts at least a portion of side walls of the accommodating recess, a bottom wall of the accommodating recess, a bottom wall of the second die, and at least a portion of side walls of the second die; and solidifying the liquid or semi-solid thermal conductive adhesive to fix the second die and the first die are satisfied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CHEW (US 2020/0203187 A1) discloses a first protective layer (105) on a first die (113) relative to claim 6, and forming an encapsulation layer (123) that embeds the to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts (113) on a surface of a carrier plate (117), wherein the encapsulation layer (123) comprises the front surface (top) and the back surface (bottom) facing oppositely; thinning the encapsulation layer from the front surface of the encapsulation layer until a surface (1132) of the to-be-plastic-encapsulated parts (113) is exposed; removing the carrier plate (117) relative to claim 9.
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892